If I already have Ponzi 2.0, KGF and Amreits in my FSM portfolio, which PRS fund should i go for?
Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??
Apr 11 2017, 11:39 AM
368 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
If I already have Ponzi 2.0, KGF and Amreits in my FSM portfolio, which PRS fund should i go for?
Apr 16 2019, 09:46 AM
I have a question regarding tax relief with PRS which I couldn't find the answer from their portal. If say I am already >55 years old, but still running a business.
Can I put RM3000 by this year, claim for 2019 tax assessment, then withdraw in 2020, and put back in Rm3000 by Dec 2020 to claim for 2020 tax assessment? |
Apr 16 2019, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 16 2019, 09:50 AM) Yes possible. Which means I only need a capital of RM3000 to claim tax relief continuously up till year 2021? As I have hit the retirement age. Wow. I couldn't find anything that says it requires a certain holding period.As long as the PPA system captures your contribution. Almost similar like SSPN but this one is easier. |
May 31 2019, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(darkterror15 @ May 31 2019, 10:15 AM) for those who plan to top up and get the incentive, i top up in 2014 to get 500 from government contribution. I think you totally were not well informed by your agent on the benefits of PRS. Do you even know what fund he chose for your PRS?1/1/2019 my balance is 1499 which is rm 1 less than 1.5k since 2014, and today i check is 1542 as of 31/5. Ok lets say the interest i get is rm 42 for 5 years, each year is only 0.56% interest. I meant come on dont waste time on this rubbish PRS. you put in FD can get much more than this. Luckily i didnt top up any after the first time. They even charge service fee for top up I can imagine when i retired and go to the aia to withdraw then the fella give back me 1.5k since 2014. Never trust investment plan from insurance again. They spend your money invest in big car and big house for themselves. One of the most important benefit of PRS is TAX RELIEF. If you have earned enough to pay tax, the returns you get from LDHN you must consider also. But of cos if you don't pay tax then don't bother with PRS. |
May 31 2019, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(darkterror15 @ May 31 2019, 11:59 AM) is islamic something something, got 4 choices and sugar coat it until say can get 4-5% return etc. i have to pay pcb but not until that high. the processing fee to top up is 3% unless u straight go for 10k each top up. well certainly the tax relief has a limit just like kwsp (6k). how much tax relief for that PRS ? 3k ? forgotten. Another advice..why go for insurance companies for investment? There is asset management companies for that purpose. Anyway all I see is just ill-informed customer ranting here.PBB mutual fund is although some are bad but still profitable than this PRS. my mum 20 year PBB mutual fund return is less than FD. So i dont really see the point here. More so let an insurance company to run the fund My advice is just put in Rm3k/year into PRS just for the tax relief and don't bother after that. You may do Rm250/month to average out in this volatile environment. Once they stop the tax relief you can stop the contribution as well. |
Apr 11 2021, 03:46 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 11 2021, 03:08 PM) Erm you do know that people buy PRS PURELY for the tax relief right? The tax relief you get makes it a good enough investment already. Unless of course you are not at taxable level yet. There is no other reason to get PRS except for the tax relief. |
Apr 11 2021, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 11 2021, 04:37 PM) https://www.comparehero.my/budgets-tax/arti...40-b40-malaysia Let's say if I am only at 8% tax bracket, I put in RM3000, I get back RM240, and the RM3000 is still mine. So ignoring any potential returns, that's already an instant 8% return. And if I invest into Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity (since this is PRS thread, I like this fund), I get additional returns ofYou mean 50th percentile earner in Kuala Lumpur? That's approx RM 6500 for households aka couples, so RM 3250 for bachelors... that's hardly taxable. Earning RM 6000~ gross as bachelor would put you in T20 earners already, and even so the tax bracket isn't that high. For someone in 20s and lock their saving for 30-40 years, especially when there is a good chance their tax bracket is not high enough to offset the excess management fees that they would have saved by investing elsewhere like StashAway, or manual ETF thru Tiger Brokers (which is getting very cheap by using CIMB Singapore account in lieu of telegraphic transfers), investing in PRS is not a wise move for most ppl below 24% bracket. Annualised 3y: 8.8%pa 5y: 17.4%pa Mind you, all these returns are already nett of whatever management fees you are mentioning. So enlighten me again, what is so bad about this PRS? Stashaway (I am an user and a lover as well) gets no where near this level. It's no brainer for most working adults lah adoi. This post has been edited by voyage23: Apr 11 2021, 11:12 PM |
Apr 12 2021, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 12 2021, 08:57 AM) Have you guys actually read the annual report and check the actual management fees incurred which are higher than the advertised rates? I remember my Principal AAXJ class C was somewhere close to 1.8% in reality. |
| Change to: | 0.0228sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:29 PM |