Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

sam@bpp
post Oct 16 2015, 09:54 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Oct 16 2015, 12:28 AM)
As I mentioned before PRS is like Long term UT. It's like you can buy the UT but you canot sell even if they not performing. This is why I prefer if everyone can keep changing and get the competition rolling.

Imagine now you buy RM1/unit and after 30yrs something happen and the price fall back to RM1.50. Rugi lah. Coz PRS can't guarantee you even if you buy conservative.

Sorry. English no good.  rclxub.gif
if the PRS fund is not performing, you can still switch to another fund or transfer any accrued benefits to another PRS provider.
sam@bpp
post Oct 18 2015, 02:07 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(knight @ Oct 17 2015, 11:24 AM)
Yes. That's true also. But can we place it from provider to provider?? We lost something also from that transfer. I think I just treat it as non-risk and let it there first. For the mean time I'm ok with risk so I getting those good performance Provider.

Any good one to intro?
Yes, you can transfer your PRS funds to another provider. The transfer fee depends on the provider:
http://www.sc.com.my/prive-retirement-scheme-fee-comparison/

Also take note on PPA fees:
http://www.ppa.my/ppa/member-services/prs-transactions/

Things to consider:
1. Your current age
2. Purpose of investing in PRS
3. Invest in Malaysia or diversify to Asia region
4. Aggressive, Moderate or Conservative portfolio
5. Facility/Platform for your investment

Note: The main purpose of PRS is to complement/increase our EPF/pension for a better and dignified post retirement life.

Articles for your reading:
Cut EPF contribution
http://themalaysianreserve.com/new/story/e...cut-budget-2016

Not enough savings in EPF
http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...savings-in-epf/

Fun Fact: EPF is mandatory to provide not less than 2.5% dividend to its members. Anything more is a bonus.

We can also talk this over a cup of coffee smile.gif
sam@bpp
post Nov 26 2015, 12:00 AM

66 posts

Why PRS is created? The truth is out there all this while.

Over 80% of Malaysians worry about not having enough for retirement
http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2015...ans-retirement/

Retirement crisis brewing as EPF savings suggest pensioner poverty
http://www.themalaymailonline.com/malaysia...nsioner-poverty

Retirees’ EPF funds barely enough to last five years
http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...o-last-5-years/

USA, no.1 economy in the world, as of today 1USD = MYR4.21704 (Americans do have high purchasing power), settling on Older Retirement Age at 65
http://www.gallup.com/poll/182939/american...rement-age.aspx

Our wealthy neighbor is not doing well either
http://www.cnbc.com/id/100472868

Meanwhile, may not seem much but won't hurt to know>>>

Benefits of PRS:
https://www.fimm.com.my/distributors/prs/pr...ent-scheme-prs/

Another benefit of PRS:
http://www.ppa.my/prs/prs-youth/prs-youth-incentive/

sam@bpp
post Dec 11 2015, 12:45 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 30 2015, 03:08 PM)
The difference between a product pusher i.e., bank front line wealth advisor who will push the best product to the customer versus a Lic Financial Planner who will first analyse the client first.

For example: The LFC will most probably not recommend the CIMB PRS Asia-Pac Ex Japan Fund to a client who already has high exposure to Ponzi 2.0. He / she would provide alternative.

Xuzen
Yeap. Financial planner six steps:
1. Establishing and defining the client-planner relationship
2. Gathering client data and determining goals and expectations
3. Analyzing and evaluating the client's financial status
4. Developing and presenting the financial planning recommendations and/or alternatives
5. Implementing the financial planning recommendations
6. Monitoring the financial planning recommendations

Back to PRS investment, ask yourself these questions.
1. Purpose of investing in PRS
2. Your choice of funds(growth/moderate/conservative) can be decided from Q1
sam@bpp
post Dec 15 2015, 09:37 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(yong417 @ Dec 14 2015, 07:50 PM)
Continue with AffinHW/ PBM - u need to pay additional RM8 per provider (RM16 if u do both) sweat.gif

Find a new provider - no need to pay additional RM8 (no RM10 acc opening fee as well) thumbup.gif

ur choice ~~~

I personally use FSM la~~ quite a lot of provider to choose from....
QUOTE(amaren @ Dec 15 2015, 02:50 PM)
Sorry newbie here what does "FSM" mean?
PPA Fees(not including fund house management fees):
http://www.ppa.my/ppa/member-services/prs-transactions/
sam@bpp
post Mar 10 2016, 02:11 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Mar 9 2016, 11:16 PM)
u implying that it is better to use FSM then. right?
QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 9 2016, 11:31 PM)
I would not imply much, because there are many unknowns
unknown to how much you know about UTs,
unknown to how much investment knowledge/experience you have,
unknown to much you know about risks involved and the investment objective and expectation......and so on, and so on....

normally agent will only advise and promote 'their" own products.....
and some agent charges more SC than FSM 0%SC
whereelse FSM is more unbiased.....they don't own any of the products...they are just resellers....
but if going into FSM alone may be bad (full of uncertainty) or troublesome for a newbie......
if that happens...and also at times for certain situation...to have an agent is useful
anyway FSM has CIS to guide if asked....
You may consider talking to independent financial advisors.
http://bpplanning.com.my/

0.1190sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:24 AM