Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

low yat 82
post Mar 18 2015, 01:02 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

if buy PRS from FSM n PPA any different? tq... new to this. jus got to noe it when doin my income tax....
low yat 82
post Mar 18 2015, 03:11 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 18 2015, 07:46 AM)
No difference.

You can't buy from PPA as they're regulating government body.

You can either buy direct from PRS provider or third-part middleman like FSM.
ooo..thanks for d info... but how come PPA got charges n fees? if i use FSM, will i b charge by PPA? http://www.ppa.my/ppa/member-services/prs-transactions/
low yat 82
post Mar 18 2015, 03:47 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

ic... thanks for d info.

i tried look around but not much info in a single pages..
http://gllt.morningstar.com/e6qvxuu98r/fun...GB&tab=Snapshot

which funds dat diversified its investment in foreign country? i read back few pages found 1 of them were cimb asia pacific ex japan bla bla bla. any others?
not looking to buy local 1, if not i guess not much different wit epf.. it will bcome for nothing more than income tax relief purpose... tq
low yat 82
post Mar 20 2015, 08:14 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 18 2015, 04:16 PM)
aside from cimb PRS asia pacific, there's also Affin Hwang PRS with foreign exposure, but based on their January Fact Sheet, that's still 40% in malaysia (affin hwang prs growth). i personally invest in cimb prs, though my contribution is minimal... tongue.gif

i'm not too sure about others but my guess is mostly malaysian based. you can refer here do further your research. the missing one from the list is public mutual prs.
thanks! affin hwang PRS seems vry much to wat i like. n also got few foreign exposure from amprs bond fund.

but... y buy cimb prs? its jus a feeder fund...

low yat 82
post Mar 20 2015, 08:37 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Mar 20 2015, 08:20 AM)
Cimb prs feeds into ponzi 2.0 fund..
haha!
low yat 82
post Mar 20 2015, 10:55 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

wat im tryin to say is feeder fund r not created purely for retirement plan. u can risk lose out alot bcoz d fund manager has different mindset from d original PRS funds.

imho, d real PRS growth / moderate shall always less profitable / less risk compare to outside funds.
low yat 82
post Mar 20 2015, 11:02 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 20 2015, 10:58 AM)
However, most of our PRS funds are feeder into one or more funds of the respective PRS provider. There's no pure PRS fund that starts from scratch IMHO.
there r a few. jus dat wit foreign exposure, there is onli affin hwang prs moderate / growth.. hmm.gif hmm.gif

low yat 82
post Mar 20 2015, 01:56 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 20 2015, 11:15 AM)
i dun get the actual meaning of yr post.
do you mean "onli affin hwang prs moderate / growth" are not holding into one or more funds of the respective PRS provider?
huhu. wat m tryin to say is wit foreign exposure, onli affin hwang / growth dat hav their own 'PRS' manager.

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 20 2015, 12:51 PM)
i kinda get your point on the feeder not retirement planning thingy. but frankly those who really invest in PRS, would mainly to do it for tax relief. those more aware with other unit trust would have their own portfolio for their financial planning. then again... feeder or not, you can always switch between PRS funds, to lower risk.

plus... unless you are nearing retirement, will be too conservative to invest in ambond prs? tongue.gif
don't JUST look at absolute return. if you compare the two cimb asia-pac prs to other prs funds, it does look tonnes better because it wasn't a good year for malaysia (other funds are highly if not fully exposed to malaysia). not apple to apple comparison... but like you said previously, you can always switch. i think cimb prs is free switching...
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

new to this thing here.. wats d pro n cons of switching. let say now i wan go for growth funds, but when m older wanted to switch to moderate / conservative. sd number of units i could buy?
low yat 82
post Mar 27 2015, 03:37 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 20 2015, 08:32 PM)
i tak faham short forms... =.='''

switching fee is the only concern i believe. the rest is just best on your investment strategy, risk appetite
haha. its ok. i think i get d jizz d.

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Mar 21 2015, 10:08 AM)
this PRS thingy...better to start early or what?
but i do agree that most ppl do just for the tax relief?
theoritically, it shud starts as early as possible.

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 21 2015, 08:31 PM)
if the purpose is tax relief... do note that it is temporary and ends 2021... 10 years from YA2012.

so i would say yes, start as early as possible because only up to 2021? tongue.gif
i guess d main reasons for gomen gib 10years period, is to gauge d real performance of PRS.
low yat 82
post Mar 27 2015, 05:03 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 27 2015, 03:46 PM)
actually i believe the tax relief is the incentive to encourage more savings/investment.

PRS fund managers are some of the best fund houses already. really can't expect it to perform that bad.
in a way, it is. i guess its win win situations. d public can invest, meanwhile d scheme can kick start.

imho, its hard to say. dats y d 10years period is crucial. its a vry vry long journey. d 1st batch results onli will noe after 10years where it will no longer depends on tax relief.

if u see d bulk of d PRS invesment been done, n using d normal PRS Funds Selection Option http://www.ppa.my/prs/about-prs/prs-providers-funds-option/ we can gauge most investor is at wat age. something to ponder..
low yat 82
post Jun 11 2015, 11:42 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

imho,for PRS , we shud diversify more towards outside malaysia. coz most of us already hav epf which concentrate investment in malaysia.

currently onli buyin affin hwang moderate PRS.
low yat 82
post Dec 25 2016, 04:48 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

initial charge 3% issit mean d 1st purchase or everytime need top up will b charge 3%?
low yat 82
post Dec 25 2016, 10:31 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 25 2016, 07:36 AM)
every buy.
shocking.gif shocking.gif

low yat 82
post Dec 25 2016, 10:56 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

d other charges r quite reasonable n norm. for prs, b4 this already been announce there is no sales charges. but some do dat also..........
low yat 82
post Dec 25 2016, 11:59 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

i mean d initial feees. where 1 member says it will b charge everytime buy prs funds. d other fees r clear cut
low yat 82
post Dec 28 2016, 11:27 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(ssl_lim @ Dec 28 2016, 11:21 PM)
Hi sifu here

I jz activated fsm account today. If I purchase fund via fsm before Friday, still can entitled tax release by 2016?
What fund modetate risk can suggest to me? smile.gif
according to fsm, anythin b4 3pm is considered dat day transaction. but y wanna take d risk. jus do it now.

depends on ur risk profile. imho, oversea exposure prs is good so it bcome more diversified invest compare to epf
low yat 82
post Feb 4 2017, 11:57 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

D tax relief were meant till 2021 roughly 9-10years. By then prs shud hav matured n hav track record wether it works or not. They will hav to stand by their own by then. For now, its learning process.

ill always choose prs compare to mutual funds though
low yat 82
post Feb 4 2017, 12:15 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

Even other prs is greener doesnt means switch to it is beneficial. As long d prospectus ngam ur taste jus go ahead. Fund manager come n go. D fund business plan itself r fix. If u guys keep on switchin u gonna lose out on d pricing although u gain it on dividend itself.

Imho, switchin shud b done when there is huge change of economy / financial stability needs
low yat 82
post Feb 9 2017, 11:16 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 7 2017, 11:11 PM)
I cannot suggest anything for you as I have no idea who you are nor what sort of circumstances you are in. But i can share with you my train of thoughts so that you can decide whether my logic / rational suits you or not.

I) PRS to me is a very passive investment and I will not be actively monitoring it unlike my other Unit Trust Investment. It is going to be a very long term investment.

II) I participate in PRS mainly for the tax relief.

III) A large chunk of my net worth is in KWSP and it is a known fact that KWSP is mainly exposed to Malaysia stock market and bond. Indirectly my assets are mainly exposed to Malaysian stock market especially government bonds and blue chip counter and index linked stocks.

IV) as such when I invest, I will select investment tools that are not exposed to Malaysia otherwise I will unwittingly increase my concentration risk.

V) Hence, when I choose a PRS, my criteria are:

A) Preferably zero sales charge, which is a no brainer.
B) Cover as broad geographical area as possible.
C) Low risk or volatility.
D) Decent return, better or at least on par with KWSP.

Due to the above criteria, I narrow my PRS selection to Affin Hwang PRS Moderate because it satisfy A), B) & C)

Due to the above criteria, I narrow my PRS selection to CIMB Principle PRS Asia-Pac Ex Japan Equity because it satisfy A), B) & D).

With regards AMReits PRS, I reserve my participation because it is sector specific and as such being a thematic play, I will avoid it as I have to monitor it actively.

Xuzen
most honest opinion thumbsup.gif rclxms.gif
low yat 82
post Apr 13 2017, 11:33 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(alex802 @ Apr 13 2017, 09:48 AM)
if buy from FSM, in case anything happen to the owner, how the beneficiary (pewaris) redeem it?
same like other property or shares. if its PRS, u can go PPA for furtther advice. FSM is jus an agent

0.2966sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:50 AM