Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

e-lite
post Mar 30 2016, 05:22 PM

692 posts

I am just curious because I am already a max tax deduction into PRS for 2 years in a row already. :-

1. My parents are still working and are in their 58 and 57 years old respectively. Should I advise them to put RM3k into PRS every year and withdraw the PRS account in 1-2 years time. Their tax bracket is 16% currently.

2. Would this be allowed as this is bypassing the tax system and saving 16% of RM3000 in a short period of time as they are retirement age & eligible to withdraw from PRS.
e-lite
post May 4 2016, 05:52 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ May 3 2016, 05:53 PM)
Can employ you for PRS manager?
I have a friend working in the fund investment industry. He said all the fund managers are gamblers. They are not much better than your gamblers in Genting. They just have more tools, algorithms and softwares to aid them.

I guess I am going to start picking passively managed fund instead of actively biggrin.gif

I second performance based management fee. In addition if the fund goes negative performance, switching fee and exit fee should be free cool2.gif
e-lite
post Aug 19 2016, 02:28 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 16 2016, 04:46 PM)
Ok question, i don't think anyone asked this before.

If your parents are retired and have passive income and therefore still paying income tax. Can they open up a PRS account , pay for 2 years , get the tax relief, withdraw all (since they are >55 years old) and then repeat ?
Yes, I am doing that on behalf for my parents. I don't suggest taking out every year because PRS is a good platform to invest because multitude choices of unit trust, quite conservative, and 0% initial & withdrawal charges. Unless you have an investment that yields > 6% with relatively low risk.
e-lite
post Apr 12 2017, 03:48 PM

692 posts

If top up via PPA, do we still have to pay the sales charge of 3% to the bank?

Or is it better to top up purchase via FSM?
e-lite
post Nov 29 2017, 03:45 PM

692 posts

Buy Bitcoin lah. Fastest way to get rich
e-lite
post Nov 13 2020, 03:18 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Nov 13 2020, 11:21 AM)
A pretty single mother is selling me PRS fund, without any freebies, and 3% sales charge.

Feel cruel to turn her down; feel ripped of to pay the sales charge. How?  icon_question.gif
Don't end up become father of the single mother child, can already. 3% sales charge is pocket change. cool2.gif

0.0256sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:20 PM