Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

alex802
post Apr 7 2017, 02:52 PM

newbie here , any advice, if buy in one lump sum or every month put in some money?and what fund is the best?thks you
alex802
post Apr 7 2017, 05:42 PM

thks..then after check out the historical performance data,..does it means that i buy the highest return fund will be more safer? should i buy in one lump sum rm3k per year or should every month put in some money to buy the fund?first time investment..
alex802
post Apr 7 2017, 07:03 PM

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 7 2017, 05:46 PM)
Like I said. You want malaysia only ke/outside malaysia/real estate ke?
If you are feeling lucky with RM3k, why not?
Oh...dun have much experience on this..I think every where also can if can have good return..dun have any rough idea..
alex802
post Apr 7 2017, 07:22 PM

QUOTE(T231H @ Apr 7 2017, 07:02 PM)
"does it means that i buy the highest return fund will be more safer?"
The NAV price of a fund may go down as well as up, and under certain circumstances an investor may sustain a total or substantial loss of investment.
Past performance is not necessarily indicative of the future or likely performance of the fund.
An Investor should make an appraisal of the risks involved in investing in these products and should consult their own independent and professional advisors, to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to their circumstances and financial position

How do I decide which Private Retirement Scheme (PRS) to invest in?
Your choice and decision should be made based on your goals, risk tolerance, investment time horizon, knowledge and experience.
Different PRS invest in different asset classes, markets and sectors, depending on the investment objective and strategy of that particular fund.
Consequently, they also have different levels of risks and returns.

You may select any one or a combination of funds based on asset classes, asset allocation, conventional or shariah-based funds as well as local or offshore funds.
Alternatively, if you do not wish to select a fund, your contribution by default, will be invested into a fund based on your age group based on default option (age-based funds).

https://www.citibank.com.my/english/docs/pd..._experience.pdf

Disclaimer:
This post does not constitute an investment recommendation. No person should rely on the content and/or act on the basis of any matter contained in this post without obtaining specific professional advice.
Investment involves risk. The NAV price of a fund may go down as well as up, and under certain circumstances an investor may sustain a total or substantial loss of investment. Past performance is not necessarily indicative of the future or likely performance of the fund. Investors should read the relevant fund's prospectus for details before making any investment decision. An Investor should make an appraisal of the risks involved in investing in these products and should consult their own independent and professional advisors, to ensure that any decision made is suitable with regards to their circumstances and financial position.

The prs fund got give any dividend every year?after I had invest for one year, and I stop after that, does the money that I put didn't grow at all if no dividend given,and just hope for the NAV to go up? If put into fed,at least still got some interest every year ,right?

alex802
post Apr 7 2017, 07:53 PM

QUOTE(T231H @ Apr 7 2017, 07:43 PM)
the dividend distribution before and after does not make any changes to your available value in the fund.
before dividend you have RM10000 in the fund
after dividend you will have RM10000 (approximately) in the fund too

during dividend distribution...you get extra units but the fund price (NAV) would drops to reflect the extra units given to you....

so you think about it...
Oh....that means my hope is that the NAV to go up in the future until retirement by buying the prs fund....
alex802
post Apr 8 2017, 06:53 PM

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 7 2017, 08:02 PM)
You need to decide. Different region different risk/different expected return.
alex802, you must understand the above so that don't get cheated by agents/marketing people. Also, you decide whether you want to buy from FSM malaysia or buy from agents/banks.
Can u give any advice on this ? Moderate return is enough (different region)....what difference buy from bank/agent and FSM?is it the charges?
alex802
post Apr 8 2017, 07:05 PM

QUOTE(T231H @ Apr 7 2017, 08:01 PM)
many data shows that historically equities mkts goes up in the long run....
so based on past records...the value of your investment are expected to go up till retirement....just that maybe when the time you wanted to get the money out...it was a bear periods.

normally for funds that has distribution policy...there is a limit to the fund's NAV up side...cannot goes up and up.....bcos,...during distribution exercise, the NAV will drops....
so your best bet would be, get the extra units during distribution, then hope that the NAV would goes up again before the next distribution.....and hope that this cycle would be repeated again and again until retirement
ic, thks you for your lengthy explanation...but i still cant/dunno which fund that i should buy...mm,based on the past records...that means i suppose to buy the highest and stable return for every year
alex802
post Apr 9 2017, 09:51 AM

Oh,thks you for all the situ explanation

This post has been edited by alex802: Apr 9 2017, 09:54 AM
alex802
post Apr 9 2017, 09:59 AM

QUOTE(xuzen @ Apr 8 2017, 07:57 PM)
Friends,

PRS should not be a complicqted process. You put in only MYR 3,000.00 per annum or MYR 250.00 per month if you choose to particiapte using bank standing instruction.

If you are below 40, choose growth fund. If you are above 40 years old, choose moderate. It is my personal opinion that the conservative funds are a waste of time.

The tax relief window is until 2021, and this means you only have four years of tax releif left.

For PRS growth fund, choose CIMB-PRINCIPAL PRS PLUS ASIA PACIFIC EX JAPAN EQUITY - CLASS C 

For PRS moderate fund, choose Affin Hwang Moderate Fund.

For me, I started in 2012 with Affin Hwang Moderate fund because Affin Hwang was the first PRS provider in the industry. The other PRS provider came later, about six months later than Affin-Hwang. The amount of tax relief I got cummulatively so far is MYR 3,600 (MYR 720 tax relief x 5 years). The gross return for Affin Hwang moderate fund is 6.6% p.a. Annualized.

If incorporate the tax relief, (at 24% tax bracket), the annualized return becomes 14.73% p.a. Annualised.

Apa lagi lu mau?

Sh1t, I hope the govt continue with the tax relief post 2021. Better still if they increase it to MYR 6,000.00!

Xuzen

P/s Don't put anything more than MYR 3K p.a., as anything above MYR 3K, you don't enjoy the tax releif and PRS biggest selling point is the tax relief... period.
Which want is better,go to the bank open or buy at FSM?any difference for the charges?
alex802
post Apr 13 2017, 09:48 AM

if buy from FSM, in case anything happen to the owner, how the beneficiary (pewaris) redeem it?
alex802
post Apr 18 2017, 10:40 AM

U buy from what PRS provider?

QUOTE(MiKE7LIM @ Apr 17 2017, 10:43 PM)
happen to sign am prs with prs agent, no any fee but just the rm10.6 for open account with gst..

0.1327sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:42 PM