Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

AbangCorp
post Jan 31 2017, 01:43 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 30 2017, 05:07 PM)
No. No good. Why? Annualized return only 4.75%, 1.16%, 1.41%. Better put FD if like that. FD beat this return hands down.

Don't look at cummulative. Look at annualised returns. That's how much the fund make in 1 year, how much average 2 years and how much average 3 years.
I do believe PRS have other good points versus FD.

1. discipline saving, because you can't withdraw. If you still wan't to withdraw (Account B), you will need to pay levi to government 8%, which is a loss. PRS withdrawal is not an option if you asked me.
2. Tax saving, unless your income bracket is not within this.
3. Super long investment horizon, if you are 30y.o., horizon is at least 20years, 40y.o. at least 10years. Cannot compare to Normal UT.
4. Takaful protection based on investment volume. (not all, please check your agent)
5. Taxed, similar to UT, so no need to declare.
6. account to only 6% of malaysian population, you will be eligible to get PRS youth incentive amounting 1000 from government for your saving of your own money 1000.

For PRS fund, most of it is still quote new. 5years the most.
AbangCorp
post Feb 2 2017, 09:28 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jan 31 2017, 04:59 PM)
Comparing PRS to FD is so wrong. These two financial instruments are created for very different reason.

One is as a temporary parking space for unused fund whilst its owner decide what to use it for in the future. It is meant as short term.

The other is meant for retirement which to many is a a long long time away.

PRS should be compared more constructively with KWSP.

Xuzen
Betul lah tu.... Setuju apple to mango biggrin.gif
AbangCorp
post Feb 2 2017, 12:25 PM

233 posts

Bottom line, have Malaysian give it a deep thinking on their personal financial planning? What is their income tax strategy?

Anything from Malaysian Budget they have fully utilized to enjoy rebate/incentives?
PRS is sure listed...
AbangCorp
post Feb 2 2017, 06:25 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(mssv19 @ Feb 2 2017, 02:09 PM)
KWSP, free administratives and whatever charges. Guaranteed by statute 2.5%? 6% average past 10 years return? Worry free and only collapse of the country and government that you need to think about.

PRS....adminstratives charges or whatever management charges. Not guaranteed by statute and can goes negative -%? Worry a lot and have to do own investigation and watching (time is money) and collapse of the company means the money gone. So which you think will collapse faster, a private company or a country.
Nobody knows, sorry.

Arguably, KWSP have been there for I donno how long. The government is there almost 50 over years.
Most of UTMC, company that sell Unit Trust is as old as 30 +- years.
AbangCorp
post Feb 6 2017, 04:26 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Feb 4 2017, 12:15 PM)
Even other prs is greener doesnt means switch to it is beneficial.  As long d prospectus ngam ur taste jus go ahead. Fund manager come n go. D fund business plan  itself r fix. If u guys keep on switchin u gonna lose out on d pricing although u gain it on dividend itself.

Imho, switchin shud b done when there is huge change of economy / financial stability needs
Agreed, switch only if it is cheaper and safer, better fund out there.
Always calculate your lost once switching comes to your mind
AbangCorp
post Feb 6 2017, 04:41 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 5 2017, 01:17 PM)
I've asked this in the FSM thread but apparently it's more suitable here since it's related to PRS:

Hello, first time investor here, got my FSM account ready last year but decided to hold till this year to get the RM1k incentive. biggrin.gif

I've decided to invest RM3k per year to maximise the tax rebate too.

My question is, should i just invest may be around RM1100 for one fund (to get the incentive) and then take my time to invest the remainder in the next few months? I think it would be safer to break into a few PRS funds right? What funds would be recommended for a beginner to start?
I have been deposit some of my money to my PRS account and my wife's. I do think PRS is a lot safer than conventional Unit Trust.
Why I am saying that is that normal Unit Trust have this Diversification for you, at a reasonable price.

Unit Trust

If you are nobody, to get diversification using your own money, you buy share by yourself, in my calculation in the past PIEF (it's a public mutual product) based on 2014 annual reports, you need to have 100k minimum for a sets of share of diversification.

But by having it only by units, you can start investing with the same level of diversification (do not put your egg in one basket) at roughly around 1000 ringgit, and you will get roughly 4000 units. You share with fellow investor which also on the PIEF the cost to accumulate 100k for a set.

PRS vs Unit Trust

Then you have Feeder fund, or FUnd of Fund. Where one fund in PRS is consist of a few other Fund which is each is already well diversified. Diversify a diversified portfolio.

So this is my gut feeling, PRS with the same level 4 risk is not as risky as than comparable Unit Trust of risk level 4. So, don't think too much, go for the highest risk if your appetite is big like me. You have ample time to retirement anyway. Stay on one fund, trust me it is very well diversified.

This post has been edited by AbangCorp: Feb 6 2017, 04:43 AM
AbangCorp
post Feb 6 2017, 04:09 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Feb 6 2017, 10:24 AM)
Abang,What is your basis to say PRS is safer than conventional unit trust? Even if you say the typical fund componsition are make up of both equity and bonds, it's of the same risk levels as balanced funds. Besides, as other forummer rightly pointed out, there are 100% EQ funds fed into another high risk equity fund as well

While your explanation of benefit of unit trust is that you can buy into a large pool of diversified asset is correct, a more balanced view would b, it does come with the price of management fee, and lack of control from the investor's perspective. So it's good for those who wants a hands off, no eye see approach, not so good for those who want complete control and most cost effective method

Again, I have to disagree on the same level 4 risk in PRS not as risky as unit trust level 4. I'm guessing you are talking about public mutual risk ratings, which I'm not familiar with. But I would be really skeptical if Public Mutual put in risk ratings that are not comparable across similar products. If they do that, then what's the point of having risk ratings in the first place.
But disclaimer is, I've not read their methodology of assigning risk ratings. If you want to talk about FSM risk ratings, I'd be more than happy to do so.
My gut feeling only, it is just an opinion that you could rebuttle. Maybe a a little bit more accurate to say it as more old skool so to speak. A little bit laid back. I forgot a correct term for that sorry.
AbangCorp
post Feb 10 2017, 04:28 AM

233 posts

The best part of PRS is switching with other company out there, with after minimum switching duration is about MYR25. If you do not satisfy, say with AIA and then Kenanga or etc, you can jump ship. This is the beauty of PRS that UT do not have, when everything well taken care of by PPA.
AbangCorp
post Feb 18 2017, 03:34 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 11 2017, 08:17 PM)
Invested Gross RM1,000 in Oct'16, just before I reached 31. Haven't seen the Youth Incentive Scheme of RM500 yet. It has been +-4 months already.

Question is, how long does it usually take for the money to be given?
They register your deposit twice, in end of June and End of December. After that you will have to wait in 6 month, not more in my case.

My wife deposited before her January birthday, same as I am in June. If you submit 2 weeks before your 31st birthday, you will stand a good chance.

0.0269sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:43 PM