Private Retirement Fund, What the hell is that??

AIYH
post Oct 21 2016, 10:07 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 21 2016, 09:37 PM)
so I place 1k into a Prs fund. keep in there for two years. instant cash for 1k. that's 100% return. nice
Actually just wait for next year Jan and terus hantam 1k, can straight get 1k from government le laugh.gif
Plus you can't just put for 2 years only, just like EPF laugh.gif

QUOTE(T231H @ Oct 21 2016, 10:03 PM)
some will still be interested to start saving......just for the tax relief (ending 2021?) and for the youth incentive benefits.....thus many would stop after those goodies stopped..... sad.gif
To be honest, most PRS funds are just a portfolio of existing UT, so once they invest in the PRS fund for some time, even after tax relief, if they can comprehend, then they will learn and invest in the relevant UT or explore more smile.gif
AIYH
post Oct 21 2016, 10:59 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Oct 21 2016, 10:03 PM)
Btw if you want to make the most for long term, at least from the current selection:

i) Kenanga OnePRS Growth Fund
--- which ride on KGF
ii) CIMB-Principal PRS Plus Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity - Class C
--- which ride on Ponzi 2.0
iii) AmPRS - Asia Pacific REITs - Class D
--- which ride on AMASIA PACIFIC REITS - CLASS B (MYR)

That's at least observable performance based on the riding fund's performance, but PRS performance period is quite limited (at most 3 years), so if you think the above overap your UT portfolio and you mind having them, then you might need to wait longer to find better alternatives PRS laugh.gif
QUOTE(ivzh @ Oct 21 2016, 10:58 PM)
guys any comment on

-AMPRS - ASIA PACIFIC REITS - CLASS D
-CIMB-PRINCIPAL PRS PLUS ASIA PACIFIC EX JAPAN EQUITY - CLASS C 

hope the tax relieve will stay long after 2021 =x
AIYH
post Oct 22 2016, 01:04 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Oct 22 2016, 12:53 PM)
when you purchase your unit trust. your unit trusts are under the platform that you use that's why you don't fill paper work where as prs you need to fill forms because those funds will be registered to you.

hence why I asked why change platforms when the prs funds already belong to you? annual charges which are different? if so fsm has an 8rm charge per annum
Correction, the annual charges was charge by PPA, you will get charge no matter which provider/channel you go to laugh.gif
AIYH
post Oct 22 2016, 03:44 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Oct 22 2016, 03:36 PM)
from PPA
annual fee - RM8 charged yearly per Provider (not payable in the year the account was opened and in the year where there is no contribution)

so it mean if we doesnt top up that year, we are not charged rm8 ?

i m a bit cheapskate, dont want let them buta buta charge rm8/ year.. if not going to cont with the PRS
If you dont top up for that fund for that year then you wont be charge for that year smile.gif
AIYH
post Oct 22 2016, 05:15 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Oct 22 2016, 04:51 PM)
sorry. i got a question about annual charge:

Scenario 1:
If i got 2 PRS fund and i top it up in one particular year, so i have to pay 2 times annual charges?

Scenario 2:
If i got 2 PRS fund but i only top up in one PRS fund (let said PRS A) this year, then i top up PRS B next year, so i only have to pay one time annual charge?

no sure u guy understand what i mean... brows.gif
Scenario 1, u top up both funds, u pay 2 annual fees

Scenario 2, u only pay 1 time for each year
AIYH
post Oct 24 2016, 11:39 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(csm189 @ Oct 24 2016, 11:37 AM)
I am 29 this year and were planning to invest in PRS to get the tax relief and 500 incentive. My question, if I invest now, will the government give another 500 for me in next year since the budget 2017 will increase to 1k and next year I still not reach age 31 yet, or I will only get 500 as the investment is done in this year?

If I only able to get 500, should I wait until next year only do the investment?
You should wait for next year smile.gif
AIYH
post Nov 3 2016, 10:45 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(ableze_joepardy @ Nov 3 2016, 10:43 AM)
Anyone knows on extra topup by gov of 1k if u invest 1k or more in prs in 2017?

Suppose for 30y.o and below.
That's if you have not achieve your 1st 1k in your prs investment blush.gif
AIYH
post Dec 6 2016, 12:13 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(dark_elvin @ Dec 6 2016, 11:18 AM)
Question: Management fee + Trustee fee + PPA administration fee.

1) Above fees need to pay every year ?
2) How they charge us ? Direct deduct from the amount of money we already put in the fund ?
3) If the fund I buy, NAV drop and no dividend declare, then the amount of money for my prs fund will become lesser ? Rugi, right ?

Questions: 3k tax relief estimate can save how much money ?

TQ
The NAV price you see in the price chart was net off Management fee + Trustee fee, meaning these expenses are already considered and reflected in the performance.

PPA administration fee, there is a one time charge 10.60 upon PPA account opening, and there is an annual fee of 8.48 for each PRS fund you contribute on that year (exclude the year you open the PPA account)

NAV drop, your fund value reduce, thats it.

Dividend means nothing in PRS/UT since dividend was declared and deducted from the NAV, this is not the same with stocks.
AIYH
post Dec 15 2016, 04:00 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Dec 15 2016, 03:42 PM)
so guys... whats your pick on the PRS fund.. which one you think is going to perform in the coming years ? Considering Kenanga OnePRS... but minimum investment is RM1k .. (wanted to invest less than RM1k so that i can get PRS youth incentive of RM1k next year) .....
You may consider this:

CIMB-PRINCIPAL PRS PLUS ASIA PACIFIC EX JAPAN EQUITY - CLASS C

Performance wise satisfactory and minimum initial rm100 only, subsequent top up minimum rm50 only (if buy via FSM, not sure about CIMB itself)

But is kinda high risk, make sure you are ok with the risk before investing into it smile.gif
AIYH
post Dec 18 2016, 05:43 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(infested_ysy @ Dec 18 2016, 04:56 PM)
How does PRS work in the long run?

I have one myself (with Public Bank) to take advantage of the RM500 government contribution. But after I deposit in RM250 to my account through http://www.ppa.my/ , they give me only RM234.08, which is 6.37% less than what I put in.

If that's the standard fees they charge for each transaction/contribution, you don't really make a lot of money in the end, after getting 6~7% off them every year, do you...? It doesn't quite make sense to me.
Is the PRS fund your first PRS investment?

If it is, a one time PPA account opening fee of RM10 (+ 6% GST) will be deducted from your investment amount.

Moreover, you will be charge an PPA annual fee of RM8 (+ 6% GST) for each PRS fund you have additional contribution for that calendar year (your first calander year where you open your PPA account is exempted from this)

And public mutual also charge sales charge from each of your contribution (depends on your funds).

To minimize the cost, you may consider invest via FSM which provide PRS funds from various fund houses (no public mutual) at 0% sales charge
AIYH
post Jan 22 2017, 05:09 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Newbies2017 @ Jan 22 2017, 05:02 PM)
would like to know how exactly this prs works, read through all the details at the website but still dont get a clear picture of it. Let say i wish to get the 1k incentive, does that mean i have to pay 1k, one time off, then after few months i can get back the money together with the interest? And is this consider high risk investment which there is chance that i might lose my invested amount of money?
1) similar to epf, once money in, money split into account A and B, you can only take the money out under certain condition

Both account cannot withdraw money from account A, except epf where you can withdraw under certain limit for external investment

Difference is that epf, you need specific reason to withdraw from account B, whereas PRS, you can withdraw money from account B with tax penalty 8%

2) you no need to go one shot 1k for the incentive, as long as when the incentive program runs, your prs account have not reach 1k, and during the program period, your prs account reach 1k, then you are qualified for the 1k incentive into the prs account
AIYH
post Jan 22 2017, 05:45 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 22 2017, 05:11 PM)
PRS is practically buying a UT and keep it until retirement age. You cannot touch the money until you are retired. Yes. One time only. THe RM1k incentive will be given to you once you are at 55 years old. Once money is put in, you can see the money but cannot touch it until you are 55 years old. If you withdraw early, I believed there is hefty fines.

You won't lose 100% of the money. Because over 30+ years takkan the market stay down forever meh? devil.gif Also, it depend on which fund are you buying. If you choose the wrong one, you will get about FD rates (which is bad). Choose the right one and you can get ~5-10% pa. biggrin.gif

The RM1k is just one part of the story. Until 2021, if one put max RM3k inside there/year, one can get RM3k worth of income tax relef.  devil.gif
eh the incentive will be given to your prs accouont when you hit 1k investment inside the fund, not until you 55 yrs old la sweat.gif
AIYH
post Jan 22 2017, 07:18 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 22 2017, 05:55 PM)
But you cannot remove that RM1k right? devil.gif
Still from investment pov, receiving 1k now and thirty years later is a huge difference laugh.gif
AIYH
post Jan 23 2017, 11:50 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Jan 23 2017, 11:49 AM)
if invest PRS via FSM, do i make purchase after i post the documents or have to wait for them to receive documents only purchase?
After you send you document, can straight purchase dy

They will process your order once they receive your documents
AIYH
post Feb 7 2017, 08:21 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Eddy924 @ Feb 7 2017, 08:16 AM)
Thanks for the useful link. Looks like AIA in 6 months return so far is in the top 5
Are you sure 6 month performance alone is enough to evaluate a fund? hmm.gif

PRS is a long term commitment and switching around will cost you.

So, it is prudent to understand the fund and where it invest before justifying its 3 year performance (roughly a time frame for a fund to reach its mature stage) and decide whether the fund is good compare to it's peers smile.gif
AIYH
post Feb 7 2017, 10:44 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(asimov82 @ Feb 7 2017, 10:29 AM)
[attachmentid=8465290]

most of the fund I know are benchmark against invested equity market index, except some using annualized return benchmark.

for fair comparison, we should include the KLCI index as well, and here is what the number try to tell us:
FBM KLCI -2.02% 8.02

1. if you (100%) invest in local stock market like KLCI index fund, after 3 yrs you get negative return with 8% volatility.
2. PRS core fund structure of equity/bond is designed such a way to reduce volatility and smooth out the longterm return through up-and-down cycle.
3. example core growth fund (70%) reduce volatility to 6%, yet get 5% positive annualized return.
4. you can choose to lower the volatility further to 5%, with core moderate fund (60%), still get 4% positive annualized return.
5. if you are at the end of your investment plan and going to cash out soon, core conservative fund (20%) will give lowest volatility of 2%, which give you the enhanced fixed income return of 3%.

PRS is design in a way that you still need have some DIY effort over the default core fund:
step 1. age before 40: core growth fund
step 2. age 40-50: core moderate fund
step 3. age after 50: core conservative fund

unless we have introduce "PRS core target date fund" which will auto the three steps for you.
Since you bring KLCI to the table, I suggest you compare it against Kenanga OnePrs Growth Fund smile.gif

EDIT: For extra comparisons

This post has been edited by AIYH: Feb 7 2017, 10:51 AM
AIYH
post Feb 8 2017, 01:12 AM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 8 2017, 12:28 AM)
How can we apply automatic monthly deduction from bank account to purchase CIMB PRS fund via Fundsupermart?
In my opinion, it is better for you to FPX your money into FSM's CMF, park your money there, let the RSP do the job by doing monthly deduction from CMF every 15th smile.gif
AIYH
post Feb 8 2017, 01:20 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 8 2017, 12:28 PM)
But I can't see any PRS funds under RSP.
For PRS funds, you need to make an initial investment before you can RSP smile.gif
AIYH
post Feb 11 2017, 09:35 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 11 2017, 08:51 PM)
xuzen / Ramjade, may we have your thoughts on Affin Hwang Growth/Moderate funds?
Since you manage to tag the post that they say suxs, didnt you read past a post that xuzen talk about his thought process?
AIYH
post Feb 19 2017, 08:07 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 19 2017, 07:48 PM)
For specific funds in PRS, how/where do I check the actual 'Annual Management fee' charged?

[attachmentid=8502262]

Says 'Up to.....', in the PPA website..
Check their annual report via adffin hwang website or fsm website

4.3587sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:11 PM