Drilling on wall, hallow brick/block
TSTerence573
Oct 9 2011, 07:56 PM, updated 15y ago
Hi all. Just wanna ask. I've extend my terrace house for a bigger kitchen. the problem lies on the hallow block that the wall use. the walls were done with paint...now regretting. It makes drilling for installing kitchen cabinet and other stuff difficult as it would not "fit" bcoz of the hallow block. what solution there is? TQ. This post has been edited by Terence573: Oct 9 2011, 08:05 PM
Jo_da48
Oct 9 2011, 08:00 PM
How come hallow block been used? Is those holes been covered or initially is Open AIr concept?
TSTerence573
Oct 9 2011, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Oct 9 2011, 09:00 PM) How come hallow block been used? Is those holes been covered or initially is Open AIr concept? hmm the one that looks like this..  i blive is called hollow block?
Jo_da48
Oct 9 2011, 08:13 PM
correct, but why it beeb use when you extended your kitchen? Not the normal Red or Grey bricks? This type of brick normally use on Open area concept...
TSTerence573
Oct 9 2011, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Oct 9 2011, 09:13 PM) correct, but why it beeb use when you extended your kitchen? Not the normal Red or Grey bricks? This type of brick normally use on Open area concept... open area concept?? means ? all is the idea of the contractor...lol. for easy work(for him)...and save money. now regret also no use...already up and using. Just ask if there's any solution if it was to drill to hang or to install things.
XPS
Oct 9 2011, 09:29 PM
Get something like this. The inner end will expand and grips into the other side of the wall.
weikee
Oct 9 2011, 10:08 PM
You may need to hack a bigger portion, put cement (Sand + stone + cement) with the nut inside.
TSTerence573
Oct 9 2011, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(XPS @ Oct 9 2011, 10:29 PM) Get something like this. The inner end will expand and grips into the other side of the wall.  it was hollow inside and I think even this thingy wont hold said like a kitchen cabinet. Added on October 9, 2011, 10:15 pmQUOTE(weikee @ Oct 9 2011, 11:08 PM) You may need to hack a bigger portion, put cement (Sand + stone + cement) with the nut inside. yes I think this is the last option. This post has been edited by Terence573: Oct 9 2011, 10:15 PM
XPS
Oct 9 2011, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(Terence573 @ Oct 9 2011, 10:14 PM) it was hollow inside and I think even this thingy wont hold said like a kitchen cabinet. Added on October 9, 2011, 10:15 pmyes I think this is the last option.  You do realise that each of those plugs hold 10kg or more
cyberskull
Oct 9 2011, 10:19 PM
Have u tried the butterfly plug?
XPS
Oct 9 2011, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(cyberskull @ Oct 9 2011, 10:19 PM) Have u tried the butterfly plug? What I had posted is the more expensive version of butterfly plug. Same concept except the anchoring on the other side of the wall is much more significant. Used them a lot for plaster boards mountings.
TSTerence573
Oct 10 2011, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(XPS @ Oct 9 2011, 11:18 PM) You do realise that each of those plugs hold 10kg or more  but the real question is has anyone done it one a hollow blocked walling? even drilling on the wall will somehow wreck or cause a crack... This post has been edited by Terence573: Oct 10 2011, 12:02 AM
ozak
Oct 10 2011, 08:15 AM
QUOTE(Terence573 @ Oct 10 2011, 12:01 AM) but the real question is has anyone done it one a hollow blocked walling? even drilling on the wall will somehow wreck or cause a crack...  I done before. My office building is using the hollow brick. You need something like Terence573 mention. But bigger size to grab wider space. If you consent about the weight of your cabinet, drill extra hole instead of standard.
weikee
Oct 10 2011, 10:05 AM
Even you use the plug, it may need proper strengthen to hold cabinet. Kitchen cabinet is not light.
JinXXX
Oct 10 2011, 10:19 AM
you can use what is called a butterfly plug  additional image/variant here  another word use is "plasterboard plugs" , cause behind plasterboard is hollow just like your bricks see here http://www.askabuilder.co.uk/how-to/fix-to-plasterboard.htmlsee here also http://www.itwproline.com.au/Hollow-Wall-Anchor/default.aspxall via power of google
ozak
Oct 10 2011, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 10 2011, 10:05 AM) Even you use the plug, it may need proper strengthen to hold cabinet. Kitchen cabinet is not light. Just drill more hole to hold. If 4 hole hold 100kg = 25kg each hole. 8 hole will hold 12.5kg each hold. That will lighten the hole stress and possible crack. But still can hold a 100kg weight. Makesure each hole pitch is wider.
XPS
Oct 10 2011, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(Terence573 @ Oct 10 2011, 12:01 AM) but the real question is has anyone done it one a hollow blocked walling? even drilling on the wall will somehow wreck or cause a crack...  If your bricks on the wall crack its either its such a poor construction you have other things to worry about or the drilling is not done properly. Not sure what can be done by your contractor but perhaps installing a decently thick backing board onto your wall where the cabinets are then mounted onto? Only your contractor can tell what is feasible. And yes, mounted pretty heavy stuff using these plugs onto ceiling boards. The plugs will hold itself for sure. Your issue here is whether the wall is designed to hold the kitchen cabinets which once fully loaded are heavy.
JinXXX
Oct 10 2011, 01:15 PM
later the plug can hold.. but the wall came off.. lol
Jo_da48
Oct 10 2011, 02:48 PM
Is brick Hole facing upward and cement been pull into those holes, or only cement the suffice... I worry it may not able to suitain the load but perhaps Terence should talk to the contractor to get more info. He should able to give advise
ozak
Oct 10 2011, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Oct 10 2011, 02:48 PM) Is brick Hole facing upward and cement been pull into those holes, or only cement the suffice... I worry it may not able to suitain the load but perhaps Terence should talk to the contractor to get more info. He should able to give advise Can lah. Don't scare him. We hang a few row of rack to keep tool on this kind of wall in my office for many yrs. No problem lah.