Huawei Honor/(Glory), Huawei Glory turns Honor (U8860)?

zabran2020
post Mar 8 2012, 07:46 PM

94 posts

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
front view
battle scars after 1 month usage tongue.gif

[/quote]

ouch!
zabran2020
post Mar 8 2012, 07:59 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(vinderr @ Mar 8 2012, 07:51 PM)
HI, i was looking for that case. How much did u pay for it? mind sharing the ebay link bro?and LOL at your abuse, that's a mighty big dent.  tongue.gif

Btw i have a question for all, if I wanted to downgrade from ICS back 2.3.6, where do I find the rom? i looked at the huawei website, there is a 2.3 there, but the build number is different from what I have in my phone, not sure if that's an issue. So I'd like your opinions and assistance please, if someone could provide their 2.3.6 rom for download, it would be much appreciated.
You can download the worldwide version u8860 2.3.6 rom here

u8860 Worldwide version

zabran2020
post Mar 8 2012, 08:41 PM

94 posts

I found this somewhere in cari forum

u8860 Casing

just doing some searching.. smile.gif
zabran2020
post Mar 8 2012, 11:38 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(Shawnzz @ Mar 8 2012, 09:10 PM)
hey bro, are u using chrome beta? where did u download it from? market?
chrome beta still not in market...i tried to install via google itself oso cannot...but it will be available soon smile.gif

QUOTE(vinderr @ Mar 8 2012, 09:21 PM)
oh and does anyone here use dolphin browser HD? does it work with ICS?

Added on March 8, 2012, 11:07 pm

hi sorry, what does "power cycle your phone to idle mode" mean?
i confirm that Dolphin HD works with ICS.
zabran2020
post Mar 9 2012, 12:00 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(vinderr @ Mar 8 2012, 11:49 PM)
thank you ma man. gonna make the switch to ics now. I didn't format the sd card though, as someone commented earlier that we don't really need to do it. and i don;t exactly know what turning the phone to idle mode means, but i've turned off all connections and switched to airplane mode.
no problemo...once ICS update here ya smile.gif

zabran2020
post Mar 9 2012, 10:44 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(MrAvatar @ Mar 9 2012, 08:56 AM)
zabran2020, did u hav wifi problem after update to ics? or did u encountered any other bugs?
nope. no wifi problem at all...bug seen at the moment, i don't know if others experienced this, try to change your ringtones or notification tones from the system settings. it won't change..but u can still change it using the file manager by assigning it smile.gif

QUOTE(wailing81 @ Mar 9 2012, 10:20 AM)
do i need to backup all my aps before upgrade to ics?
or just update and all my aps still remains?
does papago supported with ics?
Upgrading to ICS will set your phone to factory setting. Which means, everything u installed will be wiped out. So, backup if u want your application to be restored after the upgrade. Not all app will work after upgrade.
zabran2020
post Mar 13 2012, 09:54 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(wailing81 @ Mar 13 2012, 09:49 AM)
a lot of ppl keep on saying don't buy china phone.....
very discouraging.
correction, dun buy the low and mid level quality china brand. U should expect something good from the underdog company like Huawei. They are well known in telco's business rclxm9.gif
zabran2020
post Mar 13 2012, 10:38 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(waisang @ Mar 13 2012, 10:19 AM)
Something to share... Are Carrier Subsidies Holding Back Smartphone Updates?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vfkjOGPuls...player_embedded
From my point of view, i guess that only happen in US or other country. In US, when u subscribe to the telco's u get free phones and most of the phone built is really stable and telco's will make sure it can last 1-2years depending on your usage..But it's by contract and way cheaper than what we have here in Malaysia. For upgrades issue, Telco's in Malaysia is still better than other country. Probably because the concept of Good Service After Sales. And for telco's in US, thats y people are eager to built and flash their own ROM because of the limitation from the Telco's itself. So, Malaysia still boleh maaa smile.gif . I use HTC Hero last time, service not bad. Sent my phone to HTC Repair centre, and they flash the updated Stock ROM. For Blackberry, it's even better, Probably because of RIM. So free upgrades. and now, im using Huawei, it's more and more better, free download from the download site and easy upgrade. smile.gif

Sorry for the long post! smile.gif
zabran2020
post Mar 13 2012, 11:29 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(waisang @ Mar 13 2012, 11:18 AM)
as consumer, we are always looking forward after sales service, looks like Huawei is deliver the expectation, do you agree?

btw, how is your ICS rom? as far so good?

Small request, i hoping to seeĀ  the this gadget camera and video test on ICS Rom, can you take some photo and video recording and share with us?

Thanks yeap.
So far, ICS Rom good. When u run it with 2g mode only, it can last up to 2 days on normal usage! superb! For the camera, frankly, it turns out to be very bad under bad lighting, but when it is bright sunny day~, u'll win!

Will post some pix and video sample later. Still at work atm.

Pixie from ICS Camera. Low light condition.

This post has been edited by zabran2020: Mar 13 2012, 12:37 PM
zabran2020
post Mar 14 2012, 04:04 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Mar 14 2012, 03:21 PM)
Did ICS improve camera? Does it have tap to focus? tq.
Yes..tap to focus added
zabran2020
post Mar 14 2012, 04:45 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Mar 14 2012, 04:27 PM)
thanks... how about video? any improvenent in this aspect?
So far, video capture works fine in good source of lighting...Low light will bring a lot of noises in the recorded video.

Additional info about ICS Photo : Panoramic function added
zabran2020
post Mar 15 2012, 12:18 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(Dan Peng @ Mar 15 2012, 12:12 PM)
It's a new phone. Just got it yesterday. N i do wipe them often.
I don't have any problem with the sensitivity. smile.gif
zabran2020
post Mar 15 2012, 12:34 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(Dan Peng @ Mar 15 2012, 12:29 PM)
So it could be my phone prob or the SP then?
i am using SP also worr...no problem at all. im not sure if u use the privacy sp, the thickness of the SP will effect the sensitivity. It happen with my HTC Hero last time.
zabran2020
post Mar 15 2012, 12:53 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(mcsj @ Mar 15 2012, 12:40 PM)
My SP also comes with the box. I am trying to get a matte SP also...maybe that's the problem? Privacy SP got effect touch not the viewing angle?
QUOTE(Dan Peng @ Mar 15 2012, 12:50 PM)
Oooo. What's privacy SP? Have never heard of it. >__<
Normally privacy SP is thicker than the normal SP so that u can have the viewing angle effect for Privacy SP and because of this thickness, it actually effecting the sensitivity of the touch screen.
zabran2020
post Mar 15 2012, 01:45 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(Dan Peng @ Mar 15 2012, 01:23 PM)
Ooo ok.

Eheh. Why i can't load the link you give. It's down for maintainence. sleep.gif
I want update ICS le. Any other alternate links?  rclxms.gif
try this.

u8860