Huawei Honor/(Glory), Huawei Glory turns Honor (U8860)?

hkboey
post Mar 30 2012, 07:05 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(jimmy G @ Mar 29 2012, 10:32 PM)
not working, i think it has something to do with my primary email account because i tried using my primary email acc on my friends phone it didn't work either keeps on saying my username or password is wrong. Is there a way to unsync/unbind(or other viable method) my primary email account from my phone.
go to "Setting > Accounts & Sync" remove and add the email again?

QUOTE(Dan Peng @ Mar 29 2012, 11:03 PM)
Problem solved.
Using MIUI now. biggrin.gif
Good to hear that smile.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
hkboey
post Apr 2 2012, 10:13 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(dreamwar @ Mar 30 2012, 10:26 AM)
Erm, the original 1.. running 2.3.6 ...i think the version is B865 as stated in the build number found in settings
B865 is not rootable I think. If you insist on rooting, upgrade to B867 then you can root it using pink screen method. B876 do not comes with Gapps but do not worry, you can flash it with "gapps-gb-full-20110815-signed.zip" and all Gapps will be 100% working. Tested and using it now on my own. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Dan Peng @ Mar 31 2012, 08:03 PM)
Questions.
-How to remove the carrier nme on status bar?
Not sure bout this, as Im not into renaming carrier name.

-Can I change thesize of the toggles?
Yes, you can choose the size of the toggles to be Page or normal style. Try look from the setting part. There's certainly an option.

-Can I have multiple dock like those in go launcher?
Nope. MIUI is built with NO dock. Thats what made it famous. As you have experienced, MIUI dont have menu button like any other ROM or launcher, all the apps button are on the main screen, just that you can only have multiple screen + app folder.

-How to hide apps ?
This you might need to search around for third party apps.

-Can I install swype
Not sure bout this too as Im not fancy of Swype. But I read somewhere got user complain that MIUI cant install extra keyboard input, but Im not too sure.

-My language is set to English bt red line (mistakes) appear on most of the word? How to rid this off?
I dont think I've encountered this when I use MIUI. It was all good. Maybe you can add some screenshot? vol down + power still works for screenshot. thumbup.gif

-lastly how to root?
The easiest of all!! Look for an app called "Permission Manager". On the first option, set it to "On" and you are rooted!!
Bro, sad to say... I have revert back to GB B876. I've notice on all version of ICS, B967, B969, B972 and B977, all still not so stable as I faced random hang and reboot. Even with MIUI custom ROM still the same, as MIUI is based on N977. But I will still try to help to answer.....

QUOTE(deadravel @ Apr 2 2012, 05:54 PM)
at huawei global website. gt this new update. anybody tried?
im dl-ing now

i chk at huawei bbs, this build is B978.

Added on April 2, 2012, 7:58 pm

erm. yea. tats my fren de
build U8860ICSV100R001C00B972SP02
hahah. my fren juz updated it. LOL. laugh die me. he so sad. dont have GMS liao
If the phone come preinstalled with B972SP02, I believe it was updated by the dealer and not preinstalled from factory.

It's certainly a April Fool joke that Huawei release a Cambodia version! What is there to be so "Cambodia" about? Did the localise the ROM? Or is Cambodia second biggest market after China??? What a joke Huawei... come on! Release a worldwide version and the whole world will be happy. Plz dont give us another Nigeria version. Thanks!

Added on April 2, 2012, 10:20 pmBro Dan Peng, MIUI has releasd an update to v2.3.30. You can download the update zip to try if it is smoother or solved the bugs? Its just a 4.2MB file.

This post has been edited by hkboey: Apr 2 2012, 10:20 PM
hkboey
post Apr 2 2012, 10:47 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(jimmy G @ Apr 2 2012, 10:29 PM)
funny how my huawei honor u8860 is not compatible for game like Dungeon Hunter 3 but device such as samsung galaxy w i8150 is
Haha.. maybe Huawei is unwanted child by Google? Samsung are generating more revenue for Google mah... tongue.gif
Just jk by the way. How you mean incompatible? Cant download from Google Play or the game cant start?
hkboey
post Apr 3 2012, 01:53 AM

749 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Apr 3 2012, 12:36 AM)
everybody think tat this is a joke LOL.
but actually this is a stable version also. i juz tried LOL
come wif GMS and smooth interface. no bug wat so ever untill now smile.gif
happy honor owner now. noneed root! biggrin.gif
That joke is not a joke? What a joke? LoL!! Why Cambodia then? So weird! Anyway, good to hear its a stable ROM.

There's another bug for ICS... the "Time Take" properties in photo EXIF is having bug... all the photos are 8/2/2002. Its messing up the photos sorting! Can help to check if the Cambodia version solved this bug?
hkboey
post Apr 13 2012, 12:22 AM

749 posts

Ya, original GB ROM comes Gapps + notification quick bar, and default language is English. I also didnt check the build number then flash ICS already. Not sure which build number is the original ROM.

Those never flash and still using stock ROM can please check the build number?

By the way, if you want stable GB, I think the B876 from huawei china website is good and is rootable as well. By default it comes withtou Gapps but it can easily flash with CWM. The best part is after flashing the Calendar sync is still working properly! I remember there are some build version before this have problem with calendar sync.
hkboey
post Apr 13 2012, 03:52 AM

749 posts

I have this camera issue where there is yellow tint can be seen quite obvious when photo taken indoor while the lighting is not very bright.

No one seems to bring this issue up. Anyone of you face this?
hkboey
post Apr 14 2012, 10:19 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(adfy @ Apr 14 2012, 02:13 PM)
Update : Spiderman runs okay now. Tested and came to conclusion that the culprit was wrong installer. Pheww...

*Note : Most probably Huawei Honor can use apk which compatible with Xperia Arc or any Adreno 205 GPU phones. Have to do trial and error installations. Tested both on GB and ICS, smooth like a baby...

Camera yellow problems.. i have not yet really look into it. Maybe I will after I got the time to play around with the camera softwares.

Unfortunately in GB2.3.6 no root has access been succeeded. I tried almost all the available root tool available. In ICS4.0.3 its not a problem. However in ICS4.0.3 there is a serious google calendar sync problem that I just can't help to overcome. In Account and Sync inside the Google  account the calendar is not listed to sync. So right now I am sticking to non rooted GB2.3.6 unless someone give me a way to make the calendar sync available again.
Plz get the fact right and dont misleading. Both GB B876 and ICS B978 can be rooted and have no calendar sync problem.

QUOTE(seichirosano @ Apr 14 2012, 03:13 PM)
i have 2 question on Huawei - Honor  icon_question.gif

1) will the next firmware upgrade fix the Google Play Store application?

2) How to enable smart dial on my dialer.. i have to go to the contact search everytime i have to make a call; hassle.
What's wrong with Google Play that need to be fix?

This post has been edited by hkboey: Apr 14 2012, 10:21 PM
hkboey
post May 12 2012, 05:11 AM

749 posts

Testing the China Version U8860ICSV100R001CHNC00B919 release.

- Rootable using the Pink Screen method.
- Doesnt come with GMS and *147258369# does not work.
- However, since the ROM is rootable, you can just flash the Gapps.zip to get GMS working.
- Calendar sync works well after flashing Gapps.zip
- New camera interface. Look nicer but the zoom seems to be slower. However, it could be a misperception due to the new zoom "sound" that makes it feel slow focus.
- HDR option is now available on ICS, which previously only available in GB.
- Photo taken using the native Camera app has fixed the bug of wrong EXIF info in all previous ICS released by Huawei.
- Connecting to PC via USB can now connect as USB Device Mode, which previously can only connect via Media Transfer Mode which was very slow.

Thats my first impression for now.

This post has been edited by hkboey: May 12 2012, 05:34 AM
hkboey
post May 17 2012, 01:51 PM

749 posts

There's one utility to upgrade the Touchscreen in B919 ROM... I've upgraded and the touchscreen sensitivity really improved... nice!

Added on May 17, 2012, 1:55 pmBaseband has been upgraded to 404029 as well. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by hkboey: May 17 2012, 01:55 PM
hkboey
post May 17 2012, 02:16 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(adfy @ May 17 2012, 02:13 PM)
Sorry I haven't test it yet. It's a paid app. Maybe others can give input on this.

Added on May 17, 2012, 2:13 pm
So.. there is not global updates then... sigh.
yeah... sad case... but doesnt matter la... important is can root and all the GMS works after flashing Gaspps. Love the new camera UI. On top of that get to use free Cloud+ Drive, that is meant for china market.
hkboey
post Jun 10 2012, 05:11 AM

749 posts

adfy, you still need any preious firmware? I do keep them but I need to get them uploaded first.

I have these.
GB B860SP01, B866b, B865SP01, B866SP01, B866SP02, B876
ICS B909SP02, B967, B969SP03, B969SP05, B977, B978, B919, B919SP01

Dan Peng, I know your problem. I faced the exactly one before. Did you flash your ICS to B919 or B919SP01 and then flash with MIUI? My symptons was exactly the same. Battery didnt charge, phone no network, phone hang after loading in and so on. Then the battery just drain off as it doesnt charge, and eventually it looks like a dead phone.

The problem is actually MIUI v2.6.1 and versions before it are based on ICS B972, while the latest MIUI v2.6.8 is based on B919. The difference between B972/B977 and B919 is because they have different baseband. B972/B977 is 404020 while B919 is 404029.

So to solve your problem, you actually need to find a way to fully charge your battery first. Go find a friend that have a similar phone, borrow their phone to charge your battery. After that flash back to stock B919 then flash with latest MIUI. If flashing B919 isnt successful, then you should try flashing to B977, then upgrade to B919, then only flash MIUI v2.6.8.

If you still face any problem, try to explain more here. Will try to help.

Honor is a very great phone, it doesnt die so easy! biggrin.gif Been flashing it like nobody business and its still working good! Hope to help so that you dont need to send to service centre.

Added on June 10, 2012, 5:18 amHuawei Malaysia is such a shit head!! They release B919SP01 Beta in ZIP, then they release Beta in RAR, and then they remove the "Beta" and announce it as their "Malaysia Only" release, but in fact the release was the same file with both Beta in ZIP and RAR. Now they remove the release and replaced it with TRIAL VERSION. Downloading the TRIAL VERSION now, and it better be not the same file again!!

This post has been edited by hkboey: Jun 10 2012, 05:18 AM
hkboey
post Jun 11 2012, 01:52 AM

749 posts

Dan Peng, try to flash back to B919 and see. Perhaps your baseband is still stuck with 404029. If still cant, flash B977. Is your B865 running fine? Any hang?

Maybe you should go into pink screen and check your cust.img and see what's the size. If its 12.2MB, then your baseband is GB, if its 10MB then its ICS 404020, if its 115MB then its ICS 404029.
hkboey
post Sep 13 2012, 02:36 PM

749 posts

Huawei Malaysia website just released new ICS ROM B929 few days ago. I've updated to this ROM.

So disappointed to find that this ROM has locked bootloader and locked pink screen.

I want to flash to MIUI but Im not stucked. ROM cant upgrade, cant downgrade, cant replace recovery.img, basically cant do anything.

Anyone got any idea?
hkboey
post Sep 13 2012, 08:04 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(ksuuk @ Sep 13 2012, 07:23 PM)
Cant select Phone Model... thus fail to get the unlock code... dont know which browser is supported.. tried Firefox, IE and Chrome all also cant select. rclxub.gif
hkboey
post Sep 17 2012, 02:02 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(ksuuk @ Sep 17 2012, 01:14 PM)
Don't choose the model, they know by serial what phone You have.
Can't, error if don't choose model and it won't generate code without selecting model. sad.gif

Added on September 17, 2012, 2:05 pm
QUOTE(androidexpert @ Sep 17 2012, 09:24 AM)
WOW.. Huawei release the test approved version (ICS) for malaysia users. Check this link: http://www.huaweidevice.com.my/file/downlo...%20Version).zip
The bootloader is locked. After installing the B929 ROM, you won't be able to upgrade or downgrade to another ROM. I'm so frustrated.

This post has been edited by hkboey: Sep 17 2012, 02:05 PM
hkboey
post Oct 5 2012, 02:34 PM

749 posts

how did you moved back???? Please help... Im stuck with the B929 but I prefer to use MIUI...

Added on October 6, 2012, 3:46 pmIm selling off my honor..... damn B929

This post has been edited by hkboey: Oct 6 2012, 03:46 PM
hkboey
post Dec 27 2012, 07:47 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(jimmy G @ Dec 27 2012, 07:29 PM)
don't download this. cannot root, but performance wise its good.
Can root, but cannot install clockworkmod. Bootloader is also locked... so you are stucked with this firmware forever!
hkboey
post Dec 27 2012, 08:08 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(jimmy G @ Dec 27 2012, 07:53 PM)
you sure? how to?
Sure... mine is already root.... but no luck with the damn bootloader.

go google unlockbootloader_u8800pro.exe

you may want to disable your antivirus before you run this file as the antivirus will report it as malware.

I've run it but so far dont see any harm to my laptop.

Although the filename is unlock bootloader, but it actually root your phone. This file can be used for both u8800 and u8860.

Good luck icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by hkboey: Dec 27 2012, 08:09 PM
hkboey
post Jan 12 2013, 04:31 PM

749 posts

QUOTE(Charlot @ Jan 11 2013, 03:06 PM)
Wondering if B865's pink screen is locked too?
Nope... not locked. Very easy to root. You dont need any tools or software. Just make a simple search on google and you will find it.

0.0375sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:41 AM