Cameras Affected by Sony CCD, Read More here, is your affected?

TSManiac
post Oct 8 2005, 01:04 AM, updated 21y ago

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

This thread served as a general discussion on the recent issues on cameras using Sony's CCD and some other manufacture fault.

Digital Compact affected by Sony CCD

Fuji
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0510/05100403fuji_advisory.asp

Canon
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0510/05100602..._ccdproblem.asp

Sony
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0510/05100701sony_ccds.asp

Konica Minolta
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0510/05101101km_ccdalert.asp

Nikon
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0510/05101701nikon_comccd.asp

Olympus
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0510/05101403...ccdadvisory.asp

SLR
Nikon (D2H, D70, F55) for some other issues
http://www.dpreview.com/news/0509/05092801nikonadvisory.asp

-thx- to Burga for compiling the links.

This post has been edited by shin[m]: Oct 28 2005, 12:32 PM
exkay
post Oct 19 2005, 12:30 AM

Hired Gunman
3,657 posts

from Digital Camera Resource

Big camera recall
If you're having problems with certain Canon, Fuji, Minolta, or Sony cameras then you may be eligible to have the camera repaired at no charge. As it turns out, the Sony-made CCDs in some of these cameras were not produced correctly, which may result in majorly distorted images. These problems seem to be most pronounced in humid areas of the world. I've listed the various cameras that may have this problem below. Click the link and enter your camera model for more info.

Canon: PowerShot A60/70/75/300/310, S230, SD100/110
Fuji: FinePix A303, F410, F700
Minolta: DiMAGE 7/7Hi, A1, Xi/Xt/X20, S414, F300
Sony: DSC-F717, DSC-P2/7/8/10/12/31/32/51/52/71/72/92, DSC-U10/20/30/60, DSC-V1, MVC-CD250/400/500, MVC-FD100/200

if possible mod please move to somewhere where more ppl can see it... not sure where to put this.

This post has been edited by exkay: Oct 19 2005, 12:34 AM
Mavik
post Nov 23 2005, 05:18 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

The main cause of the problem is that the wire bonding between the IC and the pins were faulty, thus causing these CCDs to not perform properly. Two of my colleagues Canon S230 of two years suddenly died on them. They brought it back to Canon and they said it will be replaced with a new model or they can repair it.
cactuscch
post Dec 4 2005, 10:43 PM

747 posts

I'm the victim. My Canon Powershot A70 just show up the weird sign yesterday night. I bought it on 16Nov2003. I think it is coming from the defective stock manufactured between 2002 & 2004.

I'm so curious why Mavik's friend camera died after about 2 years. Mine also about 2 years.

Anyone has the same experience? Did Canon Malaysia really fix it FOC even if my warranty has expired? Or should ask the Photo shop to send it back on my behalf?
cactuscch
post Dec 5 2005, 08:06 PM

747 posts

QUOTE(cactuscch @ Dec 4 2005, 10:43 PM)
I'm the victim. My Canon Powershot A70 just show up the weird sign yesterday night. I bought it on 16Nov2003. I think it is coming from the defective stock manufactured between 2002 & 2004.

I'm so curious why Mavik's friend camera died after about 2 years. Mine also about 2 years.

Anyone has the same experience? Did Canon Malaysia really fix it FOC even if my warranty has expired? Or should ask the Photo shop to send it back on my behalf?
Sent an email to Canon Malaysia helpdesk and they return me a call this morning and ask mw to send it back for checking. If the problem is due to CCD sensor defect, the warranty charge will be waived. Hoping that it is CCD problem. Otherwise, no warranty, my RM1200 just like a drop in the sea.
cactuscch
post Dec 17 2005, 08:58 AM

747 posts

Good news, Canon Malaysia called me 2 days ago and has fixed my affected Canon A70 for FREE. The technician says 'wire has come loose'. I'm going to collect it back next Monday/ Tuesday.
TSManiac
post Dec 17 2005, 10:09 AM

That Tech Guy Who Use Nikon For Video
5,938 posts

its great to hear that u got urs fixed for free. biggrin.gif
hungheykwun
post Dec 17 2005, 10:18 AM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(cactuscch @ Dec 17 2005, 08:58 AM)
Good news, Canon Malaysia called me 2 days ago and has fixed my affected Canon A70 for FREE. The technician says 'wire has come loose'. I'm going to collect it back next Monday/ Tuesday.
mine, and 2 of my frens too.
fixed FOC, but really inconvenience ppl!
fishbone
post Dec 20 2005, 11:06 PM

nah...
619 posts

may i know how much time they need to fix it? i am sending it first thing tomorrow to canon. Desperately hoping to fix it before christmas... so sad...
fishbone
post Dec 26 2005, 11:13 PM

nah...
619 posts

wow.. i got it fixed for free too... they replaced the faulty connector. best part is i requested them to fix it within 2 days if possible.

sent in on 21st 8am got in on 23rd 7pm.

although they placed the extra urgent notice with no promises, i'm suprised that they actually made it.

great service canon!
liquidchild
post Jan 4 2006, 10:04 AM

41 posts

I can attest to Canon great service...
Ive had my video cam service 2x, they even went to my office to pick it up and deliver it back....no cost...
cloudyew
post Jan 4 2006, 03:02 PM

53 posts

who wan to sell me the nikon camera with ccd problem???
bsl555
post Jan 6 2006, 04:51 PM

8,046 posts

I emailed Olympus Malaysia quoting my serial number/model on the status whether affected. They NEVER replied..SUX huh!.
my44
post Jan 21 2006, 07:52 PM

2,493 posts

Dear all,

My beloved Canon A70 has now started to have problem with the LCD. Image viewing is fine, but cannot take any photos because the LCD is pitch black with no response. There are noisy white lines on the LCD as it is trying to receive signals from the CCD.

Will this be covered by Canon?
belfong
post Jan 23 2006, 07:31 AM

click clacking
864 posts

Fishbone and cactuscch, just wondering, how old is your camera? My Canon Ixus v3 which is almost 3 year old now just failed to work. I get image distortion now. It is showing the same sympton they mentioned. I wonder if they will fix a 3 year old camera for free...

my44
post Jan 23 2006, 11:17 AM

2,493 posts

belfong, mine is 2-yr old. Canon just emailed me to send the camera to their Saujana office for "inspection". I hope they will repair mine for free.

This has nothing to do with how old is the camera. It is clearly negligence on Canon's part. They have to do the repair for free, otherwise their reputation will be compromised.
Ice Empress
post Jan 25 2006, 09:52 PM

17 posts

hmmm...

my 2 year old t1 also developed image distortion recently, but it's not in the affected model list...wonder if it'll be covered...
ColeXE
post Jan 27 2006, 11:41 AM

260 posts

I don't own a Sony CCD, but a panasonic one. I'm wondering why these things are so fragile. I sent my panasonic for warranty because the CCD burned or something. My friend also experienced the same thing.
Par@dox
post Jan 29 2006, 11:13 AM

Gantzer
1,222 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Jan 21 2006, 07:52 PM)
Dear all,

My beloved Canon A70 has now started to have problem with the LCD. Image viewing is fine, but cannot take any photos because the LCD is pitch black with no response. There are noisy white lines on the LCD as it is trying to receive signals from the CCD.

Same problem with mine.. brought mine in to the service centre to fix.. and they got it done in about 3 weeks.. remember to call them to ask them about the status after the 2nd week so that they will work on it..

The service was FOC. I think it's a common problem.

I was somewhat hoping that they would tell me that they couldn't fix it and offer me a newer model at a discount.. my friend had such a deal.. no luck though for me.. laugh.gif
anarchist
post Feb 11 2006, 07:19 PM

268 posts

my cybershot dsc-p10 doesnt show any image on the LCD, it shows all the other things like zoom, battery life and even the word no memory stick inserted...

but it doesnt show the image of what im facing it at..

is this covered under the warranty...?
cactuscch
post Feb 11 2006, 07:27 PM

747 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Jan 23 2006, 07:31 AM)
Fishbone and cactuscch, just wondering, how old is your camera? My Canon Ixus v3 which is almost 3 year old now just failed to work. I get image distortion now. It is showing the same sympton they mentioned. I wonder if they will fix a 3 year old camera for free...
My A70 was bought on 16Nov2003

whojen
post Feb 23 2006, 11:13 AM

1,207 posts

hey you guys.. do you all have to pay anything for the service charge.. or issit completly free
i own a a70 and just send it for repair today.. it is coming back in 2-3 weeks time.. hrmm.... hope everything is free lo..
DAm ccd... ...biggrin.gif
crayzee
post Feb 25 2006, 12:04 AM

901 posts

I paid rm100 service charge for my canon S1 bcoz the CCD also KOed.
belfong
post Mar 1 2006, 08:33 PM

click clacking
864 posts

I am delighted with the service that Canon rendered to me today. My 3 year old iXUS v3 camera failed out of the blue one day.. After researching at Canon website and lowyat.net, it seems to be a known problem, a defect. Some people claimed that Canon replaced the camera for free. I wasn't so hopeful because my camera is 3 year old, after all. I thought I need to make a scene, to insist on the free replacement or maybe speak to the powers that be. Well, it turned out that I don't have to do a thing at all.

The Canon Sales and Marketing center is located near the Subang airport, somewhere near Hyatt Saujana. They are opened everyday from 8am - 8pm except Saturday and Sunday. I went at 5pm today, parked indoor (free parking, btw) and went to the service center. There was just one customer. I took my number and waited for 2 minutes. The technician, a Mr Tan, served me. I showed him the sympton and he inspected the camera. He said that something was wrong with the CCD and they will replace a new one for me. He asked me to bring my charger because I have to return it in exchange for a new charger and battery. That's it! No arm twisting. No need to show receipt. No need to show warranty or whatnot. He typed something in the PC, printed a receipt and asked me to sign. He said they will SMS or call me in a week. I will get a brand new IXUS v3.

WOW..

Now, that's customer service!

imsorchai
post Mar 1 2006, 08:57 PM

509 posts

defective of the SONY CCD on Ixus V3 .... ?
haha , so don't buy SONY camera ~
medallion
post Mar 1 2006, 09:34 PM

99 posts

Some clarification to make here...

Canon compacts using Sony CCD? At first i thought Canon using their own CCD...now my mind is in a confused mode... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by medallion: Mar 1 2006, 09:34 PM
imsorchai
post Mar 1 2006, 09:36 PM

509 posts

that was before i think ?
now using Digic processor lo .....
hehehe
mr-2
post Mar 3 2006, 01:09 AM

733 posts

My Canon S1 IS of 1 1/2 year is also showing symtom of distortion on the LCD. But I don't see my model listed as the affect lots. Sure they are also not using the Sony CCD?
boonhoong
post Mar 3 2006, 08:13 AM

399 posts

My Bro's Canon S1 IS CCD died out of the blue. Just pitch black LCD on capture mode. Strangely it's not listed
imsorchai
post Mar 3 2006, 09:47 AM

509 posts

QUOTE(boonhoong @ Mar 3 2006, 08:13 AM)
My Bro's Canon S1 IS CCD died out of the blue. Just pitch black LCD on capture mode. Strangely it's not listed
u mean it is not on the list of getting free repairing ar?
that is becoz , it is not using sony ccd gua?

belfong
post Mar 3 2006, 09:32 PM

click clacking
864 posts

Ok, Canon called me to collect my new replacement camera. Guess what? The gave me a new model. Canon IXUS i Zoom. 5.0mp with 2.4x optical zoom. For FREE! Wow. This IS what customer service is all about!
shinnosuke
post Mar 3 2006, 09:53 PM

who are you?
1,997 posts

this happened to me since yesterday .. is this the same problem?.. my camera is powershot a60

since i bought this from telvince, i don't think it can be repaired at canon sc. is there any other alternative?
bcktang
post Mar 3 2006, 09:56 PM

466 posts

u can try, coz a lot of comp replace ccd fault for free,
but there will be service charge,

SkyD
post Mar 4 2006, 12:32 AM

..l..(^o^)..l..
964 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Mar 3 2006, 09:32 PM)
Ok, Canon called me to collect my new replacement camera. Guess what? The gave me a new model. Canon IXUS i Zoom. 5.0mp with 2.4x optical zoom. For FREE! Wow. This IS what customer service is all about!
thumbup.gif ya... this kind of customer service... should b a model of local companies & gov agencies...
belfong
post Mar 5 2006, 11:30 AM

click clacking
864 posts

My problem looked like the screenshot in this link
http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-...aUG&unified_p=1

which is very different from yours.. but you can try..

mr-2
post Mar 7 2006, 06:28 PM

733 posts

Mine is having this problem :-

First time shoot :

After shake it and warm up a little :

Another example when cold shoot :

After shake or zoom in and out back to normal :

Since is not related to this CCD. Anyone can tell me how much Canon service charge is just to check? And any idea how much will it cost to fix this problem?
imsorchai
post Mar 7 2006, 06:31 PM

509 posts

just send your camera to canon malaysia !
they will call you or sms you the price of fixing if they find out problem with your camera !
vex
post May 13 2006, 11:55 PM

1,984 posts

for minolta digicam, where should i send for service??? my CCD suddenly dead as well ...
~\G.O.D/~
post May 15 2006, 04:42 AM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

QUOTE(shinnosuke @ Mar 3 2006, 09:53 PM)
this happened to me since yesterday .. is this the same problem?.. my camera is powershot a60

since i bought this from telvince, i don't think it can be repaired at canon sc. is there any other alternative?
wah same like my A75 cry wht can do ?? later i post up my pic lagi teruk
where can repair har? my camera not from canon sc. one same like shinnksuke

QUOTE(my44 @ Jan 21 2006, 07:52 PM)
Dear all,

same like mine sweat.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif how

This post has been edited by ~\G.O.D/~: May 15 2006, 04:44 AM
snowmei
post May 15 2006, 07:24 AM

Skilless
632 posts

mine was a sony dsc-p92....
my camera have some problem with photo shoot mode...
i view photo that i snap no problem...
but turn to photo shoot mode.. the lens come out a bit then auto cut off the power.. like suddenly no power...
is it related to this??
vex
post May 15 2006, 10:18 AM

1,984 posts

snowmei : i think no related, this 1 only CCD module problem.
~\G.O.D/~
post May 20 2006, 04:41 AM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

my A75 got this problem....
where can find ppl repair har
SUSMatrix
post May 20 2006, 10:47 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Hey! My A70 got this problem! Where is Canon office and number?? Please post the service centre number so that i can contact them!

Thanks!
SUSMatrix
post May 25 2006, 12:06 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Just sent my A70 to Canon centre yesterday. Hopefully, with fingers crossed they'll fix it for free or better yet...(wishful thinking)....replace me a new camera!!!!

vex
post May 26 2006, 07:25 PM

1,984 posts

not all the CCD can be replace with FOC, regarding to sony service, they only replace CCD FOC for certain batch only.
vex
post May 30 2006, 09:38 PM

1,984 posts

yeah ~ i get my camera fix FOC from sony too ~~~
spacepilot
post May 30 2006, 09:44 PM

887 posts

I have got my DCR-HC30E CCD module replaced last Feb FOC...mine no image at all.

vex
post May 30 2006, 10:26 PM

1,984 posts

mine also no image, and i left it sit in my drawer for almost 1.5 year, now only get repaired, actually I rugi alot ... but now atleast still can use loh.
~\G.O.D/~
post May 30 2006, 11:53 PM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 30 2006, 10:26 PM)
mine also no image, and i left it sit in my drawer for almost 1.5 year, now only get repaired, actually I rugi alot ... but now atleast still can use loh.
if my camera is water set then where can i go repair
vex
post May 31 2006, 11:36 PM

1,984 posts

waterset got s/n or not ??? if got s/n, then still can send for service lah~
~\G.O.D/~
post Jun 1 2006, 12:37 AM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

QUOTE(vex @ May 31 2006, 11:36 PM)
waterset got s/n or not ??? if got s/n, then still can send for service lah~
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif no sticker or S/N that the problem
vex
post Jun 1 2006, 04:18 PM

1,984 posts

aiyo ... like that just bluff them ur sticker had been peer off by children loh ... if cannot repair FOC, then nvm loh... max rugi rm 20 punya diagnosis fee only.
~\G.O.D/~
post Jun 5 2006, 04:21 PM

♪♬♪~\GooD/~♪♬♪〖&#
1,924 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Jun 1 2006, 04:18 PM)
aiyo ... like that just bluff them ur sticker had been peer off by children loh ... if cannot repair FOC, then nvm loh... max rugi rm 20 punya diagnosis fee only.
like that ar
will kena tangkap mar...hahha
i think i go try try lol

This post has been edited by ~\G.O.D/~: Jun 5 2006, 04:21 PM
eye
post Jun 5 2006, 04:27 PM

1,166 posts

i have a fujifilm 410, similar CCD issue.

Sent to wisma axis on last Mon, they fixed and call me for collection on last Thu. FOC. im happy biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by eye: Jun 5 2006, 04:28 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jun 6 2006, 10:23 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

My Canon A70 still in limbo status...almost 2 weeks already...aiya....

btw, when i was there sending the camera the other day, got 1 or 2 other fella with the same camera and problem sending for repair as well.

*sigh*....must be long queue to repair!
kmf123
post Jun 12 2006, 06:26 PM

397 posts

I've sent my Sony DSC-U60 yesterday at Times Square

I've showed the assistant there about the notice on the website, he processed my camera with the printed copy of the website included.

Hopefully Sony will fix it for free so that I can take photos underwater again smile.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jun 22 2006, 10:48 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Yahooooo!!! My camera A70 got fixed FOC and is now ready for collection....but after 1 bloody whole month!!!

Oh well, since it's FOC, can't complain...since i already bought a SONY W30, now got 2 cameras...dunno what to do with them...sigh...

oh well, the A70 is still superior in terms of manual features and has things like panaroma shot which my SONY is lacking.

For shooting nice photos with great outdoor views, probably i'll take my Canon, for everyday point and shoot, the SONY is the better choice with it's superior speed and movie modes (limited only by storage).

kmf123
post Jun 24 2006, 09:37 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(kmf123 @ Jun 12 2006, 06:26 PM)
I've sent my Sony DSC-U60 yesterday at Times Square

I've showed the assistant there about the notice on the website, he processed my camera with the printed copy of the website included.

Hopefully Sony will fix it for free so that I can take photos underwater again smile.gif
Whoo rclxm9.gif Got it back from Times Square Free Of Charge today laugh.gif

Good Job, Sony thumbup.gif
erictoh
post Oct 2 2006, 05:42 PM

138 posts

I facing the same CCD problems at my IXUS V3... I send to my fren who working in CAMERA SHOP to claime... But till now still keep waiting... 6 months dee....
scorgio
post Oct 3 2006, 12:27 AM

4,695 posts

1st the CCD, now the notebook battery.
Sony really damaged their reputation.
k8118k
post Oct 3 2006, 01:01 AM

3,658 posts

so-i-ny=unlucky $ony

Boxer
post Oct 3 2006, 10:24 PM

290 posts

also repaired my A75 LCD FOC by canon within 1 week,excellent service now thinking of getting Canon DSLR too...
wideawake
post Feb 14 2007, 10:01 AM

88 posts

Just found this thread. No wonder my Minolta A1 having a lot of problems. There was once when we sent for service and it was free of charge. Probably they did the repairs stated in the recall.
littlediana
post Feb 16 2007, 11:18 PM

498 posts

oh my god....
no wonder my sony camera cannot work
poor me....die lo....
bought it many years ago....
suddenly one day spoil.... no drop on the floor or anything ... i really take care it....

Sony DSC-u20

dun think so can fix it free to expensive i dun wan lo

go to sony centre soon first....

thanks for the information ya blush.gif

This post has been edited by littlediana: Feb 16 2007, 11:19 PM
cactuscch
post Apr 10 2007, 05:13 PM

747 posts

QUOTE(cactuscch @ Dec 4 2005, 10:43 PM)

Never thought that i have to reply to myself AGAIN!. After they fix it, it works like a charm until 2 days ago. The weird sign came back again and the photo taken looks like 'negative'.

Has anyone sent your affected camera to Canon for the second time? I wonder whether they'll serve me again.

I want to salute Canon for its excellent service. I just got an SMS from Canon informing me to collect the repaired Powershot A75 at NO charge! This is my 2nd time free repair 3.5 years after purchase.
javascript:emoticon(':thumbs:')
smilie

This post has been edited by cactuscch: Apr 23 2007, 03:02 PM

0.0329sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:48 PM