Honda Civic Hybrid Battery Kong, 2 months after warranty.

turbocharged
post Oct 2 2011, 09:32 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(kevin23 @ Oct 1 2011, 07:53 PM)
Aiyar nobody buys a hybrid to save fuel ler. They buy hybrid cuz they wanna be able to say that they drove a hybrid. Something special mar.or other selling point like cbu from japan,etc etc. Saving fuel was never the main priority.
this is true, lol.

petrol is not that expensive in msia.

turbocharged
post Oct 2 2011, 09:39 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Oct 2 2011, 06:57 AM)
Yeah, that's why i didn't consider buy hybrid when i bought my Inspira recently. Not only battery kong, there's lot s of electronics in a hybrid...the IPU in the insight also very expensive....Honda SA told me 30k.....sweat.gif....Whatever you save in your fuel...hardly can cover your maintenance/repair cost....

Added on October 2, 2011, 7:01 am
I think Diesel should be the way to go for the immediate future. Heard some news last time better Diesel are coming to upgrade our diesel to Euro-4M standard or something. Hope its true.
yea la, thats why i do not consider insight. - smaller, slower, handling so so. only advantage is MIJ and can calculate fuel saving.

prius, extra rm40k, to cover FC. at same price might as well get focus tdci, fun to drive, diesel is cheap too, gomen some simply increase it since the impact is huge.

while for normal 2.0 car, its ok to own, the new and second hand market is flooded with cars like this, so, you're not alone if the FC goes up smile.gif

Added on October 2, 2011, 9:40 am
QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Oct 2 2011, 08:47 AM)
NW insight ipu cost rm7k
If DIY replacement it cost lesser
It is basically Sanyo eneloop D cell (yes it is those big round torch light battery)nimh 5800mah sand there is 84 of those cell... so when you google you can actually DIY just buy those cell from eBay I think DIY only cost rm1.5k to rm3k
can add another battery on top of the existing one? biggrin.gif to add power!!!!

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Oct 2 2011, 09:40 AM
turbocharged
post Oct 2 2011, 02:43 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Oct 2 2011, 01:14 PM)

Honda insight has 5-star rating from international euroncap for safety and so far the best Proton (export unit) only made it to 3-stars..can't imagine what would be the rating for the typical local assembled cars  whistling.gif
the 5 star rating is not based on 2 airbags biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Oct 2 2011, 02:54 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ Oct 2 2011, 02:51 PM)
lancer @ inspira also 5 star what .. but base on 7 airbag tongue.gif
local insights how many airbag?
2 lo....

if want good ncap rating, must take peugeot and forte. minimum 4 airbags for 308vti. 6 for 308, 7 for 407. 6 for forte.

damn. a airbags party!!
turbocharged
post Oct 2 2011, 04:56 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(n00b123 @ Oct 2 2011, 04:50 PM)
yes, i'm sure it is still 5-stars NCAP based on FACTS below:

Tested model Honda Insight, 1.3SE, RHD
Body type 5 door hatchback
Year of publication 2009
Kerb weight 1240kg
VIN from which rating applies Applies to all applies 2009 model year Insights
Class SMALL FAMILY
Front seatbelt pretensioners
Front seatbelt load limiters
Driver frontal airbag single stage
Front passenger frontal airbag single stage
Side body airbags
Side head airbags
like that next time no need crash the car dy, just check got how many airbags, and look at the stats, and announce, this car get 5 stars!!

wait, why are we comparing insight and inspira/lancer ncap/toughness? biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Oct 3 2011, 12:17 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(BuFung @ Oct 2 2011, 08:58 PM)
no no...  wrong..  in LYN..  less air bag better coz Inspira have less airbag compare to other...  no need to replace later ma...  INSPIRA!!!   thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
your camry 2.4 also 2 airbags ma. talk ar?

Added on October 3, 2011, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(IpohLad @ Oct 2 2011, 06:23 PM)
Yes I do agreed theres a lot of people rely on transports. But the government will end the sub soon or later just like any other gov unless you in middle east country where they have endless oil (end soon). Do Malaysia gov really care about the poor people? I dont know because I never live there as an adult but soon find out.

Talk about cold and hot in Malaysia is no match to the Western country is there? My Prius battery survived -10c to 30c all year round since 2006 after 216000 km and it still running like gold. Yes some battery do die early I must admitted that, but it will depend on how the local dealers or franchises. In this case Honda Malaysia is F*** up customer service. If this happend in the UK then Honda will never sell car here again. Honda & Toyota get the top customer service in the Western country. People who manage this brands in Malaysia should work on their customer service & they really want to sell Hybrid there, they should give customer at least 5 yrs warranty on the battery no 3 yrs.

Do some study in the EU petrol price. Same thing, people dont believe in hybrid when it first launched in 99-00.
Now you dont lose any money on hybrid secondhand market especially petrol cost £1.36 (RM6.6) a litre.
Electric car is the next big thing in the west. Same evolution again started "people dont believe in electric car"
Sadly Malaysia motoring still 10 yrs behind. Because the gov still hugging the crapy old Proton.

Ipoh Lad
in this case, prius and insight is different. prius battery can last until 550,000 km from a taxi driver, and toyota exchange a brand new prius for him, and take his prius for R&D purpose, as it is the highest mileage for a prius.

and in this case, honda hybrid battery has died prematurely, 2 years ++. so, no wonder there are doubts in honda's hybrid battery reliability in msia hot and humid weather.

This post has been edited by turbocharged: Oct 3 2011, 12:22 PM
turbocharged
post Oct 3 2011, 05:05 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ Oct 3 2011, 04:57 PM)

as for batteries, it will be cheaper when hybrids are more common on the road. same goes for parts. Honda is not stupid.

Added on October 3, 2011, 5:01 pm
i clearly understand, but i would like to highlight the price difference between the cars. That sum pumps a lot of ron 95.
yup, every car has a battery, but the battery price keeps going up, damn!!!
turbocharged
post Oct 5 2011, 08:32 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Oct 5 2011, 07:13 PM)
Vege oil will be cheap if u can buy used from fast food restaurants who are happy to get rid of it. U then filter it and voila... clean vege oil.
sounds like thats happening in china now. they get the used oil, and turning it back to the dinner table biggrin.gif
turbocharged
post Oct 6 2011, 05:55 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Oct 6 2011, 05:12 PM)
Auto Start Stop will kill the starter / generator faster in a matter of years and very expensive to replace. Now u enjoy the hybrid technology... fast forward 5 years and problems start coming up and u fork out hefty sums for replacement. On top of that, parts only available from H or T not chop shops like most cars.
sue honda, they will replace, as in Page 1

0.0231sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:56 PM