Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus

maverickfoo
post Nov 25 2011, 03:48 PM

50 posts

Hi all, if you still can't find stock, go to Harvey Norman. Just bought mine there. RM1699 though, but no extra charge for credit card. Plus, get to use my Amex card so got 5x treat points! Optional Harvey Norman extended warranty too.
maverickfoo
post Nov 26 2011, 05:24 PM

50 posts

OK. Here's a quick review. Hardware wise, the speed and performance is like using a SGS 2. BUT coming from a gingerbread background, I can tell you the Honeycomb experience is different, especially when using this as a phone. Perhaps it takes some time to get used to.

Many of you will be concerned about the screen res and it not being AMOLED. I have used the SGS 1 and then the SGS 2, both of which have great screens, but seriously this is not a big issue. You see, most of us do not switch on full brightness anyway, to save battery and all. Also, the colors on AMOLED is kinda over saturated, and I being a designer, I'm used to great screens like those on Sony Vaio Z and Macs. The Tab Plus has more natural colors. About the screen resolution, well, you do loose out if you wanna put lots of icons and Widgets on the screen. Sharpness of course is way better on the AMOLED, but the 1024x768 seems normal. Becoz the screen size is small,.a lower res isn't that bad.

I was waiting for the 7.7 as well, but with a premium of about RM1k extra, may not be worth it. Compare some prices online between the 7.0 plus wifi models and the pre-order 7.7 wifi models and you can estimate it. Amoled screens are not cheap. Take a look at the price of SGS 2 and Galaxy Note. It's safe to say the 7.7 will be more than RM2300, at least. Thinness is not an issue unless you wanna use the tab with casings of any kind, which will add to the thickness . Processor difference of 0.2 GHz, well no comments on that.

Other than that, both 7+ and 7.7 share similar specs. Also, due to the lower price, the Tab Plus will be a more popular choice, hence greater support for custom roms etc.

I bought this tab mainly for the phone function capabilities, which 10.1 and 8.9 don't have. There's even a phone dialer mini app that you can call from anywhere. The stock SMS is a good experience, but I have yet to try Handscent. Pulse is a cool way to tracking your fav sites, and I use it mainly for RSS. Browser is great, and remember to switch on the quick controls in settings>labs for an easier browsing experience. I decided to use Go Keyboard due to it's split keyboard function.

The honeycomb experience is great, and you get to use gingerbread applications, like whatsapp. K-9 email users can switch to Kaiten. Friend caster is nice on honeycomb because of the split pane view.

Oh yeah, finding accessories will be tough for now. First, the old Galaxy Tab 1 screen protectors are smaller, and you have to cut a hole for the ear piece. Secondly, Galaxy Tab casings will not fit, due to thickness and size difference. The Tab Plus is actually longer and wider. Because the unit is not launched in China yet, so we'll have to wait a while for the casing. But there is a workaround. Solution for the casing? Use HTC Flyer one! They fit the tab plus well.

In conclusion, I think Samsung did a good job with the Tab Plus. I've been using it for more than a day, and getting the hang of things. From a SGS user, you'll first miss the back button and home screen button, until you get used to the ones at the lower left. Many people are concerned about the screen shot button but not worries, as you can change it to launch the app drawer or camera. Battery life is decent, but it does take some time to charge due to it's bigger capacity.

Mac users will suffer a little, though. As there is no way you can mount the Tab Plus as a drive. OSX doesn't support MTP like Windows, and Kies is still in beta. You can either get a USB adaptor that can read your thumb drive and portable HDDs, or use a third party software previously used to sync Macs and Creative MP3 players.

So guys and gals, wait no more. Tab Plus is worth the money you pay, and will give you a very unique phone+ tablet experience.
maverickfoo
post Nov 26 2011, 07:41 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ Nov 26 2011, 07:39 PM)
neh........ i reuse my tab 7 car dock and casing no problem at all.
Car dock is fine, but does your casing blocks the proximity sensor on the top side of your phone? I have tested a few and because the proximity sensor is blocked off, once I'm using the phone, the screen will go blank.

But if your casing works well, then it's good for you.

Added on November 26, 2011, 7:43 pm
QUOTE(camel90 @ Nov 26 2011, 06:20 PM)
bought mine from LYN seller. look for him at aaronac

it's a great device and just like maverickfoo , i bought this tab solely to replace my aging HTC Wildfire.

i've no complaint thus far. the only problem is i can't add contact on my whatsapp. refreshing and there are no contact appear. will do some google search for it now.
Faced the same problem with whatsapp. What I did was copy my whatsapp folder from my old phone over to the new Tab, then instead of installing from the market, I downloaded from whatsapp website. Now it works. Hope that helps.

This post has been edited by maverickfoo: Nov 26 2011, 07:43 PM
maverickfoo
post Nov 26 2011, 08:19 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(akash3656 @ Nov 26 2011, 08:04 PM)
Er, there is Android File Transfer for Mac users. Linux users are the ones who are going to suffer.
http://www.android.com/filetransfer/
Tried that. Can't detect through OSX.

maverickfoo
post Nov 28 2011, 10:27 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ Nov 27 2011, 07:08 AM)
so, did any of you guysget the screen protector or casing for your unit?

the shop that i bought from yesterday don't have the casing yet and since they did not offer me the screen protector i'm guessing they do not have the screen protector either since they said this is new unit and they don't haave the accesories that goes with it.

i'm going to lowyat plaza today to look for the screen protector and casing. if i've got more money to spend i'm going to look for a cheap bluetooth headset too.
Hope you manage to get your screen protector. Mine was modified (have to cut near the earpiece). Doesn't look fantastic, but it's better than not having the screen protected...

Waiting for the propers ones soon.

Oh yeah, if you are into charging your tab in your car, may wanna get one that can actually charge tabs. Tabs need more power to charge, and not all car chargers work.

Added on November 28, 2011, 10:30 am
QUOTE(camel90 @ Nov 27 2011, 12:45 PM)
1. Casing :
I did not find a single shop selling for tab plus. I bought mine for RM50, originally for tab P1000. But, since this is the slimmest i took it for temporary.

Screen Protector :
Mostly offering me the P1000 version but they will cut the top part for speaker for calling. Cheapest is RM30. I havn't purchase yet. Will look for a littlembit more.
Hi bro, there's this shop called Future, I think, on the 2nd Floor of LYP. I got my screen protector there for RM15.

Check if you can make calls when using the casing. If the casing blocks the proximity sensor, then your screen will be permanently blacked out when on calls. Got pics of your casing? I used a HTC flyer one, RM55.

Added on November 28, 2011, 10:34 am
QUOTE(Shizuru @ Nov 28 2011, 12:00 AM)
Would love to see your review on it notworthy.gif or did you already post one? blush.gif
Any reason you rooted your tab? Titanium backup? Are there custom roms already in the market?

I am a fan of rooting.

Added on November 28, 2011, 10:40 amI just got a USB OTG adaptor for the Tab Plus. So far it can read thumb drives only. Tried plugging in external HDD, both desktop and portable versions, but can't read. Anyone got experience?

This post has been edited by maverickfoo: Nov 28 2011, 10:40 AM
maverickfoo
post Nov 28 2011, 11:14 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 28 2011, 10:51 AM)
No custom roms yet
Root it :
- use Titanium Backup to restore all my apps/data  from another android ; no need to reinstall each app individually. Whole process just took me 10 mins
- install adfree to get rid of those annoying apps
- install root explorer to tweak the phone settings if necessary

USB external HD must be in FAT32 format ; will not work if NTFS. IF size is bigger than 80 GB - your USB harddrive need to be powered on
Hey, thanks for the advice on the external HDD. I think my 1TB is NTFS. Converting it now will be a problem coz it's 90% full.

I noticed you are a Mac user. Did you manage to mount your Tab using USB? Gingerbread was easy to transfer files using USB, but because of the MTP used by Honeycomb, OSX has problems accessing the device.

Added on November 28, 2011, 11:32 am
QUOTE(maverickfoo @ Nov 28 2011, 11:14 AM)
Hey, thanks for the advice on the external HDD. I think my 1TB is NTFS. Converting it now will be a problem coz it's 90% full.

I noticed you are a Mac user. Did you manage to mount your Tab using USB? Gingerbread was easy to transfer files using USB, but because of the MTP used by Honeycomb, OSX has problems accessing the device.
By the way, can share how you rooted your device?

This post has been edited by maverickfoo: Nov 28 2011, 11:32 AM
maverickfoo
post Nov 28 2011, 02:39 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ Nov 28 2011, 12:07 PM)
Yeap. I've got both screen protector and casing. Both were meant for the old tab tho. But, it's good enough for a temporary solution.

Anyway guys, what have you installed in your tab?

Mine :
-viber
-whatsapp
-oovoo
-tweetdeck
-facebook

Yeap, pathetic list. I have yet to use this baby to its fullest -,-'
- Pulse is great since I opened it, haha, so it stayed.
- Kaiten
- Series Guide
- Friend caster
- IMDB
- WiFi File Transfer
- QR Droid
- Nimbuzz (eBuddy-like messenger which works on Mac too)
- MoBo Player (best video player so far for me)
- Astrid Task
- XE Currency
- GO Keyboard (great keyboard for thumbing, but if you like to use your index fingers to type while your tab is on a flat surface, the stock keyboard is good.)
- Wakedia
- Dropbox
maverickfoo
post Nov 28 2011, 06:45 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 28 2011, 05:16 PM)
Rooting guide - use the one develop for the 8.9 model
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1287205

The details slightly different. In principle just boot to recovery mode and flash the root.zip file. After reset, download from market superuser and busybox to complete the process
Hi bro, how to boot into recovery? Once the device is off, i pressed power + volume down, then I see a warning screen asking to press volume up to continue, and volume down to restart tablet. When I press volume up, it goes into "downloading... do not turn off target!!"

Any advice?

Added on November 28, 2011, 6:46 pm
QUOTE(benny888 @ Nov 28 2011, 05:16 PM)
Rooting guide - use the one develop for the 8.9 model
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1287205

The details slightly different. In principle just boot to recovery mode and flash the root.zip file. After reset, download from market superuser and busybox to complete the process
Hi bro, how to boot into recovery? Once the device is off, i pressed power + volume down, then I see a warning screen asking to press volume up to continue, and volume down to restart tablet. When I press volume up, it goes into "downloading... do not turn off target!!"

Any advice?

This post has been edited by maverickfoo: Nov 28 2011, 06:46 PM
maverickfoo
post Nov 28 2011, 06:48 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(maverickfoo @ Nov 28 2011, 06:45 PM)

Any advice?
Ah, no worries. I tried Vol Up + Power, coz I remember the buttons are the other way round for my SGS1 as well.

maverickfoo
post Nov 28 2011, 11:17 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ Nov 28 2011, 10:14 PM)
So guys, which one consumes less battery?

1. Using EDGE
2. Using wifi

From my experience with HTC Wildfire (froyo), using wifi can make battery last longer. While HSDPA mode consumes more power than EDGE. I set the network mode to GSM only thus i can only enjoy EDGE speed.
As I know, EDGE/3G or data uses more battery if the place you are at has inconsistent connection. Most of the time, extra power is used to get on the network. I have tried using data vs wifi thru my YES device, and with the latter, the battery last longer. Of course, if your data connection is stable, then perhaps 3G/EDGE is a better bet.
maverickfoo
post Nov 29 2011, 08:49 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(ballak @ Nov 29 2011, 12:29 PM)
guys

When I plug in usb cables to my Tablet, the battery Icon has an "X" on it. why is this happened?
Sometimes the power output is not high enough. Like car chargers, not all can charge the Galaxy Tab, and other tabs in the market. I just bought a new car chargers today which USB port is designed for charging Tabs. You can buy from Ring Mobile (bdotcome) at Lelong.my.

I have a capdase usb adaptor that doesn't charge my Tab too. At home, I use the one that came with the package.

maverickfoo
post Nov 30 2011, 11:11 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(tehsuam @ Nov 30 2011, 09:18 AM)
Ok..i uninstall and download directly from their website..

And still not working..

I did google about this problem, & some said to save/export all  contacts to device..but i dont know how..
Hi. Perhaps you wanna try copying your whole whatsapp folder from the old phone over? personally I don't think it's the contacts issue, because on my phone I never keep any contacts. All are Synced in from google.
maverickfoo
post Nov 30 2011, 12:18 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(tehsuam @ Nov 30 2011, 11:44 AM)
hmm..are you a 7plus owner/user too?

just wanna know
Yeap! Proud owner of one.
maverickfoo
post Nov 30 2011, 01:46 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(tehsuam @ Nov 30 2011, 12:24 PM)
my old phone is with my wife at kampong...cuti-cuti Malaysia...

need to wait another weekend lah nampaknya...

is there no other method?can i copy it from another phone that wasn't mine?
Hmph, don't think so. I would think it follows the phone number. Well, if you wife can copy the folder and zip it for you, should be okay. Important is there are some database files in the old whatsapp folder that is linked to contacts. My best guess lar.

Coz initially when I install Whatsapp without copying over the folder, I had the same problem as you. I then uninstall, reinstall from the website and copy over the folder. Works!

Well, guess you have to live without whatsapp for a while... sad.gif

Added on November 30, 2011, 1:56 pm
QUOTE(mariobro @ Nov 30 2011, 01:32 PM)
The New Firmware P6200DXKK5 bit laggy for me.  Any Idea where To download/downgrade old firmware ? LOL
What kind of lags? Is it with TouchWiz or the overall operations?

Thanks for taking the first step and letting us know, man... smile.gif

This post has been edited by maverickfoo: Nov 30 2011, 01:56 PM
maverickfoo
post Nov 30 2011, 03:06 PM

50 posts

Argh, I accidentally updated to DXKK5 too, through software update in Settings>About phone. Haven't experience the lag yet.

By the way, for those whom have bought the Galaxy Tab Casing and have your proximity sensor blocked, you can disable the sensor in Settings> Screen.
maverickfoo
post Nov 30 2011, 07:10 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(nkl7877 @ Nov 30 2011, 04:58 PM)
any idea when the casing and sp will available in the market... want to buy 1 but scare the unit get scratch.....
My contacts estimate between 2 weeks to a month. Either sacrifice the proximity sensor or use the HTC flyer casing for temporary solutions. I rather it not look 100% chun, then kena a few scratches. Any idea if the screen is Gorilla Glass?

Added on November 30, 2011, 7:18 pm
QUOTE(winniechen @ Nov 30 2011, 05:58 PM)
WOW, guys. So happy to hear that so many of you have gotten the Tab 7 Plus already. I have a review unit with me, playing with it and loving it very much.

For those who is still unsure, check out my First Impression blog post here >> http://www.winniekepala.com/2011/11/samsun...rst-impression/

I'm collecting questions if you want me to test or answer for the full review post coming next week. Let me know.

PS. I have been scouring the internet for cases as well. tongue.gif
Great first impression there. You're right about the mysterious and almost mystical Tab 7.7. Just tired of waiting for that and went for the Tab Plus instead.

However, the 8.9 almost won the sale if not for the inability (for now, at least until custom ROMs are out). Samsung is really into spoiling us with choices...)

This post has been edited by maverickfoo: Nov 30 2011, 07:18 PM
maverickfoo
post Nov 30 2011, 10:13 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(kob3bryant @ Nov 30 2011, 08:28 PM)
so 7 plus have more rom to choose from compare to 8.9?
Usually those devices that are more popular will have more cookers working on the ROMs. Like SGS1, HTC Desire etc.

Hopefully with the pricing and portability factor of the 7+, it will be a more popular choice. If it's true that 7.7 is way more expensive, then quite unlikely for people to risk playing with custom ROMs on it too.

Well, those are just guesses....
maverickfoo
post Dec 1 2011, 08:24 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(Tookia @ Dec 1 2011, 07:17 AM)
Found out from my retailer that Samsung Galaxy Tab 7 plus Bluetooth version 3.0 does not support Bluetooth wireless devices having versions earlier than 3.0. Cannot pair my old Jabra and Sony Ericcson wireless bluetooth devices. Tha tab sucks.
You sure about that? It worked with all my old bluetooth devices. My 2 year old Jabra too.
maverickfoo
post Dec 8 2011, 09:41 PM

50 posts

Hey all! Go check out Android Market from time to time. Apps at 90% off!
maverickfoo
post Dec 9 2011, 10:08 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(gp2stroker @ Dec 9 2011, 09:52 AM)
ravemaster, i'm getting a bluetooth headset also later.... if our m'sian weather like 4 seasons countries at least can wear coat most of the time then can fit in coat pocket  tongue.gif

any recommendations for good value bluetooth headset? i was looking at Samsung HM1100 or HM1200, but still looking at others
Can put in your back jeans pocket...

0.0249sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:19 AM