The Complete PSU Sleeving Guide - Tips & Tricks, For the casemod enthusiast. Pics inside

bombman
post Oct 2 2006, 02:17 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(Death god - Winter heart @ Oct 1 2006, 09:40 AM)
Wanna ask, after i remove molex and change with uv molex... i found out the pin r loose with my molex oscket ( means no tide feel like not fit)  how should i do... thx
As long the pins doesnt come out, it's fine. Normal for 'em 2 b loose
bombman
post Jan 4 2007, 02:17 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(mighty @ Dec 30 2006, 08:21 PM)
can anybody tell me how to sleeve the sata power connector??  icon_question.gif
Just remove the connector 1st usin' a tweezer; lift the plastic pin & pull the cable out
bombman
post Jan 10 2007, 01:14 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(mighty @ Jan 5 2007, 11:13 PM)
i've thought bout it b4.. but so takut la to do dat
QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Jan 9 2007, 09:31 AM)
it will void ur warranty u know blush.gif
Owh~...in dis case dats the only choice. But of course voids the warranty. Somtimes hav 2 take risks in life...hehe
bombman
post Jan 12 2007, 01:14 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

The 2nd one is really elegant dude. Only if the PSU is black color... wink.gif
bombman
post Jan 22 2007, 01:22 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(jtcs87 @ Jan 14 2007, 12:59 PM)
Purple setup is quite ugly la! Iz it display under CCFL (Purple) ? sweat.gif
Might b so 2 some yet b interesting 2 others. Individual preference after all rite? wink.gif

Dont think it's under CCFL
bombman
post Jan 28 2007, 11:55 PM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Jan 25 2007, 07:23 PM)
try to heat up your heatshrink using hair dryer or anything that produce heat.using lighter or candle not recommended.
QUOTE(xalim @ Jan 27 2007, 02:56 PM)
11pm - 4am...
sleev my PSU cables... huh, tired lor... done already... but not nice coz still new... use lighter coz hav no hairdryer..
Dats rite; usin' hot air blower (or hair dryer) gives perfect results compared to flames

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Jan 28 2007, 12:00 AM)
WTA, can these daisy chained cables be sleeved and what size of sleeving do i need..thx

Pix are taken frm the net but mine's exactly like that

thx in advance
Why not¿ Only dat it's more complicated than sleeving single ones. Can use the 1/4" size. The length of course u hav 2 measure urself wink.gif
bombman
post Apr 14 2007, 02:00 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 12 2007, 07:46 PM)
what's the normal price for the vizo sleeving kit? got black color one? wanna buy one if got low price in pcfair.
QUOTE(Doom @ Apr 13 2007, 02:24 AM)
I dont think and hardly seen sleeving kit available at PC fair ...

i will be going 2mr .. so will see got it or not ...
Personally, it's no longer worth it 2 buy the sleeving kits. U can get wht u really need by metres nowadays.

I was selling the Vantec's bout yr ago vry cheaply but then cost started to rocket

Btw, VIZO do manufacture Black color one . If u really want it, then can ask moderno
bombman
post Apr 23 2007, 11:44 PM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Apr 16 2007, 09:04 AM)
I am wondering, how do we estimate the size of sleeve need for a particular cable in the PSU?

And i am not sure where to ask this:

If i were to sleeve the cables that come out from my casing (front port cables, power/hdd led), what size and type of sleeve should i use?I intend to sleeve my GC cooler wire as well but it seems too thin to use normal sleeve...
For ATX, add ~5cm to the measured length while for rest ~3cm

Bout 2nd question, I use the 6mm ones. Somtimes doesnt really fit snugly but doesnt look cacat either.
bombman
post Apr 30 2007, 02:39 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

bobtiang : Cheapo, crude method is to cucuk 2 staples on each side and push the connector against u by a wooden block

Advanced, faster way get the PSU Connectors Removal Tool
bombman
post May 1 2007, 01:38 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

Remember practise makes it perfect. Whn I 1st saw that kind of technique tought 'll waste too much time but after a while it was so easy that currenly by usin' the staples I can remove the pins also as fast usin' the tool

Tip : Use the normal size staple instead bigger as mentioned in many sites. All da best
bombman
post Jun 10 2007, 12:46 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(Are_keem @ Jun 8 2007, 12:42 AM)
anyway, how to remove that connector?  afraid it will broke into pieces.. hmm.gif

-adios-
QUOTE(zahri @ Jun 8 2007, 01:25 AM)
Bro,

could u snap another picture of the connector from a different angle.

i use a small flathead scredriver, really small ... usually used for spectacles.

if you can provide us with the pictures maybe some of us could guide you and help you.
Good Luck.
Yeah, can just use such a screwdriver or pointed tweezers; almost like pulling out an IC
bombman
post Jun 12 2007, 02:11 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Jun 11 2007, 05:06 PM)
if some pin broken,can it be replace by new pins? need to solder or not?
Yes, they're replacebable. U need either solder or crimp 'em. The former is cheaper way but takes more time. For those concerned bout the aesthetics part, u can nice look w/ either method
bombman
post Jul 1 2007, 03:09 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Jun 12 2007, 02:30 AM)
if solder need to crimp also ya bro?
If soldered, later just use long nose pliers 2 crimp the flangs a bit
bombman
post Dec 31 2007, 02:31 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(reez07 @ Dec 25 2007, 07:27 AM)
look easy but once u tried its little bit difficult,
need a lot of patience lorrr
Act it's indeed easy 2 sleeve a PSU provided u do it systematically. Number each wires (u can skip either the 1st / last one) & also on the connector itself
bombman
post Apr 17 2008, 01:12 AM

Xtreme Moddingâ„¢
991 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Apr 3 2008, 06:36 PM)
Well..first time doing the sleeving, so i take a ICUTE psu to testing haha... the result is ....
Poor sleeving.... i don't no how to use lighter as mention to burn the edge of the cutting sleeves, and don't no how to use the headshrink properly ... so...i used tape and cable tie to finish it lol..... =_="

U only need 2 make sure the workplace is not too windy. Otherwise while burning it might senget

QUOTE(Doom @ Apr 3 2008, 10:27 PM)
Don't use lighter bro .. .get a candle much more easier to work around with it ..

got extra hand to hold the sleeve and cable properly ...
QUOTE(mfcm @ Apr 10 2008, 06:18 PM)
hehe yeah if use candle of can..but i use lighter as it faster tongue.gif can hold jus  single hand for the cable as the sleeve oredi been cabletie b4 put the heatshrink..btw if got hot airgun more nicer brows.gif
Act depends on how well u'd control urself during the process. Some ppl need use both of their hands 2 hold properly while others manage 2 do it w/ 1 hand. This differs among individuals but after sometime can get used

QUOTE(MildLO @ Apr 10 2008, 01:11 AM)
halo...nice tutorial here..where i can buy some sleeving in seremban?? can anyone tell me where i can buy this modding stuff at seremban?? which shop sell this sleeving by meter or in kit ?? thanks for your help,need it ASAP smile.gif thanks!!!!!
If u r still interested PM me

QUOTE(xcoolpc @ Apr 16 2008, 08:54 PM)
Hair drier is a good tool too, but it take slightly longer, i use hot air gun, finishing is a lot better.
QUOTE(Doom @ Apr 17 2008, 12:08 AM)
@xcoolpc
I've tried hair dryer but it really took the sweet time ...
It's due to temp of heat produced & also depends on the heatshrink's properties. But for occasional modders no need lah waste $$ on the hot air gun. A bit longer only wink.gif

This post has been edited by bombman: Apr 17 2008, 01:13 AM

0.0312sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:32 PM