Photography Street Photography V2, Ethics and Techniques

TrialGone
post Jun 19 2018, 03:05 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(wayne1004 @ Jun 19 2018, 01:31 PM)
i get some hints. but let me try to shoot more.
Actually advice is take a look at some of good street shots (that u like) and see if you can do the same. From there u will find ur street shots style. Example majority of time I like street shots with rain in it. So i tried looking for rain scene.

Except don't follow people like gilden and eric kim cause their style is annoying.
TrialGone
post Jun 19 2018, 05:43 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jun 19 2018, 05:04 PM)
Eric Kim.. Love it or hate it sweat.gif  I am very impressed with the way how he interacts with his subject tho.. I certainly do not have the guts to do so but yeah, he is good in what he is doing
Saw him on youtube on street photo. Said he likes how the lady walk (vaguely remember) but miss the shot. Went to the lady and ask her to recreate scene. Like wtf? It's one thing when directing a pose but another when asking to fake a scene and then labelled it "street photo".
TrialGone
post Jun 20 2018, 10:26 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(wayne1004 @ Jun 20 2018, 09:57 AM)
Sure. That's why I upload here for C&C. XD
user posted imageWho you are? by The Boulevard, on Flickr

user posted imageIMAG4224-01-01 by The Boulevard, on Flickr
Honestly, these shots are nothing interesting......... but looking at ur flickr u got some good ones though.
TrialGone
post Jun 20 2018, 11:41 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 20 2018, 11:10 AM)
A number of iconic street shots also involved "retake" or "fake" lor.

I supposed we shouldn't be too hardcore about what defines street photography I suppose.
Steve Mccurry (the one famous for the afgan girl portrait) who is now infamous for heavily photoshopping his street photos, faking scenes and making up fake caption story is forced to reclassified his photojournalism to "visual story" laugh.gif.

You can classify your retake or fake shots as street photos but it losses its iconic status once people found out the real truth laugh.gif.
TrialGone
post Jun 20 2018, 12:35 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 20 2018, 11:46 AM)
Robert Doisneau's the kiss by hotel de ville still iconic.
Google robert doisneau the kiss and first find is "photogarps was staged" or "controversial". However that said despite staged it is a good shot, even to people who not into street photography so I can see why newspaper and magazine picked it up. And i think the reason to why it is iconic cause of the history of controversies, lawsuits and virality of the photos before the truth was revealed. You try same sht today, you can't get away with that.

To each his own opinion.
TrialGone
post Jun 20 2018, 01:28 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 20 2018, 01:15 PM)
user posted imageIMG_1475 by vmwt, on Flickr

"The Kiss by Pont des Arts" or "Le Baiser de Pont des Arts" in french by sniper on the roof

Very blur by not staged  laugh.gif
Composition a bit off but still good pic laugh.gif
TrialGone
post Jun 20 2018, 05:31 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jun 20 2018, 05:29 PM)
user posted imageLove in Metro by Victor Ng, on Flickr

"The Kiss by Passeig de GrĂ cias" or "El beso de Passeig de GrĂ cias" in Spanish by grajindo (yes that's google translate)

not stage as well  laugh.gif
This one I like. Good job.
TrialGone
post Jun 22 2018, 10:47 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(wayne1004 @ Jun 20 2018, 11:03 PM)
Great to know that. Mannequin looks like have a cynical face for me. haha. A human face will represent more real emotion to the photo.
The train one... you are correct. smile.gif

I listened to the advise and try some shot this evening... hopefully what i get from you guys applied in the pictures.
but i still prefer B&W. cannot wait for C&C.

user posted image20180620191134_IMG_4095-01 by The Boulevard, on Flickr

user posted image20180620194601_IMG_4153-01 by The Boulevard, on Flickr

user posted image20180620195505_IMG_4185-01 by The Boulevard, on Flickr

user posted image20180620194233_IMG_4150-01 by The Boulevard, on Flickr

user posted image20180620200216_IMG_4201-01 by The Boulevard, on Flickr
Ok shots but still feel like snapshots. Last one would look better if there is something interesting or juxtapose scene beneath the billboard.
TrialGone
post Jun 22 2018, 01:05 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(wayne1004 @ Jun 22 2018, 12:09 PM)
well said. I think i got the point.
- Lack of interaction between the environment and the object.
- Photo composition lack of contrast
.....not really. Well u got the points right but what i actually meant was the shots needs to have something interesting that will make people look at it and trying to figure out what is going on or admire it or meaningful context. Something out of the mundane. An analogy would be like nascar race. Seeing car going fast around oval seem interesting at first but after a while u just realise its just turning left over and over. But if suddenly u see cars start going right, fly over and people punching each other on track, you will focus on that rather than who wins the race. But of coz, does not have to be something shocking. Lifestyle, artline like buildings can also be interesting if done right, usually people don't see everyday. Except people looking at smartphones lifestyle and shots of beggars, that I already bored laugh.gif
TrialGone
post Jun 22 2018, 01:20 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 22 2018, 01:12 PM)
And other people's kids unless got context.
The context is either i dont want to see another of your dang kids or you are a pedo creep laugh.gif.

Just kid. Kid shots are fine but the genre itself is already falling into mundane category.

TrialGone
post Jun 22 2018, 01:57 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Jun 22 2018, 01:21 PM)
Comments?

user posted imageDSCF4146 by vmwt, on Flickr

user posted imageIMG_8725 by vmwt, on Flickr
There definitely context to it and even got one guy commenting on the ahem. So good job!
TrialGone
post Jun 22 2018, 06:41 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Jun 22 2018, 03:18 PM)
yes, i do have that other people's kids  rolleyes.gif

user posted imageDSCF6495 (1) by Victor Ng, on Flickr
There is a story there and its a good composition shot.
TrialGone
post Jun 29 2018, 11:04 AM

603 posts

Nice shot. Was into that sometime ago but lost interest after I realised I rather like it with less crazy colours, just my preference. Will only use the style if the lighting is super boring.

This post has been edited by TrialGone: Jun 29 2018, 11:06 AM

0.0899sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:34 AM