Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold and Platinum Cards V3, AMEX with Visa or MasterCard

ixole
post Dec 27 2011, 10:51 PM

227 posts

may i know when i need to pay the credit card? credit limit is refreshed each month or there is cutoff date ? my credit limit is 5000.. i almost spent to the limit.. so need to wait till 1 jan..then my credit limit start from zero again/?
ixole
post Jan 3 2012, 11:33 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(azam_halim @ Jan 3 2012, 05:24 PM)
my alert comes a day later..yesterday use my amex at jusco at around 4pm..got the sms today during lunch..
i never get any sms for alert even i spent using amex yesterday blush.gif

Added on January 3, 2012, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 3 2012, 08:59 AM)
this has been discussed many times before and I have mentioned in Post#2 that many reported that they don't earn the 5% cash back with their online transactions as it depends on the timing the merchant processes the transactions.

Actually hye did start a thread just for the purpose to identify which online merchant does earn us the 5% cash back click here to read more. fruitie is one of the few people who have taken the trouble to share with us that she did get 5% cash back for Pay Pal and flickr. Important thing to note also, for overseas transaction, you have to take into account the different timezone. Hopefully all members who transact with their MBB 2 AMEX on weekend can update in this said thread to benefit others.

I guess if you frequently do online transaction with a particular merchant, it may be worthwhile trying out a transaction with them on a Saturday or Sunday to find out if you do earn 5% cash back (you have to take note of the time difference too).
Hi Gen,

just want to ask some ques,
if i wanna make payment using Amex for my course fee in AUD, i should follow the weeked time at australia in order to get 5xtp and 5% cash back? the surcharge will be definitely higher than using mastercard right? just wanna know which card should i use to pay it ...btw where to see when is the posting date of transaction? i saw some ppl claimed that if transaction date is on weekend but posting date is weekday, u can call to maybank to ask for 5% cash back? do i need to call maybank cs to allow for online transaction?

This post has been edited by ixole: Jan 3 2012, 11:49 PM
ixole
post Jan 4 2012, 10:00 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 4 2012, 05:26 AM)
As pointed out by hye once again, it depends on when the merchant processes the transaction. You think people in Australia work on Weekends?

Come on lah, the tuition fees in Australia is definitely more than RM30K and you want to earn RM50 from it? As to which card to use, it depends, you want to pay more upfront and redeem for point later or pay less upfront and earn less points.

Which card to use? Maybank Visa Infinite  thumbup.gif click below to read my latest article.

http://creditcardsmalaysia.blogspot.com/20...ybank-visa.html

and also click here to read my article on Credit Card for Education Bills

Having said above, make sure you double check if the school charges any surcharge fee (especially if they uses a 3rd party service), if yes, it would be cheaper if you just buy a bank draft.
i only pay rm2k plus for the professional exam ppr. not the whole course, thats why wanna earn the point to waive GST. i had read some of your article, i would say it is interesting. anyway thanks for those references
ixole
post Jan 4 2012, 10:19 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jan 4 2012, 10:08 PM)
RM50 GST is not a lot. I'm not justifying the GST but you should weigh carefully your chase for rebate / points vs what you need to pay. Especially when you are using the card overseas ... I personally will not do it because I can get back the rebate via local spending which I will be charged in RM vs in overseas currency (which costs more) as per what you were considering.
yes i understood what u are trying to emphasize here. anyway as per mentioned in previous posts, as long as my transaction date and posting date are dated during weekend, then i will be entitled the 5% cash back right, i think this will cover the surcharge fee 2-3%..n i earn the 10k point to waive the GST. this is what i thought.
ixole
post Jan 7 2012, 10:07 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 4 2012, 10:54 PM)
You are still talking about using your MBB2 AMEX overseas right ? What determines whether or not you are entitled for the 5% weekend cash rebate is the transaction date. The transaction date must falls on either Saturday or Sunday. Posting date will however, determine you will get the rebate this month or next month.

For example, you bought something in USA on 31st December 2011 which is a Saturday, thus making you eligible for the MBB2 AMEX weekend 5% cash rebate. However, the payment was only posted to your account a few days later and the posting date is recorded as x Jan 2012 in your account. The 5% weekend cash rebate will be credited to your account only next month and is counted towards your 5% weekend rebate for January 2012 instead of December 2011.
i already made the oversea online payment using my MBB2 AMEX today=saturday. so i will get the 5% cash rebate no matter when is my posting date right?

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 5 2012, 09:32 AM)
Bro, tell you what, since you want the points, go swipe RM1K and see if you get the 5% cash back on weekends with the online payment and then post the outcome at the thread hye started to benefit all. And from then on, you and me can know the right answer once and for all. The remaining RM1K swipe with the Visa  or MC to compare.
sorry bro, i already swiped all with MBB2 AMEX. waiting for the outcome.. biggrin.gif
ixole
post Jan 8 2012, 02:22 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 8 2012, 01:16 PM)
All my CVV/CVC/CID for my cards are "blocked" from visibility with stickers too! My practice since my 1st card with HSBC. biggrin.gif
u paste a sticker on the code by using tape and paper? mind to share? rclxms.gif

Added on January 8, 2012, 2:30 pm
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 8 2012, 02:44 AM)
ixole and jchong, you guys just did some transactions right, please share the details.
where to post the details? btw i m paying AUD using mastercard. can use for comparison analysis?

This post has been edited by ixole: Jan 8 2012, 02:30 PM
ixole
post Jan 28 2012, 11:34 PM

227 posts

my case:
1-15th jan i spent RM3k on my cc then i paid full on 16th jan.
24th jan i spent another RM3k.. but only paid minumum amount required RM200. Will i get interest charged if not paying the balance after my due date? not sure how's the concept works. I had experience cant swipe both of the cc when my statement was out, after that i paid the minimum amount required then can use back my cc..
ixole
post Jan 29 2012, 04:22 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 28 2012, 11:41 PM)
What is your statement date? If your statement date falls before 24th January, then it'll appear in the next bill cycle. No interest will be charged even though you didn't make the min amount payment for this transaction.

If your statement date is after 24th January, the transaction made on 24th will be counted in this bill and you have the obligation to clear by the due date given. Otherwise, interest will be started to be imposed on the outstanding even min amount is paid.

It depends on whether the transaction has been posted in the current bill or not because some merchant may not as efficient as others.
My statement date is 12th january.my due date is 1th february..
I thought any purchase before 12th january will be counted in the bill and i must pay the balance..
and any purchase after 12th january will be counted in the next bill cycle? correct me if i m wrong, kinda blur rclxub.gif
ixole
post Jan 29 2012, 10:26 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 29 2012, 04:26 PM)
Statement date is 12th January and your transaction date is 24th January.

Any swipes made and posted by 12th January will be counted in the current bill and have to clear by 1st February.

Any swipes made after 12th January will be billed in the next statement. No need to pay any amount until the bill ready by 12th February.

Sorry for the lengthy confusion.
thanks for clearing my doubts.. definitely helpful.. thumbup.gif btw i found out that my card could not be used when my statement is out until i pay minimum amount required. the bank will block us from using it when the statement is ready unless we pay some, is it true?

0.0390sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:49 AM