Debit Card V3

light bulb
post Aug 29 2012, 01:24 PM

539 posts

This is frustrating, few weeks ago I opened a new CIMB account and they said their new bank card can withdraw AND buy online items. And now when I tried using it to buy some stuff, it gets rejected. I tried calling the customer service but they said the function doesn't exist yet, so either I've to open a credit card account or debit account. And then just now I went to their branch (UPM) to open a debit account and they said it's not possible at the moment. seriously what the f?
light bulb
post Aug 29 2012, 06:34 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 29 2012, 04:36 PM)
New bank card ? Does it have a MasterCard logo ? Anyway, for your information, none of their debit card is supported for online transaction. Currently, only CIMB Bank credit card can be used for online transaction.
yes. pic related

not sure about it (debit card) not being able to support online transaction but my friend managed to buy some games online using his CIMB debit mastercard. But then they said they don't make debit cards anymore so doh.gif

is there a better option for me?
also noob question, lets say if i open a debit account, take maybank debit for instance, can i deposit my money using deposit machines other than maybank's?

light bulb
post Aug 30 2012, 11:44 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 29 2012, 08:37 PM)
- Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card
- Public Bank ESSO VISA debit card (no annual fee, need to apply and takes 2-3 weeks to get the card)
- Maybank Cherry VISA debit card
etc.
No. You can't. You may however, transfer money to your Maybank account using online IBG through other banks or IBG through other banks' ATM. For more information on IBG, please refer to the IBG thread.
thanks for the suggestion and explanation thumbup.gif
light bulb
post Sep 14 2012, 11:18 AM

539 posts

Can I make online purchases with the Maybankard MasterCard Platinum Debit (the card with the cherry picture on it)? It seems like there's no MSOS link under the Utilities section (Maybank2u)
light bulb
post Mar 27 2013, 10:52 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(aaroz88 @ Mar 12 2013, 09:35 PM)
freakin' confirmed.. I already bought Tomb Raider & Heart of The Swarm using the debit card  thumbup.gif
I just bought something using the CIMB bank card too and the transaction was successful. The item is already tied to my account (GOG games). But my CIMB account balance has not been deducted yet, will it be updated in the next working day? I did the transaction around 9pm

edit

just received an sms notification from CIMB informing me of the transaction. all is okay rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by light bulb: Mar 28 2013, 03:59 AM
light bulb
post Dec 21 2015, 10:53 PM

539 posts

QUOTE(ryan18 @ Dec 20 2015, 12:43 AM)
CIMB Debit card is a hit and miss case, sometimes can sometimes cannot(only recently have this problem) before this wont kena reject unless unsufficient fund
I think it'll only work during working hours, from my experience anyway.

I need some clarification here about maybank debit card (visa), so I need to register my phone no for TAC before I can do any online purchases right? Anyway to do that without going to one of maybank's branches? Btw is it true you can only buy online from certain sites? smile.gif
light bulb
post Jan 1 2016, 11:05 AM

539 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Dec 22 2015, 10:27 AM)
Did it weeks ago through sms, but I never got any response.
So I just called Maybank and asks them to enable it from there.

Maybank has been rejecting debit card purchase from Steam and most gaming sites for a while now.
Something about them upgrading to 3D security or something. Next year maybe.
Just called the customer service, and she specifically said cannot buy games doh.gif

Anyway I told her to active both MSOS and unsecured e-commerce / moto . Will try later and see if it works.

edit. It works rclxms.gif . Just paid my umobile bill

This post has been edited by light bulb: Jan 1 2016, 11:25 AM
light bulb
post Apr 19 2016, 08:38 PM

539 posts

Guys I just increased the withdrawal limit to RM2000 per day but I still couldn't purchase the tv I wanted from lazada (costs about RM1.3k) using the maybank visa debit card. Never had any problems buying stuff online before, is it because of the amount of money? confused.gif

edit.

I picked the online banking option (with TAC) instead of the visa, and it worked thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by light bulb: Apr 19 2016, 08:45 PM

0.0816sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:20 AM