Debit Card V3

Nom-el
post Aug 5 2015, 03:47 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 9 2015, 03:28 PM)
So far there are far less complaints with Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. PBB D2D VISA debit card also earns you at least 0.3% cash back (0.8% for grocery and petrol).
Is it true that there is no more 0.8% cashback for grocery and petrol and 0.3% for others for Day2Day card? Is it replaced by the 1% cashback for overseas spending? Does this apply to the new design cardholders only or existing cardholders of the old card is affected as well? I think probably both, right? sad.gif
Nom-el
post Jun 26 2017, 10:17 AM

507 posts

Is it possible to pay bills using debit card in UOB payonline? Any other ways to pay bills online using debit card? Thanks.
Nom-el
post Aug 21 2017, 03:08 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(deity01 @ Aug 21 2017, 01:16 PM)
no..is the debit card that charge money, not the account..
if retain using ATM card for the account then should be no charge..
if use debit card then got charge..
now inform that the ATM card will no longer be usable soon..ask us to change to debit card..that means the fee is coming..
I hv write to ask the bank whether there is an option to retain using ATM card..let see how it goes..
No, it is based on the account type if you are using a Basic Savings Account. For the no annual fee option, you do not have to pay for the debit card at all if ATM card is no longer issued by the bank. Unless the bank still offers both ATM card & debit card and you request to convert to Debit Card, then there will be charges. If they ask you to change to debit card since they no longer issue new ATM card, then it is free. A few banks I know that do that are Maybank, Public Bank, CIMB Bank, Affin Bank & UOB.
Nom-el
post Sep 18 2017, 10:51 AM

507 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 17 2017, 05:52 PM)
looks like all banks are completing the migration from 1 nov....maybank also....

the online banking system for most banks are linked to the atm card....and for meps transfers, linked to the meps network...hence you need to have an atm card....which by default now means a debit card....
QUOTE(kart @ Sep 17 2017, 10:43 PM)
Really? Sigh. sad.gif Are you saying that I have to change to OCBC debit card and pay RM 8.48 annually, just to retain the ability to perform fund transfer (IBG and IBFT) via OCBC Online Banking? 

Well, I have a saving account with Standard Chartered Bank. Even though I terminated my Standard Chartered debit card, I can still perform fund transfer (IBG and IBFT) via Standard Chartered online banking website.

In the Fixed Deposit thread (https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4154481/), some people open basic saving account, without a debit card. For sure, they have access to the internet banking website, in which they can transfer the principal and interest to their saving account in other bank, upon the maturity of the fixed deposit.

Is it possible that the linkage between online banking website and debit card is different for each bank in Malaysia?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(laymank @ Sep 18 2017, 08:02 AM)
from my understanding, the online banking does require a card to be linked, be it credit, debit or ATM card.
if you cancel it afterward, the access would still work, just that you won't be able to unlock your account without using a card in the future if you accidentally lock your account.

and yes, the ocbc staff also told me that the staff is also required to pay RM8.48 for the debit card.
Actually, it depends on the individual bank. Some banks like Maybank & CIMB require an ATM / debit card to be linked to online banking meaning it is required. While others like UOB or Hong Leong does not need the card for online banking. As for OCBC, an ATM / debit card is not required for online banking. However, you can only perform IBG and not IBFT as OCBC requires the card for doing online IBFT. This is not the case for UOB or HLB where the card is not required to do online IBFT.

One possible workaround is to cancel the card and later apply for a basic savings account with no annual fee. You will get a debit card (if OCBC is phasing out all ATM cards) with no annual fees for this new account. Link it to your existing account.
Nom-el
post Sep 20 2017, 03:40 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Sep 19 2017, 04:11 AM)
Locking the account? Do you mean that the wrong password to the online banking website is inserted for three times and then your access to the website is disabled?
Should that worst case scenario happen, must the bank customer pay the annual fee and the penalty fees to get a debit card, to reinstate the access to the online banking website?
Thank you for sharing your in-depth knowledge in comparing the linkage between online banking website and the debit card. It is indeed very insightful.  notworthy.gif

If the OCBC bank customer chooses not to obtain the OCBC debit card, at the very least, IBG can still performed via OCBC Online Banking, as you said. That is quite barebone, but it is still sufficient for me to control my saving account via OCBC Online Banking.
For OCBC Bank, the basic saving account is called EasiSave Account.
Even the account holder of EasiSave Account also have to pay RM 8.48 of annual fee, for the OCBC debit card. bangwall.gif As such, the bank does not comply with the ruling of Bank Negara Malaysia in ensuring no service or maintenance charge for the ATM / debit card linked with the basic saving account. 

I did ask OCBC Customer Service, about the annual fee of the debit card for EasiSave Account. Unlike other banks like Maybank, CIMB and RHB, OCBC Bank does not provide Option 1: No Annual Fee, for the EasiSave Account.

I do not think it is necessary to get a debit card to unlock the account. I believe it can be performed over the counter at the account holding / home branch or contact centre. Different banks have different procedure though.

OCBC does not provide a basic savings account with no annual fee? EasiSave is the basic savings account with unlimited withdrawal option, by right, it should have annual fee. However, there is no annual fee charged on this account and no annual fee on the ATM card. All OCBC ATM cards have no annual fee, only a one-time fee. So, it does not matter if there is only 1 option. That is how it was originally.

However, recently OCBC introduced debit card to replace ATM card. The debit card comes with an annual fee and they charge everyone including EasiSave account holder? Even if they do not charge you on the card, maybe they can argue that they can charge you on the account since the account allow for unlimited withdrawal. I wonder if they can actually do that without offering the no annual fee option. hmm.gif
Nom-el
post Nov 1 2017, 05:40 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(eeeglow24 @ Nov 1 2017, 06:40 AM)
As for CIMB, I have two accounts. My BSA option 1 comes with debit mastercard and no annual fee for both the debit card and the account.

However, my other cimb account is charged for annual fee for Debit card (15.90) and also annual fee for account (8.48).

I hope this will help you decide.

Basically you need to close your existing account and open BSA option 1 if you do not want annual fees.

Which account is that where you need to pay annual fees for both the debit card & account?

QUOTE(jfleong @ Nov 1 2017, 12:29 PM)
Can existing CIMB BSA holders open a BSA-i account? (In addition to, means total 2 accounts)
CIMB and CIMB Islamic considered separate banks?
When I last enquired a few years ago, I was told a person can only hold 1 BSA with CIMB. Even if one is conventional & the other one is islamic, it is not allowed. Even if the account is opened in another branch.

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Nov 1 2017, 12:41 PM)
Sometimes verbal call to you cannot as evidence statement. (Due to different person different method, end up communication barrier).
I think you file a report to BNM also useless, don't think so will work for it. Unless like aduan SKMM, we can see their system to know the current status.
I don't think it is useless. It depends on whether BNM wants to take action or not. All banks in Malaysia are required to offer a fee-free BSA to Malaysians.

Nom-el
post Jun 21 2018, 07:01 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jun 21 2018, 02:45 PM)
im not sure im posting in right thread or not...

nowadays we see many E-Wallet app in the market... ie Boost app
https://www.myboost.com.my/

i cant find any thread discuss about it... any comment?
Actually there are a some discussions on this in Kopitiam but since the posts there move very quickly, the threads are quite fragmented and not very active. I suggest someone create a dedicated thread in Finance, Business and Investment House to discuss on the various e-wallets features, news and promotions etc. I am sure there are many who are interested and could benefit from the discussion.
Nom-el
post Jul 14 2018, 06:36 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(Ryaness @ Jul 14 2018, 04:07 PM)
Basically, both is the same?
They are basically the same with one major difference. For OCBC 360 Account, both credit card and debit card usage qualify for the Spend Bonus but for OCBC 360-i Account, only debit card usage qualifies as OCBC Al-Amin does not provide credit cards.
Nom-el
post Jun 13 2020, 01:27 PM

507 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Mar 1 2020, 10:36 PM)

REWARDS THAT MAKE YOU GO WOW [ UOB | T&Cs ]
Campaign period: 1 March to 31 December 2020

Get an exciting 10% cashback for your spend and be in the running to win a whopping RM888 with UOB Debit Mastercard

Cashback is capped at RM50 per month -------------------------- Subject to a minimum 388 transactions
Anyone got the cashback for this?
Nom-el
post Mar 14 2022, 01:07 PM

507 posts

Can the virtual UnionPay card from S Pay Global (formerly Sarawak Pay) be used for online transactions? Or it can only be used with UnionPay QR? I can't find the CVV for the card in the app.

0.2388sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:22 AM