Debit Card V3

Gen-X
post Mar 28 2011, 07:56 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

close this thread and go to http://forum.lowyat.net/CreditCardsDebitCardsandLoyaltyCards
Gen-X
post Nov 15 2011, 11:24 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(darkbat123 @ Nov 15 2011, 04:15 PM)
but they gave me imteen account form, i think i'll just try again tomorrow  nod.gif
go to another branch tongue.gif If so susah, get Public Bank cards, but like Miles mentioned, your parents also need to sign the form.
Gen-X
post Dec 30 2011, 09:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(yyweiwei @ Dec 30 2011, 09:46 PM)
someone help me plz~
im using debit card,why my current balance is negative?
izit i have to pay the money?

[attachmentid=2614136]
yours debit or credit?

You overpaid?

Simple lah, just call Customer Service when you in doubt and get immediate correct answers.
Gen-X
post Jan 17 2012, 06:34 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(passmaster14 @ Jan 17 2012, 03:26 AM)
Hi guys, if I want the Public Bank D2D Debit Card, which savings account do I have to open? The basic one or the PLUS savings account?
You do not necessary need to have a savings account to hold a PBB Debit Card. You can treat it as a prepaid card too. Monthly statement will be sent to you.
Gen-X
post Jan 17 2012, 10:37 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(passmaster14 @ Jan 17 2012, 10:28 AM)
Oh, but that still means I need to pay the RM8 annual atm fee right?
Annual fee yes and also got to maintain if not mistaken minimum RM25. But if you are thinking of depositing say more RM1K, I guess it is good that you open a savings account and earn some interest.
Gen-X
post Jan 17 2012, 04:44 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 17 2012, 11:52 AM)
PLUS Savings Account or any of the regular savings account from Public Islamic Bank. Last time basic savings account cannot be issued with the PBB D2D VISA debit card, not sure if things have changed though.
Except PBB D2D VISA debit card. This card is issued only with a PBB savings or current account  smile.gif

For PBB PLUS Savings Account, the minimum deposit must be maintained all the time is only RM1.
Thanks for correcting me. Wah, if can go with PBB Plus, then it will be great.
Gen-X
post Jun 18 2012, 02:09 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Like I mentioned in another thread, was in Australia and got myself a few Debit Cards.

To read my standard long winded article - click below link to see what I have to say about Melbourne and the conversion rate between withdrawing cash with my Malaysia Citibank Debit Card at Citibank ATM in Australia versus transferring funds with Citibank Global Fund Transfer.

Melbourne Victoria Australia - The World's Most Liveable City

or click below link to go to my new blog and see my Australia Debit Cards. Too bad for me I did not get an ANZ Debit Card because I needed to deposit and maintain a "substantial" sum to get the monthly fees waived.

Free Visa and MasterCard Debit Cards from Australia Banks.
Gen-X
post Jun 18 2012, 04:57 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 18 2012, 04:09 PM)
Bro, moved your post to this debit card thread because it's all about debit card    smile.gif

Anyway, did they ask you why you wanted to open an account at their banks ? Or you have an Australia PR ? Do remind me when you posted a picture of your yet-to-arrive NAB VISA debit card into your blog. I hope you did tell the CS what color you'd like for your NAB VISA debit card because there is one pink one and it looks 'bleh'. I have seen the black and red ones and both are so nicely designed    biggrin.gif

Oh yeah, NAB is the only Australian bank that offers a truly fee free bank account with absolute no condition, as far as i am concerned. They used to charge some fees too but they changed this 2 or 3 years ago. Thought i needed to open an Aussie bank account then, so i did some comparisons. The rest of the big 3 Aussie banks all have minimum deposit or minimum balance to waive the account maintenance fee.
Bro, I just went in and said I want open Day to Day account smile.gif Like I mentioned, foreigners are subjected to freaking high withholding tax, so day to day account with 0% is fine with me. Just that I did not want to carry cash around and with so different banks' debit cards, don't have to worry about looking for a particular ATM. But like you said earlier, ANZ is good since they are like everywhere too, but I did not want to waste money on the monthly fees.

Yah, I saw the NAB pink card in their website, nobody asked me what colour I want hmm.gif Anyway, it will be months before I go get the NAB Debit Card.

Also, reason why I open so many accounts is I am planning ahead, I now expect my younger children to go there for their tertiary education. So just transfer fund via Citibank Global fund Transfer and then transfer to the Australia accounts I'll have cash when I am in Australia to spend on food and shopping smile.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 18 2012, 04:58 PM
Gen-X
post Jun 20 2012, 03:31 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 20 2012, 02:02 PM)
By the way, when you have opened a HSBC Premier account here in Malaysia and successfully set up your HSBC Australia Premier account, try to transfer your money from HSBC Malaysia to HSBC Australia through Global Transfer and see how's the exchange rate like. The limit for HSBC Premier Global Transfer is USD100,000/day.
Wah, USD100K, need BNM approval first?
Gen-X
post Jun 20 2012, 06:54 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jun 20 2012, 04:57 PM)
I was informed that you don't. And this HSBC Global Transfer is instant too. The only catch is that it must be done during banking hours (both countries). Otherwise your money will only be credited the next banking day.

Take Singapore for example. Let say you want to transfer your money from HSBC Malaysia to HSBC Singapore and need to money to be credited right away into your HSBC Singapore account, you have to make sure it is not a public holiday in either country and it is not yet passed the banking hours (say 9.30am - 4pm). 9.30am - 4pm is the banking hours for HSBC in Malaysia. Banking hours for HSBC Singapore is 9.30am - 3.30pm every weekdays, if my memory serves me correctly.

HSBC Premier has a preferential rate and you won't be able to see this in their online banking system. Rest assured that the final exchange rate will be a bit better than the rate quoted to you on their online banking system    smile.gif
Thank you Sir for the info notworthy.gif
Gen-X
post Jun 24 2012, 09:43 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(VilaFrantez @ Jun 23 2012, 11:52 PM)
-.-'' no one answering my question up there... so sad ~~
Bro, go lah to PBB website to read more on the products and T&C. Basically difference between PBB Electron and D2D is the cash back. And D2D card is linked to savings or current account whereas Electron you can treat it like a Prepaid card.

As for MBB, if you really got issues using the card, then call MBB lah.

Gen-X
post Jul 1 2012, 02:47 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(LS Lim @ Jul 1 2012, 02:12 PM)
Hi, sifus,

I am interested in online purchase from oversea merchants (e.g. ebooks, Google Play apps). Therefore, I need a debit / credit card for such transactions.

1) What do I need to take into account when choosing the debit card?
2) May I know what are the differences between the Maybank Cherry VISA debit card and the Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card? What are the pros and cons (if any) of these debit cards?
Thanks in advance for reading my noob questions. Cheers. notworthy.gif
For Maybank Cherry Visa - you need to open savings account. You get card on the spot.
For PBB D2D card, you also need to open savings account.

I suggest you look into Public Bank Visa Electron Card for online transactions (actually they have so many type of debit cards where some are free if not mistaken). No need open savings account. Treat it like a Prepaid card where you deposit cash into the account thru any PBB CDM. However there is a yearly annual fee. And I believe PBB Visa Electron cash back % is better than D2D for online/general transactions. PBB card are not issued on the spot and can take up to two week before you get that card and the pin number separately by mail.
Gen-X
post Jul 11 2012, 08:31 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Until 30 September our locally issued MasterCard Debit cards are entitled to FREE 1 for 1 Movie tickets at GSC. This is great since the Free movie ticket at GSC with OCBC and AMEX ended last month.

For DiGi prepaid customers, you can get up to RM10 reload and for new customers free pizza hut voucher.
Gen-X
post Sep 17 2012, 11:00 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(suffeylp @ Sep 17 2012, 07:58 PM)
guys, i'm currently using RHB Cash-Connect debit MasterCard. can i make online purchase? if yes, how? i have tried to buy app on Play Store but "Your credit card was declined. Please select another payment method or contact your credit card issuer to authorize this purchase." appeared.
Did you sign up for One Time Password? If no, you have to go to ATM to do it or call CS for procedures. Well, actually, call CS and ask why above did not go thru.

When I use my RHB Debit card, most of the time I need to verify using OTP sent to my phone via sms.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 17 2012, 11:00 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 24 2013, 12:36 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(jasperpkh @ Oct 24 2013, 12:15 AM)
Hello,I'm under 18 and I want to create a saving account and get a visa debit card to buy things online(Worldwide),On the other hand,i wish i can manage my account through online and check my transaction such as the record people transfer money to my account.So,is there a bank provide account like this for underage boy ?
Public bank debit cards are really friendly for online transactions worldwide. My children has Public Bank debit card since they were 13 to 16 year old. Public Bank will issue statement monthly for your transaction. However, because they were under 18, they cannot sign up for online account. Sign up a joint Savings Account with your parents or older sibling and they can go sign up for the online account.

0.0277sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:31 AM