Solar Power Generation, for home use/sell back to tnb

ozak
post Dec 9 2014, 06:35 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 9 2014, 06:31 PM)
Sound good for a project. Dam, China I need to go...

I will slowly collect/buy the goods. Maybe start with Pasar Road.
Next family trip, tell your wife go china or HK. Makesure your wife not suspect you look for PRC. tongue.gif

Pasar road expensive la. Get it from aliexpress.com. I brought a lot of thing from this site. But also aware some is expensive than ebay. But shipping time faster than ebay.
weikee
post Dec 9 2014, 06:47 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 9 2014, 06:35 PM)
Next family trip, tell your wife go china or HK. Makesure your wife not suspect you look for PRC.  tongue.gif

Pasar road expensive la. Get it from aliexpress.com. I brought a lot of thing from this site. But also aware some is expensive than ebay. But shipping time faster than ebay.
PRC is a reward biggrin.gif

Will try aliexpress. But Taobao is cheaper. Need to translate from Chinese loh

ozak
post Dec 9 2014, 08:36 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 9 2014, 06:47 PM)
PRC is a reward biggrin.gif

Will try aliexpress. But Taobao is cheaper. Need to translate from Chinese loh
Me banana. Go in Taobao don't no what to click. rclxub.gif
ozak
post Dec 10 2014, 09:07 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 9 2014, 06:05 PM)
Cheap man.. My ideal setup is to power my 3000w storage heater, it don't need so much energy, maybe 40mins at most, because it only take 20-25mins to heat up the storage. Maybe enough to charge 3 units of DIN55. Guess the challenge is to have a 3300watt inverter (estimate 10% losses), and the wiring from the battery to the interter (280amps)
I think use solar panel to generate power for the storage heater is do able.

After cracking my head, I think the cost can be lower to setup. But the setup is different from your idea. Need to DIY some modification. Don't need the inverter which will lost some power and entirely run on DC power. What is your storage tank capacity?
weikee
post Dec 10 2014, 11:08 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 10 2014, 09:07 AM)
I think use solar panel to generate power for the storage heater is do able.

After cracking my head, I think the cost can be lower to setup. But the setup is different from your idea. Need to DIY some modification. Don't need the inverter which will lost some power and entirely run on DC power. What is your storage tank capacity?
I am planing to use the current Joven storage. Don't want to invest another storage.
ozak
post Dec 10 2014, 02:21 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 10 2014, 11:08 AM)
I am planing to use the current Joven storage. Don't want to invest another storage.
Given you using the joven 68l/15gallon model. Take 60min to reach 43c using 3kw heater.

Modify to lower the heater to 1.2kw and run on 12VDC. That would take (3/1.2)x60 = 2.5hr to reach 43c. Not a problem with this long heating time since let it run 24hr. Free energy mah.

The parts
1) solar panel 250W@12vdc 3pcs@400 - RM1200
2) Charger controller 60A - RM300
3) Heating element 12VDC 600W 2pcs@155 - RM310
4) Battery NS70 65Ahr 12VDC 7pcs@155 - RM1085
5) Others - RM700

Cost RM3.6k.

The Battery can backup for 2day. But not necessary need. Given it optional, Cost can reduce to RM2.5K.

Apa macam ? Do able? hmm.gif

For me, Maybe get a micro solar heater for RM5K. hmm.gif

*Some wrong calculation here. The battery require and not optional. 3panel can't generate enough power for the heater. But charge the battery to power the heater.

This post has been edited by ozak: Dec 10 2014, 04:28 PM
weikee
post Dec 10 2014, 02:39 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 10 2014, 02:21 PM)
Given you using the joven 68l/15gallon model. Take 60min to reach 43c using 3kw heater.

Modify to lower the heater to 1.2kw and run on 12VDC. That would take (3/1.2)x60 = 2.5hr to reach 43c. Not a problem with this long heating time since let it run 24hr. Free energy mah.

The parts
1) solar panel 250W@12vdc 3pcs@400        - RM1200
2) Charger controller 60A                            - RM300
3) Heating element 12VDC 600W 2pcs@155 - RM310
4) Battery NS70 65Ahr 12VDC 7pcs@155    - RM1085
5) Others                                                  - RM700

Cost RM3.6k.

The Battery can backup for 2day. But not necessary need. Given it optional, Cost can reduce to RM2.5K.

Apa macam ? Do able?  hmm.gif

For me, Maybe get a micro solar heater for RM5K.  hmm.gif
Mine is smaller, Can't confirm is it 35 or 25L, around that only.

But since you say can push back to the grid, if I can push back 1.5Kw - 2Kw a day to TNB, that also in another way contra off the usage smile.gif
ozak
post Dec 10 2014, 04:25 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 10 2014, 02:39 PM)
Mine is smaller, Can't confirm is it 35 or 25L, around that only.

But since you say can push back to the grid, if I can push back 1.5Kw - 2Kw a day to TNB, that also in another way contra off the usage smile.gif
Feed back much more easy. Cost panel RM1.2k + Inverter RM950 = 2.2k. Probably can generate 2.5kwh/day. Supplement your heater.

Buy, buy, buy.
weikee
post Dec 10 2014, 04:49 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 10 2014, 04:25 PM)
Feed back much more easy. Cost panel RM1.2k + Inverter RM950 = 2.2k. Probably can generate 2.5kwh/day. Supplement your heater.

Buy, buy, buy.
This one very toxic... I can feel the poison...
ozak
post Dec 10 2014, 05:10 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Dec 10 2014, 04:49 PM)
This one very toxic... I can feel the poison...
I know you tahan longtime liau. brows.gif

Go for small system first la. Play around with it. Than slowly add it up.
weikee
post Dec 10 2014, 06:03 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 10 2014, 05:10 PM)
I know you tahan longtime liau.  brows.gif 

Go for small system first la. Play around with it. Than slowly add it up.
Yeah, and is good to put my back yard to good use, since my yard are all concrete slabs.
ozak
post Jan 16 2015, 10:50 AM

17,025 posts

This is the continue result of the monitoring from the direct fit to the TNB main. The DIY and modify is at the post 647,648 & 650.

Total output for a month is 12.948kwh from the 180w panel. Average output is about 420wh/day. The lowest is 61wh (whole day raining on 29/12), while the highest is 770wh (very clear nice day on 10/1). Since it is raining season, expected the output will be lower.

TNB bill coming this mth is RM59.1 or 268kwh. If without the direct fit, probably the bill is RM70.65 or 281kwh (268kwh+13kwh). That lower by RM11.55. Hmmm... Not bad. smile.gif

alyem
post Jan 17 2015, 10:56 AM

303 posts

Hi Ozak

The parts that sitting in my store for 2 years.
1) solar panel 100w
2) Charger controller 60A
3) inverter dc~ac 300w
4) Battery

After my house renovation now is the solarpanel project.
I have lost my diagram s on how to do on grip and off grip.

Can you show your diagram on your setting?
ozak
post Jan 17 2015, 12:22 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(alyem @ Jan 17 2015, 10:56 AM)
Hi Ozak

The parts that sitting in my store for 2 years.
1) solar panel 100w
2) Charger controller 60A                       
3) inverter dc~ac 300w
4) Battery

After my house renovation now is the solarpanel project.
I have lost my diagram s on how to do on grip and off grip.

Can you show your diagram on your setting?
Alamak. I don't have the diagram. Just base on experience to wired up the component.

You can show me the component picture and I try to draw a diagram.
emusmax
post Feb 5 2015, 12:39 AM

144 posts

Hello guys, in recent floods in my hometown, Kelantan. It came across my mind to do a reseach on solar power.

I would like to start a basic solar charging kit. Mainly to charge my gadgets for a start. I have no time to roam around pasar road yet, but i found a DIY kit in http://www.scomart.com/10W-Solar-Power-Cha...it-10WDIYCK.htm .

Hows the price? Is it reasonable? Or shall i pay a visit to Pasar Road first? Or shall i go for the 7w 5v portable ones?

This post has been edited by emusmax: Feb 5 2015, 12:40 AM
billyboy
post Feb 5 2015, 12:14 PM

2,220 posts

Did you see the application for the 425 to 1000kw? 146 applicants and mostly 1MW !
SUSchokia
post Mar 24 2015, 08:50 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(emusmax @ Feb 5 2015, 12:39 AM)
Hello guys, in recent floods in my hometown, Kelantan. It came across my mind to do a reseach on solar power.

I would like to start a basic solar charging kit. Mainly to charge my gadgets for a start. I have no time to roam around pasar road yet, but i found a DIY kit in http://www.scomart.com/10W-Solar-Power-Cha...it-10WDIYCK.htm .

Hows the price? Is it reasonable? Or shall i pay a visit to Pasar Road first? Or shall i go for the 7w 5v portable ones?
10W is good. I have one myself, can be used to recharge everything including my laptop

Just place inner part of the glass window, you don't even have to open the window

azreeceli

This post has been edited by chokia: Mar 24 2015, 08:56 PM
azreeceli
post Mar 25 2015, 08:30 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Mar 24 2015, 08:50 PM)
10W is good. I have one myself, can be used to recharge everything including my laptop

Just place inner part of the glass window, you don't even have to open the window

azreeceli
can u list the details of items required. and price or location if u are free smile.gif
Will consider
SUSchokia
post Mar 25 2015, 09:10 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(azreeceli @ Mar 25 2015, 08:30 AM)
can u list the details of items required. and price or location if u are free smile.gif
Will consider
Dey, Im not selling anything, tu drillz barang ada nampak kah
Edited since here is not kopitiam section

You only need 2:-

10W solar panel ~RM50 (ebay)
20K mAh powerbank ~RM80 (ebay)

ozak
post Mar 25 2015, 09:18 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Mar 25 2015, 09:10 AM)
Dey, Im not selling anything, tu drillz barang ada nampak kah
Edited since here is not kopitiam section

You only need 2:-

10W solar panel ~RM50 (ebay)
20K mAh powerbank ~RM80 (ebay)
You need to tell the spec also. Like

Solar panel output in what voltage. 12v or 5v. Powerbank input what voltage to charge. 12v or 5v. How long it take to charge full.

66 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:49 PM