ozak
post May 21 2019, 11:48 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 21 2019, 11:45 AM)
Each one 40kg, argh back pain...
After everything is done, no need to worry about smart meter liao.
Smart meter ?
yushin
post May 21 2019, 11:50 AM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 21 2019, 11:48 AM)
Smart meter ?
The thread at /k that talk about TNB smart meter that will increase your electric bill.
ozak
post May 21 2019, 11:58 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 21 2019, 11:50 AM)
The thread at /k that talk about TNB smart meter that will increase your electric bill.
oh, that is old meter problem.

I know this meter changing in Melaka since last yrs. It is my friend project tender from TNB Melaka. hehehe.

pssst, don't tell at /k tongue.gif
yushin
post May 21 2019, 12:03 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 21 2019, 11:58 AM)
oh, that is old meter problem.

I know this meter changing in Melaka since last yrs. It is my friend project tender from TNB Melaka. hehehe.

pssst, don't tell at /k  tongue.gif
My meter is the spinning disk type. Better get ready before the bill shock comes. hmm.gif
ozak
post May 21 2019, 12:08 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 21 2019, 12:03 PM)
My meter is the spinning disk type. Better get ready before the bill shock comes.  hmm.gif
Same as mind. hehehe...

Can install a parallel reader after the main MCB to check if wan. No need modify anything. Wifi to phone .
Kiding
post May 21 2019, 02:36 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 21 2019, 11:50 AM)
Is TNB going to roll out smart meter nationwide?
yushin
post May 21 2019, 02:43 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 21 2019, 02:36 PM)
Is TNB going to roll out smart meter nationwide?
I believe eventually they will.
TNB already doing pilot tests in Melaka.
yushin
post May 23 2019, 03:05 PM

3,329 posts

My solar system is now on lithium.
Very different discharge curve compare to Lead Acid. Need to adjust settings in inverter.

Kiding
post May 24 2019, 11:01 AM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 23 2019, 03:05 PM)
Very different discharge curve compare to Lead Acid. Need to adjust settings in inverter.

What is the threshold to charge the battery? is your battery charger able to charge at 40% and stop charging at 80%?

And when battery is at 80% full, and solar panel still generate a lot of power, will the solar inverter switch the power directly to AC devices?

Are you using DC coupled system or AC coupled system?

Basic layout diagram of a DC coupled (off-grid) solar battery system

Basic layout diagram of an AC coupled solar battery system - Grid-tie (hybrid) setup
ozak
post May 24 2019, 11:08 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 23 2019, 03:05 PM)

Is that earth wire ? Use as "-" wire ?

The battery already come with BMS and all the protection ? Plug and play ?
yushin
post May 24 2019, 11:17 AM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 24 2019, 11:08 AM)
Is that earth wire ? Use as "-" wire ?

The battery already come with BMS and all the protection ? Plug and play ?
Suppose to buy black color but chosen the wrong color during checkout in taobao. doh.gif
Nvm lar self use only, after everything is done will paint the wire black.

Battery already come with BMS. plug and play.

The unit that dated 2017 has some of the cell self discharge too low and trigger BMS cell unbalance shutdown.
I have to manually check each set of cells and top up. will run for a month see how stable it is.

This weekend I gonna open up another unit and check each cell voltage too... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yushin: May 24 2019, 11:22 AM
yushin
post May 24 2019, 11:57 AM

3,329 posts

I am using hybrid inverter. If you choose custom battery profile, you can set the charge volt range of the battery. CV, Float, back to grid voltage, low voltage cut off.

My system will bypass to TNB power if battery is low or unavailable. It doesn't sell back to TNB.

This post has been edited by yushin: May 24 2019, 11:57 AM
ozak
post May 24 2019, 12:06 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 24 2019, 11:17 AM)
Suppose to buy black color but chosen the wrong color during checkout in taobao. doh.gif
Nvm lar self use only, after everything is done will paint the wire black.

Battery already come with BMS. plug and play.

The unit that dated 2017 has some of the cell self discharge too low and trigger BMS cell unbalance shutdown.
I have to manually check each set of cells and top up. will run for a month see how stable it is.

This weekend I gonna open up another unit and check each cell voltage too... hmm.gif
Got to charge it manually before install into the line.

I think it store in the warehouse too long and discharge.
yushin
post May 24 2019, 12:08 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 24 2019, 12:06 PM)
Got to charge it manually before install into the line.

I think it store in the warehouse too long and discharge.
Ya, mujur got bms to stop the discharge when it detect cell voltage too low.
Lesson learned. flex.gif
ozak
post May 24 2019, 12:53 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 24 2019, 12:08 PM)
Ya, mujur got bms to stop the discharge when it detect cell voltage too low.
Lesson learned.  flex.gif
2-3x charge/discharge will be fine.
Kiding
post May 24 2019, 02:53 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 24 2019, 11:57 AM)

I am using hybrid inverter. If you choose custom battery profile, you can set the charge volt range of the battery. CV, Float, back to grid voltage, low voltage cut off.

My system will bypass to TNB power if battery is low or unavailable. It doesn't sell back to TNB.
Mind to share your hybrid inverter model and how to source it?
yushin
post May 24 2019, 02:58 PM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ May 24 2019, 02:53 PM)
Mind to share your hybrid inverter model and how to source it?
From taobao.
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z0d....id=586611033726

I wonder the current trade war will affect the price of things in taobao or not? hmm.gif
newcomer9747
post May 26 2019, 11:04 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ May 24 2019, 02:58 PM)
From taobao.
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z0d....id=586611033726

I wonder the current trade war will affect the price of things in taobao or not?  hmm.gif
Depends on the outcome of the trade war. For now China will definitely devalue their yuan to boost export, therefore chinese producers will most likely increase their price to compensate.

Anyway how much have you spent so far and what's your budget for this whole project? What's your ROI and annual cost to keep the equipment working?
yushin
post May 27 2019, 08:48 AM

3,329 posts

QUOTE(newcomer9747 @ May 26 2019, 11:04 PM)
Depends on the outcome of the trade war. For now China will definitely devalue their yuan to boost export, therefore chinese producers will most likely increase their price to compensate.

Anyway how much have you spent so far and what's your budget for this whole project? What's your ROI and annual cost to keep the equipment working?
5kw panel + hybrid inveter + 48v150AH Lead Acid battery = 22k
Additional 48v500AH Lithium Iron Battery = 13k
Coming month : additional 4kw panel and hybrid inverter for the back of my house. Currently all my panels are at the front of the house and I just realized half of the year the sun rises from the back of my house. bangwall.gif Should costs about 15k

I use the power to do bitcoin mining. So the time of ROI depends on bitcoin price. My estimation should be around 6-8 years.
If bitcoin goes into crazy bullrun then ROI will be a lot more faster hahaha.

If I use solar to offset my TNB bill without mining, I will never ROI.

Another thing that can be done with the battery if TNB implement peak metering, charge the battery full during off-peak and use battery power during peak time. brows.gif
joshie
post May 27 2019, 09:48 AM

134 posts

Hi, i'm new to this and don't know much about solar energy, i'm exploring solar panel for own personal use since will be moving to a new place. I contacted TNB and one of the contractor (Gsparx) got back to me on 6kw package for RM30,000. Potentially would give me RM250-350 of electricity generation in monthly basis. Can someone share with me the experience for installing solar panel? is it worth while in long term basis. What would be the maintenance cost after the warranty period. Anything that i should look out for ? thank you.

66 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:46 AM