Price to change switches

TSsue.chan
post Sep 24 2011, 04:46 PM, updated 15y ago

65 posts

I've been quoted RM10 to change each switch. Reason being the new switches may not fit and require some hacking and modification. Is the explanation and price reasonable ? I have no clue on this at all.

Pls assist.
kelvyn
post Sep 24 2011, 05:40 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(sue.chan @ Sep 24 2011, 05:46 PM)
I've been quoted RM10 to change each switch. Reason being the new switches may not fit and require some hacking and modification. Is the explanation and price reasonable ? I have no clue on this at all.

Pls assist.
You have not provided enough info.
Is this the labour alone or include the switch itself? How many nos.?
What is the switch that you are referring to? Normal light switch?
20A switch with lights? How many gangs? Brand?

TSsue.chan
post Sep 24 2011, 05:49 PM

65 posts

Labour alone. Switch my contractor asked me to buy. Price is regardless of number of switches to change I believe as the fella never specify to me. Just told me each is chargable at RM10.
I'm changing the normal light and plug point switches. Mostly 1 gang with one 2-gang, one 3-gang and one 4-gang. About 7 lights switches and 6 plug points.
kelvyn
post Sep 24 2011, 05:54 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(sue.chan @ Sep 24 2011, 06:49 PM)
Labour alone. Switch my contractor asked me to buy. Price is regardless of number of switches to change I believe as the fella never specify to me. Just told me each is chargable at RM10.
I'm changing the normal light and plug point switches. Mostly 1 gang with one 2-gang, one 3-gang and one 4-gang.  About 7 lights switches and 6 plug points.
IMHO, RM10 for labour to change the switch is reasonable.
Of course, if the quantity is a lot, then maybe you should nego with him...

This post has been edited by kelvyn: Sep 24 2011, 05:57 PM
TSsue.chan
post Sep 24 2011, 07:16 PM

65 posts

read here that some forumers DIY. so i thot might be an easy job. then RM10 may not be justifiable. thanks for your reply....
magnifizio
post Sep 24 2011, 09:09 PM

220 posts

Just paid RM100 for labour alone to change 1 air con switch, 1 3 pin plug and 18feet of casing work to conceal wiring.

I would say RM10 is quite reasonable.
acbc
post Sep 24 2011, 09:11 PM

9,046 posts

If u only changing switches, RM 10 for labour is cheap already. U can also replace it DIY - if u shut the main supply from outside. I always DIY whenever possible. Only call the electrician if need to relocate or rewire.
kelvyn
post Sep 24 2011, 09:40 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(sue.chan @ Sep 24 2011, 08:16 PM)
read here that some forumers DIY. so i thot might be an easy job. then RM10 may not be justifiable. thanks for your reply....
I do DIY my home's electrical stuff.
Only DIY if you know how to work with electrical wiring.
Any mistake can be fatal.

TSsue.chan
post Sep 25 2011, 11:02 AM

65 posts

thanks for all the response.

hmmm....DIY is DEFINITELY out of the question for me. better not risk my life. i'm willing to pay ppl to do it but just don't want to get cheated so thought i shd ask around on the price.
eclipse-space
post Sep 26 2011, 03:21 AM

174 posts

IMHO a person offering his services at whatever price and you accepting at whatever price is not getting "cheated". Getting cheated is more like they tell you they're going to do it at RM10, for example, received your money but did not do it. smile.gif

But, RM10 per switch sounds reasonable.
SUSceo684
post Sep 26 2011, 04:28 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Very reasonable as the usual rate for installing a point from scratch is around $45/point.. this one is worth it as it covers minor hacking of the socket box in case the box got crushed/out of shape, due to low quality plastic boxes.. then u need to hack or risk the final look being senget..
TSsue.chan
post Sep 26 2011, 08:25 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(eclipse-space @ Sep 26 2011, 03:21 AM)
IMHO a person offering his services at whatever price and you accepting at whatever price is not getting "cheated". Getting cheated is more like they tell you they're going to do it at RM10, for example, received your money but did not do it. smile.gif

But, RM10 per switch sounds reasonable.
same fella quoted me one job at RM1,800. when i asked around, one said RM700 and the another RM900. if i never ask around and accepted the price, i would definitely feel cheated when i come to know abt it. unless i dunno la...hahaha...

anyway, since all of u said it's reasonable, guess i can go ahead with it now. thanks... smile.gif

Added on September 26, 2011, 8:28 am
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 26 2011, 04:28 AM)
Very reasonable as the usual rate for installing a point from scratch is around $45/point.. this one is worth it as it covers minor hacking of the socket box in case the box got crushed/out of shape, due to low quality plastic boxes.. then u need to hack or risk the final look being senget..
i'm charged RM85 for installing a point from scratch by this same person !!!

This post has been edited by sue.chan: Sep 26 2011, 08:28 AM
kelvyn
post Sep 26 2011, 08:44 AM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(sue.chan @ Sep 26 2011, 09:25 AM)
same fella quoted me one job at RM1,800. when i asked around, one said RM700 and the another RM900. if i never ask around and accepted the price, i would definitely feel cheated when i come to know abt it. unless i dunno la...hahaha...

anyway, since all of u said it's reasonable, guess i can go ahead with it now. thanks... smile.gif

Added on September 26, 2011, 8:28 am

i'm charged RM85 for installing a point from scratch by this same person !!!
Why don't you get another one or two quotes for the same scope of works before you decide. At least you know what your are paying and be satisfied with it. biggrin.gif
weikee
post Sep 26 2011, 08:52 AM

12,019 posts

I won't say you get cheat, more like difference labor charges. Not like you buy product with huge difference in price between seller. That I will say cheat.
eclipse-space
post Sep 26 2011, 09:18 PM

174 posts

RM85 per point is OK in my opinion, as imagining there is so much hacking and plastering. I think is reasonable.

IF you are doing like 10 points in 1 room then maybe cheaper abit la.

All comes down to volume.
TSsue.chan
post Sep 27 2011, 08:18 AM

65 posts

how come ceo684 said around RM45 ? that's almost half of my cost !!

anyway, i too have no time to get other quotations. if possible, i just wanna let this same fella settle everything for me. i still have a choice of changing or not changing the switches. if he slaughter me, then i'll not change. i don't have volume. so no bargaining power. hehehe...

based on responses here, think he din slaughter me la for the changing of switches. unlike the earlier job that he quoted.

Added on September 27, 2011, 8:23 am
QUOTE(eclipse-space @ Sep 26 2011, 09:18 PM)
RM85 per point is OK in my opinion, as imagining there is so much hacking and plastering. I think is reasonable.

IF you are doing like 10 points in 1 room then maybe cheaper abit la.

All comes down to volume.
i can't really say my job involves lots of hacking. coz most of my additional points are just next to the existing ones. just tap from there only...

10 points in one room ? ohmy.gif no la, mine is a small crib only laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sue.chan: Sep 27 2011, 08:24 AM
kelvyn
post Sep 27 2011, 10:51 AM

3,173 posts

OK. since you are saying that that you do not have time to get other quotes and is concern if you get slaughtered, I list down some of the rates that I got for your reference.

Looping light points - RM25
New light point - RM45
Relocated ex 2 x13A - RM40
Relocate ex 2 x13A - RM50
New 2 x 13A - RM80
New water heater - 20A - RM180
Relocate ex A/C point - RM70
New A/C point - RM180
TSsue.chan
post Sep 27 2011, 02:20 PM

65 posts

hmmm....let me tell you how i was quoted :

- realign light point on ceiling : RM150
- seal off ceiling light point : RM30
- supply 13amp socket point : RM85
- lighting point and T5 lights for mirror : RM300 (my mirror is roughly 5' x 3')
- change switch : RM10

did i get slaughtered ? anyway, thanks Kelvyn for sharing..

This post has been edited by sue.chan: Sep 27 2011, 02:22 PM
maytheng
post Sep 27 2011, 10:55 PM

31 posts

Hi, just pass by to ask few question. Hope the sifu can explain or answer my question. Can we purchases on-off switches at oversea China & install in our apartment? I saw their price are cheap & design really attract me. It's legal to install switches without sirim sticker? icon_question.gif
Skydrop
post Sep 27 2011, 11:06 PM

361 posts

My rewiring quote :-
lighting point RM80
plug point RM90
AC & water heater RM200 each point.

but contractor said he rewire whole house, direct, no tapping. hmm.gif