HTC Radar, Malaysia Launch 12/10

TSHikaru
post Sep 22 2011, 10:21 PM, updated 15y ago

170 posts

Guys, I just got news that HTC Radar is coming to our shores... well, sooner than you would expect wink.gif
Anybody excited for HTC's first Mango phone in Malaysia?

Specs:
Size: 120.5mm x 61.5mm x 10.9mm (4.74" x 2.42" x 0.43")
Weight: 137 grams (4.83 ounces) with battery
Display: 3.8-inch touch screen with 480 x 800 resolution
Screen: 96.5 mm (3.8")

CPU Processing Speed: 1 GHz
Storage:
Total storage: 8 GB
Available strorage: up to 6.54 GB
RAM: 512 MB

Connectors:
3.5 mm stereo audio jack
micro-USB 2.0 (5-pin) port

Sensors:
G-Sensor
Proximity sensor
Ambient light sensor

Multimedia:
SRS enhancement
5.1 surround sound for video

Audio supported formats:
Playback:.m4a, .m4b, .mp3, .wma (Windows Media Audio 9)

Video supported formats:
Playback:.3gp, .3g2, .mp4, .m4v, .mbr, .wmv (Windows Media Video 9 and VC-1)
Recording:.mp4
(You can only playback a .3gp or .3g2 video if the video is an email attachment or is part of an MMS message.)

Power & Battery
Battery type:
Rechargeable Lithium-ion battery
Capacity:
1520 mAh

Talk time:
WCDMA: Up to 485 minutes
GSM: Up to 600 minutes

Standby time:
WCDMA: Up to 535 hours
GSM: Up to 480 hours

Network

HSPA/WCDMA:
Europe/Asia: 900/2100 MHz

Quad-band GSM/GPRS/EDGE:
850/900/1800/1900 MHz

Platform
Windows® Phone OS 7.5

Camera
5 megapixel camera with F2.2 lens, LED flash, and BSI sensor (for better low-light captures)

Front camera:
VGA front camera

HD video recording:
720p HD video recording

Internet
3G:
Up to 14.4 Mbps download speed
Up to 5.76 Mbps upload speed

GPRS:
Up to 80 kbps downloading

EDGE:
Up to 236.8 kbps downloading

Wi-Fi®:
IEEE 802.11 b/g/n

Bluetooth®
Bluetooth® 2.1
A2DP for wireless stereo headsets
PBAP for phonebook access from the car kit
Other supported profiles: AVRCP, HFP, HSP

HTC Locations
Bing™ Maps

Tethering

Internet Sharing

P.S. On a side note, doesn't seem that HTC is gonna bring Titan here, at least for now. Probably due to the fact that HD7 was badly received in Malaysia, so they do not think there's a market of such a big screen phone in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Hikaru: Oct 8 2011, 04:04 PM
Wan
post Sep 23 2011, 08:00 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

any news regarding potential price?
TSHikaru
post Sep 23 2011, 08:24 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Sep 23 2011, 08:00 AM)
any news regarding potential price?
Not sure buddy, but I think it would be at Mozart's old price point (1799?)

pavoo
post Sep 23 2011, 08:35 AM

110 posts

no Titan?! aww crap!
Wan
post Sep 23 2011, 09:57 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Sep 23 2011, 08:24 AM)
Not sure buddy, but I think it would be at Mozart's old price point (1799?)
Damn. Looks like I have to hunt last gen's WP7 phones.
LG Optimus 7 here I come..

http://www.mytrendyphone.com/shop/htc-tita...ack-57574p.html
HTC Titan (Black) listed for 646.10 Euros (about $870 US).

jonchai
post Sep 23 2011, 10:07 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

HD7 wasn't badly received. It was just poorly marketed. Stupid HTC Malaysia, only partner up with telcos. I went around looking for HD7 to purchase outright from a number of HTC authorized resellers but all said only Mozart available. Why then should I pay Maxis RM2,099 (without contract) for HD7 when I could get Mozart at RM999 without contract?

Stupid HTC Malaysia simple marketing also don't know.
TSHikaru
post Sep 23 2011, 10:50 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Sep 23 2011, 10:07 AM)
HD7 wasn't badly received. It was just poorly marketed. Stupid HTC Malaysia, only partner up with telcos. I went around looking for HD7 to purchase outright from a number of HTC authorized resellers but all said only Mozart available. Why then should I pay Maxis RM2,099 (without contract) for HD7 when I could get Mozart at RM999 without contract?

Stupid HTC Malaysia simple marketing also don't know.
Don't quote me on that xD
It's just rumors that I am reporting on. By no means am I getting information from HTC Malaysia's mouth themselves. I just know that Radar is coming in now, and Titan is not. The information might not be accurate for all I know tongue.gif Maybe Radar's coming first then Titan might come in the future? I mean, even in the US, Radar is showing up on carriers database but Titan isn't yet.

Anyway, even at launch, Mozart's numbers did way better than HD7, I believe. Well, in the beginning, nobody wanted WP7, and even fewer wanted a 4.3" WP7. Most people that wanted 4.3"+ went for the Android variant, the Desire HD, the "latest" and "greatest" back then.
jonchai
post Sep 23 2011, 11:11 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

Heh it's alright. If they don't offer Titan here then I might just go SGS2 WP7 mango when it's launched or any Nokia handsets.
GuestX8
post Sep 24 2011, 06:44 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Sep 22 2011, 10:21 PM)
Guys, I just got news that HTC Radar is coming to our shores... well, sooner than you would expect wink.gif
Anybody excited for HTC's first Mango phone in Malaysia?

Specs:
Size: 120.5mm x 61.5mm x 10.9mm (4.74" x 2.42" x 0.43")
Weight: 137 grams (4.83 ounces) with battery
Display: 3.8-inch touch screen with 480 x 800 resolution
Screen: 96.5 mm (3.8")

CPU Processing Speed: 1 GHz
Storage:
Total storage:    8 GB
Available strorage:    up to 6.54 GB
RAM:    512 MB

Connectors:
    3.5 mm stereo audio jack
    micro-USB 2.0 (5-pin) port

Sensors:
    G-Sensor
    Proximity sensor
    Ambient light sensor

Multimedia:
    SRS enhancement
    5.1 surround sound for video

Audio supported formats:
    Playback:.m4a, .m4b, .mp3, .wma (Windows Media Audio 9)

Video supported formats:
    Playback:.3gp, .3g2, .mp4, .m4v, .mbr, .wmv (Windows Media Video 9 and VC-1)
    Recording:.mp4
    (You can only playback a .3gp or .3g2 video if the video is an email attachment or is part of an MMS message.)

Power & Battery
Battery type:
    Rechargeable Lithium-ion battery
Capacity:
    1520 mAh

Talk time:
    WCDMA: Up to 485 minutes
    GSM: Up to 600 minutes

Standby time:
    WCDMA: Up to 535 hours
    GSM: Up to 480 hours

Network

HSPA/WCDMA:
    Europe/Asia: 900/2100 MHz

Quad-band GSM/GPRS/EDGE:
    850/900/1800/1900 MHz
Platform
Windows® Phone OS 7.5

Camera
    5 megapixel camera with F2.2 lens, LED flash, and BSI sensor (for better low-light captures)

Front camera:
    VGA front camera

HD video recording:
    720p HD video recording

Internet
3G:
    Up to 14.4 Mbps download speed
    Up to 5.76 Mbps upload speed

GPRS:
    Up to 80 kbps downloading

EDGE:
    Up to 236.8 kbps downloading

Wi-Fi®:
    IEEE 802.11 b/g/n

Bluetooth®
    Bluetooth® 2.1
    A2DP for wireless stereo headsets
    PBAP for phonebook access from the car kit
    Other supported profiles: AVRCP, HFP, HSP

HTC Locations
    Bing™ Maps

Tethering

Internet Sharing

P.S. On a side note, doesn't seem that HTC is gonna bring Titan here, at least for now. Probably due to the fact that HD7 was badly received in Malaysia, so they do not think there's a market of such a big screen phone in Malaysia.

Is the HTC Radar going to be exclusive to Telco or an open set? Thanks.
TSHikaru
post Sep 25 2011, 12:44 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(GuestX8 @ Sep 24 2011, 06:44 PM)

Is the HTC Radar going to be exclusive to Telco or an open set?  Thanks.
As of now, unsure, but probably open set.
Also, a not-100%-sure price: RM1399!
GuestX8
post Sep 25 2011, 01:02 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Sep 25 2011, 12:44 AM)
As of now, unsure, but probably open set.
Also, a not-100%-sure price: RM1399!

Thanks. Also very good price point.
SUSs2peMocls
post Sep 26 2011, 05:24 PM

672 posts

Unless I know whether that 8GB is flash NAND or el cheapo micro SD, I ain't going near the HTC brand.

Not to mention the display. I ain't gonna buy anything other than an AMOLED (at least)
vostro78
post Sep 29 2011, 10:31 AM

6,804 posts

if 1399 can get at sen heng store. i will grap 1...if 1799 i rather go fo mozart7
derrickmoo
post Sep 29 2011, 10:42 AM

All About GADGETS
1,180 posts

mozart 7 now selling @ senq 799 only.. member less another 30.. went to survery yesterday.. im going to grab one already.. haha.. plus free car charger and bluetooth headset.. smile.gif what a great deal!
marauderz
post Sep 29 2011, 03:35 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

- wrong thread -

This post has been edited by marauderz: Sep 29 2011, 03:54 PM
JonSpark
post Oct 2 2011, 12:13 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

Specs is telling me Mozart is better than Radar hmm.gif
evilpuppy
post Oct 2 2011, 12:31 PM

4,092 posts

Battery Capacity:
1520 mAh - Radar
1300 mAh - Mozart

Display
3.8 - Radar
3.7 - Mozart

Front Cam
Radar - Yes
Mozart - No

This post has been edited by evilpuppy: Oct 2 2011, 12:31 PM
naxshou
post Oct 2 2011, 08:37 PM

53 posts

so can anyone give a near confirmation price?? I see its near release date, the website says Oct 2011. So when will that be in Malaysia? I realy need to buy a new hp and im waiting on this one's arrival and get it...
JonSpark
post Oct 6 2011, 12:31 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

Since Radar is Trophy's successor, I dont think it is any better than Mozart.

wtf still 5mp
lidahkuterkelu
post Oct 7 2011, 03:10 PM

Le Smokin' Weed
608 posts

not much different from mozart.just a little bit tweak on this and that n named radar. =_=
TSHikaru
post Oct 8 2011, 04:05 PM

170 posts

Confirmed: Radar's launch in Malaysia is with Sensation XE on 12/10. RRP 1399. Rhyme and Explorer coming later. Titan will not be coming to Malaysia.

This post has been edited by Hikaru: Oct 8 2011, 04:28 PM
Nephrite
post Oct 8 2011, 04:45 PM

~Between Heaven & Hell~™®©
2,175 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Oct 8 2011, 04:05 PM)
Confirmed: Radar's launch in Malaysia is with Sensation XE on 12/10. RRP 1399.  Rhyme and Explorer coming later. Titan will not be coming to Malaysia.
Explorer ?
saint89
post Oct 9 2011, 01:45 PM

79 posts

considering to get one of this after looking at tremendously well-written reviews on mango. bored with android, and currently playing with iOS only. :|

anyway looking forward to your special price ! smile.gif)
TSHikaru
post Oct 9 2011, 03:45 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Nephrite @ Oct 8 2011, 04:45 PM)
Explorer ?
Explorer is the new entry-level Android phone designed to replace Wildfire S..

Added on October 9, 2011, 3:45 pm
QUOTE(saint89 @ Oct 9 2011, 01:45 PM)
considering to get one of this after looking at tremendously well-written reviews on mango. bored with android, and currently playing with iOS only. :|

anyway looking forward to your special price ! smile.gif)
Still no idea on the price I can get it at for now... =(

This post has been edited by Hikaru: Oct 9 2011, 03:45 PM
lidahkuterkelu
post Oct 9 2011, 03:48 PM

Le Smokin' Weed
608 posts

Pity titan will not come to malaysia.anyone know for what reason?
SUSHuman10
post Oct 9 2011, 07:16 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(lidahkuterkelu @ Oct 9 2011, 04:48 PM)
Pity titan will not come to malaysia.anyone know for what reason?
/hint/
1. typical Malaysian having small palms
2. smaller predecessor - HD7 didn't sell well, what more to say bout 4.7'' giant...
3. Malaysia full of droidfags and Ifanbois, thus WP7 market no wide, distributor no happy need drop price kao kao
/end hint/
whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 9 2011, 07:17 PM
syedakmal
post Oct 9 2011, 07:22 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 9 2011, 07:16 PM)
/hint/
1. typical Malaysian having small palms
2. smaller predecessor - HD7 didn't sell well, what more to say bout 4.7'' giant...
3. Malaysia full of droidfags and Ifanbois, thus WP7 market no wide, distributor no happy need drop price kao kao
/end hint/
whistling.gif
wallao i wan titan wei. maybe i will ask my fren working in US get one for me. yup WP7 really have poor market in Malaysia thats why only few models they bring in. case for WP also hard to find. lol.
SUSHuman10
post Oct 9 2011, 09:35 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(syedakmal @ Oct 9 2011, 08:22 PM)
wallao i wan titan wei. maybe i will ask my fren working in US get one for me. yup WP7 really have poor market in Malaysia thats why only few models they bring in. case for WP also hard to find. lol.
Import/AP seems to be the only choices.

Be Unique(WP7) is always a hard path. wink.gif (though, it do let us enjoy a cheap Mozart and HD7 though brows.gif )
syedakmal
post Oct 9 2011, 09:39 PM

433 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 9 2011, 09:35 PM)
Import/AP seems to be the only choices.

Be Unique(WP7) is always a hard path. wink.gif (though, it do let us enjoy a cheap Mozart and HD7 though brows.gif )
very true indeed. we can enjoy a very cheap quality phone. not like ifon, after a year, RRP maintain, only decrease rm100, rm2290 when launch, after a year brand new rm2190. mozart, launch rm1690, after 6 months rm799.
Nephrite
post Oct 9 2011, 10:08 PM

~Between Heaven & Hell~™®©
2,175 posts

QUOTE(syedakmal @ Oct 9 2011, 09:39 PM)
very true indeed. we can enjoy a very cheap quality phone. not like ifon, after a year, RRP maintain, only decrease rm100, rm2290 when launch, after a year brand new rm2190. mozart, launch rm1690, after 6 months rm799.
Now Win Mo For HTC Mozart Is RM 845 Price Increased Already Due To Mango Update All Wan Win Mo Back.

Link = http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1986562&hl=
xcen
post Oct 10 2011, 03:31 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

HTC Titan's camera is actually quite good. Saw it in one of the reviews, forgot where.
stella_purple
post Oct 10 2011, 05:53 PM

392 posts

guys is it really worth to wait for radar ? or just take the htc mozart or hd7 better? but i heard that mozart have touch screen insensitive issue right ? still cant made my decision unsure.gif

This post has been edited by stella_purple: Oct 10 2011, 06:11 PM
SUSHuman10
post Oct 10 2011, 06:04 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(stella_purple @ Oct 10 2011, 06:53 PM)
guys is it really worth to wait for radar ? or just take the htc mozart or hd7 better? but i heard that mozart have have touch screen insensitive issue right ? still cant made my decision  unsure.gif
Mine(Mozart) dont have the screen insensitive issue since 1st day bought(built 7004?) till the Mango(7720) today. May be once(not sure is because my palm touched the screen) but never after.

Radar SRP price is over RM1.2k(which is about 50% more than Mozart) so it is back to you whether you find the better CPU/GPU + front facing camera worth the RM400+(I will rather go for TITAN for it's rarity in screen size or Samsung for the SAMOLED though).
stella_purple
post Oct 10 2011, 06:08 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 10 2011, 06:04 PM)
Mine(Mozart) dont have the screen insensitive issue since 1st day bought(built 7004?) till the Mango(7720) today. May be once(not sure is because my palm touched the screen) but never after.

Radar SRP price is over RM1.2k(which is about 50% more than Mozart) so it is back to you whether you find the better CPU/GPU + front facing camera worth the RM400+(I will rather go for TITAN for it's rarity in screen size or Samsung for the SAMOLED though).
but some1 have been confirmed that titan wont come into malaysia right? hmm.gif
SUSHuman10
post Oct 10 2011, 06:12 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(stella_purple @ Oct 10 2011, 07:08 PM)
but some1 have been confirmed that titan wont come into malaysia right?  hmm.gif
ORI(SIS) set I think no chance, AP set(have chance) or SG set high chance. brows.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Oct 10 2011, 06:13 PM
TSHikaru
post Oct 10 2011, 08:42 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Oct 10 2011, 06:12 PM)
ORI(SIS) set I think no chance, AP set(have chance) or SG set high chance. brows.gif
Not coming to SG either. SIS is the distributor for SG as well, and they recently held a launch event for Rhyme, Explorer, Sensation XE and Radar. Also no Titan as well.
lidahkuterkelu
post Oct 11 2011, 01:58 AM

Le Smokin' Weed
608 posts

QUOTE(stella_purple @ Oct 10 2011, 05:53 PM)
guys is it really worth to wait for radar ? or just take the htc mozart or hd7 better? but i heard that mozart have touch screen insensitive issue right ? still cant made my decision  unsure.gif
if u prefer big screen then take titan . drool.gif
JonSpark
post Oct 11 2011, 03:22 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Oct 10 2011, 08:42 PM)
Not coming to SG either. SIS is the distributor for SG as well, and they recently held a launch event for Rhyme, Explorer, Sensation XE and Radar. Also no Titan as well.
which one price below 1k? laugh.gif

Added on October 11, 2011, 3:24 am
QUOTE(stella_purple @ Oct 10 2011, 05:53 PM)
guys is it really worth to wait for radar ? or just take the htc mozart or hd7 better? but i heard that mozart have touch screen insensitive issue right ? still cant made my decision  unsure.gif
firmware issue i think, the unresponsive touchscreen problem happens after i reset the phone hmm.gif

This post has been edited by JonSpark: Oct 11 2011, 03:24 AM
lidahkuterkelu
post Oct 11 2011, 04:08 AM

Le Smokin' Weed
608 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Oct 11 2011, 03:22 AM)

Added on October 11, 2011, 3:24 am

firmware issue i think, the unresponsive touchscreen problem happens after i reset the phone hmm.gif
unresponsive means when swiping the locked homescreen only or..? coz my fren also have the same issues. but only on swiping the locked homescreen
JonSpark
post Oct 11 2011, 04:14 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(lidahkuterkelu @ Oct 11 2011, 04:08 AM)
unresponsive means when swiping the locked homescreen only or..? coz my fren also have the same issues. but only on swiping the locked homescreen
Locked homescreen and during PIN request

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...30&postcount=18

tmw gonna try this
TSHikaru
post Oct 11 2011, 10:25 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Oct 11 2011, 03:22 AM)
None of them. HTC is known to never cater to the budget market, only mid-segment and high end.
syedakmal
post Oct 11 2011, 10:31 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Oct 11 2011, 10:25 AM)
None of them. HTC is known to never cater to the budget market, only mid-segment and high end.
yup. you can only get it below 1k maybe after a year launch or find 2nd hand set.
Andrew Lim
post Oct 12 2011, 04:31 PM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Was playing with White version of the Radar at Mid-Valley today. I like the design and feel of the handset. UI was responsive also.
lidahkuterkelu
post Oct 13 2011, 08:55 AM

Le Smokin' Weed
608 posts

QUOTE(Andrew Lim @ Oct 12 2011, 04:31 PM)
Was playing with White version of the Radar at Mid-Valley today. I like the design and feel of the handset. UI was responsive also.
how about the price?
welwitchia
post Oct 13 2011, 12:40 PM

1,219 posts

Bought one yesterday at LYP for RM 1380. So far this damn phone has automatically reseted itself 3 times. First the HTC Incredible now this. I guess HTC hates me.

Ok reset again. 4 times in 2 days. HTC sucks

This post has been edited by welwitchia: Oct 13 2011, 12:58 PM
lidahkuterkelu
post Oct 13 2011, 11:02 PM

Le Smokin' Weed
608 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Oct 13 2011, 12:40 PM)
Bought one yesterday at LYP for RM 1380. So far this damn phone has automatically reseted itself 3 times. First the HTC Incredible now this. I guess HTC hates me.

Ok reset again. 4 times in 2 days. HTC sucks
y not send back to claim warranty?
radhi0zil
post Nov 1 2011, 09:12 PM

65 posts

htc radar camera is better than mozart ..i have try it...
arslow
post Nov 1 2011, 09:27 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(radhi0zil @ Nov 1 2011, 09:12 PM)
htc radar camera is better than mozart ..i have try it...
go get if faster!!!! tongue.gif
sell ur 3gs~
marauderz
post Nov 7 2011, 01:44 PM

3,390 posts

Got the radar yesterday, at the very least it doesn't seem to be using ultra slow storage anymore
DSKH
post Nov 7 2011, 03:03 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Nov 7 2011, 01:44 PM)
Got the radar yesterday, at the very least it doesn't seem to be using ultra slow storage anymore
Bro,how much did you pay for it ?
marauderz
post Nov 7 2011, 03:34 PM

3,390 posts

1199 as mentioned on their mudah.my posting.
http://www.mudah.my/HTC+Radar+8gb+Mango+Se...ft-12237475.htm

In their shop its written as 1399, just mentioned to them that you saw it on their posting to get 1199
unrealmind
post Nov 10 2011, 11:13 AM

40 posts

yayy..just bought my Radar.. rclxms.gif

so far very impressed with the super LCD and camera.

Drillz
truffle1234
post Nov 15 2011, 05:14 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Nov 7 2011, 03:34 PM)
1199 as mentioned on their mudah.my posting.
http://www.mudah.my/HTC+Radar+8gb+Mango+Se...ft-12237475.htm

In their shop its written as 1399, just mentioned to them that you saw it on their posting to get 1199
thanks bro... i got one Radar for my wift today went to your recomandation... its in SS 15/4B. paid 1199. and got a mini car charger (belkin) for RM20 as well...

the phone looks good, smaller screen then my HD7 but better screen and camera.. hope my wife will like it...
evilpuppy
post Nov 15 2011, 10:01 PM

4,092 posts

any radar user, please pm me so i could update your user list

Official Windows Phone 7 Discussion Thread! V2

marauderz & truffle1234 you are up on the list.
SUSblackorange
post Nov 19 2011, 05:49 PM

186 posts

hi, does htc radar come with internal compass or gyroscope?
fulat
post Nov 19 2011, 06:04 PM

8,472 posts

QUOTE(blackorange @ Nov 19 2011, 05:49 PM)
hi, does htc radar come with internal compass or gyroscope?
yes.
SUSblackorange
post Nov 19 2011, 09:20 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Nov 19 2011, 06:04 PM)
yes.
really?

from what i read, there's no compass or gyro in Radar

some of the review i found
You also have the issue of the Radar lacking the gyro and compass (okay so it's three weaknesses).  I might could understand why the gyros were left off the design table but the compass these days is almost standard.  Some may never miss these two features but it will limit what (or how) some applications run on the Radar.

http://www.wpcentral.com/t-mobile-htc-radar-4g-review

By the way, this device does not include a digital compass, so that means certain apps that require that type of hardware will not work (things like augmented reality; the reality scanner feature in Navigon, for example.)

http://pocketnow.com/windows-phone/t-mobil...radar-4g-review

can you please confirm it? i'm interested with the phone, but digital compass is a must for me.
marauderz
post Nov 20 2011, 04:34 PM

3,390 posts

Radar doesn't has the compass/gyro. Only the Samsung Focus S has it for the new batch of phones.
welwitchia
post Nov 21 2011, 04:50 PM

1,219 posts

I sold my Radar to my colleague who uses Maxis Prepaid. Everything seems to work except for MMS. Now I'm pretty sure I've activated his account for MMS but I just couldn't get it work. Are there any settings that I need to input manually?
Also tried calling Maxis but the girl who attended my call says they don't support HTC Radar. Duh..

Any help or pointers is much appreciated!
evilpuppy
post Nov 21 2011, 05:13 PM

4,092 posts

afaik, WP7 MMS run on Data. just activate your Data Connection in order to send/receive mms.

Warning : with maxis, make sure your friend have Data unlimited plan.

welwitchia
post Nov 21 2011, 05:55 PM

1,219 posts

Thx.. found out the problem. The 3G wasn't activated. biggrin.gif
Wan
post Nov 24 2011, 10:41 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

8GB space only huh?
Just got mine. biggrin.gif
singa89
post Nov 25 2011, 08:15 AM

long live play
1,204 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Nov 24 2011, 10:41 PM)
8GB space only huh?
Just got mine. biggrin.gif
congrats and welcome to wp7 bro rclxms.gif
Wan
post Nov 26 2011, 06:44 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

The USSD code doesn't work on Radar?
I'm on Digi.. typing *128*1*1# to check the balance doesn't do a thing.

Added on November 26, 2011, 7:01 amNow it works. I was sure it didn't work before. Turned off location in settings, tried it.. works for some reason. But turned location back on, it still works. Hmm..

Added on December 3, 2011, 11:48 amBought a 'Rock' barely there hard case + screen protector at Sunway(HTC set up a camp in one of the centre circles there in Sunway).
RM99.00
Since my Radar was already abused(those white stuff are in reddish/pinkish colour now sad.gif ), I was desperate to get a nice cover for it. Only a back cover though.. no the white at the bottom front is still bare. sad.gif

It's this one I guess.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Rock-Barely-Hard...=item23163265ec

This post has been edited by Wan: Dec 3 2011, 11:48 AM
creative zn
post Dec 16 2011, 08:35 PM

Dark Souls II - You will die!
1,468 posts

Just browse this phone at HTC branch near my place. They give me RM1230 with sp and awesome barely hard case. Now im torn to buy this or 2nd HD7. I got offer 2nd HD7 with 15 month SIS warranty at RM650. Hard to choose. Both good offer. rclxub.gif
evilpuppy
post Dec 16 2011, 08:39 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(creative zn @ Dec 16 2011, 08:35 PM)
Just browse this phone at HTC branch near my place. They give me RM1230 with sp and awesome barely hard case. Now im torn to buy this or 2nd HD7. I got offer 2nd HD7 with 15 month SIS warranty at RM650. Hard to choose. Both good offer. rclxub.gif
i say 650 for HD7!

radar 2nd Gen low spec WP7.

post Dec 16 2011, 10:23 PM

473 posts

i PREFER mOzart...Xd Anyway mozart really a budget phone for wm7/mango/

Added on December 16, 2011, 10:27 pmI want to ask radar and mozart same lcd is it?

This post has been edited by 163119779: Dec 16 2011, 10:27 PM
creative zn
post Dec 17 2011, 11:53 PM

Dark Souls II - You will die!
1,468 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Dec 16 2011, 08:39 PM)
i say 650 for HD7!

radar 2nd Gen low spec WP7.
Haha.. I'll take your advise to go for HD7. But Radar display really nice man. S-LCD. HD7 only LCD. Color on Radar much vibrant. blush.gif

But, what the heck. I'll get the cheap one and test if WM7.
Mr.PostMan
post Dec 25 2011, 10:04 AM

501 posts

i bought radar this week and very happy using it, it makes my work more simpler. but there is a downside, since i am using a prepaid maxis i couldn't access *100# can anyone help me?
Wan
post Dec 25 2011, 05:35 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

You need to remember the codes(or use some other phone and write them down).

*128# is the digi menu

So to check balance I have to choose 1 from that, and then 1 again to find the balance. In WP7 phones, you have to type in the whole code all at once since they are not able to show the menu thing.

*128*1*1# would show me the balance.

xSean
post Jan 3 2012, 11:48 AM

2,767 posts

so radar now got below rm1k?
chaosx6062
post Jan 11 2012, 07:47 PM

QUOTE(Mr.PostMan @ Dec 25 2011, 10:04 AM)
i bought radar this week and very happy using it, it makes my work more simpler. but there is a downside, since i am using a prepaid maxis i couldn't access *100# can anyone help me?
Mr.PostMan I have the same problem with you at hotlink prepaid on my HTC radar. *122# is working fine for checking balance.

Just got my Radar at LYP, 1230. Search the whole place and a lot don't have units d. was lucky to find one. works fine. Battery life also long.
nick_sys
post Feb 22 2012, 08:43 PM

283 posts

I will getting 2 units of HTC Radar next months. Still thinking should I sell it or use it for my own. Need advice from all sifu here. I got experience with Windows Mobile 2000 - 6.5, Android and symbian. Really worry not used to Mango. Please advice.
danielcmugen
post Feb 22 2012, 11:26 PM

5,537 posts

U sell 1, try the other 1. If dun like, then sell?
Wan
post Feb 23 2012, 01:38 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

*changed my mind.
NVM.

Sorry.

This post has been edited by Wan: Feb 23 2012, 07:28 PM
danielcmugen
post Feb 23 2012, 04:42 PM

5,537 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Feb 23 2012, 01:38 PM)
Thinking of selling my 4 months old HTC Radar + Rock back cover and sp. I will throw in Zagg Invinsible shield as well. Bought it, but never put on the phone. Not sure how much should I sell. If anyone want it, offer me through pm.
Why u wanna sell? unsure.gif
Wan
post Feb 23 2012, 05:55 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

*mods delete pls. tq.

This post has been edited by Wan: Feb 23 2012, 07:29 PM
nick_sys
post Feb 24 2012, 08:30 AM

283 posts

anyone interested? I will getting 2 units of unopen new htc radar next month.

•5 megapixel camera with f2.2 lens, autofocus and LED flash
•720p HD video recording / VGA front camera
•Display: Super LCD touchscreen with pinch-to-zoom capability, 480 x 800 pixels (3.8 inches)
•GPS receiver with digital compass and Bing™ Maps
•Music player formats: .m4a, .m4b, .mp3, .wma (Windows Media Audio 9)
•5.1 surround sound with SRS enhancement
•Messaging: SMS, EMS, MMS, Email
•XBox LIVE® integration
•Internet: HSPA (14.4 Mbps download, 5.76Mbps upload)
•Connectivity: Bluetooth 2.1, mini-USB 2.0, Wi-Fi, 3.5 mm audio jack, DLNA
•Memory: 8GB internal storage, 512MB RAM
•Quadband GSM (850/900/1800/1900 MHz) plus HSPA/WCDMA (900/2100 MHz)
•Size: 121 x 62 x 10.9 mm
•Weight: 137g
•Battery: 1520 mAh
•Talktime: 485 - 600 minutes
•Battery standby: 480 - 535 hours

This post has been edited by nick_sys: Mar 6 2012, 02:10 PM
nokian
post May 15 2012, 11:40 PM

350 posts

hi sifu,

does wm 7.5 phone have gps software for road navigation?
something that work w/o.3G data plan but just the gps.

previously using HTC HD2 with Wm6.5 with mapking GPS s/w.

tq

xSean
post May 16 2012, 12:09 AM

2,767 posts

QUOTE(nokian @ May 15 2012, 11:40 PM)
hi sifu,

does wm 7.5 phone have gps software for road navigation?
something that work w/o.3G data plan but just the gps.

previously using HTC HD2 with Wm6.5 with mapking GPS s/w.

tq
not wm7.5...is wp 7.5 windows phone 7.5...

buy nokia wp got free gps software called nokia drive...exclusive for all nokia wp...

htc wp also got free gps called HTC Location...

at the moment, if u wan buy wp, buy nokia....

nokian
post May 16 2012, 08:48 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ May 16 2012, 12:09 AM)
not wm7.5...is wp 7.5 windows phone 7.5...

buy nokia wp got free gps software called nokia drive...exclusive for all nokia wp...

htc wp also got free gps called HTC Location...

at the moment, if u wan buy wp, buy nokia....
xsean,

HTC location no need 3G ,using GPS signal also can navigate right?

why Nokia?i m looking at HTC radar

TQ

JasonWilton
post May 16 2012, 08:57 AM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(nokian @ May 16 2012, 08:48 AM)
xsean,

HTC location no need 3G ,using GPS signal also can navigate right?

why Nokia?i m looking at HTC radar

TQ
HTC Location after a period of time it requires you to buy to enjoy further navigations, which sucks.
nokian
post May 16 2012, 08:59 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ May 16 2012, 08:57 AM)
HTC Location after a period of time it requires you to buy to enjoy further navigations, which sucks.
jasonwilton,

Tq for the sharing...nokia drive ...no need to buy?

TQ

Added on May 16, 2012, 9:00 ambtw,

garmin or papago software available in wp7.5 yet?

TQ

This post has been edited by nokian: May 16 2012, 09:00 AM
JasonWilton
post May 16 2012, 09:48 AM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(nokian @ May 16 2012, 08:59 AM)
jasonwilton,

Tq for the sharing...nokia drive ...no need to buy?

TQ
Yup you dont have to smile.gif

nokian
post May 18 2012, 08:32 PM

350 posts

I just bbought a white HTC Radar......

TQ
evilpuppy
post May 18 2012, 10:50 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(nokian @ May 18 2012, 08:32 PM)
I just bbought a white HTC Radar......

TQ
nice, but what's make you choosing radar?? not nokia?? nokian?? laugh.gif
A-Note
post May 19 2012, 04:18 PM

299 posts

uhh im using HTC radar now... but it seems that it couldn't detect only my house wifi... how do i resolve this issue? i wanna get online and update my files at home also cannot haihz -__-
vostro78
post May 21 2012, 01:55 AM

6,804 posts

hi. is this model support mobile hotspot?
nokian
post May 21 2012, 10:37 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ May 18 2012, 10:50 PM)
nice, but what's make you choosing radar?? not nokia?? nokian??  laugh.gif
i beleive in HTC brand as i have been using HTC for sometime.
Nokia is new to WP7........

TQ
evilpuppy
post May 21 2012, 12:04 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(nokian @ May 21 2012, 10:37 AM)
i beleive in HTC brand as i have been using HTC for sometime.
Nokia is new to WP7........
TQ
yup. so am i. i've been using htc since 2008 till today! laugh.gif

sadly, htc only have few model of wp7 doh.gif

nokian
post May 21 2012, 04:12 PM

350 posts

where to get the back silicone cover in Kl?

TQ
marauderz
post May 21 2012, 09:31 PM

3,390 posts

USing this one
http://www.pdair.com/index.php/smartphone-...110e-black.html

Quite good, doesn't feel like it's just a simple silicon wrap. Only problem is that while it's tight in the begining, it loosens a bit after a while.
local_machine
post Jun 6 2012, 11:35 AM

431 posts

bought my second hand radar two days back. within that price range, all i could afford for a WP is radar. as for me, i think its superior than Lumia 710 in terms of battery life and aesthetic value.

still having hard times configuring the phone. after used it for few hours i noticed that my bill sky rocketed. quick Qs, does the phone use data connection when we try to acquire location in Maps? and does it consume more data when we're using navigation (bing maps)?
evilpuppy
post Jun 6 2012, 12:46 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(local_machine @ Jun 6 2012, 11:35 AM)
bought my second hand radar two days back. within that price range, all i could afford for a WP is radar. as for me, i think its superior than Lumia 710 in terms of battery life and aesthetic value.

still having hard times configuring the phone. after used it for few hours i noticed that my bill sky rocketed. quick Qs, does the phone use data connection when we try to acquire location in Maps? and does it consume more data when we're using navigation (bing maps)?
not only bings map need data connections. Others like email sync , weather update or any application that need data connections. Data unlimited plan is a MUST.

HughieRmX
post Jun 6 2012, 12:48 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

Darn it ! No idea what is happening to my HTC Radar now, whenever I try making a call the screen will go blank (dark) but the phone call is still running in the background. sweat.gif
xcen
post Jun 6 2012, 12:58 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jun 6 2012, 12:48 PM)
Darn it ! No idea what is happening to my HTC Radar now, whenever I try making a call the screen will go blank (dark) but the phone call is still running in the background. sweat.gif
Did you put your hand near the proximity sensor?
evilpuppy
post Jun 6 2012, 01:09 PM

4,092 posts

the proximity sensor will cut off the screen is to save battery while you're talking on phone.
HughieRmX
post Jun 6 2012, 01:22 PM

3,394 posts

Thanks for the feedback. After playing around with the sensor thingy .. it works back. Sigh, wasted my money to get myself a Jabra BT headset just now. Sigh .. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by HughieRmX: Jun 6 2012, 01:24 PM
evilpuppy
post Jun 6 2012, 01:52 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Jun 6 2012, 01:22 PM)
Thanks for the feedback. After playing around with the sensor thingy .. it works back. Sigh, wasted my money to get myself a Jabra BT headset just now. Sigh .. sweat.gif
why? you didn't pair and test before buy??

HughieRmX
post Jun 6 2012, 02:19 PM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jun 6 2012, 01:52 PM)
why? you didn't pair and test before buy??
I mean after trying out on the proximity sensor issue, the phone back to normal mode with the background lit on when calling. I thought of getting the BT headset to solve the issue when calling out / receiving calls .. sweat.gif
local_machine
post Jun 6 2012, 03:28 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jun 6 2012, 12:46 PM)
not only bings map need data connections. Others like email sync , weather update or any application that need data connections.  Data unlimited plan is a MUST.
oooohh... that's why the bill went up drastically!

can we download malaysia map and use it later for reference purposes? any useful app for that?
one more, in the presence of WiFi and 3G connection, which one will be used as phone's main connection for data transfer? can we prioritize?
evilpuppy
post Jun 6 2012, 03:55 PM

4,092 posts

there is only few navigation app with offline maps, the rest of bingmaps or googlemaps all need data connections.

Turn by Turn Navigation Paid Apps & Nokia Drive Only for Nokia Lumia but with unlock custom rom your radar can sideload above 2 navigation apps sweat.gif rolleyes.gif

lucky us now HTC 2nd Generation WP 7 ( Radar & Titan ) can Unlock and flash with custom ROM!!

HSPL for HTC second generation devices

HTC Radar 1st Custom ROM 【DFT Freedom ROM V1 Omega 24 Langs Pearl Edition 】

im not so sure about connection between 3G & WIFi as my data connection 24hours on!

local_machine
post Jun 6 2012, 03:57 PM

431 posts

splendid!

is there a way for us to wake up the screen just by swiping our finger on the screen or click the capacitive button instead of using the power button at the top side of the phone?

nokian
post Jun 7 2012, 09:18 AM

350 posts

I managed to sync my MS outlook calendar and contacts to my HTC RADAR using gmail method.

what about outlook TASKS ?

Anyone with answer ? TQ

Added on June 14, 2012, 9:22 amAnyone whether it is possible to upg.RADAR's OS to wp8 when it's available?

TQ

This post has been edited by nokian: Jun 14 2012, 09:22 AM
nabzblitz
post Jun 19 2012, 09:09 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

Does anyone know where to get a replacement battery cover for the Radar? I dropped mine and theres a dent there.
Went to the HTC shop in Sunway Pyramid and they said Service Centre. Where on earth is that?
JasonWilton
post Jun 20 2012, 01:43 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(nabzblitz @ Jun 19 2012, 09:09 PM)
Does anyone know where to get a replacement battery cover for the Radar? I dropped mine and theres a dent there.
Went to the HTC shop in Sunway Pyramid and they said Service Centre. Where on earth is that?
http://www.ebay.com/sch/?_nkw=htc%20radar%...id=355744953456

nah ebay XD

go to SiS i think they will charge you for it, x tau berapa bang... just go try it out
refer to this link

http://www.sis.com.my/cms_contactus.aspx?mod=7
nabzblitz
post Jun 20 2012, 02:25 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Jun 20 2012, 01:43 PM)
http://www.ebay.com/sch/?_nkw=htc%20radar%...id=355744953456

nah ebay XD

go to SiS i think they will charge you for it, x tau berapa bang... just go try it out
refer to this link

http://www.sis.com.my/cms_contactus.aspx?mod=7
Thanks! biggrin.gif
local_machine
post Jun 21 2012, 10:41 AM

431 posts

let us know the cost once u change the battery, will ya? biggrin.gif
fyrogenesis
post Jun 21 2012, 10:46 AM

158 posts

hi guys.. is there any decent pdf reader for this phone? the adobe suck esp because it doesnt remember my last read position. :|
nokian
post Jun 22 2012, 11:29 PM

350 posts

anyone know when is the wp7.8 available for Radar?

TQ
JasonWilton
post Jun 23 2012, 12:02 AM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(nokian @ Jun 22 2012, 11:29 PM)

anyone know when is the wp7.8 available for Radar?

TQ
I didnt even get the tango update yet blink.gif
local_machine
post Jun 28 2012, 02:20 PM

431 posts

LOL! do update if radar got updated to tango.
I lost count already.
nkl7877
post Jul 9 2012, 02:16 PM

51 posts

hi, i got 1 htc radar sealed set, gift from microsoft . plan to get go as i am using another radar already as spare phone... who interest please let me know. plan to sell at 850.
JasonWilton
post Jul 18 2012, 09:25 PM

1,068 posts

Got my update to tango notification over the air just now, now updating it.
Guess its officially out for radar over here, go update radar peeks!! drool.gif
evilpuppy
post Jul 18 2012, 09:27 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Jul 18 2012, 09:25 PM)
Got my update to tango notification over the air just now, now updating it.
Guess its officially out for radar over here, go update radar peeks!!  drool.gif
cool, let me know how's the update will it factory reset after update or just update some feature??

JasonWilton
post Jul 18 2012, 09:30 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jul 18 2012, 09:27 PM)
cool, let me know how's the update will it factory reset after update or just update some feature??
so far updated to tango already(didnt go to factory reset) but it seems there's still another "HTC update for windows phone" update.

Finishing soon and i'll update you guys rclxms.gif

finished

OS version : 7.10.8773.98
no fattery reset! nod.gif

This post has been edited by JasonWilton: Jul 18 2012, 09:36 PM
evilpuppy
post Jul 18 2012, 09:49 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Jul 18 2012, 09:30 PM)
so far updated to tango already(didnt go to factory reset) but it seems there's still another "HTC update for windows phone" update.

Finishing soon and i'll update you guys  rclxms.gif

finished

OS version : 7.10.8773.98
no fattery reset!  nod.gif
thanks. i have alot of text messages , now i can safely upgrade to tango!!

marauderz
post Jul 18 2012, 10:52 PM

3,390 posts

The upgrade process is never supposed to cause a factory reset.
evilpuppy
post Jul 19 2012, 01:04 AM

4,092 posts

I Remember last upgrade mango the system factory reset after the upgrade. That's why im worry about loosing all my text messages.
xf86
post Jul 19 2012, 01:43 PM

94 posts

sifu sifu smile.gif i'm trying to look for a case for the radar but seems hard to find it around kl area hahaha

i'm interested in the casemate barely there , anyone know where to get them ? biggrin.gif
JasonWilton
post Jul 19 2012, 01:50 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(xf86 @ Jul 19 2012, 01:43 PM)
sifu sifu smile.gif  i'm trying to look for a case for the radar but seems hard to find it around kl area hahaha

i'm interested in the casemate barely there , anyone know where to get them ? biggrin.gif
i bought my silicone case from ebay, smile.gif
AndreaPirlo
post Oct 9 2012, 09:51 AM

285 posts

Anybody here can guide me where can i find anykind of case for htc radar in kl area...
JasonWilton
post Oct 9 2012, 08:17 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(AndreaPirlo @ Oct 9 2012, 09:51 AM)
Anybody here can guide me where can i find anykind of case for htc radar in kl area...
Windows Phone cases are just extremely hard to find in Malaysia, trust me.
bought a second case for my radar from ebay already.
lockheed90
post Nov 6 2012, 02:52 PM

272 posts

When will windows 7.8 update be available to radar?saw some nokia already got their customs rom
AndreaPirlo
post Nov 7 2012, 09:48 PM

285 posts

Radar oso got custom 7.8 run, just google radar on xda forum..
nabzblitz
post Feb 12 2014, 05:07 PM

Gangsta Crizzab
612 posts

Anybody got a case wanna sell to me lol?

0.0611sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:41 PM