STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V99, Don't miss out buying time

Superman7
post Sep 26 2011, 10:35 PM

11,086 posts

Warren Buffett’s Berkshire Hathaway Inc. will repurchase shares for as much as 110 percent of their book value, saying the stock is undervalued after falling 17 percent this year. The shares jumped in New York trading.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-09-26/b...ndervalued.html

Something we don't Buffett do everyday. Buybacks is not his style. Wonder why he does it this time. rclxub.gif
Does he really think Berkshire Hathaway is very undervalued?
ken_ng
post Sep 26 2011, 10:35 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Sep 26 2011, 10:18 PM)
the +ve side is US/EU may do quarterly windows dressing... end of this week is end of Q3... be careful not to get trapped tongue.gif
we have the mother of all data (US employment) on 7th october, coincides with jibby's budget.. sigh.. sad.gif
ooo, what a big day we have here, somemore it is a Friday... scary shakehead.gif
simonc
post Sep 26 2011, 10:36 PM

Fug the Bear
2,664 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Sep 26 2011, 10:35 PM)

Something we don't Buffett do everyday. Buybacks is not his style. Wonder why he does it this time.  rclxub.gif
He ng kan yuen see so red tongue.gif
Superman7
post Sep 26 2011, 10:37 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Sep 26 2011, 10:35 PM)
ooo, what a big day we have here, somemore it is a Friday... scary shakehead.gif
Usually major announcements are done on Friday biggrin.gif
ken_ng
post Sep 26 2011, 10:37 PM

3,928 posts

QUOTE(simonc @ Sep 26 2011, 10:36 PM)
He ng kan yuen see so red tongue.gif
he 不甘愿 see so red? tongue.gif
Superman7
post Sep 26 2011, 10:39 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(ken_ng @ Sep 26 2011, 10:37 PM)
he 不甘愿 see so red?  tongue.gif
Is Buffett losing his patience or he is yet again seeing what other don't ---- opportunity!!

mopster
post Sep 26 2011, 10:42 PM

m o p p y
7,960 posts

QUOTE(protonw @ Sep 26 2011, 10:32 PM)
Boh song also must accept the fact ma.  I talked talked talked wanna sell and next day like alzheimer's disease struck so always didnt sell then ng kan yuen when see it down, then dont wan to sell, now see negative liao....  rclxub.gif

But 马照跑,舞照跳 tomorrow a better day. tongue.gif  Be happy all, dont let stock market tumbling affect your health. Let alzheimer attack.  laugh.gif
LOL... me also, dementia, alzheimer... see all the warning signs coming but refuse to sell.. laugh.gif

舞照跳, 马照跑, 股票延續炒.... <-- is it correct ? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mopster: Sep 26 2011, 10:44 PM
Veda
post Sep 26 2011, 10:45 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 26 2011, 08:39 PM)
i realize taikors(cherroy, sulifeisgreat, neo. mooncake) seems getting ready to buy, while newbies start to painfully cut loss one after another....even more stable players(pana, mopster) start to feel some panic, although they still holding on (with sweat)....and me, i'm sweating as well.... sweat.gif  hmm.gif
Since I'm the only one so far who posted about cutting loss in this new thread, are you saying I'm a newbie and not steady? vmad.gif

Haha, just joking. I'm not offended tongue.gif

But FYI, cutting loss can be a smart thing. Even before August, I'm already more cash than stocks. Cutting loss my remaining stocks, painfully though it is, is a strategic move to free up money to buy better stocks at cheaper prices later on. Nothing panicky about it, although I do lose sleep last 2 days. Of course, the market could rebound tomorrow and go up non-stop until 2000..... who knows? I made a calculated move and it could either back-fire or reap me great rewards.

Other people have their own strategy. There is no right or wrong - there are many ways to make money.
protonw
post Sep 26 2011, 10:50 PM

5,191 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Sep 26 2011, 10:42 PM)
LOL... me also, dementia, alzheimer... see all the warning signs coming but refuse to sell..  laugh.gif

舞照跳, 马照跑, 股票延續炒.... <-- is it correct ?  laugh.gif
LOL.... fry fry fried. Like us. laugh.gif

You didnt sell anything?

I was on the way of selling only managed to take out less than 1/3. But bought falling Bstead. Hope they still give good dividend. And my most proudful sell is to dump KNS; made me loss close to 5 figures... vmad.gif and Kfima got to wipe it. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by protonw: Sep 26 2011, 10:51 PM
keithcky
post Sep 26 2011, 10:55 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Sep 26 2011, 10:35 PM)

Something we don't Buffett do everyday. Buybacks is not his style. Wonder why he does it this time.  rclxub.gif
Buyback because he wants to preserved the share price, over selling is very bad biggrin.gif
ngaisteve1
post Sep 26 2011, 10:55 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Sep 26 2011, 11:45 PM)
Since I'm the only one so far who posted about cutting loss in this new thread, are you saying I'm a newbie and not steady?  vmad.gif
Haha, just joking. I'm not offended  tongue.gif

But FYI, cutting loss can be a smart thing. Even before August, I'm already more cash than stocks. Cutting loss my remaining stocks, painfully though it is, is a strategic move to free up money to buy better stocks at cheaper prices later on. Nothing panicky about it, although I do lose sleep last 2 days. Of course, the market could rebound tomorrow and go up non-stop until 2000..... who knows? I made a calculated move and it could either back-fire or reap me great rewards.

Other people have their own strategy. There is no right or wrong - there are many ways to make money.
It's true those who cut loss doesn't mean they are newbies. I wish I learn n forced myself to apply this important discipline much earlier. Also wish we have trailing stop loss just like the US market. So, it automatically force me out when things do go the way I want it to.

But thinking back, my entry and strategy in the first place also not a good one already for my 2 current trapped counters. Gotta just learn from mistakes smile.gif

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Sep 26 2011, 10:59 PM
sulifeisgreat
post Sep 26 2011, 11:06 PM

1,121 posts

Another lesson I learned early is that there is nothing new in Wall Street. There can't be because speculation is as old as the hills. Whatever happens in the stock market today has happened before and will happen again. I've never forgotten that. I suppose I really manage to remember when and how it happened. The fact that I remember that way is my way of capitalizing experience.

The fluctuations were from the first associated in my mind with upward or downward movements. Of course there is always a reason for fluctuations, but the tape does not concern itself with the why and wherefore. It doesn't go into explanations. I didn't ask the tape why when I was fourteen, and I don't ask it today, at forty. The reason for what a certain stock does today may not be known for two or three days, or weeks, or months. But what the dickens does that matter? Your business with the tape is now -- not tomorrow. The reason can wait. But you must act instantly or be left. Time and again I see this happen.

http://www.jesse-livermore.net/chapter1.php

ur siggy says u read many stuff, cutting loss is part of the strategy. it takes iron discipline to control ur heart when it roket back up laugh.gif
to cut loss around 1500 seems ok, to cut loss around 1300 is rclxub.gif ur own strategy
haha, wat is the name of the 'share' which u mention, tat season investor or trader bought from u?

QUOTE(Veda @ Sep 26 2011, 10:45 PM)
Since I'm the only one so far who posted about cutting loss in this new thread, are you saying I'm a newbie and not steady?  vmad.gif
Haha, just joking. I'm not offended  tongue.gif

jy1905
post Sep 26 2011, 11:11 PM

1,411 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 26 2011, 10:31 PM)
Quote:
"If you have trouble imagining a 20% loss in the stock market, you shouldn’t be in stocks."

We are almost there. Humph.
for me, there's no need to imagine.. coz i have outperformed 20%.. shakehead.gif
Veda
post Sep 26 2011, 11:17 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Sep 26 2011, 10:55 PM)
It's true those who cut loss doesn't mean they are newbies. I wish I learn n forced myself to apply this important discipline much earlier. Also wish we have trailing stop loss just like the US market. So, it automatically force me out when things do go the way I want it to.

But thinking back, my entry and strategy in the first place also not a good one already for my 2 current trapped counters. Gotta just learn from mistakes  smile.gif
Yup, I'm still learning too.
Oracles99
post Sep 26 2011, 11:21 PM

984 posts

He who fights and run away lives to fight another day.

This post has been edited by Oracles99: Sep 26 2011, 11:21 PM
Veda
post Sep 26 2011, 11:22 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Sep 26 2011, 11:06 PM)
ur siggy says u read many stuff, cutting loss is part of the strategy. it takes iron discipline to control ur heart when it roket back up  laugh.gif 
to cut loss around 1500 seems ok, to cut loss around 1300 is  rclxub.gif ur own strategy
haha, wat is the name of the 'share' which u mention, tat season investor or trader bought from u?
Well, I'm considerably younger than 40, so I'll refine my strategy as I learn from experience and mistakes.

As for "that" share, it's in your target list ....... so you might have bought it brows.gif

But I started to appreciate TA more and more as this "crisis" unfolded. Until early this year, I'm 100% FA only.
sulifeisgreat
post Sep 26 2011, 11:26 PM

1,121 posts

the TA momentum in tis thread via klci cool2.gif
1600 super positive optimistic forumers biggrin.gif
1500 positive optimistic forumers blink.gif
1400 optimistic forumers sad.gif
1300 forumers (changing to super negative pessimistic) mad.gif

those who did not cut loss & hang on till now. u r doing goodie. pls pat urself. as the experience u went thru, money cannot buy nod.gif
congrats urself for now. take a cloth, wipe ur sweat & time to buy new undies, for those who wet their pants brows.gif
I no idea where the bottom is, but if it goes further down. I m in the ship with u guys & gals, albeit 300 klci point diff shocking.gif

QUOTE(yok70 @ Sep 26 2011, 08:39 PM)
i realize taikors(cherroy, sulifeisgreat, neo. mooncake) seems getting ready to buy, while newbies start to painfully cut loss one after another....even more stable players(pana, mopster) start to feel some panic, although they still holding on (with sweat)....and me, i'm sweating as well....
messages getting complex rclxub.gif since u dun play future nor foreign mkt, means no access to derivatives
the only way u can fuk the bear in bolehland, is to hold (which u r doing) & use any extra funds to buy more (using ur own timing strategy)
REMEMBER dun hug bear, JUS FUG IT!!! until it moans, pls dun bully me, i wanna be a bull & we got no kidde in tis thread ya tongue.gif

QUOTE(mopster @ Sep 26 2011, 05:35 PM)
the real bottom is when they've landed... whether hard or soft... imo..

Yup~ Alcoa will report Q3 on 11th October 2011... i think the earnings forecast will be lowered. even Fedex and logitech lowered forecasts..
that's not the end yet.. some predicts the whole of 2012 will be slowwwww globally... (slow doesnt mean recession, so they aint calling it a recession...)

how to toooot the bear in KLSE ?? 
i dun play future or foreign mkt..
Dackson
post Sep 26 2011, 11:30 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

Will dow goes to 10,068 ??
simonc
post Sep 26 2011, 11:33 PM

Fug the Bear
2,664 posts

I learned what fug the bear now means laugh.gif