Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread V12, 1Darkside ! 1Nikon ! D800 rumor !

-kytz-
post Sep 26 2011, 05:40 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 26 2011, 05:34 PM)
I see, how much will the calibration be? Where to do it? And is it worth it to buy the 50mm when we have a 35mm? hmm.gif
Why not?

Pretty good especially when you need a longer focal length which your 35mm can't provide smile.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 11 2011, 09:40 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 11 2011, 08:01 AM)
Alamak... under? =/ my taste changed a little jor...  cry.gif Wanted to expose more, but other parts will be overexposed, lost of details d =/

Another shot,

Sirui, KLPF 2011 by CY Pixels, on Flickr
Hahaha! That is what I was hinting earlier tongue.gif
Fulamak... I like the lighting technique for this picture and how the details of the model really stands out smile.gif

Btw, is it existing ambient lighting or flash technique?

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 11 2011, 09:52 AM
-kytz-
post Oct 14 2011, 04:50 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Oct 14 2011, 04:27 AM)
Guys, can explain about picture control? Does it really affect our picture? It's always on standard on my D90. Potrait mode boost the colours?

Btw, street price for D700? Rm6.2k here in KB hmm.gif
Try it yourself lah smile.gif

Landscape mode would probably result in more saturated colours, boosting greens and blues.
Portrait mode, you might get more natural colours that is accurate to the human skin tone for example.

However, I'd recommend you to shoot in RAW lah. Gives you a lot more control over colours and better exposure tweaking.
-kytz-
post Oct 17 2011, 09:24 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Oct 17 2011, 07:40 AM)
Dear sifu and fellow nikonian,

If my being ask to submit 4R photo for a competition.

May I ask where should I print my photo?

Normal photo shop?

Do I need to frame it black color cardboard like those exhibition?

Thanks in advance.

Try to PM goldfries as he submits his photos for competitions and gets awards for it!! smile.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 18 2011, 03:05 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 18 2011, 01:51 PM)
tmr the nikon event at mid valley starts right? who going?
What event is that?
-kytz-
post Oct 18 2011, 08:02 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 18 2011, 07:20 PM)
I AM Nikon Show 2011
Biggest event of the year is back at Mid Valley Megamall Concourse 19th - 23rd Oct 2011

Activities:
Check and try out the latest Nikon imaging products, Coolpix, DSLR, NIKKOR, Accessories and Nikon 1 series.
Free Sensor Cleaning from 11am to 9pm, 19th to 23rd of October.

Nikon Professional Services (NPS) Corner.

Sensor Cleaning Corner

Nikon Club Malaysia – Register on the spot to redeem a mystery gift.

Photography Exhibition.

Participate I AM NIKON Contest to win a Nikon 1 J1.

Attractive promotion
    Exclusive free gifts from Nikon Malaysia

For more information log on to our Nikon Malaysia Facebook at :

https://www.facebook.com/NikonMY

or at Nikon Club Malaysia.

http://www.nikonclub.com.my/
Sounds interesting. Reckon there might be models to shoot? tongue.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 18 2011, 08:22 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 18 2011, 08:16 PM)
of cos, and shoot all the fat overweight uncles who like never seen girl before fighting for position tongue.gif
With their mini monopods up straight tongue.gif

Gonna go there to test out my new Demb Diffuser Pro biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 19 2011, 11:07 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Oct 19 2011, 10:57 AM)
Class 10 also got different speed.
100x, 133x, 166x, 200x - all different price.

If you get 100x, sure cheap.
How can we know the exact speed as they're not usually labelled on the packaging.

Cards like Ultimate X from Kingston did display "100x" but that's probably the only card I know which displays the exact speed...

-kytz-
post Oct 20 2011, 09:05 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(YMC @ Oct 20 2011, 08:51 PM)
Wanna ask about I am Nikon event, do they provide D700 or D3s for people to play with?
There's one D700 attached to a telephoto lens..

Just curious, why not just head to Nikon Centre in Time Square and you can test any body or any lens like D3S+ 70-200 VRII or D700+85 f/1.4? biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 20 2011, 09:24 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(YMC @ Oct 20 2011, 09:17 PM)
Last time I did went there, I don't see any D700 or D3s, but it was few months ago~
I saw huge lens there, but without any body attach~
Look for any store assistant there and request for the body or lens you want to try. You see the bodies and lenses on display in the glass cabinet? Request to test them smile.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 20 2011, 09:51 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 20 2011, 09:38 PM)
just ask already can test? when got time i wan go test, if my saving is enough to buy something.
QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Oct 20 2011, 09:39 PM)
Im always shy to ask them to let me try....
Just ask the person there lah. What for shy shy, not like he gonna eat you up also.

Besides, he'll be happy to let you test, after all Nikon Centre is purely for customer service. They're not selling stuff... smile.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 23 2011, 08:37 AM

12,573 posts

Try not to crop your subject too much. Zoom out a bit more. Also, avoid severely chopping limbs(left girl's arms). Do keep in mind to keep composition simple and get it right since you're just starting out smile.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 23 2011, 11:05 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(ikki9394 @ Oct 23 2011, 10:53 AM)
Uhm... the pic was not cropped... Thing is everytime when i take a pic, I will fit my object into the viewfinder nicely(the way i think) so that I don't have to crop it later. So do I have to crop this pic?
haha! I dint zoom out more because in that pic they were sitting actually. So only shoot half body...
Uhmm.. I had think alot before i bought this lense... thought it would be perfect for full body and half body portrait... Then what lens is good for full body portrait?
Shoot half body? You're doing it wrong..that's why I say zoom out more, or frame your subjects more. Better still shoot from waist up loh smile.gif

p/s: Refer to the picture posted by razurya..

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 23 2011, 11:06 AM
-kytz-
post Oct 23 2011, 11:26 AM

12,573 posts

3 more days to 26th October Nikon announcement eh! biggrin.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 24 2011, 11:34 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Oct 24 2011, 11:28 AM)
ic...
den most probably nikon will launch d4 to fight back...?
reali can't wait to see it...
btw...
ani idea canon 1dmx iso level compete with which current level nikon...?
Canon's flagship DSLR is the 1D series while Nikon's flagship is the Single Digit Body smile.gif

As of now, D3s's ISO performance still sets the benchmark since we still haven't have a good idea of the ISO performance of the 1D X. Canon hasn't released full samples yet sweat.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 24 2011, 11:36 AM
-kytz-
post Oct 24 2011, 09:56 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nyamuk siang @ Oct 24 2011, 09:54 PM)
guys..need a opinion here..lets say my budget around 1500,can ur guys suggest me lens..prime lens or zoom lens??
What is your current gears and why do you want to get another lens?
-kytz-
post Oct 25 2011, 12:01 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nyamuk siang @ Oct 24 2011, 11:49 PM)
currently using d5100..noob here..love potrait pic and zooming2 thing..but my budget really constrict becoz my phone oso need to be replace..can anyone suggest a lens
Why not use your kit lens? smile.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 25 2011, 12:09 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nyamuk siang @ Oct 25 2011, 12:07 AM)
alredi use it..but not really satify with the result..
Not satisfied with what result? Be more specific leh smile.gif
-kytz-
post Oct 31 2011, 10:30 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 31 2011, 05:59 PM)
a) the bigger the aperture is...the creamier bokeh.
eg: f/5.6 bokeh is not creamier than f/1.4

b) distance in between subject and background....

eg: when the subject is closer to lens, the creamier the bokeh... if the aperture is fixed.

this one i really walk close enough to the subject, almost is minimum focus range already... 35mm f/1.8 wide open.

or a zoom lens can do same thing...

c) Full frame bokeh is nicer then crop factor, but pricy  cry.gif

Added on October 31, 2011, 9:20 pmanyway....saw this in facebook  unsure.gif

Creamy/Smooth/Harsh/Swirly/Dreamy are actually how the out of focus elements are rendered or in other words, the characteristics of the defocused parts of the picture. For example, a 50 f/1.4G produces a smoother bokeh than a 50 f/1.8D when both are shot @f/1.8

The correct term to be used is shallower Depth of Field which is influenced by the distance of the subject from the lens, distance of subject from the background, size of camera sensor and the aperture of the lens used. For example shooting a subject @f/1.4 will produce a shallower Depth of Field compared to shooting the same subject @f/1.8..

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Oct 31 2011, 10:32 PM

0.0509sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:11 PM