Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group
wanttotree
Jan 19 2017, 05:58 PM
Hello fellow mikrotik, i am pretty new to mikrotik. Got my ccr last week and i alrdy figured my unifi and hypptv without problem. Running 3 vpn clients and 3 vpn servers on it. Firewall is up and running with no issue. Also configured another vlan for guest wifi paired with uap ac lite(for the neighbours). Maybe deploy a wifi hotspot instead in the future(not important). I am now getting kinda bored and wondering if any of the noble forumer who can share ipv6 configuration for unifi. Thanx guys
wanttotree
Jan 19 2017, 09:28 PM
QUOTE(rioven @ Jan 19 2017, 07:31 PM) im also try to reconfigure ipv6 (it works when im using streamyx last time) [attachmentid=8420913] Usually at this config, it should able get ipv6 address  my status still stuck at 'searching'. is there any other setting i should look into?
wanttotree
Jan 20 2017, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(ahlong @ Jan 20 2017, 09:08 AM) im stuck at searching before.. need to release the ip at IPv6 > DHCP Client > Release and it will rebound the ipv6 if u reboot the router, u need to do this again to get ipv6.. i refer to klseet website for ipv6 conf.. hope this help.. im also new with mikrotik but its enjoyable stuff.. new knowledge and still learning.. okay cool. will try to reboot and see if it works, got bored last night and i experiment with configuring my hypptv port so i can traffic internet on the same port. so now i can get hypptv and internet through one port(smart switch on the other end). i did this because i only want to pull one ethernet upstairs for tv inside my bedroom and extend my wired internet upstairs! which was around 50meters. happy with the result. =)
wanttotree
Jan 20 2017, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 20 2017, 10:26 PM) Do not request address, just prefix will do.   Wow thats simple. Should i reboot? Or it will obtain an address right away? No other steps sir?
wanttotree
Jan 20 2017, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 20 2017, 11:00 PM) No need to reboot. You should see your prefix already after applying the changes in /ipv6 address. If not check /ipv6 nd. This is mine: CODE 0 * interface=bridge-local ra-interval=3m20s-10m ra-delay=3s mtu=1480 reachable-time=unspecified retransmit-interval=unspecified ra-lifetime=30m hop-limit=unspecified advertise-mac-address=yes advertise-dns=yes managed-address-configuration=no other-configuration=no
I might missed something but I think that's about it. It's been awhile since I last used ipv6. I normally have it disabled. Oooh, CCR, respect, mate.  Thank you bro, ccr doesnt make me any better. Just very impressed by what routeros can do. I believe lower tier mikrotik can do exactly what ccr can do right. Anyway, i will get back to u once im back home later. So far im enjoying quite a few new stuff from the router. Anyone out here are using any isp that can at least shine their router capability? Say 100mbps and up? Im sure the sifus here are all humble and try not to brag. It will be great if anyone can share their setup and speed they are getting.
wanttotree
Jan 21 2017, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 20 2017, 11:00 PM) No need to reboot. You should see your prefix already after applying the changes in /ipv6 address. If not check /ipv6 nd. This is mine: CODE 0 * interface=bridge-local ra-interval=3m20s-10m ra-delay=3s mtu=1480 reachable-time=unspecified retransmit-interval=unspecified ra-lifetime=30m hop-limit=unspecified advertise-mac-address=yes advertise-dns=yes managed-address-configuration=no other-configuration=no
I might have missed something but I think that's about it. It's been awhile since I last used ipv6. I normally have it disabled. Oooh, CCR, respect, mate.  HEYYYYYYYYYY!!!!! the ipv6 popped up 30seconds after i choose prefix only! damn that was easy! cheers! coffee on me bro! thanx bro @rioven too! This post has been edited by wanttotree: Jan 21 2017, 01:04 AM
wanttotree
Jan 25 2017, 10:09 AM
2 days ago i subbed to expressvpn to connect to mikrotik l2tp client. Got it connected easy. I am able to access netflix through their server in LA, i am having mixed feelings with the speed though. Getting around 9-10mbps down through the l2tp. So i went ahead connect the exact same server through l2tp on my mac and what i saw was bittersweet. It hit 25mbps easily and climb up to 44mbps almost saturating my unifi line. I am running 9core ccr, but i cant hit more than 15mbps through it. Need some advice from sifus here please.
wanttotree
Jan 25 2017, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 25 2017, 09:49 PM) Just shooting in the dark here, not much exp with VPNs but what are your MRU & MTU values? It could be fragmentation. Any recommended values from ExpressVPN. I've believe RouterOS is only capable of running 1 tunnel on 1 core. Even then it shouldn't be as slow as 15mbps. Yes u are right sir. 15 is way too slow. I did lower mtu to 1270 last night i finally break 20mbps. Turns out i can only reach up to 40-44mbps only using openvpn thru udp. Which only can be done on my mac/pc. We all know mikrotik doesnt support that(sad). Dont know why l2tp is slower, i retried l2tp thru mac client and i can never go higher than 20mbps. So it was not the mikrotik problem(at least not l2tp). Anyway, i am wishing for openvpn udp full support in ros 7. Thank you bro @soonwai for yr help. Mikrotik forum is surprisingly not as supportive as i thought it would, thanx again lowyat. Cheers.
wanttotree
Jan 27 2017, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Jan 27 2017, 11:20 AM) OpenVPN UDP is implemented in RouterOS v7, which is currently in private alpha testing, we are part of the testers, the public is going to have it soon! That is such a refreshing information sir. I am very pleased to hear that. I hope there are good improvements in ros7.i hope there is sha512, lzo comp and multi core utilization.
wanttotree
Feb 1 2017, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 1 2017, 04:53 PM) Have you tried keeping MTU at default and lowering MRU? So i was informed by my vpn provider that mtu for l2tp is 1400. So should i keep mtu at 1400 and lower mru from there? That i could give a try.
wanttotree
Feb 13 2017, 04:49 AM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 12 2017, 10:02 PM) wanttotree, I'm doing the same thing. I only pulled 1 cable during renovation and was using HomePlugs for HyppTV. That was before I discovered Mikrotik routers. Got rid of the homeplugs and trunked vlan 1 & 600 from my RB upstairs (my modem is upstairs) to my RB downstairs. I was just wondering how you are doing the vlan trunking. Are you using vlans and bridges? I'm using this method. Or are you doing it in the switch config on the RB.
To be honest, I'm not sure if I'm doing the right way but it works so far. yeap im doing vlan and bridge. i also am not sure that its the absolute right way to do it. but so far it works flawlessly. so i am not complaining. if there is better way i can try, please suggest here, i would be grateful for any recommendation.
wanttotree
Mar 2 2017, 10:04 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 2 2017, 10:01 PM) Updating to 6.39rc40 broke pppoe-client. PPPoE remote address unreachable. More here: https://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=...=586517#p586517Anyone here facing this problem? Im not running that bro. Currently on stable version. 6.38.3 Any reason why i might wanna try the rc40?
wanttotree
Mar 16 2019, 02:40 AM
QUOTE(cmah89 @ Mar 14 2019, 12:05 PM) Been using Mikrotik CCR series in work (oversea) for past 1 year, 5 different office. Gonna try setup for my apartment  once I'm back to malaysia, need some sifu recommendation / guide on this depending on which ISP available in my area. Sounds interesting, i have a CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+PC collecting dust since i moved over to my vm firewall. Hit me up if u r interested.