Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group
mahaqmi
Feb 27 2016, 10:14 AM
Hi guys, looking at few models of mikrotik routers to replace my unifi router. Using 20mbps but after 8pm when my family all use internet becomes damn slow. Even youtube needs buffering. Anywaywhat's the different between RB951Ui-2HnD and RB951G-2HnD?
mahaqmi
Mar 13 2016, 09:37 AM
Hi guys, just bought a mikrotik router to replace my unifi router (dir-615).I've setup using the quickset guide that @soonwai provide. I've noticed that when loading website (ex.fb,9gag,reddit) this new router has about 0.5-1sec slower than my old router but it fully load the whole page n it's much faster (the dir-615 took sometimes till 5-6sec to fully load).
Also, is there any sifu could teach me how to set a high priority on app n website. I want to give high priority when using Skype and www.twitch.tv for example so that any1 dloading torrent wont kacau the hgiher prior packets. I dont necessarily want to limit bandwidth on any user, just any device accessing skype and twitch will be prioritize first. Thanks in advanced!!
mahaqmi
Mar 15 2016, 06:48 PM
QUOTE(soonwai @ Mar 14 2016, 11:07 PM) Welcome to the Mikrotik family! Which router did you get? Not sure why it would load slower than a DIR-615. You said at the beginning, could it be a DNS resolution thing? First I admit that I don't know much about queues. I have been using the Simple Queue example from klseet.com. https://klseet.com/index.php/213-tm-unifi/u...rotik-rb750-qosThe idea is to mark packets according to priority and put them into queues according to your needs. You won't be able to mark bittorrent packets since they're encrypted so mark the ones that you know about like http, https, Skype or twitch and dump the rest into the lowest queue. i bought the rb2011. Not sure bout dns. Using ipconfig i see i have 3 dns now. primary is my router, then 1.9.1.9 (tm maybe) and 8.8.8.8 (google?). Btw I have question on mangle. Why cant we just use forward chain instead of having both pre & post routing?