Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

loonsave
post Nov 5 2021, 04:56 PM

1,635 posts

Hi Sifu, I used to use pfsense for more that 10 years. But I am going to turn off my VM to reduce energy usage.
Please recommend me an entry-level of Mikrotik router to achieve function below. I am subscribing to 300Mbps Tm UniFi.

1. Site-to-Site VPN to Surfshark with destination route for certain websites via the VPN tunnel.
2. Road warrior VPN, prefer OpenVPN/Wireguard.
3. Block access to certain websites at certain hour.
4. Working well with TP-Link Deco X20 AP Mode.
5. VLAN separation for IoT/Security devices.

Thank you. notworthy.gif
loonsave
post Nov 6 2021, 10:22 AM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Nov 5 2021, 05:33 PM)
hAP ac2 (Disable Wifi function) should be enough for your usage. (hEX should also suitable but CPU will be a bit weaker)
Thank you. I will have a look at the recommended model.
loonsave
post Nov 7 2021, 11:47 AM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Nov 6 2021, 10:52 PM)
What is your budget? If below rm1k then get the latest new model RB5009 equipped with 10Gbps SFP+ FTW. Otherwise you can get a hEX S, or hAP ac2 or hAP ac3. But it would be a waste since you already got your own Deco AP, get an RB5009 instead it is using native RouterOS v7 already and support WireGuard and ZeroTier also! drool.gif
My budget below RM400. I will check hAP ac2/ac3.
Thank you.
loonsave
post Nov 7 2021, 01:44 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Nov 7 2021, 01:08 PM)
Already got mine, but can't test yet because my main router has builtin AP inside it so I don't want to disrupt my family's work since they all wfh and using wifi. Am waiting for y U6-LR haven't reach yet.  bangwall.gif
This is one of the reason why I switched from pfsense + ubiquiti to a simple Deco setup. I always test various configuration and it interrupt the home network. Sometimes power outage cause the pfsense not boot up correctly in day time.
End up I decided to moved to a simple solution that my parent know how to reboot a router when I not around.

But after switched for months, I feel paranoid when I don't have access to logs and information from my router, I can't see why the Deco not connect to the PPPoE, no snmp to monitor the usage, etc. biggrin.gif
loonsave
post Nov 7 2021, 09:13 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Nov 7 2021, 02:22 PM)
I know right. Being a network admin/engineer is the lust and urge to watch the logs and also the data transfer rate haha  lol.gif
I can't agree more on that. Being look at the log to find out why my PPPoE disconnected, and visualize the data usage in monitoring tool make me feel good.

================================

Can I power up a HP ProCurve 1810G-8 Switch (J9449A) with PoE-Out from hEX S? hEX S come with a default 24V power adapter, and support Passive PoE up to 57V on port 5, while the HP switch support 802.3af PoE in on Port 1.

Do the default 24V power adapter sufficient, or I need to get a higher voltage power adapter?

This post has been edited by loonsave: Nov 7 2021, 09:38 PM
loonsave
post May 8 2024, 10:44 AM

1,635 posts

I am using Asus TUF AX5400 currently in a 900sqft condo. So far the Wifi coverange is acceptable. The WiFi and Internet speed somehow unstable and I schedule to reboot it every night. Another problem is after I disable the Surfshark VPN connection in the router. The streaming quality constant at 480p until I reboot the router.

I have few requirements for a wireless router, and wonder mikrotik hap ax3 fit into it or not.

1. Docker services, eg: HomeAssistant/Uptime
2. VPN services to Surfshark
3. Decent and stable wifi coverage for whole house
4. Split the 2.4G/5G SSID due to some smart home devices cannot connect to 5Ghz network

loonsave
post May 8 2024, 01:14 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ May 8 2024, 01:00 PM)
1. if i am not wrong,u need a pendrive / external usb ssd/hdd drive for docker related services
2. With Wireguard protocol yes,but the speed might not be able to hit the max speed with your internet plan. (And while utilize high speed with vpn,your router cpu usage will also be high due to vpn data encryption)
3. Use your current Asus TUF AX5400 as Wifi AP,the processing power stress will be lower for both device. (Or you can place both on different place with connected ethernet connection)
4. Yes,routeros does support this kind of wifi setup.
2. I don't need max speed, as long as it able to stream with decent quality. It's acting weird on current router, where it can stream fine with Surfshark Wireguard VPN, but as soon as I disconnect the VPN, the streaming quality dropped to 480p, until I restart the router.
3. I was thinking to make current Asus TUF AX5400 as access point, but I also want to keep minimal devices. That's why I am considering hap ax3 instead of RB5009UG. It's a small condo and I don't have ethernet connection else where. I have around 30 devices connected via WiFi, and half of them are smart home devices. Thus, WiFi coverage and stability is the utmost important requirement.

This post has been edited by loonsave: May 8 2024, 01:22 PM
loonsave
post May 8 2024, 04:21 PM

1,635 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 8 2024, 03:40 PM)
I have RB5009 as main router (router, capsman, vpn) and ax3 (containers & 5Ghz wifi.) and ax2 (2.4 & 5Ghz wifi) as APs  Not sure how a single ax3 would fare if everything is on it.

1. Docker so far working quite reliably. I have AdGuard Home, UptimeKuma and Lego on the ax3. Using a USB3 thumb drive for container storage.
2. Main RB5009 router set for NordVPN, VPN Unlimited and Zerotier. Seldom use the VPN though so can't say much about it.
3. I use ax3 and ax2 for 2-storey house. Coverage pretty good. 2.4Ghz active only on the ax2 for IOT and legacy devices. ax3 is 5Ghz only, covers back of the house (up & downstairs). ax2 covers the front (up & down)
4. Multiple SSIDs no problem. Can set to your heart's content.

Before I got the ax3 & 2, I used Deco M9 Plus and then X20. Also tried TM's DLink for a week or 2 which was pretty good. Don't like and have never used Asus for many years already.
I am thinking the combination of RB5009 + GPON SFP + Asus Router for WiFi, or a single AX3 for my need. Obviously a single AX3 is cheaper than option 1.
Schedule reboot the current Asus router also caused me another headache where my Homepod mini in master bedroom won't reconnect to the Wifi occasionally. Sometimes need to open the door, or open the Home app in iPhone to reconnect, where the Homepod mini in living room that next to the router just working fine.
Maybe I just get the AX3 to try it out. VPN is a good to have solutions since Surfshark VPN do not have app for Apple TV yet.

0.0273sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:37 PM