Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

digilife
post Dec 18 2012, 07:47 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

Hi all,

I intend to buy this http://routerboard.com/RB751G-2HnD to use it on my Huawei E372, E398 or MF680. I dun have Fibre in my area yet.

Do you guys think i can get good speed on it as a lower cost TP LINK MR3420 too can do the job of getting good speed but lacks the "freedom" even on OpenWRT FW.

Those who have used this before. i need your valuable feedback.

notworthy.gif
digilife
post Dec 19 2012, 12:26 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Dec 18 2012, 10:31 PM)
What you mean lacks of freedom?  hmm.gif
means less parameters to play around, like VPN and Torrent DL when PC is off
digilife
post Dec 20 2012, 03:26 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Dec 20 2012, 09:57 AM)
I just bought the RB751G and would say that it is a great Router for the price. It may not have all your torrent app to download stuff, but it is a solid SME level (or even enterprise level) router, with no home-user app.

If you need a good router (With VPN, bandwidth management, firewall, hotspot service........ the list very long.. etc etc), then get the RB. If you need something simple for home use, get the TP Link.

I have used it with the 3G Dongle before and it works fine (read here) *Implemented on my 433UAH unit, not the 751G, but it should be exactly the same*
Good luck

Eric
thanks bro,

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
digilife
post Dec 22 2012, 08:25 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 22 2012, 02:19 AM)
Draytek is very configurable (for a home router), very easy to setup, has tons of features: 3G backup, VPN, SIP, IPv6, BT, DLNA, iTunes servers and more. One of the most feature rich routers I've seen. It's a bit expensive, RM480 I think for the 2130n. It used to be a crazy RM600 a few months ago. If you considering Asus or Draytek, I vote for Draytek.

Mikrotik is a different beast. It does things that no other router does for below RM300 mainly scripting and hotspot and high throughput PtP links but these are things a home user will probably never use. You have total control over it. But no BT downloading on this one.

It's hard to compare the two.
I need your expert advice since your views is so easily understandable.

I intend to use the RB751G-2HnD ( intends to buy ) for 3G USB dial-in then LAN out to a DDWRT flashed Router ( DLink 615 )

My questions

1) Will the dial in be hassel free ( easy setup ) and can i get highspeed ( i tried using a TP Link TD-W8968 to dial in but the speed sucks( Max=1.5Mbps ) ) I am currently using TP Link MR3420 V2 to dial in and its fast can touch 10Mbps at times.

2) When my area is UniFi enabled, can i Load Balance UniFi and Maxis Broadband to make the connection faster and more stable ( Like CONNECTIFY DISPATCH ) ?

3) Will LAN-ing out to the DDWRT Dlink be a waste as RB751G-2HnD could handle the job of stability and DNS Forwarding too.

Thank you

notworthy.gif

digilife
post Dec 24 2012, 08:46 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Dec 22 2012, 11:44 AM)
My opinions below

1) I believe you should be able to achieve max speeds (but as usual, you'll need to test it)

2) Yes you can load balance up to 4 (or 5) connection depending on what is connected to your LAN. However you'll need to understand that 2 x 10mb /= 20mb.... you cannot achieve twice the speed, only balance it over 2 x 10mb line (your peak speed is of the fastest line)... you need to read the more technical (and limitation) part on load balancing

3) I think the DIR-615 is seriously a hopeless router. The wifi is decent, but not as good as the 751G. I rather you install the DIR-615 as a 2nd AP, to extend coverage, or enable 1 of the router with 40mhz and the other one with a more compatible 20mhz (Apple doesnt work well on 40mhz)
Before this, I was a big fan of DD-WRT enable routers. Every compatible router I had, I had to flash it, and tweak it.... however, after using Mikrotik, I find the DD-WRT routers a little dated. They have had little updates and hopeless QOS (free version). I think DD-WRT is concentrating too much on their paid version, their free version is lagging behind.

Any day a stock ASUS RT-N13U, in my opinion does a more solid job than any similarly priced DD-WRT compatible router. With a USB port, the Asus could also be enabled for 3G. Great feature, on a under RM200 router.... and works so much better on stock, than DD-WRT.

Today, all my routers Linksys 54GL, Asus N12, Asus N13U are all used solely as APs connected to my Mikrotiks. I must admit, Mikrotiks strength is not in the Wireless AP part... They are great as a Router (hotspot, QOS, VPN, etc etc)

I have also been testing the Ubiquiti Picostation M2 with Mikrotik setup. It is a seriously good AP combo. However I was expecting it to blow away the Asus or even the 751G, but it didn't.... it is GOOD.... just not up to my expectation.... I was expecting so much from a company who specializes in APs and PTP equipment....
PS: I am using most of my setup for my work and home. With a limited budget, I need to get the most of every RM spent. Would love to try the Draytek, but at that price point, my expectations are really high....
A true sifu and a good insight for us.

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Btw, how do you rate a rm480 Draytek?

http://www.draytek.com/user/PdInfoDetail.php?Id=111

Added on December 24, 2012, 8:48 am
QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Dec 24 2012, 01:53 AM)
Can YES modem attach to mikrotik?
Vigorfly200 ( rm300 ) can dial into YES GO Dongle.

http://www.draytek.com/user/PdInfoDetail.php?Id=121

This post has been edited by digilife: Dec 24 2012, 08:48 AM
digilife
post Dec 24 2012, 09:56 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Dec 24 2012, 09:40 AM)
If you could send/borrow me a Draytek, I would love to do a review on it...

I believe the YES would work. There is another forumer (cloud computers or something like that) that sells Mikrotik stuff. I believe one of his post wrote that the mikrotik is compatible with YES and also P1. I have not tested it, but I am sure if you message him, he will let you know.
I have noy buy any Draytek or Mikrotik yet.

Still deciding which to buy.

sweat.gif
digilife
post Dec 25 2012, 01:39 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Dec 24 2012, 10:06 PM)
I already asked cloudcomputer about yes modem, he said he didnt know. and he want manufacturer info about yes modem, perhaps he can do some research.
I believe can, but you must knoe how to script the instruction
digilife
post Dec 25 2012, 05:04 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Gaara92 @ Dec 25 2012, 04:38 PM)
CloudComputer said that YES modem is some sort of Wimax modem, so it should be supported by mikrotik. I dont have YES modem with me, someone willing to test whether mikrotik detect yes modem or not
MR3420 V2 can detect YES GO but there is no dial-in interface to move on sad.gif
digilife
post Jan 2 2013, 04:38 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Jan 2 2013, 03:23 PM)
Hi bro, we are already selling it, please find it at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2649105.

Thanks for asking! biggrin.gif
It would be great if you could let prospective buyers to do some test on some of the most commonly used modems like Huawei E372, E398 and MF680.

If all these modems can be used, i am sure there will be lots of buyers.

Will it be just plug and play or need some tedious setup as Mikrotik is known for "hard to setup" ~ which inturn keep noobs like me away

I too might consider buying one if its easy to setup.

This post has been edited by digilife: Jan 2 2013, 04:39 PM
digilife
post Jan 2 2013, 05:08 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Jan 2 2013, 04:51 PM)
Hi Bro,

The list of supported 3G/4G LTE modems are listed at http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Supported_Hardware. E372, E398 and MF680 are very popular modem models and they are definitely working with MikroTik, there are many MikroTik users with these modems, you can find their experience on Internet. biggrin.gif

The setup is not plug and play but it's relatively easy, similar to PPPoE connection, you can find some examples in the links below.

http://www.nadasumbang.com/setting-usb-mod...ik-rb751u-2hnd/
http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthread.php...d-USB-3G-Modems

You can find one crazy setup with quad 3G WAN connection on one RB751U-2HnD in the post above. drool.gif

rclxms.gif
Is the settings for RB2011UAS-2HnD similar to RB751U-2HnD ?
digilife
post Jan 21 2013, 08:23 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Jan 21 2013, 08:13 AM)
Remember to include port 443 (https)....
And include any other/all ports that youtube may use to stream.....
You need to be very specific....... when you are trying to do QOS....

good luck....
Bro,

I need your advice,

Is there an easy way to configure RB751G 2HnD to use 3G USB Modems ( one or two modems at one go via USB Hub) , i read there are ways of doing it but i found that they are quite complicated as i dun have a programming background

notworthy.gif
digilife
post Jan 29 2013, 01:49 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Jan 28 2013, 11:30 PM)
How is your setup coming along?

I have been using it at my new apartment for the last 2 days with a USB 3G dongle connected to the RB751G... no issues.. if you have any issues, just PM me directly.

Eric
Thanks bro,

Still dun have time to try it out,

Using Asus RT N-16 now.

I will PM you when the need arise.

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
digilife
post Jun 1 2013, 12:44 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Jun 1 2013, 12:30 AM)
I have just installed the RB2011UAS and checked all the 5 GB ports using 2 laptops (with GB connection) and finally to a 24 Dlink GB Switch. No issues with auto neg.

I think this is issue only between routers....
Do you think it is possible to use usb hub to connect 2 usb modems to combine the internet connection on a RB751-2HnD ?

If yes, what usb hub you recommend and how to issue the command .

notworthy.gif

0.0201sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:36 PM