Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

Shengz
post Mar 20 2012, 05:31 PM

671 posts

Err guys, do you have firewall rules script/list?

I don't know why accessing some website took ages to load, ping was fine.
Or is there something to tweak for faster web browsing. Hehehehe..

EDIT: I read some of you guys are using http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Dmitry_on_firewalling, will further investigate it when I have time. brows.gif

This post has been edited by Shengz: Mar 20 2012, 05:38 PM
Shengz
post Mar 29 2012, 03:20 PM

671 posts

What modem do you guys use as modem?
Shengz
post Apr 19 2012, 08:46 AM

671 posts

Ermm guys, I'm using rb751u-2hnd, on every electricity interruption, my router sure went crazy after electricity restored. Means, I will have to restore my router backup file every time electricity interruption occurred.

LAN not accessible, every LEDs in dark except the first LAN/POE port.
Did I set anything wrong or something not configured properly?

SOLUTION:
5.13 & 5.14 to have this known issue. Upgraded to 5.15 firmware and problem fixed. flex.gif

This post has been edited by Shengz: May 5 2012, 11:26 AM
Shengz
post May 22 2012, 12:51 PM

671 posts

Er... Can we downgrade the RouterOS version?
I found some problem using 5.16... Sobs...

EDIT: Done already.

This post has been edited by Shengz: May 22 2012, 04:19 PM
Shengz
post Jun 11 2012, 11:25 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(kaisam @ Jun 9 2012, 12:13 PM)
Now got version5.17, more stable.

Thank you.  rclxms.gif
My one just revived from bricked. sweat.gif

One day out of sudden the device hung and the LED just keeps flashing, I search through google and found out that several users met this problem, but Mikrotik technical support said this problem has been resolved after the first batch sent out, according to them, only a few units affected.

Oh well, I thought its gone, and have to send back to seller.
During the time I seeking for solutions, I let it blinks at the same time. brows.gif
Suddenly it back to life. But, the LEDs is dead now, no more blinking during activity except the wifi ones. laugh.gif

Btw, already updated to 5.17 RouterOS and 2.38 firmware now. Hopefully it won't goes crazy anymore. Office use. rclxub.gif
Shengz
post Jul 2 2016, 05:19 PM

671 posts

Hi sifu sekalian, I need some help here.

Just setup dual wan with load balancing on RB951G, internet works.
But I have another problem now,

Streamyx Modem on ether1 as WAN1
3G USB data on usb1 as WAN2
PC1 on ether2 @ 192.168.0.101
PC2 on ether3 @ 192.168.0.102
PC3 on ether4 @ 192.168.0.103
All other devices -> TP-Link WDR4300 WiFi on ether5 @ 192.168.10.x

I tried every solutions I found on google, but still couldn't make PC1,2,3 share folders with ether5.
How to bridge them? bangwall.gif confused.gif

Thank you guys.
Shengz
post Jul 3 2016, 02:06 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 2 2016, 06:37 PM)
ether 2,3,4 is in a bridge right? ether5 is on its own? You'll need to route 192.168.10.0/24 to ether5 and vice versa, 192.168.0.0/24 to the ether 2,3,4's bridge (you should have this route already.)

Broadcast won't work so you won't be able to see eg: Windows shares in Windows Explorer but once routed, you should be able to access PC1 using \\192.168.0.101, etc...
Thanks bro.
I did wrong one crazy thing, I plugged the RJ45 @ WAN port on the tp-link router.

Solution,
1. Re-plug the RJ45 into LAN port on the WDR4300
2. Re-set LAN IP on WDR4300 to non-dhcp-pool IP same as Mikrotik's subnet
3. Re-configure the default IP pool ranges

Done! rclxm9.gif
Shengz
post Feb 4 2017, 11:46 AM

671 posts

My RB951G-2HnD gone bricked... Damn... Previously RB751 also died like that... Even Netinstall is not working... Haiz... 2 pieces Mikrotik don't last more than 2 years... Really disappointed.
Shengz
post Feb 4 2017, 12:41 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(jio @ Feb 4 2017, 12:20 PM)
How do you get it bricked? Updating firmware? or running metarouter crap? Don't write to the nand too much it will die eventually. The only mikrotik that I had problem is due to bad nand chip that is unfortunately had bad block causing problem with routerboot & the dumb f**k distributor had zero knowledge of routerboot & refuse to replace it even though it was within warranty. Mikrotik support can't even help me & simply ask me (they only replied to me couple months later) to continue use older routerboot that is smaller in size.
Firmware was upgraded few months ago. Was running good till yesterday. It just died like that, no symptoms, nothing. Not resettable with the RES button and jumper reset. It just beep once and nothing happens. Manually configured IP in Win 10 show unidentified network, netinstall not detecting either. bye.gif

Since you are mentioning about nand writes, I guess log file is the culprit then, because I have few scheduled scripts running to check if any of the WAN is down, do routes have to be changed, and to power reset the USB since it always hung after few hours session. I am running few WANs, Streamyx, USB modem, mobile hotspot.

This post has been edited by Shengz: Feb 4 2017, 12:42 PM
Shengz
post Feb 4 2017, 02:19 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(jio @ Feb 4 2017, 01:41 PM)
Try use a different power adapter. Sometimes failing power adapter can cause booting process to stall or boot loops. Try trigger it to boot to network by holding reset while powering up. Also make sure the pc firewall not interfere with netinstall. You may have to use the first port for net boot if not mistaken.
Tried every f'king solutions I could found on google dy. bangwall.gif
Adapter changed, various of reset pattern, press, no press, 5 seconds, 30 seconds, press & release, 30/30/30, yada yada. I think almost hundred times since yesterday. Tried port 1 to 5 all to no avail.

But it is very ridiculous if just died like 1000 lines of log per 24 hours. 1000 is not really that much I presume?
If their nand is so weak, they should have either throw in a sd card slot or make log files write directly to pc drive then. Or just pure bad luck it died on me, as lot of users here able to let mikrotik handles hundred to thousand of connection without dying.

I don't know should I get another RB951. Dilemma.
Shengz
post Feb 9 2017, 09:37 AM

671 posts

Good news here, it is alive and kicking now! I re-check the bad block, it is only 1%, so looks great. Why it went haywire and soft bricked, no idea, since everything were setup, left there and nobody touches it anyway.

Here is what I did for those who have hard time with netinstall. We were lucky to have Google in this era.

If netinstall could not detect the router with these settings below,

Set static IP of 192.168.88.3, subnet mask 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.88.1 on PC
Run NetInstall
Select "Net Booting"
Mark "Boot Serve Enabled"
Set Client IP address to 192.168.88.1

try these instead,

Set the adapter's IP to: 10.0.0.1 and subnet mask to 255.255.255.0 (Leave rest of the settings blank)
Run netinstall.exe
In Net Booting option: Check Enable Boot Server & set client IP as: 10.0.0.2

Credit goes to the teachers. notworthy.gif

Bad news is, I bought another new RB951G as trying the same netinstall settings for 2 days yet can't get it working while my TP-Link runs Streamyx 4Mbps alone is making me very very very desperate for the previous speed. puke.gif
Shengz
post Feb 12 2017, 02:00 PM

671 posts

Guys, the usb port can support 2 usb modem? Or have to use powered usb hub?
Shengz
post Feb 13 2017, 10:25 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Feb 12 2017, 10:02 PM)
Hard to say but probably not for 2 modems. It really depends on how much power they need and how much the RB supplies. I don't think Mikrotik publishes this data but if they follow USB 2.0 specs then it should 500mA. At 5V, thats 2.5w.
Couldn't find any info how much do the devices draw the voltage either. Am asking because my multi plugs on the wall sockets are so full, and voltage regulator is on the multi plug, and few more multi plugs on the regulator. All fully occupied currently. I seriously worry about short circuit. bangwall.gif

sikentut your modem support ipv6? Like mine, old adsl modem doesn't support, so no ipv6 for me. dry.gif

This post has been edited by Shengz: Feb 13 2017, 10:45 AM
Shengz
post Dec 31 2017, 04:19 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 31 2017, 02:43 PM)
Happy New Year guys. Just gone for a week and suddenly a few more new Mikrotik users. Hope you guys are enjoying the new toys. I also just setup my RB750Gr3. Got it last month but never did find the time to hook it up till now.

Make sure you’re on the latest v6.41 before tinkering with ROS further as that has major changes to Ethernet, bridges and ports. No more master/slave ports. I’ll have to update the guide for this.
Thanks for the heads up. Updated!
Got apa interesting tweaks? hmm.gif

0.0683sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:25 PM