Enterprise Networking Mikrotik Routers (RouterBoard & RouterOS), User and owner discussion group

PC_CHEAH
post May 6 2020, 09:46 PM

67 posts

Hi, I tried to setup ikev2 vpn for surfshark vpn.
the connection from router to their server is established but things are not working as expected.
I only want my phone (192.168.0.5) to connect to vpn but the tunnel doesn't hide my true IPv6 and it is not using the VPN DNS.

When I IPLeak test the connection for my device, ipv4 vpn ip is detected, but ISP ipv6 are also detected. The DNS detected are google dns, not the VPN dns. (ip leaked)
Then, I disabled ipv6 in the router, my device (vpn) could not get any internet anymore.

I also excluded ipsec from fasttrack and added mark connections in mangle
I doubt there are something to do with the DNS settings, or firewall, not sure.
and is there any ways that I can automatically disable ipv6 to the clients when using the VPN without actually disable IPv6 in the router?

I also posted to MikroTik forum: https://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=...533c653e64a12fa

any mikrotik sifu can look into my config

This post has been edited by PC_CHEAH: May 6 2020, 09:47 PM
PC_CHEAH
post May 7 2020, 02:41 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ May 7 2020, 09:29 AM)
Have you marked your connection in /ipv6 firewall mangle?
Did surfshark vpn even support IPv6 on the VPN?
I suppose they do not support ipv6, I intend to block ipv6 for my vpn tunnel device on the router side. Not very sure how to do that on ipv6 firewall.
PC_CHEAH
post May 7 2020, 05:11 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ May 7 2020, 04:33 PM)
Considering how ipleak.net works, IPv6 route leak is inevitable. No good way to disable IPv6 for a device when connected to the VPN due to the inflexibility of routerOS' IKEv2 implementation, routerOS' hopeless IPv6 stack and, if you use TM Unifi, their IPv6 limitations too. The latter two is especially infuriating.

Just disable IPv6 to use the VPN correctly.
after disabling ipv6, all websites I browse just connection timed out, but I'm able to ping IP addresses.

I doubt the dns are also a problem.
the dynamic servers below are vpn dns es.

I think it query the router first (custom DNS) and not the vpn dnses below, could this be the cause of the timeout?
From mikrotik forums, they said it is the encrypted packets not getting delivered to the vpn tunnel. Not sure what can I do about this.

This post has been edited by PC_CHEAH: May 7 2020, 05:28 PM
PC_CHEAH
post May 8 2020, 05:26 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ May 7 2020, 10:33 PM)
If you set up the DNS server directly on the computer ethernet adapter (try using Google DNS), will you still see the same problem?
Yes.
PC_CHEAH
post May 9 2020, 05:34 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ May 8 2020, 05:42 PM)
Go to /ip dhcp-server network and explicitly tell the DHCP server to only serve the router's IP address OR the Quad9 IP addresses but NOT BOTH.
It didn't work though, my VPN devices also get the dns I set.

0.0663sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:08 AM