STOCK MARKET DISCUSSION V98, Celebrating KLCI breach 13xx point

yok70
post Sep 22 2011, 03:25 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(primepeng @ Sep 22 2011, 02:55 AM)
Moody's downgraded BofA, might have caused the steep fall. but still got chance to see a last rebound
Not related to that.
It's this:

WASHINGTON (AP) -- The Federal Reserve will use more than $400 billion to try to drive down long-term interest rates, make home loans cheaper and invigorate the economy.
The Fed announced Wednesday that it will do so by adjusting the makeup of its existing holdings. It will sell $400 billion of its shorter-term Treasurys to buy longer-term Treasurys. And it will reinvest principal payments from its mortgage-backed securities, to help keep mortgage rates at super-low levels.
Fed policymakers announced the moves after a two-day meeting. Three members dissented from the decision.
"The actions the Fed has taken are helpful," says Josh Feinman, global chief economist at DB Advisors. "They will help hold down long-term rates, but they're no panacea."
Stocks fell immediately after the announcement. The Dow Jones industrial average dropped more than 125 points. The yield on the 10-year Treasury note tumbled, and its price rose.
The Fed's move to rebalance its $2.87 trillion portfolio could lower Treasury yields further. Ultimately, it might reduce rates on mortgages and other consumer and business loans.
With its mortgage-backed securities, the Fed had previously reinvested principal payments into Treasury purchases.
In its statement, the Fed noted that the economy is growing slowly, unemployment is high and housing remains in a prolonged slump.
As a result, the Fed has directed the New York Fed to purchase Treasurys with remaining maturities of six to 30 years, and to sell an equal amount of securities with maturities of three years or less.
Many analysts have said the shift in the Fed's portfolio could provide modest help by reducing borrowing costs and perhaps raising stock prices. Others say it won't help and warn that the move could escalate inflation.
In June, the Fed completed a $600 billion bond-buying program that may have helped keep rates low.

http://beta.finance.yahoo.com/news/fed-shi...BHRlc3QD;_ylv=3

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 22 2011, 03:36 AM
yok70
post Sep 22 2011, 03:46 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 22 2011, 03:39 AM)
The twist is on....only Fed is dancing alone.

Nobody else on the dance floor at the moment.  tongue.gif
QE1 and QE2, US got print money and buy right? Now this (QE3?), it said it's actually switching from short term Treasurys into long term Treasurys. Does it mean this round, there will be no money printing? notworthy.gif
yok70
post Sep 22 2011, 04:49 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Sep 22 2011, 03:08 PM)
[attachmentid=2447816]

I m luvin it  wub.gif
many moons ago, alredi tell to lari & take profit  brows.gif
now I interested to buy 'goreng shares' in klse at 1400, 1350 & 1300. anything below 1299, hav to use lori  laugh.gif 
http://finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=^KLSE+I...le=off;source=;

also, its too late to cut loss la, jus enjoy the ride as per warren buffet advise
remember he say the fear thingy & everyone takut, u mus buy. pls follow la eg. 'bull trap' in bank of america  cool2.gif
http://finance.yahoo.com/echarts?s=BAC+Int...le=off;source=;

if dog jones goes below 10k & s&p crack below 1100. then I gonna buy in stages every % steps it goes down  icon_idea.gif 
for now, the market is neither here nor there, looking at the big picture, all tis fluctuation is normal  tongue.gif
no need get panic reading all the gloomy news, gloomy news spells opportunity
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/668917/+20 Post #34
notworthy.gif
yok70
post Sep 22 2011, 05:22 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Sep 22 2011, 04:53 PM)
i've different opinion though, Uncle Ben is doing all he could to help.. the ones who are really killing us are the :
~donkey and dumbo politicians in US
~European politicans who just want to save their own assess and political positions rather than doing the right thing..
~the Fear of facing the consequences of the possible failure of the EU currency and fall of European Union...
~the more they delay, the more we suffer. Maybe it's like one forumer mentioned. They do it for the own benefit, making big bucks from the mkt.
Fully agreed. It's just politicians who kill the market. As simple as that, otherwise, we'd have already on recovering path following last year's path. shakehead.gif

Added on September 22, 2011, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 22 2011, 05:04 PM)
2008 lowest was 900 points if I'm not mistaken.

Flashback:
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...31&sec=business

"... Yesterday, it ended the year 4.88 points lower at 876.75, down from 1,435.68 on Jan 2. For the year, it had fallen 558.93 points."

Thanks!!! This scary table actually releases my stress now. notworthy.gif

Added on September 22, 2011, 5:24 pm
QUOTE(mopster @ Sep 22 2011, 04:53 PM)
are u from a different timezone or u're using the wrong Financial Calendar ?
yeah lah! this danielc156 keeps giving wrong information, even after many forumers corrected his mistake. Really... rclxub.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 22 2011, 05:24 PM
yok70
post Sep 22 2011, 05:28 PM

12,698 posts

yesterday my profile gained 4%, today it dropped 6%.
how i feel? well....i'm dead. as simple as that. when it reached 12xx, i will be drinking longkang water to survive, bread also can't afford. yawn.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 22 2011, 05:29 PM
yok70
post Sep 22 2011, 05:30 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Sep 22 2011, 05:29 PM)
laugh.gif he newbie mah, kasi chance lah  tongue.gif time to reload popcorns & take out my shopping cart
it would be a very interesting list, when sorting thru the carnage list this weekend  wub.gif
i agree with your advice of "it's now too late to cut loss". nod.gif
so i guess all i can do now is to save more additional capital and take out my shopping cart waiting at 1300 or below. sweat.gif
yok70
post Sep 22 2011, 05:54 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 22 2011, 05:46 PM)
More & more forumers sold & left us liao tongue.gif

I promise I'll be here till 1200 wokie  wub.gif
when below 1200, what would you do then? laugh.gif

yok70
post Sep 23 2011, 05:06 AM

12,698 posts

Seriously, I don't understand why investors don't like Fed's strategy.
1. Everyone scares of inflation, so no QE. Isn't that good?
2. QE is to lower US debt interest rate+lower USD value to increase market competitiveness. Now, Fed is just doing that without too aggressively lower USD value, so that inflation won't kick in too fierce. Isn't that good?
3. Economy has to cure itself slowly. Now, Fed is just doing that. Isn't that good?
4. Job creation policy should be from Obama, not Fed. So why bother on this topic after Fed meeting?

Investors' mind are now just so contradicting. Do they really know what they want? Actually, what do they want?
yawn.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 23 2011, 05:09 AM
yok70
post Sep 23 2011, 04:06 PM

12,698 posts

i so wanna buy something or sell something.
but why i just staring at the screen, calculating dunno what on short listed counters, and fingers just can't hit the button.
am i a shopaholic? rclxub.gif tongue.gif
yok70
post Sep 23 2011, 05:06 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Sep 23 2011, 04:34 PM)
ok, all going bankrupt. lol .

Added on September 23, 2011, 4:35 pmwe got bank rush .
we got constructions and properties that fall and kill people.
we got milk poisoning.
we got alcohol ban is msia + singapore .
and finally people realized that buying 4d is stupid . lol .
then buy coconut. because we are soon move downwards and become monkey again. tongue.gif
yok70
post Sep 23 2011, 05:08 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Sep 23 2011, 05:07 PM)
I must vote you to be a director laugh.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif
if cherroy become director in catcha, then i sai lang into catcha. tongue.gif
yok70
post Sep 23 2011, 05:44 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Sep 23 2011, 05:15 PM)
today got +4% ?  drool.gif  drool.gif
-3%. cry.gif
yok70
post Sep 23 2011, 05:55 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Sep 23 2011, 05:23 PM)
mad.gif today is the first day of the year my portfolio in red territory.....................damn doh.gif
you are 1000 times better me! notworthy.gif
i have been in deep red since july (or early august). now already rclxub.gif
yok70
post Sep 23 2011, 08:04 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Oracles99 @ Sep 23 2011, 07:33 PM)
Digi is defensive. But if u look at its price, is it worth the risk? When it drops, it drops by 50cents or 80 cents not 5cents. This is typical of shares whose price are above RM10-00 from what I observe.
drop 50 sen or even 1 ringgit, not important at all.
we look at the percentage, not sens.
cool2.gif
yok70
post Sep 24 2011, 05:14 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Sep 23 2011, 11:32 PM)
just curious u still holding more than 20 shares? as of mine already cut to 9 only, 5 of them was reits ....... cannot tahan the heat and the bad news is i got no more chance to consolidate doh.gif
I'm only able to cut down to 13 stocks, only 1 is reit which occupied 10% of my total profile. I acted too slow, and now watching their value drops day after day. yawn.gif
Good for you, 5 reits, should be very defensive so far. Can sleep well every night. thumbup.gif

yok70
post Sep 24 2011, 03:51 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(cwhong @ Sep 24 2011, 03:49 PM)
Yupp sleep WELL is my wish everyday but now reits holder also shake also what but slimmer % only sweat.gif cutting down my portfolio needs few months time is all bcoz of wait and see attitute doh.gif
same here. now i see my profile value dropped gao gao.....and everyone thought it's NOT OVER YET still. sweat.gif

yok70
post Sep 24 2011, 04:23 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(staind @ Sep 24 2011, 03:59 PM)
bro, still holding mitra?
sold all. keep more cash for opportunities. cry.gif
yok70
post Sep 24 2011, 06:46 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(staind @ Sep 24 2011, 05:10 PM)
Must be painful. I cut it off also. Last Friday's closing price.  sweat.gif
i cut it about a week before you. still very painful. shakehead.gif
yok70
post Sep 25 2011, 05:57 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Sep 25 2011, 05:44 PM)
sometimes not staying in the market is also a strategy. smile.gif
you are now 50% cash right? good for you! thumbup.gif
me 15% in cash, mati jor. rclxub.gif

Added on September 25, 2011, 5:59 pm
QUOTE(simplesmile @ Sep 25 2011, 03:35 PM)
That's called a dead cat bounce.
99% investors has been bearish for....2 months? let it stay for another....3 months? that saying, should in market jan 2012. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 25 2011, 05:59 PM
yok70
post Sep 25 2011, 07:04 PM

12,698 posts

(华盛顿24日讯)美国联邦参议院23日下午投票否决众议院稍早通过的联邦政府资助法案,让联邦政府 继续面临关门危机,而灾害救助金也不知何时才能发到民众手中。

http://www.nanyang.com.my/node/385151?tid=462

Now US goven close shop fear raise again. rclxub.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top