Jailbreak discussion, all about Jailbreak v2, READ: ABSOLUTELY NO DISCUSSION ON PIRACY
suadrif
Nov 20 2011, 10:46 PM
sorry for asking this question here, but i have searching around and could not find any more suitable topic to ask this question. My iphone 3GS is updated previously by someone else to iOS 5.0.1 but now i realized that my iphone is actually an unlock set. what is the limitation of an iphone unlock set? is that means i cannot upgrade my firmware? bcoz i afraid if i want jailbreak my iphone, then suddenly it corrupt  then it unable to restore original setting bcoz of locked set.
suadrif
Nov 20 2011, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(styrwr91 @ Nov 20 2011, 11:13 PM) So...is your phone a locked set or unlock set?? Your post quite confusing wei my phone is unlock set. i afraid after i jailbreak it will become lock set again, bcoz my friend experienced it before.
suadrif
Nov 21 2011, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(milky @ Nov 20 2011, 11:41 PM) ur iphone is UNLOCKED forever will be unlock.. QUOTE(styrwr91 @ Nov 21 2011, 06:43 AM) If its unlock set, it will not become locked set... owh? ok thanks for the answer  i afraid if later on i JB then it become corrupt.
suadrif
Nov 21 2011, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(WimpyKid @ Nov 21 2011, 09:15 AM) High chances your friend has bought a locked set. yeah.. i think u are correct. that means he bought a lock set and then use software to unlock it, rite?
suadrif
Dec 29 2011, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(Poadster @ Dec 29 2011, 12:08 PM) Jailbreak was born out of the need for users to tweak their iPhones to their liking, like having infinite apps in a folder (instead of the default 12), or to have different background pic than the default.... Apple have now slowly added these features, but jailbreak was the ones that lead to these improvements by Apple.... or else we will still be on iOS1.1 now.... Its just too bad that jailbreaking is also associated to piracy.... which happens to be true to some extent.... maybe its just more prevalent in Malaysia...??  i seriously dont understand why certain people need to relate these things to the country.
suadrif
Dec 29 2011, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(fizzy15 @ Dec 29 2011, 05:46 PM) Remove activator, vol + ok again.. Any suggestion to replace this tweak.. I dont like to use the hardware home button.. Need to replace with simple gesture..  u can simply turn on your assistive touch from settings.
suadrif
Dec 30 2011, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(quintesson @ Dec 30 2011, 03:37 AM) sifus, what is the different of clicking restore & shift + restore in itunes? for jb (from 4.3.3 to 5.0.1) is it best to set up as new phone or backup? i've click setup as new phone, 1st i thought the phone should be restore as per a new phone without any apps install but then again all the apps was automatically sync in, so what is the different setting up as new phone & backup? after restore will all my previous cydia tweak be loaded in or i need to re-tweak everything again. thanks Shift + Restore: u can choose your own IPSW. its mostly used by jailbreakers bcoz of custom IPSW u may want to backup your data as it might loss Restore: Update directly from apple Latest firmware will be installed
suadrif
Jan 11 2012, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(pisang @ Jan 11 2012, 07:59 PM) may i know which websites are you referring to get the latest info on jailbreak? thank you in advance. I personally would go for redmondpie.com
suadrif
Jan 15 2012, 12:37 PM
QUOTE(holoman @ Jan 15 2012, 12:28 PM) anyone alrdy jb 4s 5.0.1 ? any feedback ? gonna update my os to 5.0.1 and jb .. hope nothing happen .. jb for i4s is not really officially announced yet
suadrif
Jan 15 2012, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 15 2012, 03:48 PM) Whatever it is, 5.1 is coming really really soon. Modmyi is giving a 1-2 days timeline for the new firmware to drop .... sh!t, I need to update the last remaining iPad 2 I have from 4.3.3 to 5.0.1 soon. All my iPhones are already on 5.0.1 so we're good to go there. yah.. 1-2 days timeline since when? since last time also said about a week, then suddenly a month, then a week again, now 1-2 days? for me i better just keep waiting, when it announced, go ahead. tired of countdown already.
suadrif
Jan 15 2012, 06:37 PM
QUOTE(azraeil @ Jan 15 2012, 06:17 PM) I'm talking about the Official iOS5.1 from Apple that is dropping in 1-2 days (that's what Modmyi suspects), not the jailbreak. The iOS 5.0.1 jailbreak I believe will drop AFTER 5.1 is released locking a lot of peeps who have not upgraded to 5.0.1 out (this is especially true for the iPad 2, for the iPhone 4, if you're still not on iOS 5.0.1, you'd better do it soon as in NOW.) but still, the news (but i think its more called as rumors) about release of iOS 5.1 is already spread out since November last year, since before 4S was launch in Malaysia. but seems like the date is extending until nowhere. people is expecting iOS 5.1 to fix battery drain issue since long time ago, and make people wait and wait and wait. every week there is news mentioning that 5.1 is releasing in nearest time but there is none.