Panasonic Viera TV Fan Club V.3, Plasma, LCD & LED models.

sylviaa
post Nov 30 2011, 01:50 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(rasahman @ Nov 30 2011, 09:00 AM)
sorry its typo... its rm3300. that's way above rm2700 and rm2800 that I see being quoted here in the forum compared to prices I get from shops in JB.
Rasahman, i am also on the lookout for the same model pana plasma TH50U30k in JB. I will only buy if the price is below rm2400.
my reason is this model was being offered 2 months back for rm2999 with free 24" lcd tv worth rm599, at that time samsung plasma series 4 51" plasma tv was selling at rm3000. now this samsung model is already selling at rm2499, so it has dropped a lot.

price difference between pana 50u30k and samsung series 4 plasma is about rm500-600.
but due to shortage of pana plasma 50" , i think the price of th5-u30k has not dropped so much like samsung.

i will be going to a couple of big electrical shops this weekend to check the price , if u r keen , we can group together and bargain for better price from the shop.

what say u ?
sylviaa
post Nov 30 2011, 03:08 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Nov 30 2011, 02:53 PM)
Panny's plasma is definitely better than Sammy's
ya i agree, but sammy's plasma is always more expensive than panny's plasma inches for inches.

do u know why ? more features perhaps ? better design ?
sylviaa
post Dec 1 2011, 08:53 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(long2292 @ Dec 1 2011, 02:57 AM)
I'm looking for the same model at JB. Do you mind to share where you bought it at forum or PM me the shop name and location. Thanks.
ya i am interested to know too.
@long, you, rasahman and me can group together to go nego a better price with the shop cos we have 3 units for him.

sylviaa
post Dec 1 2011, 11:13 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Dec 1 2011, 10:50 AM)
In what way do u mean better...

The pros for LED backlit LCDs in my mind is the ability to go brighter when the material has a lot of white or light coloured scenes (ie, pictures of snow filled scenes, ice hockey etc) since plasmas are governed by APL. Not having to worry about burn in as much if u game a lot. On better LCDs they have less of a gradiation issue at dim scenes.

The cons are off centre viewing has colour shift. Most LED backlit LCDs have halos or clouding, and post calibration don't put out as bright an image as well (however they are not governed by APL so it is still brighter than plasmas if the scenes have large patches or white or light coloured scenes). Motion is normally not as smooth as well.

Its important to understand that each tech has its weaknesses. So as long as u r aware of them u can decide which one works for u.
wah I never thought buying a tv need to consider so many technical stuffs. go to the TV shop and ask the salesman, i doubt they can explain in such technical details lah.

whether it is blacker black or brighter reds/yellows/green, i think i will still enjoy my transformers movie as much one way or another smile.gif

for me i go for the cheapest i can buy for the maximum inches i can afford. haha

but thanks anfieldude and appreciation for your explanations
sylviaa
post Dec 1 2011, 12:03 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Dec 1 2011, 11:34 AM)
Bro anfielddude is the guru when it comes to technical stuff pertaining to calibrations notworthy.gif
so if i buy a panny plasma TH 50 U30k is it neceessary to get it calibrated ah ?

Will it make a big difference or not ?

sylviaa
post Dec 1 2011, 12:23 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 1 2011, 12:08 PM)
Depending on your need lah.  Most people are more than happy just to with a little adjustment to the contrast and brightness.
i see, do you know how much a calibration of plasma tv will cost ?

if it is not so expensive, can consider
sylviaa
post Dec 1 2011, 12:43 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 1 2011, 12:30 PM)
Not sure about that.  For me a download a few calibration video and screen and do some basic calibrations on my 50" plasma.  More than happy with it.
can you guide me where to obtain the download calibration video and screen ?
sylviaa
post Dec 9 2011, 05:11 PM

37 posts

RM2699 for TH50U30K in JB. ready stocks available. any body keen to get one unit together with me? we can nego the shop to reduce price to < RM2600.
This price is the cheapest in JB after surveying 2-3 other shops, for this price, I think no point to survey anymore, cos wont get rm2400 or lower.
maybe before bangkok flood, its possible.
if keen to group, pm me. the more the merrier.
sylviaa
post Dec 13 2011, 10:49 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Dec 13 2011, 08:16 AM)
well going 3d and non 3d takes chunk of money.just see other tv brands.the ones with 3d is a bit more expensive compared to non 3d ones.
actually your statement is true as far as panasonic 50" plasma is concerned. as the price of FHD 50THu30k (2700) vs 3d plasma 50" ST30K (7999) is a big difference between 3d and non 3d.

but for samsung plasma now the price difference is not that big anymore. a 50" FHD 3d model PS51D550 is selling at 3000 vs non 3d model which is series 4 plasma selling at 2500. so only RM500 difference between 3d and non 3d model for samsung.

Those considering to buy TH50U30k can in fact consider to go for samsung PS51D550, like me.

sylviaa
post Dec 13 2011, 01:58 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(abi_doktot @ Dec 13 2011, 01:39 PM)
Thye Hin Sdn. Bhd....at Jalan Tunku Munawir, Seremban..they are selling plasma like hot-cakes..LG 42 inch only at 1199...
be careful of thye hin in seremban. got one forumer complained in a thread here that he was given display TV set and the shop owner did not want to refund or replace with a new set until police report was lodged by the buyer and panasonic was informed of the unscrupulous act by Thye hin.

do a search here and you will find that thread.

sylviaa
post Dec 16 2011, 06:11 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(colins @ Dec 16 2011, 05:28 PM)
thanks for the info....i think i will pay a bit more and get the samsung....got 3d and looks much better (slimmer) when off...hehehe...
try tan boon ming at old klang road. ps51d550 at rm29XX foc 4 3d glasses.
i m going for ps51d6900 at rm40XX foc 4 x 3d glasses and 3d blu ray player.
this gives the best bang for my buck, i think, haha...

add rm500 for extra 3 years full warranty.
sorry off topic for panasonic thread.

0.0185sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:03 PM