5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

LYN Official Tennis Thread V12, All about tennis. (gears, courts, etc)

vobs
post Dec 28 2011, 10:21 AM

90 posts

Who playing tonite?

vobs
post Dec 29 2011, 10:45 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(crash @ Dec 29 2011, 03:15 AM)
I'm soooo out of touch. Haven't played due to injury from futsal.

Been contemplating a new racket though. What's a good pro racket nowadays?
wow, pro racquet meaning ure a pro:)

well u can start off by surveying in tennis warehouse on the specs that are near to your current racquet, from there go demo your friends racquet as well. cant recommend the exact stick as different people have different liking on weight distribution, feel, brand, paint job, strings combination, grips combination, which pro use it and etc.

but to make it simple there are few racquets that gear heads would want regardless what their spec, those are:

Nadals racquet - aero pro drive GT, heard theyre are clearing it off for new paint jobs to come in 2012, very light swing weight for a heavy racquet

Federers racquet - BLX 6.1 tour, only pro players can wield this racquet and if youre strong and consistent, its good for you, this one have to find and theyre clearing it off as well for 2012 new paintjob

Serena williams racquet - BLX Blade Team - flexible racquet with good sweetspot, weight are ok for an average malaysia, unless ure those bulky big and strong macho man then might be too light for you

Serena williams previous racquet - Kfactor Blade Team - "about" the same as above but with cheaper cheaper cheaper price, but old model la, depend on you whether u like everything up to date like your IOS or Windows.....if dont mind its a good racquet to start

these are the few, there are more depending on your budget, injury, colour and brand favouritism, etc......go look for the guys in here, they are very friendly and helpful bunch and they have loads of knowledge about racquet spec as well......

vobs
post Dec 30 2011, 02:47 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(inv @ Dec 30 2011, 10:32 AM)
no wonder they call you raja kipas.

racket alone does not win you trophies. tongue.gif
but racquet alone can win you gearhead friends:) thats a good trade off though
vobs
post Dec 30 2011, 07:57 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Jules @ Dec 30 2011, 03:03 PM)
Tomorrow morning. 8am.
jules, where? pm me, feel like hitting some balls
vobs
post Dec 31 2011, 12:46 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(zultekmilennia @ Dec 30 2011, 08:24 PM)
aiyooo, every time I come here see lots of "wallet-burning" comments. hahaha, the new BLXPS is soooo tempting.
anyways, after 2 weeks of testing my new (and possibly fake) K95, I gotta say, the stiffness is killing me. Can't really get much power into the ball. My accuracy and serve improved, but my forehands lack spin and power (despite the open 16x18 pattern).

I dunno, the weight and lack of power I can live with (the main reason I got it, want to train my arm a bit), but the stiffness, damnnnnn.
you can reduce stiffness by lowering your tension and change your string......what strings and tension are u playing with?
vobs
post Dec 31 2011, 10:03 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(zultekmilennia @ Dec 31 2011, 06:12 AM)
hahaha, wanna burn some more, gonna end up broke this month.  cry.gif  The seller went all quiet, email also don't want to reply. Lucky just got the K95 and not the BLX.

If go sparring with you guys gonna get ayam lol.
I scanned the tag first, then they wanted the number on the hologram. The first reply was 3 days, then now more than a week haven't reply.
Using Gosen OG Sheep Micro at cross and Pro Supex Big Ace Revo at mains, both strung at 55. Is it a bit high?
gosen - synthetic will feel quite stiff with a stiff racquet but at 55 its quite ok after several sessions, so make sure you take it slow on a freshly strung 55lbs gosen sheep

Big Ace - i assume is poly....and when u string poly at 55, most average untrained tennis hand will curse at you

overall speaking, if you feel damn stiff could be your string setup, if i play with your setup, i will be resting my untrained hand for the next 6 months smile.gif

and do try hybrid your gosen with some multifilament soft strings, it may give you a more comfortable experience

This post has been edited by vobs: Dec 31 2011, 10:23 AM
vobs
post Dec 31 2011, 10:20 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Dec 31 2011, 09:57 AM)
Hahhahaa brows.gif  my advice is use as 'heavy' a racket you can, for a match...if you feel tired,pain,ache....may be that racket is too heavy for you.....in the late 80's rackets were heavy BUT slightly more flexible...than rackets these days....nowadays the trend is light but stiff rackets.....
Yhaa I played with N6.1 tour....hmmm it felt 'lighter' and slightly more manoeuvrable but when hitting the ball...it didn't have that plough through....BUT truth be told...I like my rackets a certain way....I like them heavy, with plough through and the dead feeling sensation.... the mass distribution must be ngam ngam if slightly off like the Wilson KPS 88.....I play decent with it....I liked the weight feeling BUT not the weight/mass distribution...
Bro Prae is incredible hulk.....wilson tour racquets are well known as stiff, and ps is well known for their heft....yet bro prae say too light la, cracked tons of it already la......everyday dont hit soft, always plough the ball kau kau with such stiff heavy racquet......wah, if i have half your hand strength cukup lo....btw is it natural or you go gym everyday ar? hehe

This post has been edited by vobs: Dec 31 2011, 10:22 AM
vobs
post Dec 31 2011, 11:36 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Dec 31 2011, 10:38 AM)
Vobs dun get angry on New Years Eve hehehehe.....but to be honest its no big deal if you are using heavy rackets or not.....I was brought up using wooden tennis rackets and those were easily 14OZ ....thats almost 400g and I was using that when I was 9.....off course if I tried Nadals forehand at that age with that racket may be I would be crippled and handicapped now....but I have liked and learn to have long fluid strokes if I have time to set up, and a heavier racket is normally better in terms of handling a hard ball, if I don't have time to set up, I either try hitting on the rise, slice or blocking the ball back...also even though I like stiff rackets I string pretty low 42-45lbs so there is the balance...yin/yang thing....it is also impossible for me to use the K6.1 tour with poly at 60lbs....I have tried it and no I didn't like it.....wasted RM60 for strings....I cut it out immediately....

If you are comfortable with light rackets, please stick to it. You can try and experiment with heavier rackets, BUT please do not expect a miracle and just give the experiment 5 mins and suddenly go.....not for me....give it 2 months....then play with someone who knows your game, see if they notice anything different about your ball,spin...if they comment something positive...then cool stick with the heavier racket.....if the comment is...your ball more slow...no spin, like susu gantung easy for me to kill....then go back to your original stick....(you may notice you hit swing faster and hit longer,due to your muscles used to the heavier racket)
haha no worries, im not angry, just envy u have such great "plough" through!

Added on December 31, 2011, 11:41 am
QUOTE(praetorian @ Dec 31 2011, 10:26 AM)
Hmmmm I am not sure how to explain this to you .......the way I see it in terms of physics.....

This is the theory...hopefully you get my drift......

A Kancil driving at 60MPH collides into another car say a Proton Saga.....
A Rav 4 driving at 60MPH collides into another Proton Saga........
A Ninja King (heavy duty 4 wheel drive) also drives at 60MPH and OMG collides into another Proton Saga.....

Out of all these accidents.....who did the most damage to the Proton Saga? With everything being constant......

That 'plow through' effect to which we're referring is momentum, plain and simple. The racquet striking the ball is what's called an inelastic collision, meaning the two do not rebound in opposite directions. The equation for momentum is denoted as p=mv, or momentum = mass times velocity. Therefor, weight and velocity are the main factors in determining plow through.

That means with less effort your racket does the work for you and you produce more spin and a heavier ball....however the trade off is you must have 'sound' strokes and be able to generate the racket head speed.

Why some of you can generate insane amounts of power WITHOUT looking like you even trying is you have the kinetic chain in place...and you utilizing your big muscles ie legs,core,arms in sequence and with a racket that has plough.....your shots come off faster, heavier and with more spin depending on how you hit the ball....
but i do know, its not how much muscle you have, its all about Stability + elasticity + momentum + weight = killer shot:)

man ure good......respect!

This post has been edited by vobs: Dec 31 2011, 11:45 AM
vobs
post Dec 31 2011, 12:05 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(praetorian @ Dec 31 2011, 11:55 AM)
Please nothing to be envious about leh.....all you need is to put it more time, effort, commitment to your game, and for sure you will improve leaps and bounds......regarding muscle truth be told...the most hardest working muscle I have is my stomach muscle!!! hahahahah....mati leh...Christmas and New Years Eve....all good fun and dessert and drinks.....aiyooo starting to regret x-p
muahahha.....yeah thats the spirit! use that all in one pack muscle to scare your opponent away
vobs
post Dec 31 2011, 01:46 PM

90 posts

[quote=pooh88,Dec 31 2011, 01:19 PM]
This Kipas king today really hurricane ppl kaw kaw!!! party.gif
Anyway wish everyone here have a Kick Ass New Year count down for 2012!!! cheers.gif

Added on December 31, 2011, 1:23 pmBro Vobs,

Pls don twister this useless fella here!! shakehead.gif sign0006.gif
If not my Mega Toto won't come true this weekend!!! shocking.gif
That fella still haven't update me his confirmation flight to W/M!!! whistling.gif
[quote=vobs,Dec 31 2011, 11:36 AM]
haha no worries, im not angry, just envy u have such great "plough" through!

Added on December 31, 2011, 11:41 am

but i do know, its not how much muscle you have, its all about Stability + elasticity + momentum + weight = killer shot:)

man ure good......respect!

[/quote]

haha ok
vobs
post Dec 31 2011, 09:52 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(zultekmilennia @ Dec 31 2011, 02:09 PM)
ah, then should have followed my hunch and string the poly at around 52 or something. Maybe a full Gosen bed would be nice. Using crossfire on my APDC right now, forgot the tension, but it feels nice, a bit pocketing effect on the ball. Not enough topspin (for me la, hehe), but I reckon its my racket head speed.
wow, 400g is almost like Sampras' setup. And yeah, after using a heavier racket, your old racket will feel amazing in your hand. Though in my case, I needed to curb my power with the K95, since using the APDC forces me to topspin the ball really hard, Nadal style, or it'll go long. If just normal shot, its not deep enough to my taste.
just try whatever tension, make sure u note it down which give you comfort and which tension hurt your arm.....then finally decide....you need trial and error and money to test until you feel right....

example, when i bought my apdgt, i strung and restrung 3 times in 3 days cos cant seem to get the right tension, all give me pain.....but finally after several restringing i found the right string and tension.........and months later i tried to hybrid it and voila i got my string and tension right....

This post has been edited by vobs: Dec 31 2011, 09:54 PM
vobs
post Jan 10 2012, 09:58 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Jules @ Jan 10 2012, 12:23 PM)
Thanks for the offer bro, but I find the Youtek series a little too stiff for me.

So I was using the Flexpoint Rad. Anything in the market that is perhaps a little heavier? Perhaps 330gm strung, but not too stiff. I normally play baseline. No Babolats for now, they're so stiff.

Oh, I called a couple of shops,the new Head and Wilson line are arriving around CNY or early February. Apparently no change in RRP for Wilson.

Added on January 10, 2012, 12:24 pm

Well honestly... I really didn't know why and how I did it. Bah.
not true jules, some babolat are quite flexi if you couple up with soft strings, apdgt is good as i had elbow injury but i dont feel a thing using it......

as for the roddicks babolat, yeap, its stiff like iron rod.

anyway, try it on your hands as some of the specs are not accurate when it comes to playing it.....

good luck
vobs
post Jan 13 2012, 06:20 PM

90 posts

i like dimitrov's backhand.....so gaya hehe
vobs
post Jan 15 2012, 11:31 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Jan 14 2012, 10:26 PM)
Tomic won his first ATP tournament right after changing to Yonex.
: )
Says something??
heheheh.......

I remember another guy was also the same previous. If I recall correctly it was Juan Monaco.
i would say tomic is a good player....smile.gif

even wawrinka changed to yonex!!!

i wonder where to buy wozzys racquet......very close of my apdgt feel......who have it? kacangtuih?

This post has been edited by vobs: Jan 15 2012, 11:32 AM
vobs
post Jan 16 2012, 02:02 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Jan 15 2012, 01:28 PM)
Ya that's true was quote unbelievable too they sold it at 40% off for a bewlyblaunched vcore model.
But not sure how much they selling it now.

Added on January 15, 2012, 1:29 pmKacang how much for new pro staff??
when was that u saw selling at rm400? location GPS coordinate? who can take me there.....wanna buy em!

Regards

Added on January 16, 2012, 2:05 am
QUOTE(tiangkim @ Jan 13 2012, 08:11 PM)
urs also gaya.... macam muster jugak.....

Added on January 13, 2012, 10:57 pmuser posted image
wah....u look my backhand so high up...tenk u so much bro.....but i think ur picture of ana is the most gaya of em all.....who dare to say no i will peng that fella

This post has been edited by vobs: Jan 16 2012, 02:05 AM
vobs
post Jan 16 2012, 09:16 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(kacangtuih @ Jan 16 2012, 02:51 AM)
vobs I believe its this shop:
http://www.sportsdirect.com.my/
Thanks bro but it doesnt load.....?

vobs
post Jan 16 2012, 09:50 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(karim_pin @ Jan 16 2012, 08:44 AM)
Verdasco vs Tomic in 1st round??
they are playing now...woohoo
vobs
post Jan 17 2012, 11:58 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(angel-ice @ Jan 17 2012, 09:19 AM)
haha, looks llike ppl are selling off their rackets

if i were to sell one of my youtek prestige midplus, would there be any takers? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I am still keeping my beloved APDGT!!!:) although the beautiful yonex keep on seducing me.......
vobs
post Jan 18 2012, 08:10 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Jan 18 2012, 07:33 AM)
Today plan to balik awal watch AO.
: )
will be at home watching it whole day while fixing up my house for cny hehehe
vobs
post Jan 18 2012, 10:28 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(ckseong80 @ Jan 18 2012, 09:14 AM)
Waaaa vobs so early cny break d??
Yeap!!! come lepak my house la if you snaking hahahha

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0486sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:59 AM