windows 7 ultimate doesn't boot up after windows updates, Help!

TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 15 2011, 06:06 PM, updated 15y ago

713 posts

My desktop wouldn't start up after I installed windows updates just now..
It just stays black after the windows logo..
No error message.. What can i do?
I tried system repair but failed and i doesn't have backup.. Is there anything i can do? Sifus here please help..

Added on September 15, 2011, 6:39 pmIt shows it failed at stage 4 of 4..
Reverting service pack..
But it still not able to revert the update to boot up..

This post has been edited by XxxNightSkyxxX: Sep 15 2011, 06:39 PM
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 15 2011, 10:14 PM

713 posts

yup.. i can boot with safe mode with networking too..
i tried sfc but it doesnt solve my problem..
its that windows update that make this problem.. i cant uninstall the service pack..
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 15 2011, 10:42 PM

713 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 15 2011, 10:39 PM)
Can u press F8 when boot up and select "Enable VGA Mode"?
what is VGA mode? seems like not in the list.. cry.gif
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 15 2011, 10:52 PM

713 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 15 2011, 10:44 PM)
Forgot what it call in Windows 7 sweat.gif
got option for "Enable Low Resolution yada.. yada..?

If got, try that.
i booted it using safe mode with networking..
now the resolution is low too.. but what can i do to revert the windows update? rclxub.gif

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Sep 15 2011, 10:49 PM)
Why don't you perform System Restore in safe mode first?
Before installing updates, Windows does make 1 restore point for roll back.
i tried perform system restore but didnt get anything from it.. doh.gif
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 15 2011, 11:12 PM

713 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 15 2011, 11:02 PM)
Safemode is different.. if you can login window with "Enable low-resolution video mode" then just need to change back the resolution and problem solve. hmm.gif

To remove windows update you just need to open Control Panel>Program and Features and select "View installed updates" from the left pane.

Added on September 15, 2011, 11:03 pmUninstalling the updates sometime can brick your system, so try at your own risk...
alright. i will try it now.

but i have tried to remove windows update in Program and Features, a warning message displayed.
written An error has occured. Not all the updates were successfully uninstalled.
then i closed it and opened it again, its still there. doh.gif
maybe need get to repair shop and waste rm50.. cry.gif

------------------------------------------------------------------
tried and its not working.. black screen of death! cry.gif

This post has been edited by XxxNightSkyxxX: Sep 15 2011, 11:27 PM
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 16 2011, 12:00 AM

713 posts

still have alot more..
the post too long.. i cant add all here.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by XxxNightSkyxxX: Sep 16 2011, 12:03 AM
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 16 2011, 12:13 AM

713 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 16 2011, 12:04 AM)
attach it as a file instead? sweat.gif
sorry. noob here. sweat.gif
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 16 2011, 12:38 AM

713 posts

but i doesnt have any windows 7 installation disc with me doh.gif
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 16 2011, 01:14 AM

713 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 16 2011, 12:43 AM)
Forgot to ask.. did u tried booting with Diagnostic Startup? While u at it.. delete ntbtlog.txt before u reboot and reattach a fresh one. hmm.gif

here.. notworthy.gif
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 16 2011, 02:50 PM

713 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 16 2011, 01:48 AM)
Why it stop@fastfat.SYS now. doh.gif

sfc didn't show u any corrupted system file?
QUOTE(H4XF4XTOR @ Sep 16 2011, 09:31 AM)
thats what im thinking.. SFC usually used to repair any corrupted startup file.. in this case if SFC also fail to analyze which file has been corrupted.. u need to back up and format
nope, it doesnt show any corrupted file. doh.gif
guess i have to take it to shop and reformat it. cry.gif
btw, after reformat, what should i do to prevent this problem in future?
create backup? but how? image? rclxub.gif
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 16 2011, 08:03 PM

713 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 16 2011, 07:30 PM)
create a restore point before u update or install a new driver.
The restore point is permanent?
Lets say after half a year am I still able to restore it back using that restore point?
Noob here. tongue.gif
TSXxxNightSkyxxX
post Sep 16 2011, 09:59 PM

713 posts

QUOTE(olivur @ Sep 16 2011, 08:50 PM)
i would advice against enabling the restore option, it's the devil >_>!

it's always better to solve an issue than restore, imho.
But for my case, I'm unable to solve the problem. sweat.gif

0.0215sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:10 PM