Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V8, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

shark7
post Sep 19 2011, 10:47 PM

1,378 posts

hi
i wanted to buy ps3.few ques

1)dunno to buy sg or my set ..sg set price looks nice but.afraid bout the warranty but ps3 slim now no more ylod problem right?is it safe to buy sg set ?

2)is there any cech 2000 selling ?i heard 3000set is not that good,if im not mistaken,they remove few things ?like the light button for eject disc or something.is there any shop selling the 2000 model ??

3)if i buy the 3000 model,will it be 3.7 already?or older firmware ?

4)i wanted to play fifa mostly with the malaysian,so i should buy r3 ??

5)about psn id..what psn id i should make? my,sg, us or others ?which are the best? can we make a lot of id in different countries in 1 console ??
shark7
post Sep 19 2011, 11:38 PM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Sep 19 2011, 11:19 PM)
1) highly recommend for MY set... a peace of mind

2) model 25xx supposedly replaced by model 30xx. Try pm few sellers in garage sales section.

3) i'm not sure what's the firmware installed in model 30xx... might be fw 3.60, nevertheless just install fw 3.70 no prob so far.

4) EA titles usually region r3 (the cheapest)

5) Firstly make your own MY PSNID account, and then register US, EU, SG, etc to access psn stores.
thanks.i google the difference between model 2000 and 3000
the pros of 3000 is that it reduce noises,its more lighter ??
but the cons are like a lot,i heard the hdmi port is different(looks like cheap),overall design looks cheap,theere no led light except at the hdd.(seriously this suck),if im playing in dark.how ?
the ps logo near the disc is like image,not pop out 3d(its not 3d,dunno how to say),i mean the older model,i think u can feel and touch the ps logo,while the new model is like distray i think,the heatsink is smaller, ..

--im not sure bout this,i just read some comments at some websites . dunno how true is this ,can't find images of video of it.

5) Firstly make your own MY PSNID account, and then register US, EU, SG, etc to access psn stores.

u mean,make 1 MYSIA ID,then make another new psn ID with us,eu,sg ??
or make 1 msia ID and there an option to choose US,EU ,and others ? --> regarding this,which should i take,which is the best/fastest update

forget to ask this
if i buy at sony,maybe could get hdmi free,? is there any other accesories should i look for ? currently in my mind is just to buy normal ps3 set + fifa 12

shark7
post Sep 20 2011, 12:05 AM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Sep 19 2011, 11:47 PM)
any monitor, hdmi input or dvi input (hdcp supported)
model 2xxx cosmetically better looking than model 3xxx

model 3xxx however is the latest model... sporting all black, also in the near future variety of colours

up to you which model u wanna get.... the function still the same

for one ps3 system, you can have maximum of 16 users (each tied to specific psn id). As for recommendation on psn id, better have MY psn id and US psn id. For others too if u don't mind.
so like if i use MY ID for playing games ..all my saves game are in those ID,if i change to another ID,will i have start the game from start or i can load it from MY ID ?

bcause my xbox360 is tied to 1 gamertag for game saves/eveything eventhough its the same HDD.

@wjie
"First word of a new "CECH-3000" model PlayStation 3 surfaced earlier this month. Now a retailer, claiming to have received a briefing on the new model from Sony, has passed along some details.

The CECH-3000B is an updated 320 gigabyte system. It cuts power consumption from 230W to 200W, and cuts weight from 3.0kg to 2.6kg. There are also some external changes to the power and eject buttons, along with the removal of LED lamps, although the retailer report isn't clear about the specifics for this area.

Pricing remains the same as the current model. The new version will be shipped to retailers once current stock runs out."

UPDATE:

- The Cell will NOT be going to 32nm, both will stay at 45/40nm. PSU is the same.
- It's confirmed that all LED lights have been removed (wifi, hdd, and under power/eject buttons).
- The Sony logo is now engraved and black not white.
- PS logo above the disc slot is now a simple flat picture, instead of a 3D lithograph.
- The size of the fan has been reduced from 120mm to 80mm along with changes to the heatsink.
- Several smaller components on the motherboard have been removed.

this is actually not a comparison side by side,just few new things on the 3000 model. there another one, but i can't remember what the site name

Added on September 20, 2011, 12:10 amif u wanna know more

read this video comments
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DsimjQosBQE

there no glossy part for new ps3 ..
but most importantly no light ..

This post has been edited by shark7: Sep 20 2011, 12:10 AM
shark7
post Sep 20 2011, 12:48 AM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Sep 20 2011, 12:14 AM)
Ah thanks so much.

From what I gather, basically it's a cost cut version. I don't really need a lighter PS3 as I'm not going to carry it around.

But one thing concerns me is that, Smaller fan = heats up faster? Also, even if I buy the older models, I won't be loosing much right? Like I can still update to the latest, play the latest games without lagging?
but now almost all shops selling the new 3000 model,so no choice unless u get a used set.
if im not mistaken they have smaller fans,but there a lots of fans or something that reduces heat..dunno bout this.as long as it doesnt give ylod

yes,u can update eerything like the new one.

shark7
post Sep 22 2011, 06:01 PM

1,378 posts

how i wish ps3 got special bundle set like xbox 360 ..
ps3 limited edition(ff,gran turismo) looks normal to me
but xbox360 packaging(gow3,halo) looks better with nice stuff inside.

anyway gonna get ps3 160gb sg set.bcause its cheaper rm890 cheapest ?
btw what did u guys stored on the 160gb ? install games,demo,movie - is 160gb enough ?
can it play .avi files without converting ?

shark7
post Oct 1 2011, 02:48 AM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Oct 1 2011, 02:29 AM)
Search up Staxrip.
It's a little bit technical to use however it is free.

But get to grips with it and it's arguably the best converter out there on the internet, yeah even better than those so called "professional" converters with fancy GUIs.
i try to open my xternal hdd but ps3 cant recognize . 1st page was saying i need to format it to fat32 first.. but the thing is all the video is already in my xternal 500gb.. have to transfer to pc then transfer to hdd again? that would take a long time..

btw what ps3 video format it support?? if .avi also still need to convert?
shark7
post Oct 2 2011, 09:36 PM

1,378 posts

can ps3 display subtitle for movie? will it recognize .srt like in pc?
shark7
post Oct 3 2011, 05:44 PM

1,378 posts

my ps3 is 3006b nee one but it make noises i think the disc inside..not that loud but still can hear. normal?
shark7
post Oct 4 2011, 11:48 PM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(llsphinxll @ Oct 4 2011, 06:24 PM)
i got these noises too. i just assume that its normal, cos the performance of the console seems fine. so i just dont bother. mine's quite loud, and occurs mostly when the console is loading.
me too
its kinda worrying especially when i see this video

just go here to watch .. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1iNqv41BzLM
shark7
post Oct 5 2011, 09:40 PM

1,378 posts

my ps3 make me worried like hell.

just now when i was playing fifa,when it goes to press start where there a rooney kicking ball
it stuck,
then my ps3 got beep sound like 3 times,it restart again works fine
but then can play fifa but when scoring goals there no replay,its like stuck ,but pressing O will skip the replay

is this fifa or ps3 ?

last time my xbox rrod when it stuck ..open again 3 light.
shark7
post Oct 9 2011, 07:49 PM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(DrLaboo @ Oct 9 2011, 04:35 PM)
it's not PSN that are having problem..
it's our ISP

read some news lah..
this include unifi right ?

btw i read 1st page about fake ds3..
is there any pictures for more refference bcause i only have 1 controller

is there like big differences between ake and ori ..like the fake battery last for 2 hours or some games can't play with fake cntroller like ps2 ?

my ds3 working well so far..its just it feels so light
btw can i use other usb to charge my ps3 bcause the usb included in ps3 is short wired
shark7
post Oct 10 2011, 01:16 AM

1,378 posts

weird i can browse internet using pc fast(acepttable speed) direct download mediafire also fine but cannot connect fifa server
shark7
post Oct 11 2011, 07:19 AM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(Ace98 @ Oct 10 2011, 07:54 PM)
hmm...is console freeze during gameplay normal? i played online yesterday, and my console got freeze when i'm loading the online lobby...it get no respond at all no matter what i pressed... but i can eject the game discs...so i ejected the disc and turned off the console by holding the on button... anyone have any idea what's happening ?
its normal,myy ps3 will freeze around 1 min then it restarted itself.

shark7
post Oct 11 2011, 08:11 PM

1,378 posts

sorry my ps3 freeze only when starting the game where it shows rooney kicking the ball, invite players to play online frindly. only in fifa 12.not during gameplay. if in gameplay my ps3 freeze,30secs later it says that i lost connection with oppeenent.

and i can play without lag offline. maybe u should try not to connect with psn for offline gameplay? if not maybe yr disc..
shark7
post Oct 12 2011, 08:23 PM

1,378 posts

in fifa 12 games got fifa store,there a thing can buy for rm 6,21

how to buy it ?
shark7
post Oct 17 2011, 12:08 AM

1,378 posts

i turn off my ps3 by pressing the ps logo and turn off system
but my ps3 dint turn off and the green light keep blinking ..

what happen ??
i turn it off by pressing the on button for around 30secs ..then there a beep sound and it turn red light which is standby

btw my ps3 can't play .avi ,some can some cannot .
shark7
post Oct 17 2011, 03:03 AM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Oct 17 2011, 02:30 AM)
main psn acc MY

other psn acc US/EU/AUS/HK/etc - for access to psn stores in other region.
hdd is still busy at the time when you're trying to shutdown the system.

i think you just force shutdown the console.

as for avi, best if you use ps3 media server gui (by streaming from PC to PS3). PS3 media support is very limited and restricted.
try new hdd. If not, then you need to send it back to Sony for diagnosis.
hurm..so that was my fault?..i dint know that the hdd is still busy .usually i turn off when im on gaming not in XMB. can this cause anything bad to happen?

.yeah how to use ps3 media server ?i try it,it scanned for a long time,then i cancel it .this media server is like what i see in pc is what i see in ps3?

i tried another version of .avi ,bluray , files below 2gb can, 3gb cannot, and weird thing i have 4gb of 720p bluray .avi but when i tried to transfer to my 500gb hdd via usb laptop,it says something like my hdd is full,but i havent use 100gb yet ,not even 20gb yet
shark7
post Oct 18 2011, 03:18 AM

1,378 posts

QUOTE(shahreza2000 @ Oct 17 2011, 01:44 PM)
ps3 will shut off accordingly... no worries

as for ps3 media server gui, check at the front of FAQ ... i put a link to a thread abt it
oops.sorry..
try the ps3 mediia server but it lags ..

why good things always have big cons ..

iinm ps3 can use psp as controller,but can i play psp games in big tv using ps3 ?
i mean,play like this ps3 media server,
connect psp with ps3 and play --> its like the ps3 media server,just displayed what i see in psp,can be seen on ps3
not download games from ps store..

This post has been edited by shark7: Oct 18 2011, 04:31 AM
shark7
post Oct 23 2011, 02:09 AM

1,378 posts

i heard that using wired is better than wireless for streaming using ps3 media server for video..

but i also heard that this streaming doesn't need internet connection..
so the wired is internet cable plug in to ps3 -> pc ??
shark7
post Nov 2 2011, 03:28 AM

1,378 posts

can i use sony mw600 wireless earphone to use with ps3 ??
the mw600 is using bluetooth ..

0.0221sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:48 AM