Technical Playstation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V8, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

tekplyrX
post Aug 22 2012, 05:34 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Aug 22 2012, 05:24 PM)
guys, quick one. i want to buy a new monitor and i got this question popping out of my head. if i use HDMI connect from the ps3 and the monitor but the monitor has no speaker. how ah? i use the Y cable to connect with the speaker then got sound right?
Yup... hdmi video + analog audio OR hdmi audio + analog video works. hdmi video + analog video OR hdmi audio + analog audio won't work.

Added on August 22, 2012, 5:38 pm
QUOTE(cychua85 @ Aug 22 2012, 05:23 PM)
If i buy a R3 copy of game. But on dashboard, i am on US account.
Can i still buy the DLC and use it on R3's game?
errmm dashboard?? anyways it depends on the game. so games' dlc are region free, some are locked.. so if the dlc for the r3 is region free, no issues, otherwise, won't play.. (i bought vanquish r3, played on my US acct (r1), bought the weapon pack dlc from the US store (r1) and it didn't work for the game).

This post has been edited by tekplyrX: Aug 22 2012, 05:38 PM
tekplyrX
post Aug 23 2012, 01:30 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(cychua85 @ Aug 23 2012, 11:13 AM)
You mean depending on the DLC it is region free or not? How to know this? From where we can see and notice?
From playasia, as i seen, all of the game also showing region free.
Well for the some dlc when i'm about to download from psn (the screen that has the flashing download button) the notice is there saying it will work only for this/that region version of the game, now i don't know if every game does this so i can't say its a 100% fact, if the notice is not there it might mean the dlc is region free but one cannot be sure, so as a safe bet most buy dlc from the same region as the game.
tekplyrX
post Sep 5 2012, 05:01 PM

141 posts

my ps3's scaring me right now, when i turn it on the green/blue lights light up, then 3 fast beeps and the green light turns yellow for 1/2 second then goes blinking red. If i switch off the ps3 from the rear switch, turn on the switch again and the press the power button the ps3 comes up fine (sometimes i have to try like 4-5 times). Now sometimes when i turn on the ps3 the first time it comes on, but when i start a game the same 3 beeps happen and the ps3 goes off. Is this hard disk or ylod problem?
tekplyrX
post Sep 5 2012, 06:13 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Sep 5 2012, 05:12 PM)
YLOD....phat?
Yup.. ps3 fat model.. forgot to mention
tekplyrX
post Sep 5 2012, 07:58 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 5 2012, 06:56 PM)
if you turn it on , how long it will last ? until the ps3 switch off automatically
If i turn in on? almost immediately (< 5 seconds).. but once it turns on and doesn't switch off, i can play for as long as i want until i switch it off.
tekplyrX
post Oct 19 2012, 10:22 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(creep @ Oct 19 2012, 08:38 AM)
guys

where to buy PSN Malaysia redeem card ? sony centre got ?
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1950620&hl=
tekplyrX
post Oct 19 2012, 12:04 PM

141 posts

Need some clarification pls
I have already used all 16 accounts on my ps3, i know that if i delete an account all the games/dlc downloaded using that account are "deactivated". If i create the account back with the same username will the games be "reactivated"? or do i also need to use the email and password to also login to psn in order to "reactivate" the games?
tekplyrX
post Nov 26 2012, 04:02 PM

141 posts

what i dont get is why uncharted 2? instead they could've just done either a god of war bundle (all 5 games) OR an uncharted bundle (all 3 games) OR infamous bundle OR god of war 3 AND uncharted 3.
tekplyrX
post Dec 1 2012, 04:31 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(tinybee @ Nov 30 2012, 10:34 PM)
guys i just bought a ps3 from US. the problem is do i need transformer for the power supply thing? its the latest super slim model

cant find any info about super slim model having auto converter

thxx
as far as i know ps3 is universal power 110v-240v, so check on the box and look for the power rating, if its 110v-240v then u dont need any power converters
tekplyrX
post Dec 9 2012, 12:17 PM

141 posts

guys i wanna confirm something, do i have to format my ps3 hdd after the GPU is changed? i know u have to format when u change hdd
tekplyrX
post Dec 9 2012, 01:00 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Dec 9 2012, 12:51 PM)
then how about those 2nd hand games? if the previous player used the game 2 play online, then he decided to sell it off, can i just buy his game and play online?
If the game has an online code and the first user uses it then the buyer has to buy the code from psn. if the game doesn't have an online code then no issues for the buyer, buy and play
tekplyrX
post Dec 9 2012, 01:22 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Dec 9 2012, 01:20 PM)
is there any way that the revoke the code and pass it 2 me so that i can use?

for new sealed unit, the game comes with the code right?
No there isn't a way to revoke it, that would defeat the whole purpose of it from the sales point of view and yes all games that have an online code have them in the new copies.
tekplyrX
post Dec 9 2012, 06:34 PM

141 posts

Guys.... just found out the hard way that changing your ps3's gpu will force the ps3 to format your current hard disk, so if anyone encounters ylod issue pls backup your game saves before doing anything. i dunno how sony thought gpu has anything to do with piracy that the ps3 has to format the hdd after replacing gpu but lesson learned. i'm definitely not gonna buy sony consoles anymore.. cheers guys

EDIT: don't even bother backing up the data guys, according to this http://www.megabearsfan.net/post/2012/07/0...Story-Rant.aspx even backing up your data doesn't help as the data won't be recognised by the ps3 (as far as the ps3's concerned, its a "new"/"different" machine just by changing the gpu). Which means sony intended to make people fork out money to buy a new console anytime there's a problem.

This post has been edited by tekplyrX: Dec 9 2012, 06:40 PM
tekplyrX
post Dec 10 2012, 09:09 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(keith.hmc @ Dec 10 2012, 06:26 PM)
There's a trick to this actually. You back it up into your usb then you copy into your PS3 then delete the files in your usb from your PS3 system then you copy the files back into the usb and then copy balik into the PS3 overwriting the existing files. That's what I did when I added in jerseys and emblems from my usb to the PS3 for PES2013. The tutorial I saw mentioned your problem so that was their solution and it worked for me. Not sure if it applies to other save game datas but anyone else ever facing this problem can try it out la. But you must activate your PS3 again first and then log in to your account before doing all this copying.

A tad bit troublesome but if it can rescue your save datas then why not.

Added on December 10, 2012, 6:27 pm

It varies depending on the game and its publishers but on average a new code from PSN ranges from RM30 to RM50 per code.
the whole point is that i cant even copy anything from my harddisk to the usb now since all my ps3 wants to do is to format it. and i dont have a ps+ account.. anyways i'm done with sony
tekplyrX
post Dec 26 2012, 01:16 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(BobThe Builder @ Dec 25 2012, 09:34 PM)
better backup your files first, just in case....
nowadays can backup/copy savedata even if you're not PS+ member....
all you need is ext HDD with FAT32 format.....  nod.gif
Well not all games can be copied to ext HDD/flash drives... e.g. vanquish R2 can't be copied
tekplyrX
post Dec 26 2012, 10:41 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(BobThe Builder @ Dec 26 2012, 02:33 PM)
I'm not sure about Vanquish though... have you tried copying recently? i mean, after the latest firmware?
coz all of my games can be copied now....

maybe my games are the copy-able ones.
Yup.. just tried with the latest firmware and still can't copy , even mass effect 3 r1 psn version too

0.0448sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:12 PM