14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Guide to Japan., Japan-->Study or Travel? Ask away!

Jjdesu
post Mar 27 2012, 08:05 AM

481 posts

Hi ifana! Right now in my uni I am a first year degree student..there's an exchange program provided here which I have quite an interest in..if I apply now, I probably will go by next year around july-sept..my questions here..do u know any exchange students there?as I know some subjects are taught in English..does it mean it's fully conducted in English? Course I got not much knowledge in japanese language, only basic understanding and little speaking only...my course advisor asked me better to take language class now, so by next year I should have no problem blending into their culture..well, any suggestions? Is fluency in Japanese language a must there? I aiming for tokyo uni btw tongue.gif
AbgKam
post Mar 29 2012, 11:18 AM

45 posts

hi ifana, i'm getting interested in going to japan when i read this thread.. my question is, is there any students under mara/jpa can get to japan eventhough their spm results didn't achieve the minimum requirement in last year spm which is at least 9A-?

Arigatou kogaimas~ biggrin.gif
TSifana
post May 9 2012, 09:49 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(Jjdesu @ Mar 27 2012, 08:05 AM)
Hi ifana! Right now in my uni I am a first year degree student..there's an exchange program provided here which I have quite an interest in..if I apply now, I probably will go by next year around july-sept..my questions here..do u know any exchange students there?as I know some subjects are taught in English..does it mean it's fully conducted in English? Course I got not much knowledge in japanese language, only basic understanding and little speaking only...my course advisor asked me better to take language class now, so by next year I should have no problem blending into their culture..well, any suggestions? Is fluency in Japanese language a must there? I aiming for tokyo uni btw tongue.gif
Hello Jidesu! Sorry for the super late reply! I've been caught up with a whole lot of stuff since I'm already in my last year of Uni and I got a lot of decision making to do!

WELL, tongue.gif to answer your question, I'd have to say if you're aiming for Tokyo U then a basic level of japanese language would be required I suppose even if you're doing the course in English!

I would agree with your advisor...its better for you to learn japanese now so that you wouldn't have problems in any area what so ever...maybe its best for you to get yourself equipped with at least a level 3 of the JLPT exam to be on the safe side! Besides, you wont loose anything by this, rather, you would gain knowledge...its really a win-win situation here the way I see it!

Hope this helps and All the best to you!! icon_rolleyes.gif

Ifana

Added on May 9, 2012, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(AbgKam @ Mar 29 2012, 11:18 AM)
hi ifana, i'm getting interested in going to japan when i read this thread.. my question is, is there any students under mara/jpa can get to japan eventhough their spm results didn't achieve the minimum requirement in last year spm which is at least 9A-?

Arigatou kogaimas~ biggrin.gif
Hello AbgKam!

hmmm if your question is would Mara send students who didn't achieve the minimum requirement then that is something only MARA can answer you but I heard that they've gotten really strict nowadays...they only offer to straight A students or something like that...so I'm really not sure about that...sorry!

Ifana

This post has been edited by ifana: May 9 2012, 09:57 PM
Alvan86
post May 16 2012, 10:38 AM

323 posts

Hi, I would like to ask if there is any recommended art school or fashion design school in Japan?
popcorn513
post May 18 2012, 09:39 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Hi ifana, i think i probably will go Japan further study this year end
some questions

1) What is the best way to transfer money from Malaysia to Japan after i open a japan bank account? I means best exchange rate (from ringgit to Yen) so I dont waste too much money for the charges etc (or maybe hand carry YEN cash cheaper rate sweat.gif )

2) About what to bring from malaysia, do you ship your PC to Japan?
Buying notebook (electronic stuff etc since plan to get a Nikon) in Japan cheaper compare Malaysia? (Planning to get a notebook since ship the PC maybe troublesome..)

3) Passport renewal should be able to renew in Japan Malaysia Embassy? Since my passport will expire during my study

dontforcemepls
post May 18 2012, 10:49 PM

115 posts

Some questions here.

The how's the pretty-ness of the japar girls over there?
Are they open-minded and friendly to everyone?
Pretty girls might be one of the motivations for
dude to attend classes. LOL
TSifana
post May 19 2012, 12:24 AM

181 posts

QUOTE(Alvan86 @ May 16 2012, 10:38 AM)
Hi, I would like to ask if there is any recommended art school or fashion design school in Japan?
Hello Alvan86!

I've asked some of my friends and they gave me a small list of Universities, Specialized schools/colleges that you might be interested in ; ~

The best university for it would be Musashino Arts University...I tried to get into this university too last time but the requirements are pretty high that I gave up hahaha

Another considerably cool university is a university my friend is attending to, known as the Hollywood digital university! The best part about this university is that it's located in AKIHABARA!! Right in front of akihabara station electric town exit...who wouldn't want to study in a university that's a minute away from Akihabara...the thought of having to commute to akihabara everyday alone would be my biggest incentive to study there! SWEET!

Another university that's well-known for its fashion-design course would be Bunka Women's University. But as it says in the name of the university.... Its a university catered for women!

The best fashion college in Japan would be the Bunka Fashion college! Its really popular! Ranking 3rd in the world fashion schools ranking! Must be really good!

These are the ones that I'm familiar with! My friends told me of some other good fashion schools :~

Tokyo Fashion Art College

Aoyama Fashion college

Musashino Fashion College

Check them out! I hope you'll find the one that suits you best!

Farah thumbup.gif

Added on May 19, 2012, 12:53 am
QUOTE(popcorn513 @ May 18 2012, 09:39 PM)
Hi ifana, i think i probably will go Japan further study this year end
some questions

1) What is the best way to transfer money from Malaysia to Japan after i open a japan bank account? I means best exchange rate (from ringgit to Yen) so I dont waste too much money for the charges etc (or maybe hand carry YEN cash cheaper rate sweat.gif )

2) About what to bring from malaysia, do you ship your PC to Japan?
Buying notebook (electronic stuff etc since plan to get a Nikon) in Japan cheaper compare Malaysia? (Planning to get a notebook since ship the PC maybe troublesome..)

3) Passport renewal should be able to renew in Japan Malaysia Embassy? Since my passport will expire during my study
Hi there popcorn513!!

First of all, congratulations! Sorry for the late reply last time! Finally Japan ne!! Glad for you really!!
I'll try my best to answer your questions!

1) Apparently the best way is to register an account at global banks such as Citibank, HSBC, Standard chartered...But I would personally recommend Citibank if you're thinking of residing in Tokyo. Its more convenient for citibank atm machines are easy to locate in Tokyo...There are no service charge whatsoever with citibank...what you convert is what you'll get, no extra charges! Of course hand carrying money is also another option if you're willing to risk it! I do it all the time, No worries! The moment you reach japan...you can deposit the money to your japanese bank account at any atm machines at the airport! My bank, mizuho usually charge 2,500yen for the processing fee for the amount within 500,000yen and 4000yen for amounts that are over 500,000yen so you might wanna save some money there!

2)Hmm when I first arrived in Japan, I brought my HP lappie by hand carry! But after 2 years my lappie broke and i had to buy a new one...got an acer aspire one, a small 10,1 inch lappie for 25000yen, pretty cheap don't you think considering that its brand new and yen being expensive and all! Plus it comes with a free-warranty for a year. But the thing is, the OS is in Japanese not English...only Japanese OS lappies are cheaper than those in Malaysia...international OS lappies are more expensive! So you might wanna consider these options :~

1) bring your lappy from Malaysia along with an international adapter for the head of the plug is different mind you...although you might already know this hehe you can buy the international adapter here in japan too but its more expensive and trust me, you're gonna want to use your lappie the moment you install it in your room!! realizing that you don't have an adapter then can be frustrating hahaha

2) buy a new japanese OS lappie here! It might be hard to adapt to your screen monitor being all in japanese at first, but I suppose you're chinese? so you'll get the hang of it pretty fast! It'll help with your japanese too! The computer terms being in Japanese and all! you still need an adapter for it if you're planning to use it in Malaysia though hahaha tongue.gif

So kinda off the topic but equip yourself with an International adapter LOL icon_rolleyes.gif

3) Yup you can renew your passport at the Malaysian embassy in Shibuya...the thing is, it'll take way longer to get it back when you apply in Japan rather than in malaysia...the last time it took me 3 months to get my passport back! so I suggest that you just renew it before you fly to Japan! You have to renew it 6 months prior to the expiry date anyway! so renew it before you fly to Japan and renew it for 3-5 years straight to be on the safe side!

Hope these informations will be useful to you!

Farah wub.gif

Added on May 19, 2012, 1:02 am
QUOTE(dontforcemepls @ May 18 2012, 10:49 PM)
Some questions here.

The how's the pretty-ness of the japar girls over there?
Are they open-minded and friendly to everyone?
Pretty girls might be one of the motivations for
dude to attend classes. LOL
Hahaha Thanks for asking Mr.dontforcemepls!

Hmmm, I'm a girl so I can only give opinions based on a woman's perspective! Basically, japanese girls are CUTE but not exactly pretty from the way I see it! They do though have a good sense of fashion style but unlike the koreans, their style comes off as simple and cute!

They are very friendly and open-minded indeed...as the matter of fact, they can be too open-minded some times hahaha I wouldn't tell you in what sense they are too lenient about because in the end, its subject to individuals but to tell you the truth, I don't think highly of Japanese girls hehe although I think you might really like them! thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

Hope this answers your curiosity!

Farah brows.gif

This post has been edited by ifana: May 19 2012, 01:11 AM
Joker000
post May 19 2012, 04:41 AM

21 posts

Hello,i want to ask u a bit question about studying in japan..right now i'm 18 years old taking my diploma in network security..and if possible i want to further my study in japan..if possible can u give me some advice/guide of what should i do?..Btw I'm currently self learning japanese language(not so good but can understand and speak with my japanese friends)

Added on May 19, 2012, 4:41 amHello,i want to ask u a bit question about studying in japan..right now i'm 18 years old taking my diploma in network security..and if possible i want to further my study in japan..if possible can u give me some advice/guide of what should i do?..Btw I'm currently self learning japanese language(not so good but can understand and speak with my japanese friends)

This post has been edited by Joker000: May 19 2012, 04:41 AM
popcorn513
post May 19 2012, 03:44 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Thanks Ifana
Thanks, ya the adapter and warranty seems be a main concern for electronic stuff
For student visa, how fast can we go do the arubaito? Since yen keep raising I'm worried now
Thanks for sharing
Alvan86
post May 21 2012, 08:31 AM

323 posts

Thanks for your detailed reply, ifana.
Out of your long list of Japanese art school, I only heard about Bunka Fashion College.. sad.gif

caterpiez
post May 21 2012, 08:35 AM

334 posts

Hi Ifana,

I would love to pursue Master in Japan but from my goggling, Master in Japan usually research work. Is there any university that offer Master by taught course? Maybe I did miss some university.

Btw, I'm planning to do engineering/computer science course whistling.gif

This post has been edited by caterpiez: May 21 2012, 09:06 AM
popcorn513
post May 21 2012, 08:44 AM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(caterpiez @ May 21 2012, 08:35 AM)
Hi Ifana,

I would love to pursue Master in Japan but from my goggling, Master in Japan usually research work. Is there any university that offer Master by taught course? Maybe I did miss some university.
I thought doing master via research better value ? I plan to take research type but not sure how hard it going to be
caterpiez
post May 21 2012, 09:04 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ May 21 2012, 08:44 AM)
I thought doing master via research better value ? I plan to take research type but not sure how hard it going to be
yup better value also cheaper fee compare with taught course.but i'm too lazy to write a thesis.during undergraduate, i'm struggled enough to finish my research project and wrote the thesis cry.gif
PoppinVinvin
post Jul 8 2012, 09:11 AM

Hi ifana.. I just completed my diploma in culinary arts.. Do I have chance to further my degree studies in Japan in either same field or different field? As for financial, I don't wanna burden my parents anymore.. If can independent then it's better i guessed biggrin.gif
popcorn513
post Aug 1 2012, 07:20 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

Anyone have experience using Courier services to send boxes to Japan?
Any company to recommend?
boiboi95
post Oct 29 2012, 11:30 PM

1000-7?
862 posts

Hi ifana, have some questions here..

What is the minimum qualifications for SPM so that I will be accepted into language school or universities over Japan? (How many A's or what sub. have to get credits)

approximately how long would it take from learning language in Malaysia until landing in Japan taking real courses?

If i want to apply scholarship on the universities on Japan itself, is it depends solely the result of EJU?

This post has been edited by boiboi95: Oct 30 2012, 12:03 AM
Flame Haze
post Nov 9 2012, 12:38 PM

814 posts

Hi there, i'm taking my SPM this year. Being a japan freak, i would like to study in japan too biggrin.gif Here's a few of my questions.

1. I was planning to take A levels after my SPM. Now studying in Japan being the case, there's no need for A levels anymore right?

2. I'm aiming for JPA scholarships. So my pathway from msia--->japan shud be: SPM--->JPA--->japanese school---->japan uni right?

3. Let's say i'm able to achieve JLPT N2 before going to japan, does this mean i can skip the japanese school part and just go for EJU?
TSifana
post May 4 2013, 02:26 AM

181 posts

Hello yall!!

It's been AGES i know..been AFK for quite sometime didn't I?

Anyway...I will try my best to answer as many questions as I can but first I would like to ask all Malaysian guys here

to help me with a 10 min questionnaire. Really simple really fast. Here's the link:

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1uGXLrrM2JF...aqZAjA/viewform

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!

Ifana out!
hihichew
post May 4 2013, 08:41 PM

677 posts

Hey... anyone knw abt the exam of mext scholarship
meshell1129
post May 15 2013, 06:46 PM

97 posts

If i got the scholarship from JPA to go to japan for engineering diploma, will i be able to continue my degree there also if my results is good? And i'm really confused about the accreditation from BEM for engineering degrees from overseas rclxub.gif anybody can help? biggrin.gif

14 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:37 PM