The SteelSeries Thread V7, UPDATED NOTIFICATION BOARD

DemonTweakZ
post Oct 4 2011, 02:06 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

Hi guys, I'm torn between getting a XAI or an Ikari. Besides the shape being different, what else is different between the two?

DemonTweakZ
post Oct 4 2011, 04:16 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Oct 4 2011, 02:24 PM)
sensor? tongue.gif
btw, which Ikari you referring to? the Laser version uses Cypress ONS, Xai uses the famous Avago ADNS-9500.

Xai > Ikari.
Oh ok. How about the build quality?
I read around that the non-slip rubber coating comes off after awhile.
Does that happen with the XAI as well?
DemonTweakZ
post Oct 25 2011, 01:04 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

just got my Sensei today.
Really like it!
DemonTweakZ
post Oct 25 2011, 03:10 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Oct 23 2011, 05:48 PM)
Omg KANA looks pretty. Please tell me the surface does not suck as the Sensei. -.- My sensei's coating peel is getting bigger and bigger. Die.
your sensei surface peels? i just got my sensei. panicking. lol.
DemonTweakZ
post Oct 25 2011, 10:54 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Oct 25 2011, 03:21 PM)
No peeling should you not scratch it....
QUOTE(andrewtho @ Oct 25 2011, 05:24 PM)
Just keep it away from sharp objects  blush.gif
oh phew...
i thought it peels off for no reason.
i'll definitely handle it with care. so ex...
DemonTweakZ
post Oct 27 2011, 11:58 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Oct 27 2011, 09:21 AM)
Ohya, brother OKLY stop selling temporary because he's currently working. Too busy. There's a shop in DM forgotten what name sells a whole bunch of SS stuff, saw a wide variety of Siberia V2's in different colors too.

There's a shop in Mid Valley selling SS stuff too, check the Steelseries Malaysia Fan Page @ Facebook.
the midvalley shop you mentioned is MCS Tech and Add-Ons i think. will the prices there be higher because its midvalley or is it controller by playinteractive?
DemonTweakZ
post Nov 3 2011, 10:49 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Nov 3 2011, 09:40 AM)
imho, this kind of mice cannot find a market here in MY because you see mostly of those MMO players, especially talented ones is mostly ah bengs or ah lians that swear using canton. Even that Orange team thingy that went to ESWC, see the pikture dey all hug their Razer stuff tighter than if you were to give them maria ozawa.

guess bolehland people like to fark trend upside down. Same with those stuff like Supra or Subcrew, in US it is worn by those liek justin bibir or kanye west, but here it is worn by those rempits or hip hop wannabes, and the worst of all, they're wearing fakes.

so that's why you do a review huh? tongue.gif
ahahhaa. this is super stereotyping at its best.
DemonTweakZ
post Nov 6 2011, 07:45 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

so many inside shots of the Kana but nothing official yet?
DemonTweakZ
post Dec 19 2011, 08:19 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

guys, my sensei died for no reason today.
the lights work and both the left click and right click button works too. the cursor just doesn't move at all. i tried viewing the laser light using my hp camera to see if there's a purple light but nothing at all.

has this happened to anyone before?
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 12 2012, 02:52 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

guys i'm having a problem. my sensei cursor keeps getting stuck. my sensor died once and they RMA it and now this problem happens. should i send it back?
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 12 2012, 06:25 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 12 2012, 04:01 AM)
did they send back the same mouse?
or diff? else u must be quite unlucky, or sensei quality no good...
I think they sent me a new one, but the minute i plugged it into the pc, my settings were in it so I'm not sure. It was a sealed box. Also I noticed that the bottom of the mouse had a few wear marks so I'm really not sure. The shop told me they replaced it.

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Feb 12 2012, 12:00 PM)
Bro please show your mouse setting
It might be due to your setting
Here's my settings:

It happens sometimes but yesterday it was crazy. I had a mini lan party at my place so i moved my desktop into the hall. The cursor suddenly gets stuck when I was playing LoL, so I tried to rapidly move it around to sort of unstick it. Then it'll be fine for a while before it happens again. I read somewhere that the SS engine could be causing it because of the profile switching but I didn't switch any profiles. So I manually stopped the SS engine to see if the problem stops. It didn't.

Please note that my mouse is always on contact with the table/mousepad so its not an issue of lifting the mouse (sensor not detecting surface).

This post has been edited by DemonTweakZ: Feb 12 2012, 06:30 PM
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 12 2012, 07:03 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Feb 12 2012, 06:36 PM)
everything looks fine, except your uber high lift off distance. tongue.gif doesn't look like anything is wrong with it..try go claim for RMA again?
I think they didn't not replaced your mice cos Sensei do comes with onboard memory right? so all your settings will be saved in there. whistling.gif but then also prolly your settings were actually the stock settings?
My settings are not the stock ones. I changed a few things to suit me.
I use a uber high lift off distance because of this problem. I thought it was me lifting the mouse too high from the surface. But it seems thats not the case.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 12 2012, 06:47 PM)
u dont check the serial numbers?
but usually, in cases of quick RMA, they do not send a new mouse.
they will send a mouse belonging to someone else that has previously been repaired, then when the mouse u sent it gets repaired...it'll get sent to the next person who RMA's theirs.
I didnt keep the old serial number la. maybe in the old receipt. Looks like I will resend back and ask for a replacement. I don't want someone elses RMA'ed mouse.

Note: It happens on other profiles as well. So I don't think its the settings.

I was wondering if other Sensei owners are having this problem as well. This is terrible for a RM400 mouse. Wonder if they can let me swap it for a Kana. tongue.gif
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 13 2012, 12:33 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Feb 12 2012, 07:24 PM)
seriously doubt they're going to let u swap, and refund the difference somemore.
plus it's better to go for xai rather than kana.
xai? hmmm... nevermind, its too early to think of alternatives. I figured they won't let me swap. Just need to know my options in case my sensei dies on me AGAIN.

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Feb 12 2012, 10:43 PM)
hmm have you tried experimenting different lift distance?
try to do it
if problem still persistt recommend u go for RMA anyway
What pad u using?
I can't really notice the difference in lift distances. Maybe I'm not sensitive.
I'm using a QCK.

I'll bring it to the shop tomorrow and see how. Damn it. It will be the second time I'm sending it. My main issue is trying to replicate the problem for them to see and as of now, I don't know what triggers it.
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 13 2012, 02:55 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(FukaDa @ Feb 13 2012, 02:50 PM)
Have you update ur firmware and reinstall ur SteelSeries engine? It happens to me once when i bought it and i reset the settings when  im at cafe , when i plug back at home , it has some error occur, maybe u could try to uninstall the current SteelSeries Engine, then re-download the latest firmware. Should be working tho.
Ok I'll go back and try that.
Currently I'm using it in office with my laptop and there's no problem at all. I don't have the SS Engine installed on my laptop tho.

Some forums mention that cloth pads on high DPI can cause tracking issues. Could it be because of dust trapped in the sensor? I'm using it on a table now and there is no problem.
I just need to figure out a way to replicate the problem consistently for it to be considered an issue. If it's a random occurrence, I doubt if i can RMA mine.

This post has been edited by DemonTweakZ: Feb 13 2012, 02:56 PM
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 13 2012, 04:04 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(FukaDa @ Feb 13 2012, 02:57 PM)
Yeah then probably is ur SteelSeries engine problem , For mine i have re-install it everything works fine after all. If you can use it at ur office without SteelSeries Engine , it means have nothing to do with your sensor.

Me myself using QCK+ Tyloo,  and also Zowie mousepad before this, i've no problem tho, dust does't effect that much except ur mousepad is kind of dirt on it  tongue.gif .
By the way , remember when u uninstall your driver , do remove the old settings , else will be saved in your PC and when you re-install the new driver ,it will run your same settings. try re-install everything and reset your settings.
Can i save it to my mouse and then re-install everything? I can manually set the settings if required but I'm just wondering if this is possible.
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 14 2012, 10:35 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

i re-installed the engine but the jitter still happens occasionally. still have no clue what triggers it. maybe dust? my mousepad is quite clean. i can't believe it's this sensitive. before I RMA my old sensei and got this one, there was no such issue.
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 14 2012, 02:12 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(FukaDa @ Feb 14 2012, 10:43 AM)
Try update the sensei mouse and re-install everything , try not to save the old mouse settings at your comp. hmm, if still does'nt work den i guess u have to send it for RMA ..
I did that. deleted appdata also. then redid my settings.

QUOTE(H3LLKEEPER @ Feb 14 2012, 12:19 PM)
Oh ya u forgot 1 thing
did you update the mouse firmware?
When i installed the SS Engine, there was a pop-up saying programming and the mouse logo was blinking. Is that updating the firmware?
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 15 2012, 11:15 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(FukaDa @ Feb 15 2012, 11:00 AM)
Yes thats updating firmware bro. If still hang, it means your firmware is not install properly.
it hanged then it said disconnect and re-connect. after that no problem. but that jitter issue still happens. funny thing is it doesnt happen when i dun use my mousepad and when i dun have the SS Engine installed.
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 15 2012, 01:07 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(FukaDa @ Feb 15 2012, 12:05 PM)
Yes, is because you updated the firmware half way and unplug it while is still updating it. that's why it will hang whenever u startup the driver now.
nah it doesnt hang anymore. it managed to update after i re-connected it. then it updated till the end.
DemonTweakZ
post Feb 15 2012, 01:42 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(FukaDa @ Feb 15 2012, 01:11 PM)
So your sensei working fine now right?
still got the jitter problem..wondering if its the mouse, mousepad or engine.

0.0447sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:27 PM