8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Rain water harvesting

billyboy
post Apr 16 2014, 07:02 PM

2,220 posts

no lah. That one too complicated. Water pump etc. 400 gal metal tank going for say RM1.7k. water pump say 1k. reinforcement for roof say 0.5k. i say adding up fast.

Rain water harvesting can vary between the simple (a few hundred bucks) to the complex (several thousand).

I'm happy with mine, and ok lah. chip! chip ! water garden only !

SUSsupersound
post Apr 16 2014, 07:58 PM

11,554 posts

That's when you want to use it for drinking and house hold.
Also, use poly tank(cheaper and more reliable).
Indeed the investment on my concept is high and it won't give me much return also. My monthly water bill only rm8-10. Minimum I must pay rm5.
Don't know have to wait how long to get back. This is just like FIT.
cdspins
post Apr 16 2014, 10:48 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 16 2014, 07:58 PM)
That's when you want to use it for drinking and house hold.
Also, use poly tank(cheaper and more reliable).
Indeed the investment on my concept is high and it won't give me much return also. My monthly water bill only rm8-10. Minimum I must pay rm5.
Don't know have to wait how long to get back. This is just like FIT.
You can not put a value on what you have done to save mother earth.
All green technologies or application is usually negative ROI.
the solar power, if not for the government subsidized through FIT is a losing money business lo...
Same for hybrid car.... if not for the tax incentives, the car price itself is already so expensive.

So, don't think about ROI. just keep in your mind and heart that you have done your part help save the earth thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 16 2014, 10:52 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 16 2014, 10:48 PM)
You can not put a value on what you have done to save mother earth.
All green technologies or application is usually negative ROI.
the solar power, if not for the government subsidized through FIT is a losing money business lo...
Same for hybrid car.... if not for the tax incentives, the car price itself is already so expensive.

So, don't think about ROI. just keep in your mind and heart that you have done your part help save the earth  thumbup.gif
Implementing rain harvest system in terrace house still not that practical.
As for FIT, other country's government are encouraging people to install and give incentives for it but ours we need to pay extra to have the system.
PixelPete
post Apr 16 2014, 11:18 PM

103 posts

Forgot to mention to my tenant the front tap is rainwater when they moved in. Got big sticker there saying "Rainwater Harvesting" mah.

My tenant drank the water! oops!

billyboy
post Apr 17 2014, 06:21 AM

2,220 posts

i think the govt has a role to encourage rain water harvesting since the market / pricing mechanism is not working properly.

should consider incentive (discount on quit rate and assessment) if have green tech, and legislation and regulation (fine and punishment) if not implemented. Maybe implement over many years and after education campaign. i think MPPJ got an incentive program.

hi - any politicians here - can you please take note !! ;-)

Kevin Chan
post Apr 17 2014, 08:03 AM

1,997 posts

i'll have to say that water currently is too cheap for me to implement this.
my monthly bill is -0.65cent, yes its negative. before the Selangor gov subsidi, it used to be RM6 monthly.

so I hardly used any water at all. even if I invest just RM1K for a Ok system ...it would take me 14 years to recover my RM6 monthly cost.

I already didn't waste water to begin with ... so mother earth should already be happy.

i think government should make compulsory commercial property rain harvesting, so that those commercial used their own harvested water for consumption. Then again it wont happen since the water company is profit oriented, why the hell they want you to safe water ... waste more even better, charge you more mah. hmm.gif
billyboy
post Apr 17 2014, 07:45 PM

2,220 posts

Market misprice water.

Government intervention required....
SUSsupersound
post Apr 17 2014, 08:07 PM

11,554 posts

Actually harvesting rain water can use it to cool down our house also.
As water are the cheapest heat transfer medium in the world.
We just need a water pump, a sprayer on top of the roof a tank top hold the water and a collector tank at bottom with level switch that used to collect rain water or water that used for cool down the house.
If with this way can lower down our electric bill by 20-30% a month, I think it is worth to invest.
cdspins
post Apr 18 2014, 01:32 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 16 2014, 10:52 PM)
Implementing rain harvest system in terrace house still not that practical.
As for FIT, other country's government are encouraging people to install and give incentives for it but ours we need to pay extra to have the system.
Actually malaysia government already implement FIT by forcing TNB to buy back solar power at a fix high price for a fix number of years...
SUSsupersound
post Apr 18 2014, 02:08 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 18 2014, 01:32 AM)
Actually malaysia government already implement FIT by forcing TNB to buy back solar power at a fix high price for a fix number of years...
Well, few years back when we can't get the price were high, not are much lower.
cdspins
post Apr 18 2014, 08:35 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 18 2014, 02:08 AM)
Well, few years back when we can't get the price were high, not are much lower.
Haha early adopter have higher rates but takes in more risk as the scheme is new and the return are not fully proven yet... icon_idea.gif
Kevin Chan
post Apr 18 2014, 08:47 AM

1,997 posts

you can get this information form SEDA, there is a limit of how much you can FIT.
every year also tell me its full, cronies got all the quota ??

RE Quota

In many countries where the FiT system is implemented, caps on RE installed capacities are highly discouraged as these caps limit RE growth and constrain its impact. The avoidance of such caps is possible in countries where electricity tariff is deregulated. However, in a regulated electricity market such as in Malaysia, the funding source for FiT is limited to a fixed percentage imposed on the utility’s electricity revenue. Therefore, caps are essential to ensure that there will be adequate funds to make the FiT payments to RE generators. Once the electricity market in Malaysia is deregulated, or when FiT has been operating for a considerable period of time, then removal of the caps may be possible.

Capping is achieved by putting a capacity limit or quota for new feed-in approvals in respect of each renewable resource for 6-month windows over the next 3 years. The reason for the 6-month window frame is to limit the waiting period for the next available set of quotas to a maximum of 6 months.

The e-FiT system has been enhanced with a more user-friendly portal; displaying automatic real-time update of RE Quota on a separate RE Quota webpage.
Please click here to get the latest update of RE Quota available for any Feed-in Approval application and thereafter there is no necessity to refresh the RE Quota webpage.
SUSsupersound
post Apr 18 2014, 11:22 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 18 2014, 08:35 AM)
Haha early adopter have higher rates but takes in more risk as the scheme is new and the return are not fully proven yet...  icon_idea.gif
When it is not opened to all yet, the price that sold back to TNB are much higher and not to mention installation fees are cheaper also.
Now the price are cheaper and installation fees are getting expensive.
cdspins
post Apr 18 2014, 09:36 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 18 2014, 11:22 AM)
When it is not opened to all yet, the price that sold back to TNB are much higher and not to mention installation fees are cheaper also.
Now the price are cheaper and installation fees are getting expensive.
2 or 3 years ago, house prices isnt this high as well...
But yup, just my opinion, last time solar board efficiency is quite low... about 10~12% I think, now can easily achieve about 18%
SUSsupersound
post Apr 18 2014, 10:13 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Apr 18 2014, 09:36 PM)
2 or 3 years ago, house prices isnt this high as well...
But yup, just my opinion, last time solar board efficiency is quite low... about 10~12% I think, now can easily achieve about 18%
The lost basically are at the inverter. When converting DC to AC, sure will have some lost.
Also, the placement of the solar cells also is a challenge. Again, the government don't have the intention to harvest natural resource. Always wants to strip people only doh.gif
billyboy
post Apr 19 2014, 11:18 PM

2,220 posts

rhetorics aside, installing solar panels under the FIT program is profitable if;
- you won't sell the property for 21 years.
- you know how to choose solar panels / inverters / installers
- you know if your house is viable (due to direction, angle and shading)

FIT quota opens on 2 May; get ready.....
azleena
post Apr 20 2014, 08:46 AM

183 posts

At REX expo at midvalley, the people there said FIT solar panels will show a ROI in about 7 years. not true?
SUSsupersound
post Apr 20 2014, 09:32 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(azleena @ Apr 20 2014, 08:46 AM)
At REX expo at midvalley, the people there said FIT solar panels will show a ROI in about 7 years. not true?
Do your own maths on this
A. monthly actual unit yielded X12X21
2. your initial cost(use cash, don't take loan for this)
3. maintence and service cost
4. inverter cost when fails
Add 2,3,4 together, this is your investment, B
then A-B/21 will be your ROI. I calculated it is about 3-4% whistling.gif
FibreEcorain
post Nov 21 2014, 04:09 PM

Hi All,

Check it out the most affordable and eco friendly Rain Water Harvesting System.
For more information, kindly contact us as below attached photo and catalog.

https://gm1.ggpht.com/L3DN0m3vVbbOzpGVM1VkY...338-h530-l75-ft

Attached File(s)
Attached File  FIBRE_ECORAIN__LATEST_.pdf ( 789.16k ) Number of downloads: 122

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0289sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:53 AM