US stock discussion v4, Bulls-Bears HUAT AH!! Pigs get slaughter
super911
Oct 12 2013, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 12 2013, 11:21 AM) Good morning... FB $50 calls didn't get taken away. Still holding and got the premium that expired worthless overnight. Soon Hock fish and Abalone Dinner tonight..  Bro, I sent you a PM. If you have time, can you please assist? Thanks.
super911
Oct 15 2013, 05:39 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 12 2013, 09:34 PM) Sorry, I hardly answer PM questions got too many spam, so I turn it off. What's your question? Free feel to ask here because I may not know all the answers. There are many experts here as well. We're all here to learn.. (and to make money!  ) Bro, Need your assistance on the following: 1. Is Etrade a good enough platform for traders who are active? They are just charging a flat $9.99 for any contract size. 2. What's the cheapest way to withdrawl money from US trading account back to Malaysia? Etrade told me that they will charge $25 for every withdrawal request. Then bank will charge us for TT, plus conversion losses. 3. Can we short sell stocks in US market? or only certain designated counters? Thanks.
super911
Oct 15 2013, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(foosh @ Oct 15 2013, 10:31 PM) Commissions aside, you still can try out a few platforms to see which suits you. I personally used optionsxpress and TOS. I like the TOS scanner and multi chart layouts. Optionsxpress also has an advance platform. Another way is also....if you like platform A for charting & scanning etc, but dont like the commission, then use platform A to pick your stocks...and order in another platform. +1.
super911
Oct 17 2013, 08:50 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 17 2013, 12:16 AM) a) I used to have ETrade but not anymore. I don't like their tools. For same commission, I prefer TD Ameritrade ThinkorSwim. b) Dunno much about Malaysia bank transfer rate. 'coz I kept my account in USD and SGD. I use Interbank transfer, (US direct deposit method)... somehow I didn't see any fees unless I convert them to local SGD currency. c) Yes, you can short stocks in US market provided you've a margin acct open. Some stocks have designated higher risk and may required higher margin requirement. Min is US25K per account. Bro, I just checked the TD Ameritrade website. Only Singapore PR or with working pass allowed to open an account. -May non-Singapore citizens trade with thinkorswim Singapore? Yes, non-Singapore citizens may register with thinkorswim Singapore, provided you are a Permanent Resident or have a valid Employment Pass or Work Pass. You will be required to provide us with a valid Tax ID number in Singapore to open the account. You will also be required to verify your Singapore address by providing us with a copy of a utility bill and/or bank statement listing your address.
super911
Oct 17 2013, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 17 2013, 10:34 AM) Yes.. non-issue for me. I had TD Ameritrade (USA account) more than 10 years (even before they expanded to Singapore and elsewhere). Can you meet their requirement? If not, there are many other brokers also allow Malaysian only citizens to trade. I was PR but no longer valid now. So I might need to open at etrade.