US stock discussion v4, Bulls-Bears HUAT AH!! Pigs get slaughter

kimyee73
post Sep 11 2012, 11:59 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 8 2012, 05:53 AM)
Ya.. got my cash for abalone and shark fins soup dinner this weekend!!  biggrin.gif

But, next week I got to watch the price action for LVS.. if this breaks out from 45..
I may have to cut it loose.  sweat.gif

Added on September 11, 2012, 5:33 amMonday Sept 10.

LVS closed 43.41, delta -2.01%.  17 days to go.  sweat.gif
LVS will hit 45 within 2 weeks but don't take my word for it as i'm nobody whistling.gif

Added on September 11, 2012, 12:03 pmHeard from a friend that TDAmeritrade now not allowing Malaysian to activate new account. Any one heard this as well?

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Sep 11 2012, 12:03 PM
kimyee73
post Sep 12 2012, 02:23 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Sep 11 2012, 09:38 PM)
FB alert: Zuckerberg finally came out and say.. "hey I care" and "time to double down".
This quickly translated into 3% pop today.. so, I'm watching the bullish cross over to $20 here.
If this happens.. imo, there's trading opportunity to make quick money.  FB is a heavily shorted stock.. and could trigger a squeeze all the way to $24 and higher area. All speculation at this level only. I'm going to see if I can put a little money to play here.  biggrin.gif
Your "little" money here is how many contracts?
kimyee73
post Sep 13 2012, 12:06 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(kevinpang @ Sep 12 2012, 09:24 PM)
I use OptionsXpress...No doubt, OptionsXpress having a very user friendly trading platform. The only bad point is their commission fee is expansive. I used to trade Options, which cost $15 per trade. It is expansive for small trader like me. I find that most of my money has gone to comission. So if your capital is big, it should be OK.

I am thinking to use Sogotrade, but I heard a lot of bad point about Sogotrade. Anyone using Sogotrade here ?

Anyway, ThinkOrSwim also can be consider.  smile.gif
I'm using TDAmeritrade with both web and ThinkOrSwim (TOS) interface. TOS used to be a separate company but now own by TDAmeritrade. TOS is especially powerfull in charting and analysis. I tried OptionsXpress but don't like the user interface. I get special flat rate at TOS, just $1.xx per contract.
kimyee73
post Sep 14 2012, 07:32 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Quinn @ Sep 13 2012, 09:19 PM)
How do u apply the special rate?
I took a class on option trading and they have special rate contract with TOS for all their students.
kimyee73
post Sep 20 2012, 04:11 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(DeaDLocK @ Sep 19 2012, 01:15 PM)
Hello buddies, complete newbie here. Just opened an account at Firstrade and sent off the paperwork. Want to dip my toes with maybe around RM20-30k but it's not pocket change so don't want to lose it all at one shot!

What got me interested in the first place was stratospheric AAPL rise. Many analysts in the last 24 hours are revising target price to $1k, so looks promising still. Have been reading on some basic stuff, but of course when it comes time to actually spend the money it can be a bit scary.

Any quick tips for a newbie? Still somewhat intent on AAPL, but can't help thinking playing with smaller counters would be a little more fun.
If you're truly totally a newbie, pls get yourself educated first. Don't want you to get burnt on advertisement trading. It's usually the mistake of newbie. Buy when everyone else is buying but don't know when to get out. What is the purpose of you getting into the trade? Get lucky and make a few quick bucks or going to a long haul with specific target to achieve? How much time you're willing to spend monitoring and trading daily? There are a number of sites to get started but the first good article is on psychology of trading so you understand where you're at.

This post has been edited by kimyee73: Sep 20 2012, 04:12 PM
kimyee73
post Oct 12 2012, 02:45 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 12 2012, 01:20 AM)
Options trading also a type of gambling. Why restrict yourself?
Any trading is not a gambling if the system reliability is more than than 60% profitable. Entry and exit decision based on particular concept with deterministic expectancy. Trading become gambling if the outcome is random outcome.
kimyee73
post Oct 15 2012, 01:59 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(yok70 @ Oct 15 2012, 11:57 AM)
Thanks for the feedback guys!  notworthy.gif
Ya, that's exactly what I plan to do, to play around virtual trading platform first before putting money in. Thanks for the advice!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Looks like I've plenty of readings to do before even understand those terms in the game of options.  biggrin.gif
Plenty of reading and plenty of experimentation. You'll learn faster when you make mistakes and learn from it while paper trades. Try a lot of what-if to see the effect. There are lots of strategies available but you need to develop your own system based on some of the common strategies. What I mean by system here is you need to have concept/objective, setup condition, entry signal, stops, exit criterias and money management. Most important are the last 3 items as they will determine if you make money or lost money or make lots of money in several trades and then lost it all in a single trade.
kimyee73
post Oct 18 2012, 04:49 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Oct 17 2012, 08:51 PM)
why my one -90% return.
Don't risk more than 1% of your total capital in a trade. Let say if you have $100k to trade, each trade risk should not more than $1k. For options, stop usually around 20%-30% depending on how much risk you can stomach. If you lost that one, you still have 99 more times to try. That way you will never get -90% return again.
kimyee73
post Dec 17 2012, 01:20 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(morning06 @ Dec 13 2012, 06:51 AM)
Hi there, I'm new in US stock trading. I was informed that its only possible to trade limited contracts/week in TOS; given that i hav small limited capital in my account. Is there any other broker available out there that doesnt have this limitation?

I know there are limited broker that accept international account and the list are posted in one of the old thread but would like some updated feedback wink.gif

Thanks in adv.
Never heard of such rule. Did you hear it from official source or just hearsay? If you talk about day trading, then there is a rule of not more than 3 day trades per 5 days rolling. If more than that, you need to have min $25k in your account.
kimyee73
post Dec 24 2012, 10:50 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(morning06 @ Dec 17 2012, 03:02 PM)
Ahh yaya thats wat i meant. Sorry not putting it in word nicely. So it applies to all other broker as well or just TOS?
All brokers.
kimyee73
post Jan 3 2013, 12:07 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(max_cool29 @ Dec 30 2012, 01:28 PM)
I'm in a blur right now and really badly need the help from you guys. I'm plan to open an accounts to trade option, any recommendation?

I had been reading from page 1, first tread until second tread... getting blur....help
I would recommend ThinkOrSwim (TOS) by TDAmeritrade. This trading platform is quite advance with powerful charting tool and trading tool tailored toward options. You can reduce your contract fee by joining some newsletter or courses that TOS offered special rate for members. I'm paying $1.27 flat rate per contract and I know of a newsletter that TOS offered $1.25 per contract for their member. Hope this help.
kimyee73
post Jan 29 2013, 04:23 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Jan 24 2013, 10:31 PM)
THIS CANT BE RIGHT

NFLX up 37%??!!

cry.gif cry.gif
U cry? I cry even more. I was holding 2 contracts and dispose it right before earning. That was easily $10k profit in 3 days that flew away doh.gif
kimyee73
post Jan 30 2013, 07:39 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Jan 29 2013, 09:20 PM)
Don't cry-lah when you didn't lose money. There's always plenty of opportunity to earn again. What goes UP, must come DOWN. Watch for it... that gap between 140 and 105 will be filled later. You can also play the dark side.  Yesterday, NFLX showing signs of crack.. overbought condition. brows.gif
Not literally cry lah but heartached for 2 days. Anyway NFLX option prices has moved beyond my limit for position sizing, so taken it off my active trading list for now.
kimyee73
post Feb 1 2013, 07:56 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(countdown @ Jan 31 2013, 12:12 PM)
do you guys keep records of your trades? Like a trading log and a trading journal?

Trading Log = Tracks your profit & loss.

Trading Journal = What's your entry and exits point, reasons of selecting that points, signals that indicates which direction you should select and etc..

Thank you smile.gif.
I do keep track since I'm more on trend following on daily chart. Can't imagine anyone keeping logs for day trading shakehead.gif
kimyee73
post Feb 7 2013, 09:41 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(countdown @ Feb 6 2013, 02:12 AM)
no bro, I'm a newbie. TOS broker only allows me to day trade 3 times per 5 days rolling, so out of quota already unless I pump up my funds to $USD25k. I'm using limited funds because I'm still new to all these, only know some theories here and there, better to trade defensively. After few months, then I'll join all of you to scalp like no tomorrow tongue.gif.

let me kepochi on FB charts...hmmm quite reliable charts they have......
If after a few months you can do scalping then you're really good. I don't like day trading, too intense and can get heart attack one. I like slow and steady like trading SPY, WDC, GS etc. Everytime I tried fast moving stocks I get burnt. Just got kicked out last night on DDD and WYNN but fortunately others saved my day.
kimyee73
post Feb 26 2013, 01:31 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 21 2013, 06:19 AM)
i am interested in COH for investing but not at the current price tongue.gif
Waiting for more bad news for its lineup.
Why ar, any news/data U want to share?
Wong seafood. You're everywhere..FSM, PM and here as well.. rclxms.gif
kimyee73
post Apr 29 2013, 10:16 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Jasonk176 @ Apr 26 2013, 11:51 PM)
I'm a newbiez.I wish to learn something from all of you.
How to open an account ? Please let me know. I prefer foreign accounts.
How to get the form ? Do you know how to fill up the form ?

In help,Thanks
You want to trade or invest? Stock or Options? If for trade I would recommend TDAmeritrade especially their ThinkOrSwim (TOS) platform is excellent for stock options. Pls also read 1st page of this thread. Good luck.
kimyee73
post May 2 2013, 11:35 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ Apr 29 2013, 03:31 PM)
Anyone using OptionExpress?
I open an acct before but let it expired because the charting is not as good as TOS.
kimyee73
post May 2 2013, 11:49 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(Jasonk176 @ Apr 30 2013, 03:12 PM)
What is option? I just want to trade like you guys and make some small money. I just know about Etrade. Is it good ? How to fill up the form and the requirement ?
Please advice me.  smile.gif
Not familar with ETrade although I have an account due to legacy from my company using it for giving stock options before moving on to UBS. If you want to stick with Etrade, can't advise you there. Pls survey which discount broker is better in term of transaction cost and trading platform features. TDAmeritrade is relatively cheap (not cheapest) and TOS platform is really powerful.

Stock option is a financial instrument giving you option to buy stock at certain price (strike price). You buy the option contract for small sum and the contract price may go up or down depending on how far away the strike price from actual stock price. You buy and sell the contract as it goes up or down and make money from there. For more learning on stock option you can google or go to http://www.theoptionsguide.com/ or similar sites.
kimyee73
post May 3 2013, 09:59 AM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ May 2 2013, 04:21 PM)
Have u tried their new Streaming chart... Quite gud... Tried TOS and I find it not tat user friendly and nt too many tools or maybe I am just to use to OptionXpress.. Xtend platform quite nice to use, dedicated option/future modules.. Graphics also quite nice..

I find it easy to navigate and some of their tools are quite cool, for beginners I would recommend it.. n easier to transfer money since their office is now in SG...
Thanks for the info. Have not trien it since open it almost a year ago. Now they closed my acct liao. Agree that TOS is quite difficult to use for beginners as it is quite powerful. You can even write scripts and create custom charts. Many online help and investing videos in Youtube are using TOS for their demo.

0.0586sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:31 PM