US stock discussion v4, Bulls-Bears HUAT AH!! Pigs get slaughter

zamans98
post Mar 16 2012, 04:04 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

Look at the banking stocks.

Take BAC, about $6 in January, now approaching $10.

zamans98
post Mar 16 2012, 11:32 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Mar 16 2012, 09:43 PM)
what to buy?
Banking stocks are making a new high. XLF/BAC should be a safe bet.

Watch out BAC breakout approaching $10.
zamans98
post Mar 20 2012, 11:10 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Mar 20 2012, 10:59 PM)
Is it worth to buy APPLE INC now? Since it goes so high!

Added on March 20, 2012, 10:59 pmIs it worth to buy APPLE INC now? Since it goes so high!
nobody knows.

why AAPL? Because it just shoot by 100 US$?
All depends on your risk appetite and total cash in hand.

Assume u got 10,000 $ in hand, u can get only 16 shares say at 600$
When Apple hit 615$, u earn 15x16 > $230 less charges etc.

Once economy starts booming, banking stocks are better bet.
Get Banking ETF ----> XLF or just plain banking stock like BAC

BAC 10$ x 1000 = 10,000$
Up by 20Cts, you make $0.20x1000 = 200$

BAC can even move back to $15, hence $5x1000 > $5000

Added on March 20, 2012, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(learn2earn8 @ Mar 19 2012, 04:49 AM)
JESSE LIVERMORE SAYS BUY HIGH, SELL HIGHER  cool2.gif
but dog jones at this level still no minor pullback yet laugh.gif
earnings season is next month & expect not much movement until earnings begin  yawn.gif
expecting superb earnings, otherwise, longkang lo for my gambling time with call options sweat.gif
a little poor on the options volume, means hard to trade.

This post has been edited by zamans98: Mar 20 2012, 11:12 PM
zamans98
post Mar 21 2012, 10:18 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(Kimmy1 @ Mar 21 2012, 09:51 AM)
Wed: 21-03-2012 (Neutral) G@P +2.92 ▼ / PiT +77% ▲ News

Seems that Market is not holding longer, corrections?! What do you see?

http://testmarketidea.blogspot.com
damn normal. its not a correction if just down by ~50 points.
CORRECTION is a major 3 digits plunge, continuously or in the similar pattern.

Added on March 21, 2012, 10:19 pm
QUOTE(rstusa @ Mar 21 2012, 08:23 AM)
Thanks for the suggestion! Besides BAC, any other stock consider lower price which can enter?
Micron, ie MU. Low debt. Check the financial.
Good volume, big intra-day movement.

This post has been edited by zamans98: Mar 21 2012, 10:19 PM
zamans98
post Mar 21 2012, 11:22 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Mar 21 2012, 10:57 PM)
Is it blue chip company suitable for long term investment?
Blue CHIP? YES, but not Dow Jones Top 30 component.

% of Shares Held by All Insider and 5% Owners: 11%
% of Shares Held by Institutional & Mutual Fund Owners: 70%
% of Float Held by Institutional & Mutual Fund Owners: 79%

Data are here: http://finance.yahoo.com/q?s=MU&ql=1

zamans98
post Apr 6 2012, 05:22 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Apr 4 2012, 01:31 AM)
AAPL has a strong earnings and it is still undervalued by earnings. Not to factor in the future growth rate. With Iphone 5 and Apple TV launching soon i can see the only way for this stock is up up up. Initially I have a modest target price of AAPL at $720 and I think if there is a nice bull run towards end of the year, there is a possibility of AAPL hitting four digit.

There is this mentality that we should buy cheap shares so that the % of return will be greater. How wrong is this. Say if i split AAPL shares 1 : 100 and it is now worth $6.72 Does it looks attractive to you? It should be the same. The Value of the company stays the same, it is just that the number of outstanding shares increased.

Speaking about BAC. I believe it is highly undervalued based on their assets as well. They are trading at a Price to book ratio of 0.48 and a price to tangible book value of 0.72 But does this stock warrant a buy? not at the current price as BAc is struggling with earnings. BAC will need to perform outstandingly if they were to hit the analyst estimate of EPS $0.69 per share. Given if they made it, multiply this with the industry average PE ratio of 10. You will only get $6.90 per share. This doesnt look a bargain at the current price. However I believe Moynihan is doing a good job up there and a turnaround plan is in place. It is going to take 4-5 years at least for BAC to get things back on tract. That is barring any economic crisis. Not to mention, BAC is very sensitive on the Euro Crisis, any negative news will send the share price down to $ 6 - 7 price range. However, if you are in for the long term(4 - 5 years), this could be a value buy.

I am long AAPL since $550 and I did miss part of the rally when I switch my entire portfolio to BAC when AAPL was at $585(The day the new Ipad was launched). Now I am back to AAPL and am betting big(6 digit figure in RM) on their options. Let us revisit this thread end of the year and see what happens.
Listen, let's make this simple than lengthy world of text.
Everyone have different view, and they are right from their point of view. Nobody knows what going to happen.
One thing I learnt - don't be obsessed with SINGLE COUNTER.

Based on my research:

71% of Shares Held by Institutional & Mutual Fund Owners
99.9% of daily Apple shares are nothing but being pushed by FUND Manager, who owns 71% of those shares.
So go figure.

zamans98
post Apr 7 2012, 10:03 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Apr 7 2012, 01:18 PM)
You have no numbers to justify and you say BAC will shoot up to $15 for no reason?? Do you know what is the EPS for BAC? I have no problem if you have a different view, but how do you justify this?

What is the problem to be obsessed with a SINGLE COUNTER? If you know this company inside out, you will be better off investing in a single company as you know when to take profit and when there is still potential upside. Unless you have a billion dollar then diversification will work for you.

Warren Buffett made most of his money from just a few companies, in fact a few trades. He is a strong proponent of a concentrate portfolio. Taking one of his quotation "Diversification is protection against ignorance". His right hand man, CHarlie Munger said “Wide diversification, which necessarily includes investment in mediocre businesses, only guarantees ordinary results”

If you are so afraid and want to diversify your portfolio, you might as well invest in an index fund to ensure you get exactly the same return on the index. That will be the same as investing in all the counters! Good diversification strategy?

I will be glad to invest in a company that has a high% of institutional holding, in fact this is one of my investment criteria as it will provide support for the stock price. If the share price is being pushed up due to the fundamental of the stock, strong future earnings and low PE ratio, I do not see a problem. In fact I would be happy seeing the stock price rising.
again, as I said, don't be obsessed. Nobody can emulate the success of W.Buffet. Many tried, none come close.
Again, NOBODY.

Everyone have different view, target/aim of an investment.

I don't care or dont give a sh|t about EPS. PE (reason - look at China's based company) .For me as long a particular counter is able to generate profit for me, I will hop on.
If bears a negative result, i will dump and move on.

that's me. Perhaps you got some few hundred thousand US$, I got small fund.

I think you are still young, by the way of writing. Its good mix for the thread.

Err - I don't play INDEX, i do trade ETF. So I take much for you to explore smile.gif

zamans98
post Apr 9 2012, 08:57 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

Earning season is here.

Let's see if those mega market cap stock can deliver.

Added on April 9, 2012, 9:01 amSyukran, sold @ opening = RM0.880

This post has been edited by zamans98: Apr 9 2012, 09:01 AM
zamans98
post Apr 11 2012, 05:16 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Apr 10 2012, 09:44 AM)
Some of you have been debating about Apple. I found this piece of new...

BITG Research's Walter Piecyk cut his rating of AAPL stock from "buy" to "neutral" in a note to investors on Monday, saying that telecoms are growing weary of paying high subsidies for the iPhone with returns that don't match Apple's high margins from the handset.

Analyst cuts AAPL rating on iPhone subsidy backlash
nice one... Apple up too fast too soon.
there is no new gadget in the pipeline. What they did since iPhone 2/3 or iPad 1/2 is nothing extra ordinary.

Apple now pushing for Apple TV (AirPlay).

zamans98
post Apr 13 2012, 10:48 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(Myoswee @ Apr 13 2012, 09:02 AM)
Last week - No QE -----> drop like flies

Yesterday - 'Maybe' got QE ------> rally like dog

Who needs Fundamental and Technical Analysis  doh.gif  doh.gif

Those FED people making me  mad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
I feel you. Yesterday entered BAC and ride on YOKU again. smile.gif

zamans98
post Apr 16 2012, 12:22 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 15 2012, 08:00 AM)
I'm holding SHORTs from last week all the way.. this market going to drop like flies!
Yeah!  tongue.gif

Like to see AAPL drop back BELOW $500. Yeah, that's my price to load up my lorry!
Lorry oni meh?
Big lots in LVS, should be able to buy a fleet of lorries.
zamans98
post Apr 17 2012, 05:16 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(Surveys @ Apr 16 2012, 03:45 PM)
Anyone into a China Internet stocks here?
DANG, YOKU, RENREN?
I'm.
Dang and YOKU only. No RENREN.
Can't find RENREN's review/analysis.
The first 2 are heavily traded by market makers and big shot IB.

Somebody's here don;t understand what is CHINA stocks traded in NYSE/NASDAQ whistling.gif
zamans98
post Apr 17 2012, 11:01 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(berry123 @ Apr 17 2012, 10:12 PM)
zaman, which platform are u using.. what's the brokerage like?
Mbtrading. Execution is superb.

QUOTE(simonmada @ Apr 17 2012, 10:38 PM)
hey zaman, I know you got trade on MU, what do you think about STM?
STM? I ever mentioned but never ride it. STM and MU = both in the semi-conductor business, but MU's advantage is their core business is on DRAM. Use for tablets, smartphones, PC, laptop, gadgets etc.
zamans98
post Apr 18 2012, 09:07 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

Nice GIF on Star Wars... Haha

MU: http://seekingalpha.com/article/504971-mic...hold-tech-stock

YOKU & Gang : http://www.marbridgeconsulting.com/marbrid...es_of_rmb_1_bln

zamans98
post Apr 18 2012, 11:22 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(simonmada @ Apr 18 2012, 11:05 AM)
INTC down after hours sad.gif
Yup. Awaiting IBM result. Apple traded lower, shares have fallen 7% in the last five days.
As about 60% of Apple product sold in US alone, mostly via package deal with 3 mega carrier [Sprint (S), Verizon (VZ), or AT&T (T) ], once the subsidy reduces, the user will bear the high phone price, paying additional $450.

Currently S, VZ and T are paying for the phones.
zamans98
post Apr 18 2012, 11:05 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Apr 18 2012, 06:24 PM)

Added on April 18, 2012, 6:26 pmBtw, anyone knows any platform that can trade pre market and after hours??

Also any way to buy an IPO? Am considering facebook IPO but depending on the price.
no sir, u cannot buy IPO directly.
you need to buy via proxy ie via Investment Bankers like JP Morgan alike. Then again, the minimum entry is very high. 1m US$ as min, depending on the stock offering.
some will have a no-sale clause to foreigners.

zamans98
post Apr 19 2012, 02:13 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Apr 19 2012, 10:59 AM)
Goldman Sache's target price for AAPL - $750  sweat.gif

AAPL: Goldman Raises FYQ2 View on iPhone, iPad; Ups Target to $750
99.9% of the trade done by big sharks.
Before this was what, $800??

What's next after i -Pad, POD, Phone? No new invention(s).

zamans98
post Apr 19 2012, 08:40 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Apr 19 2012, 08:29 PM)
I-tv
I think they want link all their technology phone to tv to laptop to tablet.
Some of the people buy it simply because of "fan" based consumer spending.
What they trying to do is what microsoft had done, try to lock their user with all the familiarity of apple software/ mac etc...

Just my nooby opinion.
i-TV is infrastructural framework is already there. I mean inventions [idea stealer] like i-Phong and i-paddy .
its also nothing extra ordinary, infact if you are familiar with HTPC, then its the same sh|t.

No doubt as what u said is valid , which is the FAN will just buy whatever gadget (although its recycle) from Apple.
zamans98
post Apr 21 2012, 12:06 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Apr 20 2012, 03:49 PM)
Not necessary. Look at Amazon, their PE is 139.39 and this has continue for years so I believe their PE is sustainable. the investors has confident that amaon will make future profits to justify it. But this is one stock i would not touch.

Examples you gave HP, sony, Nokia and RIMM are all making losses or their revenue has been shrinking. Therefore their PE justify their position.

AAPL is the only company that has revenue and earnig growth over 60% YOY. Yet is trading at such a low PE. In fact their forward PE is less than 12.

The only concern of the investors is whether AAPL can continue this exponential growth since they are gettting so big.They hit 600B cap two weeks ago when the share price hit 640, the first time since microsoft has a 600 B valuation during the dot com bubble.

AAPL is trading at 587.44 yesterday. grab it while you can. It wont be at that level for long. Quote an analyst, AAPL at 580 is like Christmas in April!

You can never predict the bottom, AAPL can drop further depending on the broad market sentiment but if you are in for the long term this is a very tempting price.
Pink,
U forget that 99.99% apple trade are done by MM, FM.
Good slide, as fund managers are selling to lock in profit. Yes, nobody can predict TOP or BOTTOM. Its a given, we are not just started to trade here smile.gif

572.98 -14.46 (-2.46%)

Still, i will not by apple at this level because dollar to dollar return is way smaller than others like LVS. Try to compute, say with $3000 cash.

This post has been edited by zamans98: Apr 21 2012, 12:07 PM
zamans98
post Apr 23 2012, 06:49 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Apr 23 2012, 04:03 PM)
I maintain that AAPL intrinsic value is higher than the price traded at the moment and it is just a matter of time when the market realised this value. The market just could not go through the psychological barrier of paying USD570 for one stock.

I am very confident going into earnings day on Tuesday that AAPL will beat market expectations.

Instead of coming here blowing hot air everytime when AAPL takes a dip and go into hiding when AAPL rise in value, why dont you short some AAPL?  that would lend some credibility to your allegations against AAPL.

I think you learn something which is called relative return instead of looking at the absolute return. Why $3000 and not $4000 or $5000? To make things simple let's just say we need to look at the Return in terms of percentage.
You are very confident (which is a NO BRAINER, 99% of investors knows), but DO remember that NOT not only GOOD earning what investors (MM) are looking at, but forward projection as well. Price of whatever stock today is "forward projection" of the company, not what it stands as at NOW.

I shorted it via OPTIONS (PUT May) @ 650 last week and its earning NICELY right now. No need to shout whatsoever, the old forumer knows me.

since my cash is super limited, I only took 1 PUT Option, not 3 as I normally do.

Added on April 23, 2012, 6:58 pm
QUOTE(learn2earn8 @ Apr 23 2012, 04:28 PM)
come on zamans98, heat up this fight with short or puts option. the market, cake & apple is on your side

http://www.bloomberg.com/markets/stocks/futures/ since many news will be out in this few weeks
haha, no bro, its not a FIGHT, its a discussion.

Pinkish devil may have some good points so do I. Everyone have different view of a an investment, that's what makes its interesting.

Today I found a piece of news that supporting what I been saying last few discussions.

http://www.businessweek.com/news/2012-04-2...owth-to-slacken
Those came from head of investment group, that are managing BILLIONS of dollars, not puny investors like us here.

Since 99.9% of trade are done by MM, do listen to them.

This post has been edited by zamans98: Apr 23 2012, 06:58 PM

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0614sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:27 AM