US stock discussion v4, Bulls-Bears HUAT AH!! Pigs get slaughter

danmooncake
post Apr 18 2012, 10:27 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,124 posts

QUOTE(pinkdevil88 @ Apr 18 2012, 06:24 PM)

Added on April 18, 2012, 6:26 pm
Btw, anyone knows any platform that can trade pre market and after hours??

The PM (PreMarket) and AH (AfterHours) trades are not platform specific but broker specific. Most US based brokers allow PM and AH trades.. just look for them in your trading tools.

I'm using OptionExpress, ScottTrade, MBTrading and TD Ameritrade... all four brokers have them for their customers.

By the way, I don't like to trade After Hours because the price spread sometimes are ridiculously wide.. makes no sense to trade that way.. morning volatility can swing you on the other side, making you loss on the best price.

Anyway, good luck and happy trading! wink.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Apr 18 2012, 10:28 PM
danmooncake
post Apr 18 2012, 11:00 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(simonmada @ Apr 18 2012, 10:38 PM)
Dan, don't mind if I ask, why do you need so many brokers?
I play BOTH ways... SHORT and LONG.
So, I can hold SHORT and LONG position for same stock in different account. wink.gif

danmooncake
post Apr 24 2012, 12:43 AM

10,124 posts

The shorts are working out nicely!! Oh yeah.. baby.. I love the smell of money. biggrin.gif
danmooncake
post Apr 24 2012, 02:24 PM

10,124 posts

Zamans - You have made good call for playing DANG! Congrats!
I've been tracking it..but didn't participate. Good volatility indeed.. lots of players. Skynet took notice, now on its auto-trading system. Going to the roof soon. smile.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Apr 24 2012, 02:25 PM
danmooncake
post Apr 25 2012, 11:07 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Apr 25 2012, 08:31 AM)
Apple doubles quarterly profits, stock rises 7%...
Nice.. time to sell into the pop tonight to lock in some profits. biggrin.gif

danmooncake
post Apr 30 2012, 11:27 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(dotless @ Apr 29 2012, 01:24 PM)
hi sifus,
i'm currently a student and i've about SGD10,000 in savings.
Will it be wise for me to use CFDs to trade?
Money that you can't afford to lose.. better keep in your savings than putting into the market.

Money that you can afford to lose or hold on for a long time before any meaningful returns - then go ahead,
learn to invest (or trade) first before getting yourself in. There is no get rich fast scheme. All require knowledge, skills and willingness to take risk to earn your dough.

Good luck! smile.gif

Added on April 30, 2012, 11:34 am
QUOTE(learn2earn8 @ Apr 28 2012, 03:33 AM)
I am so sadding  cry.gif dltr $12.16 now $16.70 +37% gone coz I exited for puny gains 15%  vmad.gif now break out to new high sumore  mad.gif

this thread has its own resident tok guru and his trusty assistant, of coz fights are healthy for this thread to grow 
I also have losses, but the trick is to keep it to a minimum. so there is no reason for them to hide in bunker   biggrin.gif
now we have a newcomer, pinkdevil88 that challenge tok guru trusty assistant  rclxms.gif welcome aboard and thanx for sharing ur fundamental analisis

for those newbies, the dog jones is almost at new high and caution is required. be careful and be willing to lose what u can afford to lose  nod.gif
many moons ago, zamans98 asked how i can find many new stocks to be in watchlist?
but whether you guys know how to use it or not is another ballgame altogether 

but will you guys be able to share ideas and work together to earn moolahs in this thread  yawn.gif  or this thread revert to its old style  doh.gif
well, imo one can't be too greedy lah.. 15% is better than nothing. Remember, there is no such thing as bad profit.

AAPL still continued to be pumped up by the hedge funds until it can't go higher, than we'll see mass exodus later and drops like flies until it comes down to reasonable valuation price. Right now, I think with 18x earnings, it ok but not attractive enough.

I'm thinking that the market maybe slowly churning into bear mode as we get into the second half of the year. Earrnings for Q2 seems reasonable but ain't stellar at this moment. Fed says it will continue to support the current monetary policy but stop short of saying QE3. Let see if Sell-in-May will hold true this year.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Apr 30 2012, 11:36 AM
danmooncake
post May 3 2012, 08:19 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(learn2earn8 @ May 2 2012, 02:01 AM)
danmooncake, the gordon gekko says greed is good  nod.gif  otherwise, might as well invest in unit trust or reits
Yes, indeed. Like they say, both bulls and bears can win...
But, got to know when to take money off the table when it is here otherwise greed can be painful when it turns against you. laugh.gif

Added on May 4, 2012, 11:10 pmWoohoo! As expected.. big disappointment in job report for April!

Yeah.. baby ... selling machines in action! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 4 2012, 11:10 PM
danmooncake
post May 7 2012, 12:12 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ May 6 2012, 07:48 PM)
If you own AAPL shares, you may want to be more cautious now. Samsung has just launched an 'iPhone killer'...

Good.. we need more scary news for AAPL so that the machines can keep selling it down, hopefully all the way to $500. That would shake a lot bulls riders. I'll back up my lorry to load up with heavy calls spread later. laugh.gif
danmooncake
post May 7 2012, 11:27 AM

10,124 posts

It doesn't matter what the AAPL fanboys are thinking..

Once Skynet got hold of the sell pattern, AAPL shares will be dumped, just like last year. Retail investors will get to hold the bag, hedge funds will reap profits.

danmooncake
post May 8 2012, 01:29 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ May 7 2012, 11:26 PM)
Actually I wonder why LVS is so famous here..?ermm. Almost every single pages, sure LVS will be mentioned at least once. I am not trader so I dunno about the specific reason
LVS now is my ex. She's not pretty anymore over 50. Eventho she made me so much money but I've decided to divorce her so that I can keep my other half.

Now, looking for another LVS-like stock.. brows.gif

danmooncake
post May 8 2012, 11:04 PM

10,124 posts

AAPL will continued be sold off ever since earnings. Get ready to ride it down. wink.gif
Short is the new game in town. whistling.gif

danmooncake
post May 13 2012, 11:34 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(learn2earn8 @ May 11 2012, 11:59 PM)
My current gambling positions +92%  sweat.gif since euroweenies problem stil uncertain, loaded more stocks instead of options
Sell those near term cover calls...to get some cash flow or sell those out of money puts. wink.gif

Added on May 14, 2012, 5:16 pm
QUOTE(Myoswee @ May 10 2012, 02:07 PM)
Looks like my Buy The Fxxxxxx Dip (BTFD) price is not too bad

Lets bounce tonight  laugh.gif
Will wait for more bulls to be slaughtered. Need more blood first... brows.gif

We all know what happened to last Friday after surprised announcement by JPM.
Let's see if the banks are going to lead to another downfall of the world financial market. I won't be surprise if there's more to come after JPM.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 14 2012, 05:24 PM
danmooncake
post May 15 2012, 10:07 AM

10,124 posts

I'm riding this down and collecting money. I see no indication that the dip buying is here yet. My PUTs are exploding upwards, sold covered calls are imploding and hopefully let it expire to zero. smile.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 15 2012, 10:08 AM
danmooncake
post May 17 2012, 07:38 AM

10,124 posts

The past two days been like this.. buyers came in the early trade, MM pushes price up, then late day, they exit and drop back down to flat or negative. Good opportunity to trade by timing your entrance and exit and grab some profits here. There won't be any long term buyers until Greece mess is settled.

The mutual funds are sitting on pile of cash.. still waiting for better valuation. We're not here yet.
I'm hoping Bernanke and his team will just shut the f up for now - stop this nonsense about additional easing.

danmooncake
post May 17 2012, 11:49 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ May 17 2012, 08:57 AM)
Apple is being hammered and nearing a good entry point at 535-540.
Right on bro but stay cautious. There are still a lot funds holding now and some thought AAPL was a BUY when it was 600.
The funds will sell to raise cash if they can`t bear the pain when it drops to low 500 in a couple of trading sessions.
Those investors who bought at high 500 will weep if it drops below 500.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 17 2012, 11:50 AM
danmooncake
post May 22 2012, 12:29 AM

10,124 posts

Wake me up when FB goes below $30. I may throw a few hundred shrs just for fun. tongue.gif

danmooncake
post May 22 2012, 01:55 AM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(Dr0z3n @ May 22 2012, 01:36 AM)
It has drop below IPO prices at the early market today.
I'm looking for 20% below its IPO price ($38). ... brows.gif

Looking for that signs for the school of whales to come and swallow up. No signs of them yet.
I'll just swim along and nibble later. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 22 2012, 01:57 AM
danmooncake
post May 22 2012, 05:30 AM

10,124 posts

I bought huge load of LVS calls.. right around when it was $46.
Can't ignore the oversold condition. This ugly gf is getting attractive again. drool.gif

danmooncake
post May 22 2012, 08:02 PM

10,124 posts

QUOTE(Dr0z3n @ May 22 2012, 12:12 PM)
Your target might achieve very soon, it has drop about 11% below the IPO price now. Haha  rclxms.gif 
What's your next step then?  biggrin.gif

Added on May 22, 2012, 12:16 pm

How did you guys manage to predict the trend of the market, have you guys done lots of research before going to buy a share? Sorry, I just a young guy now, trying to learn things in the stock market, mind sharing some opinions?
I'm a pattern trader/watcher. We got a small 5% pull back from top in April. So, after 7-8 sessions downdraft, some kind of bounce ought to happen. Look for the support/resistance line for your fav stock and try to look for oversold condition and bounce on the intraday to get in. LVS got it yesterday. AAPL got it last Friday and Monday, the bulls cramped in. Time to cover shorts and ride up this short-term bounce see what happens. Don't forget to lock in profits with stops. It never hurt to take profits and don't be greedy. Good luck!

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 22 2012, 08:03 PM
danmooncake
post May 22 2012, 09:44 PM

10,124 posts

Ripping profits... out of gate. Looking for small pull.. and see if this can hold or not before adding again.
Watching $USD, $VIX and SPY. Watch out, dollar looks like it got strength.

Added on May 23, 2012, 5:52 amUpdate:
Ka-ching...I've unloaded all my LVS calls for 28% profits. laugh.gif
Going to wait and see what happens tomorrow evening. The big boys in control may want this train to continue south.
So, I'm staying on sidelines for now.

FB - was watching it... touched the 30.x but not below 30 yet. Definitely going to happen soon.
The big guys are raping the small guys here. It's going to get real ugly.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: May 23 2012, 05:52 AM

61 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:36 PM