24 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 >Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATIONS?, V13, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 12 2011, 10:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Dec 12 2011, 09:24 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any will do
2. Budget - 1-1.5k
3. Usage - Microsoft office and light games
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 13-14"
Light games as in FB games? hmm.gif
Can consider these (but comes with FreeDOS). Comes with dGPU for slightly better gaming performance
14"
Acer
Aspire 4750G, i3-2330M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1599, FreeDOS

Asus
A43Sj, Pentium B950 + Nvidia GT520M@RM1799, W7HP; FreeDOS@RM1499
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2011, 11:24 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 13 2011, 10:08 AM)
1. Preferred Brand : none, never bought a laptop before and I've heard mixed reviews about the different brands
2. Budget :   RM2000+- (preferably below RM2300)
3. Usage : Microsoft Office, powerpoint presentations (connect to projector), SPSS (statistics program), able to watch youtube surf net? Games like plant and zombies, dragon nest.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : any will do?

Extra info: I multi-task a lot, so I would prefer at least 4GB of RAM?
Can consider these (prices are in RRP, can still nego until within your budget~):
14"
Acer Aspire 4755G-2434G64, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2199[2.3kg], 4GB, 640GB; 3 years local warranty
A43Sv-VX264v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M(1GB)@RM2349[2.44kg]
Dell Inspiron 14 (N4050), i5-2430M + AMD HD6470M@RM2199, Belkin Radius 15.6" backpack, 24 months McAfee, expires 8 Dec
HP Pavilion G4-1204TX/1205TX, i5-2430M + AMD HD6470M@RM2149; colors: Charcoal Grey/Sonoma Red
MSI CX480X, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999, W7HP, 3 years warranty *PIKOM PC Fair
Lenovo Z470, i5-2410M + Nvidia GT520M@RM2099, 640GB, colors: Black/Pink, 2nd & 3rd year warranty
Samsung 3 series, i5-2430QM + Nvidia GT520M@RM2299, colors: Black/Silver/Orange
Toshiba Satellite L745-1153XB/54XR/56XW, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT525M@RM2399[2.14kg], Colors: Brown/Red/White, 2nd & 3rd local year warranty

For better gaming performance, can go for the 4755g and A43sv.
For better warranty support, can go for those with 3 years warranty, though my vote goes to the L745 thumbup.gif

Added on December 13, 2011, 11:24 am
QUOTE(asm@m @ Dec 13 2011, 06:12 AM)
How much the estimate price for dell xps 17 l720x with i7-2670 , FHD 1920x1080, 3gb Nvidia gt555m,  6gb ram and 1tb  hdd?
2nd hand?
We don't have the XPS 17 here in M'sia sad.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 13 2011, 11:24 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2011, 12:04 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 13 2011, 11:59 AM)
So the Toshiba would be a better investment?? I did eye the 4755G because the specs looked good at that price, but some of my friends have recommended against taking Acer laptops, while 2 recommended it >.< So I am a little stuck.

I noticed the 4755G also comes with 3 years warranty? I guess gaming isn't my main concern as I have a desktop for that. Is that L745 stable and smooth in using?? I've read mixed reviews about it >.< Mostly about battery life and some software problems?? Any advice on that??

What about Lenovo Z470? It looks tempting (well, mostly because it is in PINK!)
Personally I would go for Toshiba because I know Teledynamics technicians will always be there for me smile.gif
Whether the laptop runs smooth or not depends on how you manage your stuffs inside? laugh.gif
What kind of software problems o?

I'm not so sure about the 4755g (there were a few comments on freezing) and z470 (the pink looks awkward haha)... din't really come across a lot of reviews hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2011, 12:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 13 2011, 12:13 PM)
Ohh..so you find that Toshiba's customer service is good? I just tried Googling their service centers, apparently there's one in Low Yat?? That would be pretty convenient! I can't remember what software problem, i think they said that the programmes that comes pre-installed were junk or something.
I am thinking  this is an older model?? http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2391135,00.asp

Noticed that this one is missing some of the features listed on http://buylaptop.com.my/web/products.asp?Id=1719
Based on my experiences, its not bad la haha laugh.gif
Yup, there a Teledynamics service center on the top floor of LYP, another one at Shah Alam nod.gif

You could always delete them bloatwares laugh.gif

If you're more interested in on-site warranty support, then can consider Dell as well~

Older model? That one is L755 (15" laptop). The one in the 2nd link is the correct one
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2011, 12:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nanamizuki @ Dec 13 2011, 12:22 PM)
guys is it wise to get a laptop now? attracted to msi GE620DX-FHD
going to further my study next year...my pc still intel c2d with outdated gc cant reli gaming sad.gif ...
i wanna ask if next year release new proc will the msi still got such good specs and price?thx laugh.gif
Newer technology will always come out all the time laugh.gif
Buy when you need, wait if you can~
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2011, 12:26 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(hendrastar @ Dec 13 2011, 12:24 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : (1)Asus, (2)Leenovo, (3)Dell
2. Budget : RM2000++ (below RM2500)
3. Usage : Heavy user of Adobe Photoshop, some video editing stuff, game like cod,bf,ect
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : tak kisah...
14"
Lenovo
Y470, i7-2630QM + Nvidia GT550M@RM2999[JBL] *can get at RM2.5k at Garage Sales

15"
HP
Dv6-6001TX, i7-2630QM + AMD HD6770M@RM2999 [2.63kg]; Beats headphones; RM2599 without Beats *EOL-ed (if still can find)

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 13 2011, 12:27 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2011, 12:52 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ChocChristy @ Dec 13 2011, 12:39 PM)
Ahh..I see. What about Windows 7? I was told by my friend that I should get a 64 bit, but it seems like the L745 comes with a 32 bit one.
All Toshiba units comes with both 32-bit and 64-bit W7.. you'll get to choose which one you want during the 1st boot up.
You can still change the OS version whenever u factory reset your Toshiba nod.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2011, 03:31 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(asm@m @ Dec 13 2011, 03:19 PM)
A new one. I know we dont have it now. But when we have it previously, how much is the price eh?
We used to have it? shocking.gif

Added on December 13, 2011, 3:32 pm
QUOTE(devour @ Dec 13 2011, 01:11 PM)
blink.gif huh~ toshiba laptop default come with 2 different bit os ? so nice ?
Yeap! Where got nice, they should've just stick to 64-bit in the 1st place laugh.gif
The availability of 2 different versions may sometimes bring about driver problems sweat.gif

Added on December 13, 2011, 3:34 pm
QUOTE(aikachan @ Dec 13 2011, 02:58 PM)
1. Preferred Brand : ASUS
2. Budget : Below 2k (Cheaper better lol)
3. Usage : err, for digital drawing like Photoshop, paint tool sai. Light gaming such as Dinner Dash.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : err notebook ?
This one would be just nice (bargain abit):
Asus A43Sj-VX718v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT520M@RM2199, Color: Chill Blue

Otherwise,
Asus A43Sj, i3-2330M + Nvidia GT520M@RM1999[2.44kg], Colors:Red/Blue/Pink/Green/Gold/Black

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 13 2011, 03:34 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2011, 03:00 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Dec 14 2011, 02:55 PM)
@LEE does Y470 got dual fan?? 1 touch format + adjustable fan speed???
lee_what2004 sifu did mentioned there's only one fan right? hmm.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2011, 06:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(JunJoe @ Dec 14 2011, 06:50 PM)
why? isn't GT555M DDR5 is better because it is newer?
Unfortunately newer =/= better haha tongue.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2011, 09:07 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Su-Ez @ Dec 14 2011, 08:32 PM)
hai guys..i need suggestion about this netbook...

Asus 12.1" Eee 1215N-PU27-BK

~Intel Atom Dual-Core N570 processor- 1.8GHz
~Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit
~Next-Generation NVIDIA Ion Graphics
~NVIDIA Optimus Technology

it's better for gaming?
What kind of games?
Better in gaming compared to which netbook/notebook? laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 16 2011, 10:08 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(^4ever_Fan+a5y^ @ Dec 16 2011, 01:38 AM)
Could anyone please recommend me a laptop?

Brand: HP, Dell, or Asus
Budget: RM3000-3300
Usage: Gaming (diablo 3, red alert, battlefiled 3, some online rpg games etc), media streaming, and surfing internet.
Prefer screen size: Any size will do, planning to connect the laptop to a HD TV later, so prefer those will give a good display after connecting to the TV.
Additional: good and smooth graphic display, fast process.

Asus
N53Sn-SX269v, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT550M@RM3399[Bang & Olufsen], USB3.0
N55Sf-SX2353v [black], i5-2430M + Nvidia GT555m (2GB) + 1600x900@RM2799[Bang & Olufsen]; USB3.0, Sonic Master subwoofer

HP
Dv6-6001TX, i7-2630QM + AMD HD6770M@RM2999 [2.63kg]; Beats headphones; RM2599 without Beats *EOL-ed

Others,
MSI
GE620DX, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT555M (2GB)@RM2999, 8GB, 2 years warranty
GE620DX-FHD, i7-2670M + Nvidia GT555M + (1920x1080)@RM3299, 8GB, 2 years warranty

Added on December 16, 2011, 10:10 am
QUOTE(astalaverse @ Dec 16 2011, 03:09 AM)
sifus..

what is the best laptop i can get below RM2000?
in term of performance and gaming..
usage: internet(with full of tabs), videos, play FM once/twice a month
is A43TA still available out there?

If possible, try to top up/ bargain for this one:
Acer
Aspire 4755G-2434G64, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2199[2.3kg], 4GB, 640GB; 3 years local warranty

Otherwise,
14"
Asus A43TA-VX047v, AMD A6-3400M + AMD HD6720 G2@RM1899
HP Pavilion G4-1204AX, A8-3500M + AMD HD6470M@RM1899

15"
Acer Aspire 5560G-8354G50, AMD A8-3500M + AMD HD6740M G2@RM1899[2.6kg], Dirt 3 game voucher

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 16 2011, 10:10 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 16 2011, 03:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kevinphuah88 @ Dec 16 2011, 01:35 PM)
since i have a gaming pc at home, i'll be using the zenbook when im outstation, doing presentation and for work. nth too intense but i dont mind if paying $200 or rm500 more for more future proof if its worth it.

i'll be getting either i5 or i7 with 128 ssd. i'll do with the 128gb ssd given since the zenbook has a usb 3.0 port. im thinking to get a usb3.0 500gb external hard drive for rm250. is it a wise move ? cheap but much more storage and decent transfer speed.

btw, just wondering can the on board graphic of either i5 or i7 sufficient to support casual games like pes2012 just to keep me entertained occasionally. =)
ULV processors ain't meant to be future prove haha laugh.gif
I doubt the Intel HD3000 in the ZenBook would be able to handle PES2012 laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2011, 12:26 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Dec 17 2011, 12:12 AM)
2.5k gaming laptop . At least can support bf3 and watch blu ray movie.  The bigger the screen the better . GO !
Thanks biggrin.gif
Can watch Blu-ray movie as in need Blu-ray drive? If yes then there aren't any for that price range I guess sad.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2011, 08:08 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Dec 17 2011, 01:45 AM)
What is the weight and how long the batt can last?

Beside U46SV, S3 and 4830, i'm thinking U36SD also but the spec not that good.
Considered Lenovo E420, E420s with AMD HD6630 yet? brows.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2011, 12:05 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Dec 17 2011, 10:45 AM)
Aww. Okay let's cut out the blu ray then. At least have like a hd screen boleh ? Thanks for the reply smile.gif
Almost all notebooks come with HD resolution now nod.gif
Can consider the Asus N55sf, comes with very good speakers and also HD+ resolution screen:
N55Sf-SX2353v [black], i5-2430M + Nvidia GT555m (2GB) + 1600x900@RM2799[Bang & Olufsen]; USB3.0, Sonic Master subwoofer

Added on December 17, 2011, 12:08 pm
QUOTE(xDingx @ Dec 17 2011, 09:20 AM)

Can anyone suggest me that among HP Pavilion dv6-6c19TX , Asus N53Sn-SX269v , and MSI GE620DX-FHD, which 1 is the best for gaming, entertainment streaming (watching movie & listening music), and have better screen display (with HD screen)? If i wan to connect the laptop to a 24" lcd TV or monitor, which 1 can handle better i.e provide / process the graphic better on the TV/monitor?

Or other than the 3 models mentioned above, do u guys have better suggestion with the budget rm3500?

Thank u.
Not very sure about the performance of the AMD Radeon HD 7690M XT, need to wait for reviews and benchmarks 1st laugh.gif
The MSI GE620-DX is good in a sense that it offers Full HD screen...

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 17 2011, 12:08 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2011, 12:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(xDingx @ Dec 17 2011, 12:38 PM)
The HP Pavilion dv6-6c19TX doesnt come with HD screen?

If i get the msi and connect it to a 24" monitor, can it handle the graphic well in a bigger resolution screen? Coz my concern is the msi gpu oni using ddr3 ram instead of ddr5..
HD = 1366x768, HD+ = 1600x900, Full HD = 1920x1080
Most notebooks come with at least HD resolution.

The DDR3 version of the GT555m is better than the DDR5 one iinm... Don't think the GPU can handle it... I doubt the HP can handle gaming on Full HD resolution as well
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2011, 04:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(purplesmigs @ Dec 17 2011, 04:56 PM)
hey guys, any suggestions for these criterias?

1. less prone to overheating (heard hp overheats easily)
2. at maximum a 12'' screen
3. budget RM3000 and below
4. no gaming etc
Usage?
If mere web surfing and simple office tasks, around RM1.5k would be enough yo laugh.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 19 2011, 11:27 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Deus @ Dec 19 2011, 12:10 AM)
Hi, I'm planning to buy a new laptop for purpose of watching movies in 1080p at times and maybe 720p normally. And some light gaming like sc2 once in awhile. I'm planning to bring it to Australia for study purposes next year so international warranty would be a plus (though I doubt shits actually spoils within their warranty period unless you're unlucky). Study use should be not a problem if the laptop can support the above intention since I'm mostly relying heavily on multi tab browsing and word for assignments.

Then again, cuz I plan to use to in the university, best would be if its portable but I wanna maximize my movie experience so I'm looking for a 15.6" laptop. 17" would be too big and bulky.

Budget is RM2k if possible but can go up to RM2.5k since I plan to trade in that netbook i got for the streamyx promotion last year (if anyone know the resell value or trade in value, your input will be much appreciated).
Can consider these:
Asus
A53Sv-SX792v, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M (1GB)(1GB)@RM2349, USB3.0
A53Sv-SX792v, i5-2430M + AMD HD6730M@RM2499

Dell Inspiron 15R, i5-2450M + Nvidia GT525M@RM2199

HP G6-1107TX, i5-2410M + AMD HD6470M@RM2299

Lenovo Ideapad Z570, i5-2430M + Nvidia GT540M@RM2399, W7HP

Toshiba Satellite L755-1019X,i5-2430M + Nvidia GT525M@RM2299, 2nd and 3rd year local warranty

Added on December 19, 2011, 11:30 am
QUOTE(itachi~ye @ Dec 19 2011, 10:46 AM)
Hey guy, is it worth to buy a Dell Refurnished?Any problem exist?
It's a alienware M14x with the spec below:
i7-2670QM + Nvidia GT555M(3.0GB)+ 8gb ram

It costs me RM3800...any1 experience problem with dell refurnished?

Thanks guy!
Its "refurbished" laugh.gif
You won't have warranty coverage for refurbished units.. Not sure whether there will be reliability issues or not as well...
I would suggest you to go for the base unit of the Alienware M14x (original from Dell). You don't really need an i7 if you're into gaming. And the 3GB GT555m doesn't bring about any performance gain compared to the 1.5GB GT555m nod.gif

or perhaps you can consider getting a much better Asus G53Sx brows.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 19 2011, 11:30 AM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Dec 19 2011, 12:13 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(itachi~ye @ Dec 19 2011, 12:05 PM)
well...it got the warranty coverage from dell for 1 year...actually i wan to buy it for doing 3d and using some software like autodesk maya and zbrush....shud i get it? =(
1 year warranty only for an Alienware? laugh.gif
Anyway, the Asus G53Sx would be the better pick:
Asus G53Sx-S1208v, i7-2670QM + Nvidia GTX560M (2GB) + 1920x1080 (anti-glare)@RM3999, backlit keyboard, gaming backpack & mouse, 2 years international warranty

Same CPU, more powerful GPU, FullHD Resolutionm backlit keyboard and 2 years international warranty hehe, its the better choice; but its larger and heavier la laugh.gif

24 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 >Top

0.0660sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:51 PM