Baby Vaccinations, To vacc or not to vacc?

phythia79
post Sep 8 2011, 11:50 AM

398 posts

I think for the mandatory jabs .....from birth till 18 mths..in total i spent more or less RM1K

below is the schedule for the mandatory ones and recommended ones. http://www.huggies.com.my/immunization-sch...e-malaysia.aspx

TSsbux
post Sep 9 2011, 12:47 AM

225 posts

Haha... I tell u what.. My gynae also Dr Susanna. She is fine la.. but a bit brief.. She finish my C-sec within half an hour.. LOL...

Her charges are a bit expensive but waiting time not long. So i guess its fine.

Where did i took my baby for jabs?

My BIL's clinic. smile.gif Pay for cost price which i can't reveal.

My friend took her daughter to TMC for jabs. the normal Dtap, rotavirus and pheumococcal. RM 600++...

phythia79
post Sep 9 2011, 09:34 AM

398 posts

the jabs that are expensive..are the recommended (but not mandatory) ones like rotavirus and pneumocccal...which makes me wonder..are the creator of vaccines making big bucks on these?
stupidbump
post Sep 9 2011, 10:17 AM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(sbux @ Sep 9 2011, 12:47 AM)
Haha... I tell u what.. My gynae also Dr Susanna. She is fine la.. but a bit brief.. She finish my C-sec within half an hour.. LOL...

Her charges are a bit expensive but waiting time not long. So i guess its fine.

Where did i took my baby for jabs?

My BIL's clinic. smile.gif Pay for cost price which i can't reveal.

My friend took her daughter to TMC for jabs. the normal Dtap, rotavirus and pheumococcal. RM 600++...
Well, I can only consider Dr Sussana Huam average at 6 out of 10.
I will not engage her anymore in future for my 2nd baby.
IMO, she's not as good and as caring as what many had previously posted and recommended here and in other forums.

During our normal antenatal check-ups, we normally arrive early at around 8am and wait 1.5hours to see her.
But her check-ups are super quick, only around 5-10 minutes. shocking.gif

I find it quite irreasonable but somehow, I kinda dono what to ask her during each visits.
So its just: go in, lie down, check BP, scan the tummy, say everything ok, go out, take weight and urine test, pay bill, go home feeling blur.

And her charges ain't cheap or average, I can say, on the high side. Imagine 5mins earning RM80 for consultation and RM120 for procedures. zzz
No wonder she's carrying a Chanel 2.55 handbag biggrin.gif

As for my wife giving birth, it was more absurb.

My wife experienced waterbag leakage on that morning 7am, but no contraction or pain at all. Just a little water leaked.
Initially I did not pay attention to it, cos she was all normal and walking about feeing nothing and it was 10days earlier than the EDD.
But when her second leak came at 7.30am, we decided to go to DSH just in case.

Upon arrival and checking, my wife was admitted to the labor room at 8am.
Dr Sussana came at 9.30am, check my wife's cervix openning and it was only 1cm. My wife insist with her that she wants to go for natural birth.
She said ok, but while checking my wife through the vagina, suddenly alot of water came out. Within 5mins, she said my baby's head is pressing against the umbilical cord and his heartbeat is dropping, thus we need to go for emergency c-sect ASAP.
The whole scenario was just like inside ER, nurse and doc running here and there, checking this and that.
In the end, the Doc brought in some papers, and both of us was left with no choice but to dully sign the operation forms etc.
Exactly like TVB.

And at 9.45am, my wife was sent upstairs to be given anaesthetic.
I asked the nurse if I can go to keep all our bags in the car before entering the operation theatre, she said ok, cos it will take sometime for the drug to come into effect. I went down to the parking lot, kept all the bags in the car, and went back up to change clothes.

But I didn't even had the chance to take off my shoes.
The nurse told me: Eh, your son already born lah, go downstairs have a lot at him!

I was sooooooo STUNNED! The whole process took only 10mins from the minute I left for the car park.

After a whole day of hoohah...my wife and I both suspecting that the whole emergency drama was staged.
Just a guess.

"It was 9.30am in the morning, and as u know, Dr Sussana's patient queue is LONG! and doing the maths, each patient roughly pays RM150-200 for each consultation.
My wife opted for natural birth, and that's gonna take alot of time from the Doctor, as she will need to be constantly around the patient to monitor how things are developing.

So, who in the world will be so stupid to choose to earn only partial of the RM3500 natural birth fee, rather than at least few thousands from attending to patients, whilst getting a higher bonus from an emergency c-sect?

If her average attending time to each couple is 10mins, she will lose around 30 visiting patients minimum that day itself."

I consulted my other friends and asked online regaring waterbag burst cases.
Mostly, it takes around 5-12 hours for the mother to be in labor and deliver naturally after the 1st leakage.
That's why both me n wife are suspecting that the sudden breakage of the bag and drop in baby's heartbeat was done on purpose.

Total bill in the end was RM8900++ for the delivery and 3d2n stay in a single bedded room. rclxub.gif

And during the last postnatal check-up, Dr Sussana Huam said to my wife: You are doing fine, you don't have to come to see me anymore, good bye!
Chop chop, bill come out at RM345, with some antibiotics for the wound.

Who said first cut is the deepest? lolz....

stupidbump
post Sep 9 2011, 10:27 AM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Sep 9 2011, 09:34 AM)
the jabs that are expensive..are the recommended (but not mandatory) ones like rotavirus and pneumocccal...which makes me wonder..are the creator of vaccines making big bucks on these?
So, did you opt for both jabs?
phythia79
post Sep 9 2011, 10:49 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Sep 9 2011, 10:27 AM)
So, did you opt for both jabs?
nopes. coz it was supposed to be given with or after the other mandatory jabs...which i find it's too much for a baby/infant to handle during his short months/ year coming into the world.

Added on September 9, 2011, 10:50 am
QUOTE(stupidbump @ Sep 9 2011, 10:17 AM)
Well, I can only consider Dr Sussana Huam average at 6 out of 10.
I will not engage her anymore in future for my 2nd baby.
IMO, she's not as good and as caring as what many had previously posted and recommended here and in other forums.

During our normal antenatal check-ups, we normally arrive early at around 8am and wait 1.5hours to see her.
But her check-ups are super quick, only around 5-10 minutes. shocking.gif

I find it quite irreasonable but somehow, I kinda dono what to ask her during each visits.
So its just: go in, lie down, check BP, scan the tummy, say everything ok, go out, take weight and urine test, pay bill, go home feeling blur.

And her charges ain't cheap or average, I can say, on the high side. Imagine 5mins earning RM80 for consultation and RM120 for procedures. zzz
No wonder she's carrying a Chanel 2.55 handbag biggrin.gif

As for my wife giving birth, it was more absurb.

My wife experienced waterbag leakage on that morning 7am, but no contraction or pain at all. Just a little water leaked.
Initially I did not pay attention to it, cos she was all normal and walking about feeing nothing and it was 10days earlier than the EDD.
But when her second leak came at 7.30am, we decided to go to DSH just in case.

Upon arrival and checking, my wife was admitted to the labor room at 8am.
Dr Sussana came at 9.30am, check my wife's cervix openning and it was only 1cm. My wife insist with her that she wants to go for natural birth.
She said ok, but while checking my wife through the vagina, suddenly alot of water came out. Within 5mins, she said my baby's head is pressing against the umbilical cord and his heartbeat is dropping, thus we need to go for emergency c-sect ASAP. 
The whole scenario was just like inside ER, nurse and doc running here and there, checking this and that.
In the end, the Doc brought in some papers, and both of us was left with no choice but to dully sign the operation forms etc.
Exactly like TVB.

And at 9.45am, my wife was sent upstairs to be given anaesthetic.
I asked the nurse if I can go to keep all our bags in the car before entering the operation theatre, she said ok, cos it will take sometime for the drug to come into effect. I went down to the parking lot, kept all the bags in the car, and went back up to change clothes.

But I didn't even had the chance to take off my shoes.
The nurse told me: Eh, your son already born lah, go downstairs have a lot at him!

I was sooooooo STUNNED! The whole process took only 10mins from the minute I left for the car park.

After a whole day of hoohah...my wife and I both suspecting that the whole emergency drama was staged.
Just a guess.

"It was 9.30am in the morning, and as u know, Dr Sussana's patient queue is LONG! and doing the maths, each patient roughly pays RM150-200 for each consultation.
My wife opted for natural birth, and that's gonna take alot of time from the Doctor, as she will need to be constantly around the patient to monitor how things are developing.

So, who in the world will be so stupid to choose to earn only partial of the RM3500 natural birth fee, rather than at least few thousands from attending to patients, whilst getting a higher bonus from an emergency c-sect?

If her average attending time to each couple is 10mins, she will lose around 30 visiting patients minimum that day itself."

I consulted my other friends and asked online regaring waterbag burst cases.
Mostly, it takes around 5-12 hours for the mother to be in labor and deliver naturally after the 1st leakage.
That's why both me n wife are suspecting that the sudden breakage of the bag and drop in baby's heartbeat was done on purpose.

Total bill in the end was RM8900++ for the delivery and 3d2n stay in a single bedded room.  rclxub.gif

And during the last postnatal check-up, Dr Sussana Huam said to my wife: You are doing fine, you don't have to come to see me anymore, good bye!
Chop chop, bill come out at RM345, with some antibiotics for the wound.

Who said first cut is the deepest? lolz....
sounds so traumatic! sweat.gif I would also wonder if it was staged.

This post has been edited by phythia79: Sep 9 2011, 10:50 AM
stupidbump
post Sep 9 2011, 11:13 AM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

yea...wifey so disappointed cos she was so anticipating a natural birth experience..hehehehe...

anyway, back to topic, the 2 additional jabs, is it ok if we don't take it? any consequences?

my wife's opinion is that since this rotavirus and pnemococcal vaccine is relatively new in the market, we cannot disregard the side effects in the future of the baby, say, 10 or 20 years down the road.

But DSH Dr Soh was so angry and even raised her voice to state the importance of this 2 jabs when we said we don't want to give it to my baby boy.

That's why I am considering to have him vaccinatted somewhere else.

Is it ok to have them at normal GP clinics?

Yesterday I enquired at Klinik Mediviron in Damansara Utama, they have it. And price is cheaper by more than half to what Dr Soh quoted.

My only concerns is that, if the Klinik is not so popular for baby vaccinations, would the vaccines be stored maybe too long and might expire?

Or there is no such thing as fresh and stale vaccines ?

phythia79
post Sep 9 2011, 11:29 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Sep 9 2011, 11:13 AM)
yea...wifey so disappointed cos she was so anticipating a natural birth experience..hehehehe...

anyway, back to topic, the 2 additional jabs, is it ok if we don't take it? any consequences?

my wife's opinion is that since this rotavirus and pnemococcal vaccine is relatively new in the market, we cannot disregard the side effects in the future of the baby, say, 10 or 20 years down the road.

But DSH Dr Soh was so angry and even raised her voice to state the importance of this 2 jabs when we said we don't want to give it to my baby boy.

That's why I am considering to have him vaccinatted somewhere else.

Is it ok to have them at normal GP clinics?

Yesterday I enquired at Klinik Mediviron in Damansara Utama, they have it. And price is cheaper by more than half to what Dr Soh quoted.

My only concerns is that, if the Klinik is not so popular for baby vaccinations, would the vaccines be stored maybe too long and might expire?

Or there is no such thing as fresh and stale vaccines ?
I think it's uncalled for the doctor to be angry. My son's paed (which i take him to when he's sick) did suggest to give him the pneumoccocal but he said it's totally up to us. I think it's still the parents' decision if they want to vaccinate. Doctors are there to advice. Which raises the questions the margin of profit they are earning (which you then said that the other clinic priced the jabs at a lower price). I read somewhere on the internet..in the US..parents questions the effects of all vaccinations. However, I do believe some vaccines are important (like polio) as there were many deaths before the vaccines came out.

If you choose to give the optional ones..you can just have them at normal GP clinics. Of coz you have the right to ask them for you to check the box to see the manufacturing date and expiry...just to be safe. If you are worried, just go to a slightly cheaper paed, which i'm sure is popular among parents compared to normal GP. If normal GP..probably you can go to Taipan, USJ...klinik Lan & Wong. The doctor there is Dr Loo (who is a relative of mine)..i'm not sure how much he charges but i can assure you, that you can ask him questions and he'll answer as frankly as he can...before you decide if you want to vaccinate or not. Sometiems it's best to ask an expert rather than layman like us for quesiotns like fresh/stale vaccines..shelf life etc.
stupidbump
post Sep 9 2011, 11:40 AM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(phythia79 @ Sep 9 2011, 11:29 AM)
I think it's uncalled for the doctor to be angry.  My son's paed (which i take him to when he's sick) did suggest to give him the pneumoccocal but he said it's totally up to us.  I think it's still the parents' decision if they want to vaccinate.  Doctors are there to advice.  Which raises the questions the margin of profit they are earning (which you then said that the other clinic priced the jabs at a lower price).  I read somewhere on the internet..in the US..parents questions the effects of all vaccinations.  However, I do believe some vaccines are important (like polio) as there were many deaths before the vaccines came out. 

If you choose to give the optional ones..you can just have them at normal GP clinics.  Of coz you have the right to ask them for you to check the box to see the manufacturing date and expiry...just to be safe.  If you are worried, just go to a slightly cheaper paed, which i'm sure is popular among parents compared to normal GP.  If normal GP..probably you can go to Taipan, USJ...klinik Lan & Wong.  The doctor there is Dr Loo (who is a relative of mine)..i'm not sure how much he charges but i can assure you, that you can ask him questions and he'll answer as frankly as he can...before you decide if you want to vaccinate or not.  Sometiems it's best to ask an expert rather than layman like us for quesiotns like fresh/stale vaccines..shelf life etc.
Thank you phythia79, at present calling each and every clinic around my area to enquire about tha availabilty of the vaccines.. tongue.gif
TSsbux
post Sep 10 2011, 11:11 AM

225 posts

I can tell u from the cost price my BIL charged us, doctors is earning damn dog a lot...

lit_ching
post Sep 10 2011, 07:46 PM

41 posts

haha, so you meant these kind of prices? tongue.gif

http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/programs/vfc/c...-price-list.htm
scoop7
post Sep 12 2011, 02:39 AM

orly? mai pen rai
1,154 posts

QUOTE(Mommy_2011 @ Sep 7 2011, 09:40 AM)
I've decided to give my baby only the necessary ones... Like I take my baby to Govt clinic and whatever mentioned in the book, I will give!
Same here. Other extra jabs not necessary. In fact, I'm thinking to expose my kid to chicken pox as early as possible to let them hv d antibody.
barca96
post Jul 27 2020, 02:38 PM

980 posts

Hi. My baby just turned 1 month old.

It is advice-able to go to KK for the compulsory vaccinations and optional ones at a private clinic?

KK doesn't allow 2 jabs in 1 month.
On the other hand private asked me to either do 2 weeks of each other or take 2 jabs in 1 day.

Sounds so confusing and risky. On the other hand, going to KK will save me thousands which can go to education, food, etc.
num123
post Jul 27 2020, 03:38 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Jul 27 2020, 02:38 PM)

It is advice-able to go to KK for the compulsory vaccinations and optional ones at a private clinic?

On the other hand private asked me to either do 2 weeks of each other or take 2 jabs in 1 day.

Sounds so confusing and risky. On the other hand, going to KK will save me thousands which can go to education, food, etc.
my baby is 4 months old now. took 2 jabs in the same day on her first vaccination. no problem

brought her for jabs in private paed
barca96
post Jul 27 2020, 05:48 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(num123 @ Jul 27 2020, 03:38 PM)
my baby is 4 months old now. took 2 jabs in the same day on her first vaccination. no problem

brought her for jabs in private paed
why did you get 2 jabs on the same day?
from what i understand if it is at a private clinic/paed/hospital, they'll combine so that there will be less visits and jabs for the baby.
seather
post Jul 28 2020, 08:06 AM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

I opted for private fully. It is expensive but since my babies are preterm I prefer to have the same doctor who delivered them monitor them for complications caused by vaccines

They took 2 jabs and one oral in a single trip on month 3, 5 and 7

acsl_jc
post Jul 28 2020, 02:40 PM

36 posts

Take the compulsory vacc in KK and the optional ones in private clinic. Save the money!
barca96
post Jul 28 2020, 10:36 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(acsl_jc @ Jul 28 2020, 02:40 PM)
Take the compulsory vacc in KK and the optional ones in private clinic. Save the money!
yup.. that is what I will do.
the savings can go to good quality food for the baby
andrekua2
post Jul 29 2020, 08:11 AM

13,468 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Jul 28 2020, 10:36 PM)
yup.. that is what I will do.
the savings can go to good quality food for the baby
KK is pretty good nowadays. Just that if you're not breastfeeding, they might nag you for a bit. Both my son went to KK for vaccinations.
Cheeky
post Jul 29 2020, 08:20 AM

168 posts

Vaccination schedule for children is pretty much the same for Malaysia and some other developed countries. You can compare them by finding this online. They are safe la. I have my baby all that is listed according the schedule.

Actually, my feeling is that if you child is not vaccinated, then they should not be allowed in daycare/schools because there is risk that they spread those diseases around to other kids who have not had a chance to be vaccinated yet.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0217sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:32 PM