hard mats
- should be the most precise since they wont "sink"
- surface texture/area is constant
- wont pick up dirt that easily compared to soft ones
cons:
- may be a b**** to pack if you ever want to travel with it
- if it does get dirt on it, say 3 years of usage, scrubbing it off would be a b**** as well compared to just washing soft ones
- surface wear and tear is actually a fact, even for a hard surface. instead of having the surface "textured" for precision gliding, you will see that spot where your mouse glides the most being completely smoothed out (bald off lol)
- kills your mouse teflon quicker than soft surfaces
soft mats
- awesome for packing
- soft feel, especially after very long ours of usage
- probably only noticeable after very long periods, you may have less fatigue using soft mouse mats as opposed to hard ones considering you subtly get less "resistance" while gliding
- stains easily
- surface wear and tear may be easier compared to a hard one depending on its texture used
- depending on how aggressive you glide your mouse, considering it is soft, it may not provide the most accurate glide especially when your mouse is on an "inconsistent (sink)" surface
as for me, i use both. Razer exact mat (control side) with exact rest (killed off my death adder woo hoo! well the new logitech g9x is still strong on the teflon, so i guess the mouse pad shouldnt be blamed) for my home pc.
as for my travel laptop, i use razer goliathus (unplug the g9x or just take the mx518)
work/office i also bring my own razer goliathus and logitech mx518 mouse

the deathadder was passed onto my sister, but not too long after, the mouse clicks are wearing off as well, and it was just unbearable. mx518 for her too. and shes using the razer goliathus WOTLK edition free from buying WOTLK lol
hate to admit that i find razer mouse pads being the best, even if they may be overpriced, and overhyped to shit. (logitech doesnt feel like making mouse pads so meh)
this is the reason why i turn away from soft mat, like this only happens to me, or people just dont care about the erratic movements on the on-screen cursor