Getting a Datsun 120y, For free :)

TShamswat
post Aug 28 2011, 08:35 PM, updated 15y ago

iFanatic
758 posts

Hi all lyn sifu's !

My grandfather just bought himself a new car and he wants to give his old Datsun 120y to me. He's a mechanic so no need to worry about the engine. The engine is in pristine condition and everything else is also in very good condition. (no need repair anything. Just get it and drive).

So, im planning to convert this car's engine into a better one (1.8L / 2.0L). I would like to know where can i find an engine which is suitable for this car ? And also, is fitting turbo to this car a good idea ?

As for the interior, there's some leaking problems. If i changed the rubber seals for the doors, trunk etc., would this problem be solved ?

I also want to know that is there any shops in sunway that do custom seats ? I want mine to be leather wrapped.

Thanks for the help ! smile.gif
TShamswat
post Aug 31 2011, 01:02 AM

iFanatic
758 posts

I'm sorry for not replying to this thread as i was back in my hometown for raya and i forgot to bring my broadband along.

Thanks for all your comments. After reading all one by one, i've made my mind NOT to change the engine.

I've checked the engine condition and it's excellent so i thought why not use it.

I'm also dreaming to get my hands on a second hand proton wira so i guess i'll be selling this car.

So, anyone who needs this car can contact me. I'll open another thread in automotive garage for the sale of this car.

Thanks for all your comment guys !

Added on August 31, 2011, 1:13 am
QUOTE(lowpro @ Aug 29 2011, 08:21 PM)
which 120Y did you get? the B210 or B310? the b310 has 2 versions. one with round headlights then the later model came with the square headlights and the model just before the sunny 130Y had absorber bumpers. both have the same 1171cc engine. post a picture lah.
Mine is b310 with square headlights

This post has been edited by hamswat: Aug 31 2011, 01:13 AM
TShamswat
post Sep 4 2011, 04:45 PM

iFanatic
758 posts

QUOTE(percyteyu @ Aug 31 2011, 09:31 PM)
Why dont ask your grandfather since he is a mechanic ?
He doesn't want me to change the engine. According to him, the original engine is very good already.
TShamswat
post Sep 4 2011, 05:23 PM

iFanatic
758 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Sep 4 2011, 04:49 PM)
so why are u "dreaming" to get a wira? that's like saying u are "dreaming" to get Syphilis or AIDS or any kind of disease.

keep the datsun, keep the engine, uprade the brakes and chassis, get rid of the rusty parts, recond the interior and u'll have a sweet ride, much sweeter than the wira.

use the datsun until the ori engine becomes very problematic (which I think is highly unlikely, it probably will out live u if u take care of it).  Then u can decide whether to change car or change engine
fyi, i already got a Wira. Yeah, i guess i wont be changing the engine. Malas wanna bring to jpj for inspection. (if i have to la)

I'm planning to do these. (give your opinions on these)

- re-do the interior.
- wrap all the seats with cover which looks like leather (imitation leather lah tongue.gif)
- Kenwood DVD player with slide in monitor (taken from my dad's waja ; he's using dual din kenwood now)
- window tints ( according to jpj specifications)
- lower the car
- get small rims like this ( Picture) Not exactly la but the rims would look like this.
- redo exhaust and make it twin exhaust.

What you think ??

This post has been edited by hamswat: Sep 4 2011, 05:24 PM

0.0125sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:22 PM