CLOSED

ryder_78
post Jan 13 2012, 03:46 PM

2,070 posts

Which brand is recommended - Asus, Samsung, Dell, LG.

In terms of reliability which one will most likely last longer, say more than 3 years before problems crop up.

Looking at 19" to 24" for basic computing and HD movies below 600 bucks.

Just checked on Dell alone and there are already so many models to choose from(Inspiron, Studio, Ultrasharp). Inspiron 20"(RM379), Studio 21.5"(RM469), Studio 23"(RM479), Ultrasharp 23"(RM629). Headache.

So I guess I better not look at others.

Generally which brand is better than the rest, LG, Samsung, Dell or Asus. Any recommendations appreciated.

Added on January 13, 2012, 3:56 pmAnother aspect I forgot to mention is on video quality. Which brand will have the best colour reproduction on HD movies.

A friend of mine has a China-made LCD monitor(had forgotten the brand). The colour reproduction in HD movies is washed out and not bright. In one word - poor quality.

Added on January 13, 2012, 4:16 pm
Just checked on LG IPS236V. This one looks good although there are many other models in the lineup. Any comments on this one? What is the difference between this IPS model and the rest of the LCD LED models? RM639 for the IPS236V.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Jan 13 2012, 04:16 PM
ryder_78
post Jan 13 2012, 04:31 PM

2,070 posts

Thanks for the recommendation. Okay I think I'll scratch Samsung and Asus out of the list and concentrate on Dell and LG(the IPS236V looks good).

Between the Dell Studio 23"(RM479) and Ultrasharp 23"(RM629), is there an "appreciable" difference in video quality with 720p or 1080p mkv files? Thanks.

Added on January 13, 2012, 4:40 pmJust noticed both Dell Ultrasharp and LG IPS236V use IPS technology that is claimed to provide outstanding colour consistency.

Added on January 13, 2012, 4:46 pm
Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM 23" (RM629)
Dell Ultrasharp Link

LG IPS236V 23" (RM639)
LG IPS236V Link

Both almost similarly priced. Which one?

Added on January 13, 2012, 5:09 pmOkay just did a quick search on both models and apparently the Dell gets the vote.

A review that shows the Dell having an upperhand over the LG in motion blur.
Dell U2312HM Review

Looks like I've answered my own question.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Jan 13 2012, 05:09 PM
ryder_78
post Jan 16 2012, 10:31 AM

2,070 posts

QUOTE(Fusion^^ @ Jan 15 2012, 10:20 PM)
due to 8yrs+ CRT start to cause eye tiredness

currently considering Dell U2312HM & LG IPS236V-PN
disregard on price, i want to know which one will be better
pro and con noted by any current user on any of the above model ?

because sometime the spec value is not true when tested.
so i want to know what is the different / impact of the below value to me
5ms & 8ms ,
250cd/m2 & 300cd/m
5,000,000:1  & 2,000,000:1

DVI = DVI-D ?
Using ATI 3450, can my GPU support both the listed LCD?
will DVI-HDMI port cause any quality loss?

Thanks in advance for all sifu here
The Dell doesn't have HDMI input. The LG has HDMI input. If HDMI connections are a factor to you, the LG may be more suitable.

By the way, anyone knows the lowest price of the LG IPS236V in Digital Mall? Planning to go there sometime this week and check this out. Advertised price is RM620 and some here have got it for RM599 which is 21 bucks cheaper.
ryder_78
post Jan 30 2012, 10:31 AM

2,070 posts

Which LCD monitor below 24" will give the best performance in video quality? IPS panels?

I read some comments that the colour reproduction on the LG IPS236 is dull and not rich or vivid.

Basically which LCD monitor will produce the best colour and quality for videos approaching normal 42" and 50" LCD or LED TVs we usually use to watch movies?
ryder_78
post Jan 30 2012, 04:52 PM

2,070 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Jan 30 2012, 04:30 PM)
Personally i recommend the Asus VS239-N which retails for RM639,it uses an eIPS panel thus not matter how you sit [or lay down] while playing the colours won't change much.It also has a HDMI port.
I checked the spec of the Asus VS239N and it does not mention about the HDMI port. Can you confirm if it has the HDMI port?

I have shortlisted the same model you have recommended earlier, the Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM and LG IPS236V. Although the Dell is claimed to be slightly better than the LG in terms of quality, it does not have the HDMI port. The LG IPS236V comes with the HDMI port. Now the Asus is thrown into the mix.

The availability of HDMI is desirable since it will allow connections to media players or blu-ray players etc. Would appreciate if you can confirm that the Asus VS239N has HDMI. Thanks.
ryder_78
post Jan 30 2012, 05:02 PM

2,070 posts

Okay, not a problem. Thanks. Looks like I'm leaning heavily to the LG IPS236V now.
ryder_78
post Jan 30 2012, 05:08 PM

2,070 posts

Okay, thanks. I know this is nit-picking, but between Dell and Asus, which one would you choose for video quality and vivid colours? I know both are very close and difference is marginal, but given a choice, which would you choose?

THanks.

Added on January 30, 2012, 5:10 pmLooks like I can't hook up my media player to the Dell or the Asus if I happen to end up with either one.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Jan 30 2012, 05:10 PM
ryder_78
post Jan 30 2012, 05:22 PM

2,070 posts

Okay. Thanks. The Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM is certainly popular. Must be good stuff.

Cheers.

Added on January 30, 2012, 5:23 pmBy the way, where can be buy this Dell Ultrasharp monitor? I usually see these being sold online only through brochures attached to newspapers.

Can we get this in Digital Mall PJ or Low Yat plaza in KL city centre?

Added on January 30, 2012, 5:38 pmBy the way, I see two versions of this Dell U2312HM on the net. I guess our version is the all-black as below?

Do we have this option of a silver monitor and silver stand?

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Jan 30 2012, 05:38 PM
ryder_78
post Jan 30 2012, 06:04 PM

2,070 posts

Just called biology and was informed that he does not sell this model anymore.

Added on January 31, 2012, 5:03 pmAny shops in Klang Valley sell this Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM? I've called up two stores in Digital Mall and they don't have this model.

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Jan 31 2012, 05:03 PM
ryder_78
post Jan 31 2012, 10:17 PM

2,070 posts

Can't seem to find the Dell Ultrasharp U2312HM everywhere in Low Yat plaza. All the stores don't have this model. Can't seem to find LG IPS236V too after much asking around. Rabbit.

Since I am not into online ordering(Dell), finally settled with the Samsung S23A350H. It's not an IPS panel but chose this one out of many brands available(Viewsonic, Asus etc.) since I like Samsung products.
ryder_78
post Feb 1 2012, 09:43 PM

2,070 posts

QUOTE(choki123 @ Feb 1 2012, 03:45 PM)
How is the Samsung?  hmm.gif  How much you bought it anyway?
Bought it exactly at the price that the forummer below had quoted. Quality is okay, haven't really done any serious comparison with the another monitor in the house which is a Viewsonic.

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Feb 1 2012, 02:37 PM)
Samsung S23A350H led 23" 2MS H RM569

all this is from Viewnet

0.0425sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:47 AM